Dr. Michael Hupe: A hub and an important transportation infrastructure for the region

Today, research and development are organized primarily in networks. Cooper­­ation and communication are basic re­­quirements for success. Contrary to the as­­sumption of the previous decade, that the development of modern telecommunication with video telephony and “virtual meetings” would make travelling redundant, the opposite effect has occurred. People are looking for personal contact, research groups establish themselves in one place temporarily and conferences remain an important pillar for the professional exchange of ideas.

In this respect, mobility is an important production factor, even more a productivity factor, in an internationally diverse, often global division of labour. At distan­­ces of more than 400 kilometres, this mobility can only be efficiently assured by air travel.

_dsc2393

Unlike the charter traffic serving tourists, in which travellers are able to choose destination and time, the business traveller is less flexible. Date and place are fixed and should be met with minor pre- and post-flight time lags as well as being achievable within short travelling times. This leads to other requirements on the quality of flight connections than in tourism. High frequencies and a large selection of final destinations are re­­quired.
An attractive range of intercontinental destinations is offered in Europe by less than ten airports – the so-called hubs. Besides the amount of passengers of the region itself, all hubs are located in the catchment area of large cities or economi­­cally strong regions, an additional amount of passengers in form of transfer traffic is generated from secondary air­­ports. This alone justifies the oper­­­­ation of long-haul aircrafts.
For the secondary airports it is therefore important to be connected to the international air traffic network efficiently via hubs. Criteria for this are the number of flights per day in order to realise short connecting times. Three flights per day are regarded as the minimum.

 


_dsc5859

Dresden Airport is able to offer a vast number of such connections. The two most important hubs of Germany, Frank­­­­furt and Munich, can be reached up to seven times a day. Vienna and Zurich are also served three times daily. There­­by many connecting flights with transfer times of 60 to 90 minutes are re­­achable within Europe or inter-continentally.

The airport therewith fulfils its task as the most important transportation in­­frastructure for the research and economic location of Dresden.
Additional (European) direct connections are intensively being worked on. Evidence of sufficient demand for their justification is only possible for a couple of destinations, due to the limited size of the catchment area and the below average purchasing power, in combination with the lack of prominent company headquarters and travel-intensive services.

The airport obtains knowledge regarding the demand of scientific institutions and industry through the analysis of final destinations of departing passengers, company surveys in collaboration with economic development corporations and cham­­bers of commerce as well as the evaluation of data from travel agencies. The development of intercon­­ti­­nental passengers in the past five years has been con­­siderable. During that period the accu­­mulated growth to Asia accounts for 74 per cent and to North America 25 per cent.

_DSC3281-slb

In order to manage air transport efficiently, safely and comfortably for travellers, much has been done at the airport in the past ten years. In 2001, a new ter­­minal along with a car park housing 1,500 parking spaces was put into operation. With its own motorway exit and a commuter railway station within the ter­­minal building, the airport has an optimal inter­­modal connection. This guarantees short distances and a speedy arrival and de­­parture. The airport thus ensures that the time the passenger gains in the air, is not lost on the ground. Regularly conducted surveys show that this is highly appreciated by passengers.

The runway, which was rebuilt and extended in 2007, will form a stable backbone for the handling of air traffic for many years. Including planning, application and project approval this ambitious project was im­­plemented in merely three years. With a length of 2,850 me­­tres, the runway is sufficiently sized for the route network of the airport, which is characterized by short and medium-haul traffic. Inter­­con­­ti­­nen­­tal flights are also possible, however with restrictions regarding payload and range for some types of aircraft.

Significant innovations are taking place below the surface. In cooperation with the airlines, the technical basis for in­­ternet and automated check-in has been implemented. This makes the lead time before the flight shorter and more flexible. With a separate area for general aviation, the airport is also well-equipped for business charter traffic.


52-8_11_05_01__

As a result of the size of the terminal, which arose from the reconstruction of a historical production hangar of the GDR aircraft industry, conference rooms and a large event level could be integrated into the building. Therewith, a range of seminars and medium-sized conferences for up to 700 participants can be served, which is not only used by companies of the neighbourhood, but of the entire Dresden area. This pro­­duct benefits also from the infrastructure of the airport, having fast access routes and sufficient parking space.

