Dr. oec. publ. Peter Hanns Zobel: The IZB as an ideal incubator for biotech start-ups

Life sciences are among the key technologies of the future. They will provide new medicines and agents against cancer and other diseases, but they will also be the key to innovation in environmental, food and agricultural technology. As early as 1994, the Free State of Bavaria – with the Ministry of Economic Affairs leading the way – realized the potential for medical biotechnology and life sciences in and around Martinsried near Munich, and initiated the establishment of a top biotechnology location.

Meanwhile a campus has evolved in Martinsried where contacts are built and information flows more easily than anywhere else in Europe.

gewaechshaus

Following the Großhadern university hos­­pital, the Gene Center of the Ludwig-Maximilians University (LMU) and the Max Planck Institutes of Biochemistry and Neurobiology, the chairs of Chemistry, Pharmacy and Biology as well as the pre-clinical institutes of the Medical Fa­­c­­ulty of LMU were relocated here as a logical next step. In the near future, the LMU is planning to establish the Bio­medical Center and a dementia re­­search centre. In addition to the nearby motorway junction and various bus stops, the campus is to be connected to the subway by 2013. In short, the achievements that have been realized in Martinsried in little more than ten years are enormous.
The Innovation and Start-up Center for Biotechnology (IZB) is at the heart of this outstanding campus. At the IZB, newly established enterprises find op­­timal working conditions. The laborato­ries com­­ply with BSL-1 or BSL-2 stan­­dards. Cur­­rently close to 600 people are employed by 60 firms at the IZB. Some of the innovative medicines are already on the market, others are “in the queue”. 30 drug candidates are presently being tested internationally, 70 agents are undergoing clinical trials. Besides fully equipped laboratories, the IZB offers young researchers any kind of state-of-the-art technology that is needed to work efficiently: fast data connections, modern conference rooms and proactive public relation work. The proximity to scientific institutions also facilitates the rapid ex­­change of experience.

With the motto “Where the future be­­comes reality”, the Start-up Center has made an international name for itself.

besprechungsraum

A few years ago, the IZB extended to the north.
Within just a few years, a Center of Life and Food Sciences evolved in Freising-Weihenstephan, in direct vicinity to the Science Center of TU Munich.
The IZB in Freising-Weihenstephan was one of the “Selected Landmarks 2007” in the annual federal competition “365 Landmarks in the Land of Ideas”.
Last year’s IZB figures alone send out a clear message: In 2008, IZB tenants raised more than 80 million euros in fresh capital. Due to the high occupancy level of the existing 19,000 square metres, the planning for another office/laboratory building of 3,200 square metres, which is to be completed in mid-2010, started in 2009. As a novel feature, it will include a school for technical as­­sist­­ants. Since 1995, about 100 life-science firms have been founded under the roof of the IZB. All former IZB tenants together have created more than 1,000 permanent jobs.
The successful approach of the IZB also becomes evident if you look at the com­­panies of world renown that started out from here: MediGene, Morphosys, Metabion, Micromet or MediGenomix attest to the excellent performance of the start-up centre.

labor
The Business Enterprise Company IZB mbH can proudly present its service providers’ full order books.
Indeed, from a very early stage, the IZB management set standards that were copied elsewhere: For instance, already in 2002 it argued the case for the es­­tablishment of the BioKids day-care centre at IZB Martinsried.
The Freshmaker cafe on the IZB premis­­es and an attractive fountain plaza are additional elements that constantly en­­courage communication, not only among tenants, but also with people from neigh­­bouring areas.
It is important that IZB mbH employees are always easily available as contacts to support IZB entrepreneurs in case of small or grave problems. All of that can only be achieved through constant presence and the certainty of knowing that the activities are supported “from above”: Both the Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs and the main shareholder, the Bavarian Ministry of Finance, have been continuously and actively pro­­moting the important key technology ever since the IZB was established. Every­­one at Martinsried is sure this will not change under the new Cabinet.

