Dr. Norbert Kloppenburg: Reconstruction in Afghanistan – a major financing project

The financing of the reconstruction of Germany, a country that was destroyed by war, was the original task of KfW Bankengruppe, which was known as the “Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau” in those days. For decades it has been the mandate of the KfW Entwicklungsbank to promote economic and social pro­­gress in developing and transition countries. When the Taliban regime fell at the end of 2010, the economic and social infra­­structure of the country had been largely destroyed after 20 years of war. Since the beginning of 2002, KfW has supported the reconstruction of Afghanistan on behalf of the German government. KfW bases its work on the decades of financing experience regar­­d­­ing the development policy as well as on its know-how in the areas of establishing transport infrastructure, power and water supply, education, health and financial systems development.

Straßenbau

Straßenbau

From the resources of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Coop­eration and Development (BMZ) and the Federal Foreign Office, KfW has financed projects for establishing the energy sector, roads, schools, and hospitals, strengthening govern­­ment leadership and promoting private entre­­preneurship in Afghanistan. It works closely with the Afghan government to enable them to take full responsi­­bility for the provision and maintenance of the infrastructure, which is required to stabilise and develop the country. The implementation of the projects has been supported by experts working for internationally active, mostly German consulting firms.

The sums provided to finance the recon­­struction are historically unique in the German development cooperation. In 2010, the German government launched a “German Development Initaitive” com­­­prising commitments of up to 430 million euros per year until 2013 for civil reconstruction. While the main focus of Germany’s civil activities lies on the five northern provinces Balkh, Kundus, Takhar, Baghlan, and Badakhshan, Germany still supports development plans for the capital Kabul. In addition, there are con­­tributions to national development pro­­grammes which are, while supervised by the international donor community, im­­plemented by the Afghan government on their own responsibility.

Nowhere in the world KfW invested more than in Afghanistan. This expenditure is justified in view of the enormous challenges posed by re­­con­struction.  

Nowhere in the world KfW invested more than in Afghanistan. This expenditure is justified in view of the enormous challenges posed by re­­con­struction. Despite impressive progress during the last decade, considerable investments are still required in economic infrastructure. Due to low gen­e­­ration capacities and a still rudimentary distribution network, the power supply network remains unsatisfactory. Only one in five inhabitants of Kabul and of the provincial capitals is connected to the drinking water supply system, which is dilapidated to a large extent. The poor transport infrastructure slows down economic development in the provinces and Afghanistan’s integration into global markets. The deficits in the field of social infrastructure (education and health sector) are similarly serious. There are not enough schools and qualified teachers to meet the demand which arises from the constantly increasing school enrolment rates. There is an urgent need to strengthen the capacities of the Afghan government regarding the provision and maintenance of public goods and services at the national, provincial and district level. KfW reacts to these chal­­lenges by supporting the expansion of energy and drinking water supply, by investing in the transport, education, and health infrastructures, by support­­ing the development of a viable financial sector and by advising the public administration on performing their tasks more and more under their own respon­­sibility, among other activities. Our projects are designed to help improve the standard of living of the Afghan people and strengthening the economic and social parameters for a stable community.

With regard to the energy sector, the main focus of activities financed by KfW is on energy generation and the extension of the grid-connected power supply. In association with other donors, Germany has considerably contributed to a largely reliable power supply in Kabul and other urban centres. In the urban water supply, Germany has estab­­lished itself as a leading donor. Today, over 500,000 citizens in the Afghan capital do benefit from an improved or newly established drinking water supply. Pre­­sumably by the end of 2013, another 200,000 people will be connected to the drinking water supply for the first time. The performance of the local water provider in Herat can compete with the standards of industrialised countries. Meanwhile, almost every household has been connected to the water network. KfW projects such as this one are realised in close cooperation with the Gesellschaft für Internationale Zu­­sam­menarbeit (GIZ): while KfW provides the infrastructure, GIZ supports the Afghan government in developing viable provider structures.

In the area of transport infrastructure, we are concentrating, among other things, on the expansion of roads, bridges, and markets and on the renovation of the airport in Mazar-e Sharif. These activities aim at improving regional and inter­­national transport connections parti­­c­ularly to the five main provinces, thus giving a boost to the economic development. Usually local workers are re­­cruited for construction work, which means that the local population is already benefitting from the projects during the implementation phase.  