The surrounding industry is likewise a beneficiary of the development of the infrastructure. In the north of Dresden, the direct environment of the airport, many high-tech companies have settled in several industrial areas. The aviation industry can also relate to the good old days. The modification of older passenger aircrafts to air freighters, fatigue tests of aircraft structures and the manufacture of components take place right next to the airport. With the inclusion of the aviation industry, 2,900 people are currently employed at the site.

michael-hupe-(3)The author, born in Seattle (USA) in 1964, is an industrial engineer and the Gerneral Manager of the Dresden Inter­national Air­­port. Dr. Hupe studied and obtained his doctorate at the Tech­­nische Uni­­ver­­si­­tät Darmstadt. From 1995 to 1998, he worked as a project manager at the Kreditanstalt für Wieder­­auf­­bau in the area of aircraft and airport financ­ing. Later, he was head of cor­po­rate financing at the Fraport AG.

Dr. Michael Hupe: Drehscheibe und wichtigste Verkehrsinfrastruktur für die Region

Forschung und Entwicklung funktionieren heutzutage im Wesentlichen in Netzwerken. Kooperation und Kom­­mu­­nikation sind Grundvoraussetzung für den Erfolg. Entgegen der These aus dem letzten Jahrzehnt, dass die Ent­­wick­­lung der modernen Tele­­kom­­mu­­ni­­ka­­tion mit Bildtelefonie und „virtuellen Meetings“ das Reisen überflüssig mach­­en würde, ist der umgekehrte Effekt eingetreten: Die Menschen suchen den persönlichen Kontakt, For­­schungs­­grup­­pen etablieren sich auf Zeit an einem Ort, Konferenzen bleiben eine wichtige Säule des fachlichen Gedanken­­aus­­tau­­sches.

Insofern ist bei einer internationalen, vielfach globalen Arbeitsteilung Mo­­bi­­lität ein wichtiger Produktions-, ja Pro­­duk­­tivitätsfaktor. Diese Mobilität kann bei Entfernungen über circa 400 Kilo­­me­­ter effizient nur durch Luftverkehr dargestellt werden.

_dsc2393

Anders als im touristisch geprägten Charterverkehr, bei dem der Reisende in Bezug auf Zielgebiet und Zeitpunkt disponieren kann, ist der Passagier im Geschäftsreiseverkehr nicht flexibel. Ter­­min und Ort sind fest vorgegeben und sollen mit geringem zeitlichem Vor- und Nachlauf abgebildet sowie mit kurzer Reisezeit erreicht werden. Dies stellt an­­dere Anforderungen an die Qualität von Flugverbindungen als der Tourismus. Be­­nötigt werden hohe Frequenzen und eine große Auswahl an Endzielen.

Ein attraktives Netz an Inter­­kon­ti­­nen­­tal­­verbindungen wird in Europa von weniger als zehn Flughäfen, den sogenannten Hubs, angeboten. Neben dem Aufkommen der Region selbst – alle Hubs liegen im Einzugsgebiet großer Städte oder wirtschaftlich starker Re­­gionen – wird ein zusätzliches Auf­­kom­­men in Form von Umsteigeverkehr von Se­­kun­­där­­flughäfen generiert. Nur dieser recht­­fertigt den Einsatz von großen Lang­­streck­­enflugzeugen.
Für die Sekundärflughäfen ist es daher wichtig, effizient über Hubs an das internationale Luftverkehrsnetz angebunden zu sein. Kriterium sind dabei die Anzahl der Verbindungen pro Tag, um kurze Umsteigezeiten realisieren zu können. Als Minimum gelten dabei drei tägliche Verbindungen.


_dsc5859

Der Flughafen Dresden kann eine Viel­­zahl solcher Verbindungen darstellen. Die beiden wichtigsten Hubs Deutsch­­lands, Frankfurt und München, werden bis zu siebenmal täglich angeflogen. Auch Wien und Zürich werden dreimal täglich bedient. Damit lassen sich viele Anschlussflüge mit Umsteigezeiten von 60 bis 90 Minuten innereuropäisch und interkontinental erreichen.
Der Flughafen erfüllt damit seine Auf­­gabe als wichtigste Verkehrs­­infra­­struk­tur für den Forschungs- und Wirt­­schafts­­standort Dresden.
An weiteren (europäischen) Direkt­­ver­­bin­­dungen wird intensiv gearbeitet. Der Nachweis eines ausreichenden Ver­­kehrs­­­­aufkommens zu deren Recht­­fer­­ti­­gung ist aber aufgrund der geringen Größe des Einzugsgebiets und der geringen Kaufkraft, insbesondere aber mangels bedeutender Firmenzentralen und rei­­se­­intensiver Dienstleistungen, nur für einige wenige Ziele möglich.