Panorama_martinsried

The location has been growing for 14 years and must continue to grow! The IZB Start-up Center is making every effort to further improve the profile of the vi­­brant and well-functioning network of the Mar­­tinsried campus and the IZB Weihen­stephan. The two elite universities, the outstanding research of the Max Planck Institutes and the institutes of TU and LMU, but also the 100 young biotech businesses are a guarantee of the on­­going development of the Munich Me­­tropolitan Region.

24_7_07-IZB-Team_078The author, born in 1965, studied business administration at Augsburg and Mu­­nich universities. His professional ca­­reer included stints at Textilhaus Lind­­ner, Fürst Fugger private bank, SG War­­burgs, Schitag auditing company, work as a scientific staff member at LMU and as a business consultant at Fraunhofer Management GmbH. Since 1996, Zobel has been the managing director of the Business Enterprise Company IZB mbH.

Dr. oec. publ. Peter Hanns Zobel: Das IZB als ideale Petrischale für BioTech-Existenzgründer

Life Sciences zählen zu den Schlüssel­technologien der Zukunft. Sie werden neue Medikamente und Wirkstoffe im Kampf gegen Krebs und andere Krank­­heiten hervorbringen, aber auch der Schlüssel für Innovationen in der Um­­welt-, Lebensmittel- und Agrartechno­lo­­gie sein. Bereits 1994 erkannte der Frei­­staat Bayern – federführend das bayerische Wirtschaftsministerium – das Potenzial im Bereich medizinische Biotechnologie und Life Sciences in und um Martinsried bei München und be­­gann den Aufbau eines Topstand­ortes für Biotechnologie.

gewaechshaus

In Martinsried ist heute ein Campus der kurzen Wege entstanden, der seinesgleichen in Europa sucht:

Neben dem Universitätsklinikum Groß­hadern, dem Genzentrum der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) und den Max-Planck Instituten für Biochemie und Neurobiologie wurden hier nun auch konsequenterweise die Lehrstühle für Chemie, Pharmazie, Biologie und die prä­­klinischen Institute der medizinischen Fakultät der LMU angesiedelt. Dem­nächst fällt der Start­schuss für das Biome­di­zi­­nische Zent­rum und das De­­menz­zent­rum, das die LMU plant. Neben dem nahen Au­­to­­bahn-Anschluss und zahlreichen Bus­linien soll der Campus bis 2013 auch einen U-Bahn-Anschluss erhalten. Kurzum: Was in Martinsried in nur wenig mehr als einem Jahrzehnt auf die Beine gestellt worden ist, ist enorm.

Im Herzen dieses herausragenden Cam­­­­pus steht das Innovations- und Grün­der­­zentrum Biotechnologie (IZB). Im IZB erhalten junge Start-ups beste Vor­­aus­­setzungen für ihre Arbeit. Die La­­bors haben S1- beziehungsweise S2-­Stan­dard. Zurzeit arbeiten knapp 600 Menschen in 60 Firmen in den IZBs. Einige innova­tive Medika­men­te sind be­­reits auf dem Markt, an­­dere in der „War­­teschlange“. 30 Medika­men­­ten­kan­­di­da­ten werden ge­­rade international ge­­tes­­tet, 70 Wirk­stof­­fe befinden sich in praktischen Test­­rei­­hen. Junge For­scher finden im IZB nicht nur bestens ausgestattete Labor­räu­me, sondern auch alles, was die Tech­­nik heut­­zutage bietet, um effizient ar­­beiten zu können: schnelle Da­­tennetze, mo­­derne Kon­­fe­­renzräume und eine ak­­­tive Öf­­fent­­lich­keitsarbeit. Die Nähe zu den wissen­schaft­­lichen Instituten er­­mög­licht auch einen schnellen Erfah­rungsaus­tausch.