Afghanistan_Education-project-Kopie
In the field of social infrastructure, KfW is investing mainly in the establishment of vocational schools and in the ren­ov­ation of hospitals. Another focus of the development cooperation between Germany and Afghanistan is basic edu­­cation. In the five northern Afghan pro­­v­inces, 9,000 graduates are supposed to leave the teacher training centres annually by 2013. The percentage of women among the teacher trainees is to be increased from currently 30 per cent to 40 per cent.

Furthermore, the results of promoting private economic initiatives are impressive. For example, by entering into the partner­­ship with selected Afghan commercial banks, KfW facilitates micro and small-scale entrepreneurs’ access to loans. With the founding of the First MicroFinance­Bank (FMFB), which KfW supports finan­­cially and technically, the largest micro-finance institution of the country was established. The head office and the 34 branches in 15 provinces grant about 4,000 micro-loans per month ranging from 100 to 5,000 US dollars. Since the foundation of the bank in 2004, micro-entre­­preneurs – 14 per cent of the cus­­tomers are women – took out almost 200,000 loans amounting to 1,500 US dollars on average.

Another important instrument in estab­­lishing favourable parameters for the growth of entrepreneurship is a Kredit­garantiefazilität (KGF – loan guarantee facility) established by Deutsche Investi­­tions- und Entwicklungs­­­gesell­schaft mbH (DEG), the German invest­­ment and devel­­­opment company, a sub­­sidiary company of KfW. It is aimed at encouraging Afghan banks to grant loans to company founders and small and medium-sized companies. Small and medium-sized companies, which need an investment and/or an operating loan between 3,000 and 300,000 US dollars, are intended to obtain sustained access to market-rate financing which, due to the lack of legal parameters and utilisation possibilities, is not available for standard bank collateral.

KfW_3331-Kopie

Auszubildende zum Maschinenschlosser

Kreditgarantiefazilität was financed by the United States Agency for International Devel­­opment (USAID) and BMZ. The capital made avail­­able is used to capitalise a guar­antee fund, which means that the part­­ner banks grant so-called “SME” loans to small and medium-sized enter­­pri­ses (SME) and se­cure a part of the credit de­­fault risk via this guarantee fund. Further­more, Kredit­­garantiefazilität offers the partner banks extensive supporting assistance in the form of management consulting, support in establishing the SME loans and intensive staff training. For example, the responsible project office Afghan Credit Support Program (ACSP) successfully assisted in the establish­ment of departments for small and medium-sized enter­­prises in two banks, which are true pioneers in Afghanis­tan. To date, the partner banks have grant­ed some 1,900 loans with a volume of almost 60 million US dollars to local SMEs. In the past few years alone, the borrowers were able to create more than 1,600 jobs.

KfW has increased the involvement of decision-making bodies and adminis­tra­tion structures at district and pro­vincial levels, thus strengthening the responsi­­bility of the state at the local and regio­nal level. At the national level, it offers con­­sul­tancy to the German embassy re­­gard­ing the donor dialog with the Afghan govern­ment in order to support the government in realizing important reforms particularly in pub­­lic financing manage­­ment. Thanks to extensive im­­mediate measures, which accompany the realisation of larger in­­fra­­structure-related activities, the pop­u­lation is already benefitting from the start from such plans, the realisa­tion of which takes several years. Both the involvement of the entire KfW staff and the consultants in a joint risk man­­age­ment system of GIZ and KfW, and the cooperation with locally well-net­­worked non-governmental organi­­sations, enable us to remain active even in frag­­ile districts.

Since its establishment, KfW has sup­port­ed important transformation pro­ces­ses in Ger­­many and all over the world. It has always adapted its instruments to chang­­ing local conditions and require­­ments. In Afghanistan, a country which is character­­ised by armed conflicts, it faces special challenges. None­­theless, KfW as­­sists the Afghan govern­ment and private businesses as a com­­petent ad­­visor and partner on be­­half of the German govern­­ment, always guided by the goal of im­­proving people’s livelihood in a more stable society. As an internationally op­­­­­­e­­rating development bank, KfW will in the future incorporate its experiences gained here into its activities in other crisis and transformation countries as well.

Herr_Dr_Kloppenburg_240dpi-Kopie

The author studied economics and social sciences of agriculture and obtained his doctorate in agriculture from the Uni­­ver­­sity of Bonn, Germany. In 1989, he joined KfW. He has held different positions within KfW and since 2007 he has been a member of the Management Board of the KfW Bankengruppe (KfW bank group).