Erkenntnisse über den Bedarf von wissenschaftlichen Instituten und In­­dus­­trie erhält der Flughafen durch Ana­­ly­­sen der Endziele abfliegender Pa­s­­sa­­giere, Unternehmensbefragungen in Zu­­sam­­men­­arbeit mit Wirtschaftsförderung und IHK sowie Auswertungen von Daten der Reisebüros. Die Entwicklung des interkontinentalen Aufkommens in den letzten fünf Jahren ist beachtlich. So be­­trug das Wachstum nach Asien kumuliert 74 Prozent und nach Nord­­amerika 25 Prozent.
Um den Luftverkehr effizient, sicher und für den Reisenden bequem abwickeln zu können, wurde am Flughafen in den letzten zehn Jahren viel getan. 2001 wurde ein neues Terminal zusammen mit einem Parkhaus mit 1.500 Stellplätzen in Betrieb genommen. Mit einem eigenen Autobahnanschluss und einem S‑Bahnhof direkt im Terminal ist der Flughafen optimal intermodal angebunden. Dies garantiert kurze Wege und eine schnelle An- und Abreise. Der Flughafen sichert so ab, dass der Pas­­sa­gier die Zeit, die er in der Luft ge­­winnt, nicht am Boden wieder verliert. Regelmäßig durchgeführte Umfragen zeigen, dass der Fluggast dies sehr zu schätzen weiß.

_DSC3281-slb

Die 2007 grunderneuerte und verlängerte Start- und Landebahn wird dauerhaft ein stabiles Rückgrat für die Ab­­wicklung des Luftverkehrs bilden.
In­­klu­­sive Planung und Genehmigung wurde dieses ambitionierte Projekt in lediglich drei Jahren realisiert. Mit 2.850 Metern Länge ist die Bahn für das durch Kurz- und Mittel­­streck­­en­­ver­­kehr ge­­präg­­te Streckennetz des Flug­­hafens ausreich­end di­­men­­­­sio­­niert. Auch Inter­­kon­­ti­­nen­­tal­­flü­­ge sind möglich, aller­­dings bei einigen Flug­­zeug­­typen mit Be­­schränkun­­gen bei Nutzlast oder Reich­­weite.

Wesentliche Neuerungen finden hinter den Kulissen statt. In Kooperation mit den Airlines wurde die Möglichkeit des Internet- und Automaten-Check-ins eta­­b­­liert. Dies verkürzt und flexibilisiert den zeitlichen Vorlauf vor dem Flug. Auch für den Business-Charter-Verkehr ist der Flughafen mit einem separaten Bereich für die Allgemein-Luftfahrt gut gerüstet.

Aufgrund der Kubatur des Terminals, das durch die Umgestaltung einer historischen Fertigungshalle der DDR-Luft­­­fahrtindustrie entstand, konnten in das Gebäude Konferenzräume und eine große Veranstaltungsebene integriert werden. Damit wurde ein Angebot für Seminare und mittelgroße Kon­­gres­­se für bis zu 700 Teilnehmer ge­­schaffen, das nicht nur von Unter­­neh­­men der Nach­­­­bar­­schaft, sondern aus dem ge­­samten Dresdner Raum genutzt wird. Auch dieses Pro­­dukt profitiert von der guten infrastruk­­tu­­rellen Er­­schlie­­ß­ung des Flug­­ha­­fens mit schnel­­len An­­fahrts­­wegen und ausreichend Park­­­raum.


52-8_11_05_01__

Die umliegende Industrie ist ebenfalls Nutznießer der Entwicklung der In­­fra­­struk­­tur. Im Dresdner Norden, dem di­­rekten Umfeld des Flughafens, ha­­ben sich in mehreren Industrie­­ge­­bie­­ten viele Hightech-Unternehmen angesiedelt. Auch die Luftfahrtindustrie kann an alte Glanzzeiten anknüpfen. Der Um­­bau von älteren Passagier- zu Fracht­­flug­­zeugen, Dauerstabilitätstests von Flug­­zeug­­strukturen und die Fertigung von Komponenten erfolgen direkt am Flug­­hafen. Inklusive der Luftfahrt­­in­­dus­­trie sind derzeit 2.900 Mitarbeiter am Standort tätig.

michael-hupe-(3)Der 1964 in Seattle (USA) geborene Wirt­­schaftsingenieur ist Geschäfts­führer der Flughafen Dresden GmbH. Studiert und promoviert hat Dr. Hupe an der Tech­­ni­­schen Universität Darm­stadt. Von 1995 bis 1998 arbeitete er als Pro­­jektmanager bei der Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau im Bereich Flugzeug- und Flug­­hafen­­fi­­nan­­zie­­rung. Später leitete er bis 2002 bei der Fraport AG die Kon­­zern­­fi­­nanzierung.