Das Gründerzentrum mit dem Motto: „Hier entsteht Zukunft“ hat inzwischen einen international anerkannten Namen.

labor

Vor einigen Jahren hat sich das IZB nach Norden ausgeweitet:
In Freising-Weihenstephan entstand bin­­nen weniger Jahre ein Wissen­schafts­zentrum für Ernährung, Landnutzung und Umwelt in unmittelbarer Nach­bar­schaft zum Wissenschaftszentrum der Technischen Universität Mün­chen.
Das IZB in Freising-Wei­hen­stephan wur­­de 2007 ein Sie­­ger im bundesweiten Wettbewerb „Aus­­gewählter Ort der Ideen.“
Allein die im letzten Jahr im IZB er­­wirt­­schafteten Zahlen sprechen eine deutliche Sprache: Über 80 Millionen Euro frisches Kapital wurden 2008 von Mie­­tern des IZB eingeworben. Auf­­grund der hohen Auslastung der derzeit 19.000 Quadratmeter wird ab 2009 ein weiteres Büro-/Laborgebäu­de ge­­plant, das Mitte 2010 mit 3.200 Qua­­­dratmetern fertiggestellt werden soll. Neuerung hierbei ist eine Schule für technische Assistenzberufe. Insge­samt gab es seit 1995 circa 100 Life-Science-Unterneh­mensgründungen un­­ter dem Dach der IZB. In der Summe haben die ehemaligen Mieter des IZB nachhaltig über 1.000 Arbeitsplätze geschaffen.

Wie erfolgreich hier gearbeitet wird, zeigt auch der Werdegang von Unter­nehmen mit Weltgeltung, die hier an­­ge­­fangen haben: MediGene, Morphosys, Meta­bion, Micromet oder MediGenomix sind Be­­lege für die hier geleistete Ar­­beit.
Die Fördergesellschaft IZB mbH kann auf volle Auftragsbücher der hier tätigen Dienstleister verweisen.
Überhaupt hat die Geschäftsführung der IZB schon sehr früh Standards ge­­setzt, die an anderen Orten nachgemacht wer­­den: So hat sich die IZB be­­reits 2002 für die Errichtung der Kin­dertagesstätte Bio­­­Kids im IZB Martins­ried stark ge­­macht.

besprechungsraum

Das im IZB angesiedelte Café Fresh­­maker und ein attraktiver Brunnenplatz leisten einen weiteren beträchtlichen Beitrag, die Kommunikation unter den Mietern, aber auch mit den umliegenden Nach­barn, stets voranzutreiben.
Es ist wichtig, dass die Mitarbeiter der IZB GmbH immer schnell und unbürokratisch Ansprechpartner für die großen und kleinen Probleme der IZB-Un­­ter­neh­­mer sind. All das ist nur möglich durch ein ständiges Prä­sent-Sein und auch das Wissen, dass die Ar­­beit „von oben“ unterstützt wird: Das Bayerische Wirtschaftsminis­te­rium, wie auch der Haupt­­gesell­schaf­ter, das Bayerische Fi­­nanzministerium, haben sich seit der Grün­­dung des IZB dauerhaft und aktiv für die wichtige Schlüssel­­technologie eingesetzt. Dass sich daran auch im neuen Kabi­nett nichts ändert, das gilt als sicher in Martinsried.

Der Standort wächst seit 14 Jahren und das soll auch so bleiben! Das Grün­der­zentrum IZB arbeitet daran, das ge­­leb­te und funktionierende Netzwerk des Campus Martinsried und rund um das IZB Weihenstephan noch sichtbarer nach außen darzustellen. Die beiden Eli­­te­uni­­versitäten, die exzellente For­schung der Max-Planck-Institute und der Ins­­titute der TU und LMU, aber auch die 100 jungen Biotechunternehmen sind ein Garant für den weiteren Aus­­bau der Metropol­region Mün­chen.

24_7_07-IZB-Team_078Der 1965 geborene Autor hat an den Uni­­versitäten in Augsburg und München Be­­­­triebswirtschaftslehre studiert. Be­­ruf­­li­­che Stationen waren: Textilhaus Lindner, Fürst Fugger Privatbank, SG Warburgs, Schitag Wirtschaftsprüfungsges., wiss. Mitar­­bei­­ter an der LMU sowie Unter­neh­­mens­berater bei der Fraunhofer Ma­­n­­a­gement GmbH. Seit 1996 ist Zobel Geschäfts­füh­­rer der Fördergesellschaft IZB mbH.