Dr. Norbert Kloppenburg: Wiederaufbau in Afghanistan – eine große Finanzierungsaufgabe

Den Wiederaufbau Deutschlands zu finanzieren, eines vom Krieg zerstör­ten Landes, war der ursprüngliche Auftrag der KfW Bankengruppe, die damals noch „Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau“ hieß. Den wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Fortschritt in Entwicklungs- und Transformationsländern zu fördern, ist seit Jahrzehnten das Mandat der KfW Entwicklungsbank. Als Ende 2001 in Afghanistan das Regime der Taliban fiel, war die wirtschaftliche und soziale Infrastruktur des Landes nach mehr als 20 Jahren Krieg weitgehend zerstört. Seit Anfang 2002 unterstützt die KfW im Auftrag der Bundesregierung den Wiederaufbau Afghanistans und baut dabei auf ihre jahrzehntelange entwick­lungspolitische Finanzierungs­erfah­rung und ihr Know-how in den Bereichen Aufbau der Verkehrsinfrastruktur, Strom- und Wasserversorgung, Bildung, Gesund­­heit und Finanzsystementwicklung.

Straßenbau

Straßenbau

Mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) sowie des Aus­wärtigen Amtes (AA) finanziert die KfW in Afghanistan Vorhaben zum Aufbau des Energiesektors, von Straßen, Schulen und Krankenhäusern, zur Stärkung der Regierungsführung und zur Förderung privater unternehmerischer Initiative. Dabei arbeitet sie eng mit der afgha­nischen Regierung zusammen, um diese zu befähigen, die volle Verantwortung für die Bereitstellung und den Unterhalt jener Infrastruktur zu übernehmen, die für die Stabilisierung und Entwicklung des Landes notwendig ist. Die Durch­führung von Vorhaben wird von international tätigen, zumeist deutschen Bera­­tungsunternehmen fachlich begleitet.

Die zur Finanzierung des Wiederaufbaus bereitgestellten Summen sind für die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit historisch einmalig. 2010 leitete die Bundesregierung eine „Entwicklungs­offensive“ ein, welche bis 2013 Zusagen von jährlich bis zu 430 Millionen Euro für den zivilen Wiederaufbau vorsieht. Dabei bilden die fünf Nordprovinzen Balkh, Kundus, Takhar, Baghlan und Badakhshan regionale Schwerpunkte des deutschen zivilen Engagements, aber auch in der Hauptstadt Kabul werden Entwicklungsvorhaben unterstützt. Hinzu kommen Beiträge zu nationalen Entwicklungsprogrammen, die von der afghanischen Regierung eigenverantwortlich, wenngleich unter Aufsicht der internationalen Geber­gemeinschaft, umgesetzt werden.

Nirgendwo auf der Welt investiert die KfW mehr Zuschussmittel als in Afgha­nistan. Angesichts der gewaltigen Heraus­forderungen des Wiederaufbaus ist dieser Aufwand gerechtfertigt.

Erhebliche Investitionen sind im Bereich der wirtschaftlichen Infrastruktur trotz beachtlicher Fortschritte während des vergangenen Jahrzehnts weiterhin vonnöten. Die Stromversorgung ist aufgrund geringer Erzeugungskapazitäten und eines nach wie vor rudimentären Verteilungsnetzes weiterhin unzulänglich. Nur jeder fünfte Einwohner Kabuls und der Provinzhauptstädte ist an das in weiten Teilen marode Trinkwasser­system angeschlossen. Die unzureichende Transportinfrastruktur bremst die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung in den Provinzen und die Integration Afgha­nis­tans in globale Märkte. Die Defizite im Bereich der sogenannten sozialen Infrastruktur (Bildungs- und Gesund­heits­sektor) sind ähnlich gravierend. Um den Bedarf zu decken, der aus den stetig wachsenden Einschulungsraten erwächst, fehlen Schulen und qualifizierte Lehrer. Die Kapazitäten der afgha­­nischen Regierung, öffentliche Güter bereitzustellen und zu unterhalten, müssen auf nationaler, Provinz- und Distriktebene dringend gestärkt werden. Die KfW reagiert auf diese Heraus­for­derungen, indem sie unter anderem den Ausbau der Energie- und Trink­wasser­versorgung fördert, in die Verkehrs-, Bildungs- und Gesundheitsinfrastruktur investiert, den Aufbau eines tragfähigen Finanzsektors unterstützt und die öffent­­liche Verwaltung dabei berät, ihre Auf­gaben zunehmend eigenverantwortlich wahrzunehmen. Unsere Vorhaben sollen dazu beitragen, die Lebensbedingungen der Menschen in Afghanistan zu verbessern und die wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Rahmenbedingungen für ein stabiles Gemeinwesen zu stärken.

