Dr. Markus Söder, MdL: Homeland and internationality – Ingredients for success, not contradiction

Hardly any German region is as associated and appreciated for its local cultural heritage on an international level as Bavaria. Tradition and innovation do not contradict one another; in Bavaria they go hand in hand.

 

Bavaria is a strong location. The Free State and individual Bavarian regions have ranked among the best in international comparisons, as documented in a recent study by the Bavarian Industry Association (vbw). Bavaria is not only home to a strong economy and an outstanding infrastructure; it also features a very high quality of life. A satisfaction survey conducted by the ARD (consortium of public broadcasters in Germany) confirmed that the happiest people in Germany live in Bavaria. More than 90,000 people moved to Bavaria in 2012, and this figure is increasing. This is further evidence of the attractiveness and strength of our homeland. Bavaria is truly unique. It is an island of stability, yet a key driver of progress. Ba­­varia stands for freedom and safety, homeland and inter­­nationality. Characteristics that together define Bavaria’s success.

Unbenannt-1

The affirmation and love for the homeland are fundamen­­tal and indispensable – and are thus firmly anchored in the policies of the Bavarian state government. Home­­land is the distinct contrast to globalisation; homeland is the place to be. We draw the strength to master the future from our heritage and roots. This shapes Bavaria‘s image: the combination of love for the homeland and cosmopol­­itanism, from tradition and, of course, progress.

The Bavarian state government has created the Minis­­try of Regional Identity to ensure that corresponding conditions can be secured and further developed. This ministry developed from the expansion of the Bavarian Ministry of Finance, to include responsibility for regional and state development and homeland, and in its capacity as a “future ministry” is unique in Germany. It has – also due to its responsibility for digitalisation – a comprehen­sive coordination competence across a range of divisions and specialisms.

The Ministry of Finance and homeland have always been closely intertwined, for example, the Ministry is responsible for Bavaria’s castles and fortresses. They are the symbol of homeland and world renowned monuments. More than 4.8 million people visited Bavaria’s castles, fortresses and residences last year. The core duty of the new Ministry of Regional Identity is the consistent implementation of equal living and working conditions in all parts of the state as anchored in the Bavarian constitution. This means that we want to ensure that all parts and regions in Bavaria participate equally in the successful journey by the Free State. In particular, we want to further strength­en the rural regions and promote equal op­­portunities in cities and the country. Those residing in rural regions should, in particular, have the same opportunities in life, for example, the possibility of attending higher education institutions and finding a job. What we do not want is a Bavarian state with two different celerities. This specifically means, above all, driving the digital development, providing the necessary infrastructure, particularly providing services of general interest and ensuring that “work comes to the people”. Roads and information superhighways are the lifeblood for rural regions. The state government is investing 1.5 billion euros in devel­­oping high-­­speed Internet – by far the largest investment of its kind by any German state.

We want to provide even greater support for economically underdeveloped municipalities in rural regions. Every community must be able to fulfil its responsibilities in a future-oriented manner. The communal finan­cial compensation in the record amount of over eight billion euros provided by Bavaria in 2014 stands out in Germany.

Additionally, the state government launched the “Action Plan for Demographic Change” already in 2011 especially for the regions featuring a special demand for action as defined in the state development programme for Bavaria 2013. These regions, particularly in northern and eastern Bavaria, amount to about one-third of the area in Bavaria; every fifth inhabitant in Bavaria lives here. Every year, Bavaria invests an additional 1.5 billion euros alone in the “Action Plan for Demographic Change” to strengthen the state’s rural areas.

The state also promotes equal living conditions through­out Bavaria by a targeted employment policy. Trans­­ferring government agencies and institutions in a decen­­tralised manner to economically underdeveloped areas strengthens regions requiring support. The Bavarian state government stands behind its cities and municipalities. They are our partners, the home to our values and strengths. They shape our image of a homeland.

In Bavaria, homeland means diversity comprised of city – country – region. We want to uphold this diversity and make sure the respective strengths shine even brighter and connect to one another.

