Dr. Klaus Schindler: Renaissance of the optical industry – Dynamic co-operation in the Optics Valley

Optical technology with its national and international recognition belongs to one of the most dynamic growth sectors in the Free State of Thuringia. After German reunification in 1990, the optical indus­try has, with its traditional domicile in Jena since the time of Zeiss, Abbe and Schott, undergone a renaissance of re­­search and development – a continual process, which for the time being has no end in sight. Since then about 160 new organizations have emerged in the technology region around the cities of Jena, Wei­mar, Erfurt, Ilme­nau and also Gera. 12,500 highly qualified employees work in research, development and production, with an upward-pointing trend. In 2006 the turnover of the organizations reached a­­round two billion euros. There­of 59 per cent was allotted to export trade.


IOQ-Jena_15TW-Laser

The drive of the industry is sustained mainly by small and medium-sized en­­terprises with an average of 72 employees. To a great extent these enterprises influence the world market. The optical industry functions as an impulse gener­ator for many other industrial sectors and with its impulses significantly contributes towards the economic development of the Free State of Thuringia.
84 of the most successful enterprises and research institutions are members of the OptoNet competence network. The network supports and promotes exchange and co-operation be­­tween members, thereby concentrating streng­­ths and the many facets of optical technology. Thus there is a constant emergence of new developments and in­­novative products. And so a turnover gain of ten per cent and an industry-linked increase in the employment rate of five per cent is anticipated annually up to 2010. The turnover level could at this point lie at three million euros.
80 per cent of the enterprises in the industry estimated the current business si­­tuation for 2007 as good or even very good, while just less than five per cent assessed the situation as bad to very bad. This is an improvement on the pre­­vious year. The mood trend has been unshakeably positive since 2003 and currently actually exceeds the previous maximum value for the beginning of 2002. The negative effects of the 2003/2004 semi-conductor crisis have been completely overcome.

The most optimistic enterprises are those of the micro- and fibre optic sector, which count on an annual growth rate of more than 20 per cent until 2010. The measurement techniques/sensoric, optical and mechanics areas also lie well above the average with ex­­pected annual growth rates of twelve per cent.
According to a current survey, 25 per cent of the enterprises of Thuringia’s optical industry count themselves with their products as the sole technology leaders and 46 per cent see them­selves in the upper levels on equal footing with other leading enterprises. To main­­tain this level or rather to fur­ther ex­­pand it, a good deal is invested in research and development. Ten per cent of the total turnover flows into this enterprise domain.

CarlZeiss4G_ApplikationMikro_

Network building and co-operation are highly valued in Thuringia. As a result of their own experiences, according to a current survey, 85 per cent of the OptoNet members recommend other representatives within the industry for membership. The most utilized aspects of the networking process of OptoNet are: public relations, the possibility of making personal contacts with other enterprise and institutional representatives in the industry as well as professional workshops.


CarlZeiss3_ADLIPMoleküle2

With its optical technology enterprises in the technology region around the Erfurt, Weimar, Jena and Ilmenau ci­­t­­ies, Thuringia has become a veritable Optics Valley, in which not only the large industry representatives like Carl Zeiss and Jenoptik, but especially also the small and medium-sized enterpris­es can through the networking process develop, establish and grow in their niches.

foto_schindlerThe author is a physicist who was em­­ployed as a scientist at the Friedrich Schiller University in Jena between 1976 and 1998. In 1981 he also received his doctorate in Laser Physics there. After a few years at the Bergakademie Technical University in Freiberg, he has been the Managing Director of the com­petence network “OptoNet eV” (a regis­tered association) since 2001.

Dr. Klaus Schindler: Renaissance der optischen Industrie – Dynamische Kooperationen in Optics Valley

Zu den dynamischsten Wachs­tums­bran­chen im Freistaat Thüringen mit überregionaler und internationaler Aus­­strahlung gehören die optischen Techno­­logien. Die seit Zeiss, Abbe und Schott traditionell in Jena beheimatete optische Industrie hat nach der Wende 1990 eine Renaissance der Forschung und Entwicklung erlebt – ein anhaltender Prozess, dessen Ende bis auf Wei­teres nicht absehbar ist. Seither sind in der Technologieregion um die Städte Jena, Weimar, Erfurt, Ilmenau und auch Gera rund 160 neue Unternehmen entstanden. 12.500 hochqualifizierte Beschäftigte arbeiten in Forschung, Entwicklung und Produktion, Tendenz steigend. Der Umsatz der Unternehmen erreichte im Jahr 2006 rund zwei Milli­arden Euro. Davon entfallen 59 Prozent auf das Exportgeschäft.
Die Dynamik der Branche wird insbesondere von kleinen und mittleren Un­­ternehmen mit durchschnittlich 72 Mit­­­arbeitern getragen. Diese Unternehmen bestimmen zu einem großen Teil den Weltmarkt mit. Die optische Industrie wirkt als Impulsgeber in viele andere Industriebereiche hinein und trägt mit ihren Impulsen maßgeblich zur wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung des Frei­sta­ates Thüringen bei.