Im Energiesektor stehen bei den KfW-finanzierten Maßnahmen die Energie­erzeugung und der Ausbau der netzgebundenen Stromversorgung im Vorder­­grund. Deutschland hat im Ver­bund mit anderen Gebern wesentlich zu einer weitgehend verlässlichen Strom­­versorgung in Kabul und anderen urbanen Zentren beigetragen. Im Bereich der städtischen Wasserversorgung hat sich Deutschland als führender Geber etabliert. In der afghanischen Haupt­stadt profitieren heute rund 500.000 Einwohner von einer verbesserten be­­ziehungsweise neu eingerichteten Trink­­wasserversorgung. Voraussichtlich bis Ende 2013 werden weitere 200.000 Menschen erstmalig an die Trink­wasser­­versorgung angeschlossen sein. Der lokale Wasserversorger in Herat kann sich mit seinen Leistungen an den Standards der Industrieländer messen lassen: Nahezu jeder Haushalt ist in­­zwischen an das Wassernetz angeschlossen. KfW-Vorhaben wie diese werden in enger Abstimmung mit der Gesellschaft für Internationale Zu­­sam­menarbeit (GIZ) durchgeführt: Während die KfW die Infrastruktur bereitstellt, unterstützt die GIZ die afghanische Regierung beim Aufbau tragfähiger Betreiberstrukturen.

Auf dem Gebiet der Verkehrs­infra­struk­­tur konzentrieren wir uns unter anderem auf den Ausbau von Straßen, Brücken und Märkten sowie auf die Rehabi­li­tie­rung des Flughafens in Mazar-e Sharif. Ziel dieser Maßnahmen ist es, die regio­nale und internationale Verkehrs­anbin­dung insbesondere der fünf Schwer­punkt­provinzen zu verbessern und so einen Impuls für die Wirtschaftsentwicklung zu geben. Für die Baumaßnahmen wer­­den in der Regel lokale Arbeitskräfte rekrutiert, sodass Anwohner bereits während der Umsetzungsphase von den Projekten profitieren.


Afghanistan_Education-project-Kopie
Im Bereich der sozialen Infrastruktur investiert die KfW in erster Linie in die Errichtung von Berufsschulen und die Rehabilitierung von Krankenhäusern. Die Grundbildung ist ein weiterer Schwer­punkt der deutsch-afghanischen Entwick­lungszusammenarbeit: In fünf nordafghanischen Provinzen sollen bis 2013 jährlich 9.000 Absolventen die von der KfW errichteten Lehreraus- und -fortbildungszentren verlassen. Der Frauen­anteil unter den Lehramtsstudenten soll dabei von derzeit 30 Prozent auf 40 Prozent erhöht werden.

Auch die Erfolge bei der Förderung pri­­vater wirtschaftlicher Initiative können sich sehen lassen. Über die Part­ner­schaft mit ausgewählten afghanischen Geschäftsbanken erleichtert die KfW bei­­spielsweise den Zugang zu Darlehen für Kleinst- und Kleinunternehmer. Durch die Gründung der First MicroFinance­Bank (FMFB) wurde mit finanzieller und technischer Unterstützung der KfW die größte Mikrofinanzinstitution des Landes geschaffen. Die Zentrale und ihre 34 Filialen in 15 Provinzen vergeben monatlich etwa 4.000 Kleinstkredite im Umfang von 100 bis 5.000 US-Dollar. Seit der Gründung der Bank im Jahr 2004 haben Kleinstunternehmer und -unternehmerinnen – 14 Prozent der Kunden sind Frauen – annähernd 200.000 Kredite im Umfang von durchschnittlich 1.500 US-Dollar aufgenommen.

Ein weiteres wichtiges Instrument für die Schaffung günstiger Rahmen­bedin­gungen für das Wachstum unternehme­rischer Initiative ist eine von dem KfW-Tochterunternehmen DEG – Deutsche Investitions- und Entwicklungs­gesell­schaft mbH aufgebaute Kredit­garantie­fazilität (KGF). Sie soll lokale afghanische Banken in der Kreditvergabe an Unternehmensgründer und kleine und mittlere Unternehmen bestärken. Die kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen, die einen Investitions- und/oder Betriebs­mittelkredit zwischen 3.000 und 300.000 US-Dollar benötigen, sollen einen nach­haltigen Zugang zu marktkonformer Finanzierung erhalten, die aufgrund der fehlenden rechtlichen Rahmen­bedin­­gungen und mangelnden Verwer­tungs­möglichkeiten für bankübliche Sicher­heiten nicht zur Verfügung steht.