The European Metropolitan Regions of Munich and Nurem­berg embody these roots and international flair, the interaction between traditional and modernity, the co­­operation between cities and countryside; precisely as the “home of creativity” (Nuremberg Metropolitan Region) and home to “high-tech, crafts, hidden champions” (Munich Metropolitan Region). This is where an outstanding in­­frastructure, cultural offerings and the Bavarian way of life coalesce with an international focus and many inter­­national enterprises.

However, global players in Bavaria can also be found where one at first glance might not suspect them. For example, Grafenau in Lower Bavaria is inseparably tied to the production of building materials; Rehau in the north-east of Upper Franconia is home to global players in the automobile supplier sector. Attractive location factors such as low property costs and living costs combined with Bavarian lifestyle and unique landscapes are incentives for international companies to relocate here and represent the foundation for motivated and loyal employees.

 

Unbenannt-2

 

 

Rural regions offer a high quality of life with their re­­gional distinctions and represent the backbone of the Bavarian economic strength with their wide range of small and medium-sized enterprises. A high level of innovative strength and excellent export quotas underscore their business success.

But homeland in Bavaria also stands for openness and tolerance. It is not only the borders of the Czech Republic and Austria that serve as direct contact with this interna­tional platform. We consider boundless cooperation as a tremendous opportunity; it houses even broader potential.

This open-mindedness can also be found within Bavaria. We are keenly aware of the advantages provided by a func­tioning network between metropolises and surround­ing regions, between densely populated and rural regions. They mutually unify and strengthen the respective advan­­tages. They have become an important location factor in Bavaria. They make our diversity shine even brighter.

The Ministry of Regional Identity supports the initiative of the municipalities to develop a regional identity and regional strengths from within in order to then communicate them to the outside world. Regional management represents a flexible, implementation-oriented instrument for state development which supports the muni­cipalities; activate regional networks and circuits, iden­tifie responses to mutual issues concerning the future, further develop opportunities and strengths and eliminate deficits through innovative approaches. Regional management on 75 per cent of the area in Bavaria has been promoted with approximately 18.5 million euros since 2007. Regional management teams have primarily been established in rural regions or as a partnership between rural areas and agglomerations or even cross-border.

Homeland is somewhere I can enjoy myself, where I like to be and where I am at ease. Homeland and internation­ality – this is clearly a model for success for Bavaria, which we will further develop in a targeted manner in the future by joining forces.

 

30000201_10_soeder_1Born in 1967 in Nuremberg, the author holds a law degree and obtained his doctorate at the Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen/Nürnberg. Dr. Söder has been a member of the Bavarian state parliament since 1994 and a member of the state government since 2007. He has been the Minister of Finance, Regional Development and Regional Identity since 2013.

Dr. Markus Söder, MdL: Heimat und Internationalität – Erfolgsrezept statt Widerspruch

Kaum eine deutsche Region wird international so mit regionaler Kulturtradition in Verbindung gebracht und geschätzt wie Bayern. Tradition und Innovation sind kein Widerspruch, sondern gehen in Bayern Hand in Hand.

 

Bayern ist ein starker Standort. Seit Jahren liegen der Freistaat und einzelne bayerische Regionen in internatio­nalen Vergleichen auf Spitzenplätzen, wie etwa aktuelle Studien der Vereinigung der Bayerischen Wirtschaft (vbw) belegen. Bayern hat nicht nur eine starke Wirtschaft und eine hervorragende Infrastruktur, sondern insgesamt auch eine hohe Lebensqualität. Eine Zufriedenheits­studie der ARD hat bestätigt, dass die glücklichsten Menschen in Deutschland in Bayern leben. Mehr als 90.000 Menschen sind allein 2012 nach Bayern gezogen – Tendenz steigend. Dies ist ein weiterer Beleg für die Attraktivität und Stärke unserer Heimat. Bayern ist einmalig und einzigartig. Es ist eine Insel der Stabilität und zugleich Motor des Fortschritts. Bayern ist Freiheit und Geborgenheit, Heimat und Internationalität. Eigen­­schaften, die in ihrer Kombination den Erfolg Bayerns ausmachen.