IOQ-Jena_15TW-Laser

84 der erfolgreichsten Unternehmen und Forschungsinstitute sind Mitglieder des Kompetenznetzwerkes OptoNet. Das Netz­­werk unterstützt und fördert den Austausch und die Kooperation zwischen den Mitgliedern und bündelt so die Stärken und die vielen Facetten der optischen Technologie. So entstehen lau­­fend neue Entwicklungen und innovative Produkte. Bis 2010 wird so mit einem Umsatzzuwachs von zehn Pro­zent und einer branchenimmanenten Be­­schäftigungszunahme von fünf Pro­zent jährlich gerechnet. Das Umsatz­niveau könnte zu diesem Zeitpunkt bei drei Milliarden Euro liegen.
80 Prozent der Unternehmen in der Branche schätzten 2007 die aktuelle Geschäftssituation als gut oder sogar sehr gut ein, während nur unter fünf Prozent die Situation als schlecht bis sehr schlecht beurteilten. Dies ist eine Verbesserung zum Vorjahr. Der Stim­mungstrend ist seit 2003 ungebrochen positiv und übertrifft derzeit sogar den bisherigen Spitzenwert vom Anfang des Jahres 2002. Negative Auswirkungen der Halbleiterkrise in den Jahren 2003/ 2004 sind vollständig überwunden.
Am optimistischsten sind die Unter­neh­men der Mikro-/Faseroptik, die bis 2010 mit einem jährlichen Wachstum von mehr als 20 Prozent rechnen. Auch die Bereiche Messtechnik/Sen­sorik, Optik und Mechanik liegen mit zu erwartenden Wachstumsraten von zwölf Prozent jährlich gut über dem Durchschnitt.
Nach einer aktuellen Umfrage zählen sich 25 Prozent der Unternehmen der optischen Industrie in Thüringen mit ihren Produkten zu den alleinigen Tech­nologieführern und immerhin 46 Prozent sehen sich im High-End-Bereich auf Augenhöhe mit an­­deren Spitzen­unter­nehmen. Um das Level zu halten beziehungsweise auch weiter auszubauen, wird viel in Forschung und Entwicklung inves­tiert. Zehn Prozent des Gesamt­um­satzes fließen in diesen Bereich der Unternehmen.

CarlZeiss4G_ApplikationMikro_

Kontakt/Contact:
OptoNet eV
Hans-Knöll-Straße 1
D-07745 Jena
Telefon +49 (0) 3641 6583-40
Telefax +49 (0) 3641 6583-44
info@optonet-jena.de


CarlZeiss3_ADLIPMoleküle2

Netzwerkbildung und Kooperation wer­­den in Thüringen hoch geschätzt. Auf­grund eigener Erfahrungen empfehlen nach der aktuellen Umfrage 85 Prozent der OptoNet-Mitglieder anderen Akteu­ren der Branche eine Mitgliedschaft. Am meisten an der Netz­werk­arbeit von OptoNet wird die Öffent­lichkeits­arbeit genutzt, die Möglichkeit zur per­sön­lichen Kontaktaufnahme zu Ver­tretern anderer Unternehmen und Ins­titute in der Branche sowie die fac­h­lichen Workshops.
Thüringen ist mit seinen Unternehmen der optischen Technologien in der Tech­nologierregion um die Städte Erfurt, Weimar, Jena und Ilmenau zu einem wahrhaften Optics Valley geworden, in dem sich nicht nur große Bran­chen­vertreter wie Carl Zeiss und Jenoptik, sondern gerade auch kleine und mittlere Unternehmen in ihren Ni­­schen durch die Netzwerkarbeit entwickeln, etablieren und wachsen kön­nen.

foto_schindlerDer Autor ist Physiker und wurde 1981 an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Je­­na, wo er zwischen 1976 und 1998 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter tätig war, auf dem Gebiet der Laserphysik promoviert. Nach einigen Jahren an der TU Bergakademie Freiberg ist Dr. Klaus Schindler seit 2001 Ge­­schäfts­führer des Kompetenznetzwerkes Opto­Net eV.