KfW_3331-Kopie

Auszubildende zum Maschinenschlosser

Die KGF wurde gemeinsam von der United States Agency for International Devel­op­ment (USAID) und dem BMZ finanziert. Das bereitgestellte Kapital dient zur Kapitalisierung eines Garan­tie­fonds; die Partnerbanken gewähren kleinen und mittelständischen Unter­nehmen (KMU) sogenannte „KMU-Kredite“ und sichern einen Teil des Kreditausfall­risikos über diesen Garantiefonds ab. Darüber hinaus bietet die KGF den Partnerbanken umfangreiche Beglei­tung in Form von Management­bera­tung, Unter­­stützung bei der Gestal­tung des Pro­duk­­tes „KMU-Kredit“ und intensi­­ves Train­ing der Beschäftig­ten. Das zu­­ständige Projekt­­büro „Afghan Credit Support Program (ACSP)“ hat bei­spiels­weise den Aufbau von Abteilungen für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen in zwei Banken, wahren Pionieren in Afgha­­nistan, erfolgreich begleitet. Fast 1.900 Kredite mit einem Volumen von fast 60 Millio­nen US-Dollar haben die Part­­nerbanken bislang an lokale KMU ver­­geben. Die Darlehens­nehmer konnten allein in den vergangenen Jahren mehr als 1.600 Arbeitsplätze schaffen.

Durch die verstärkte Einbindung von Entscheidungsgremien und Verwal­tungs­­strukturen auf Distrikt- und Pro­vinz­ebene stärkt die KfW die Eigen­ver­ant­wortung des Staates auf lokaler und regionaler Ebene. Auf nationaler Ebene steht sie der deutschen Bot­schaft im Geber­dialog mit der afghanischen Regie­­rung beratend zur Seite, um diese bei der Um­­set­­zung wichtiger Reformen insbesondere im Bereich des öffentlichen Finanz­ma­nage­ments zu unterstützen. Dank um­­fang­­reicher Sofort­maß­nah­men, die die Umsetzung größerer Infra­struk­tur­maß­nahmen be­­gleiten, profitiert die Bevöl­ke­­rung be­­reits zu Beginn von jenen Vor­haben, deren Realisierung mehrere Jahre in Anspruch nimmt. Die Ein­bin­dung aller Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitar­beiter der KfW sowie der Consultants in ein ge­­mein­sa­­mes Risiko­manage­ment­sys­tem von GIZ und KfW, aber auch die Zu­­sam­menarbeit mit lokal gut vernetzten Nicht­­regierungs­organisationen, erlaubt es uns, selbst in fragilen Distrikten aktiv zu bleiben.

Seit ihrer Gründung hat die KfW in Deutsch­­land und weltweit wichtige Trans­­formationsprozesse unterstützt. Ihr Instru­­mentarium hat sie stets an die sich wandelnden Bedingungen und Be­­darfe vor Ort angepasst. In Afgha­nis­tan steht sie dabei in einem von bewaffneten Konflikten geprägten Land vor besonde­ren Herausforderungen. Dennoch steht die KfW der afghanischen Regierung so­­wie der Privat­wirt­schaft als kompetenter Berater und Partner zur Seite, getragen von dem Ziel, im Auftrag der Bundes­regierung die Lebensgrundlagen der Men­­schen in einer stabileren Gesellschaft zu verbessern. Als international tätige För­­der­­bank wird sie die dabei gewonnenen Erfah­­rungen zukünftig auch in ihre Aktivi­­täten in anderen Krisen- und Trans­­for­ma­­tionsländern einfließen lassen.

Herr_Dr_Kloppenburg_240dpi-Kopie

Der Autor studierte Wirtschafts- und Sozial­­wissenschaften des Landbaus mit Pro­mo­­tion zum Dr. agr. an der Universität Bonn. 1989 trat er in die KfW ein. Nach verschiedenen Positionen innerhalb der KfW ist er seit 2007 Mitglied des Vor­stands der KfW Bankengruppe.