Unbenannt-1

Das Bekenntnis und die Liebe zur Heimat sind grundlegend und unverzichtbar – und entsprechend fest ver­ankert in der Politik der Bayerischen Staatsregierung. Heimat ist der Gegenpol zur Globalisierung; Heimat ist im Trend. Aus unserer Herkunft und unseren Wurzeln schöpfen wir die Kraft zur Zukunft. Damit prägen wir das Gesicht Bayerns: aus der Verbindung von Heimat­liebe und Weltoffenheit, von Tradition und eben auch von Fortschritt.

Damit die entsprechenden Rahmenbedingungen gesichert und weiterentwickelt werden, hat die Bayerische Staatsregierung das Heimatministerium geschaffen. Es ist aus der Erweiterung des bayerischen Finanzministe­riums um die Zuständigkeiten für Landesentwicklung und Heimat entstanden und in seinem Zuschnitt als Zu­­kunftsministerium einmalig in Deutschland. Es hat – auch durch die Zuständigkeit für Digitalisierung – eine umfassende fach- und ressortübergreifende Koordi­nierungskompetenz.

Finanzministerium und Heimat waren schon immer eng miteinander verbunden, bei ihm liegt die Zuständigkeit für Bayerns Schlösser und Burgen. Sie sind Sinnbild unserer Heimat und Denkmäler von Weltruf. Mehr als 4,8 Millionen Menschen besuchten im vergangenen Jahr bayerische Schlösser, Burgen und Residenzen. Kern­aufgabe des neuen Heimatministeriums ist es, den in der Bayerischen Verfassung verankerten Auftrag der gleichwertigen Lebens- und Arbeitsbedingungen in allen Landesteilen konsequent umzusetzen. Das heißt, wir wollen alle Teile und Regionen Bayerns gleichermaßen am erfolgreichen Weg des Freistaats teilhaben lassen. Wir wollen dabei insbesondere den ländlichen Raum weiter stärken und Chancengerechtigkeit in Stadt und Land. Die Menschen sollen gerade auch im ländlichen Raum gleiche Lebenschancen haben, zum Beispeil bei der Möglichkeit, weiterbildende Schulen zu besuchen oder einen Arbeitsplatz zu finden. Wir wollen kein Bayern der zwei Geschwindigkeiten. Konkret bedeutet dies vor allem, den digitalen Aufbruch voranzubringen, die notwendige Infrastruktur insbesondere zur Daseinsvorsorge vorzuhalten und dafür zu sorgen, dass „Arbeit zu den Menschen“ kommt. Straßen und Datenautobahnen sind die Lebensachsen des ländlichen Raums. Für den Aus­bau von schnellem Internet investiert die Staatsregie­rung 1,5 Milliarden Euro – die mit Abstand größte Summe deutscher Länder.

Wir wollen strukturschwachen Kommunen im ländlichen Raum noch besser helfen. Jede Kommune muss in der Lage sein, ihren Aufgaben zukunftsorientiert gerecht zu werden. Der kommunale Finanzausgleich 2014 in Bayern ist dafür mit der Rekordsumme von über 8 Mil­­liarden Euro einzigartig.

Speziell für den im Landesentwicklungsprogramm Bay­­ern 2013 festgelegten Raum mit besonderem Hand­lungsbedarf hat die Staatsregierung zudem bereits 2011 den „Aktionsplan demografischer Wandel“ ge­­startet. Auf diesen Raum vor allem in Nord- und Ost­bayern entfällt rund ein Drittel der Fläche Bayerns, hier wohnt jeder fünfte Bürger im Freistaat. Bayern investiert alleine mit dem „Aktionsplan Demografischer Wandel“ jährlich weitere 1,5 Milliarden Euro in die Stär­kung des ländlichen Raums.

Der Staat fördert gleichwertige Lebensbedingungen in ganz Bayern außerdem auch durch eine gezielte Be­­schäftigungspolitik. Durch eine dezentrale Verlagerung von staatlichen Behörden und Einrichtungen in strukturschwächere Räume werden hilfsbedürftige Regionen gestärkt. Die Bayerische Staatsregierung steht zu ihren Städten und Gemeinden. Sie sind unsere Partner, dort sind unsere Werte und Stärken verankert. Sie prägen unser Bild von Heimat.

Heimat bedeutet in Bayern die Vielfalt aus Stadt – Land – Region. Diese Vielfalt wollen wir bewahren und ihre jeweiligen Stärken auch nach außen hin noch stärker ans Tageslicht bringen und gegenseitig vernetzen.

Die Europäischen Metropolregionen München und Nürn­berg verkörpern diese Verwurzelung und internationalen Flair, das Zusammenspiel aus Tradition und Moderne, die Kooperation von Stadt und Land; auf den Punkt gebracht als „Heimat für Kreative“ (Metropolregion Nürn­­berg) und Heimat für „Hightech, Handwerk, Hidden Champions“ (Metropolregion München). Dort verschmelzen hervorragende Infrastruktur, kulturelles Angebot und bayerische Lebensart mit einer internationalen Aus­­richtung und vielen internationalen Unternehmen.

Global Player findet man in Bayern aber auch dort, wo man sie nicht auf den ersten Blick vermuten würde. So ist Grafenau in Niederbayern untrennbar mit Baustoff­produktion verbunden, Rehau im Nord-Osten Oberfran­kens beheimatet Global Player im Industriesektor Auto­mobilzulieferer. Attraktive Standortfaktoren, wie niedrige Flächenpreise und Lebenshaltungskosten verbunden mit bayerischer Lebenskultur und einzigartigen Landschaften, sind Anreiz auch für internationale Un­­ternehmen sich hier niederzulassen; und Grundlage für motivierte, firmentreue Mitarbeiter.

Unbenannt-2

 

Der ländliche Raum birgt mit den jeweiligen regionalen Besonderheiten hohe Lebensqualität und ist mit einer Vielzahl an klein- und mittelständischen Unternehmen das Rückgrat der bayerischen Wirtschaftskraft. Hohe Innovationskraft und gute Exportquoten belegen den unternehmerischen Erfolg.

Heimat bedeutet in Bayern aber auch Offenheit und Toleranz. Nicht nur an unseren Landesgrenzen nach Tschechien und Österreich als unmittelbarer Kontakt zur internationalen Bühne. Wir sehen eine grenzenlose Zusammenarbeit als große Chance, darin liegen noch tiefergehende Potentiale.

Diese Aufgeschlossenheit haben wir aber auch innerhalb Bayerns. Wir sind uns des Vorzuges funktionierender Netzwerke zwischen Metropolen und Umfeld, zwischen verdichteten und ländlichen Regionen bewusst. Sie ver­einen und verstärken die jeweiligen Vorzüge gegenseitig. Sie sind zu einem wichtigen Standortfaktor in Bayern geworden. Unsere Vielfalt kommt durch sie erst so richtig zur Geltung.

Das Heimatministerium unterstützt die Eigeninitiative der Kommunen, eine regionale Identität und regionale Stärken von innen heraus zu entwickeln, um sie dann auch nach außen zu kommunizieren. Mit dem Regional­management gibt es ein flexibles, umsetzungsorientiertes Instrument der Landesentwicklung, das den Kommunen dabei zur Seite steht: regionale Netzwerke und Kreisläufe aktivieren, Antworten auf gemeinsame Zukunftsfragen erkennen, Chancen und Stärken weiter­entwickeln und Defizite mit innovativen Ansätzen be­seitigen. Auf 75 Prozent der Fläche Bayerns wurden seit 2007 Regionalmanagements mit rund 18,5 Millionen Euro gefördert. Regionalmanagements wurden vor allem im ländlichen Raum, aber auch als Partnerschaft zwischen ländlichem Raum und Verdichtungsraum oder grenzüberschreitend eingerichtet.

Heimat ist dort, wo es mir gut geht, wo ich gerne bin, wo ich mich wohlfühle. Heimat und Internationalität – für Bayern ist das klar ein Erfolgsmodell, das wir in Zukunft gezielt und mit gebündelten Kräften weiterentwickeln werden.

30000201_10_soeder_1Der 1967 in Nürnberg geborene Autor ist studierter Jurist und hat an der Fried­rich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen/Nürnberg promoviert. Dr. Söder ist seit 1994 Mitglied des Bayerischen Landtags und seit 2007 Mitglied der Landesregierung, seit 2013 Bayerischer Staatsminister der Finanzen, für Landesentwicklung und Heimat.