Dr. Klaus-Dieter Pohl: Tour of the Hessian state museum

The Hessian state museum unites art and cultural history as well as natural history under the same roof. It was founded by Grand Duke Louis I, who donated his natural and art history collections to the state in 1820 – for the purpose of “promoting true education and propagating useful knowledge”. The current museum building was inaugurated by Alfred Messel in 1906.

The painting gallery includes works of the old Cologne and Lower Rhine school, such as Stefan Lochner’s famous “Presentation of Jesus at the Temple”. The older Middle Rhine painting is uniquely represented with altar works. Central to the Dutch painting is “The Magpie on the Gallows” by Pieter Bruegel the Elder. In 1924, a collection of works by Arnold Böcklin came to the museum. After 1945, the art of the 20th century was fostered – including Corinth, Kirchner, Beckmann, Polke, Richter, and Baselitz.


GK-165

Among the works in the sculpture collection, the Crucifixion Group by Tilman Riemenschneider stands out. For the 19th and 20th centuries, works by Klinger, Archipenko, Lipchitz, and Arp occupy centre stage. With 290 works of the time between 1949 and 1972, the “Block Beuys” – on loan since 1970 – represents the largest existing body of works by Joseph Beuys. In 2004, the Simon Spierer collection with 40 sculptures of the classic modernity was donated to the museum.
The “Artisan craftwork” collection shows medieval objects in ivory and precious metals, including early medieval diptychs, one small tablet from the so-called Magdeburg Antependium, and the domed reliquary by the master of the Gregorius portable altar. The Jugendstil is represented by most significant artists like Olbrich, Behrens, Lalique, Gallé, Ashbee, van de Velde, and Hoffmann.

The archaeological collections include finds from the home­­land and the Rhineland. For instance, the figure mosaic of Bad Vilbel from the end of the 2nd century is impres­­sive. The graphic collection counts approximately 30,000 sheets. Prints and xylographs by Dürer and Rembrandt were acquired as early as 1803. The 19th century is marked by Darmstadt and southern German artists.

GR-215

German drawings are accompanied by Italian, French, and Dutch drawings from the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries with works by Michelangelo and Botticelli. Pop art graphics and drawings by Joseph Beuys represent the 20th century.
The geological-palaeontological and mineralogical division has been assigned the stratigraphic and palaeon­tology collections – which contain fossil finds – as well as finds from the Messel Pit, such as the famous “primitive horse of Messel”. The mineral collection contains uni­­que pieces from the Ruppenthal collection. Unique dioramas have been the focus of the zoological collection since 1906. The distribution of animals across the globe is represented in ten animal geography groups. Those groups combine the animals of whole continents or of a characteristic region. The animal kingdom closes the loop.

If the objects in this museum made the visitors aware of the developments in natural, human and cultural history – also in association with the historic background – the Hessian state museum would have accomplished its mission in accordance with its founders.

Pohl-14.9.10_12Dr. Klaus-Dieter Pohl was born in 1950 and studied art history, modern history, and journalism in Göttingen and Berlin. He then took charge of public relations at the National Gallery and obtained a doctorate at the University of Osnabrück in 1986. After a traineeship at the Germanic National Museum in Nuremberg, he was active as scientific assistant at the German Historical Museum in Berlin. Since 1991, Dr. Klaus-Dieter Pohl has been curator for 19th- and 20th-century painting and sculpture at the Hessian state museum in Darmstadt.

Dr. Klaus-Dieter Pohl: Rundgang durch das Hessische Landesmuseum

Das Hessische Landesmuseum vereint die Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte sowie Natur­­ge­­schichte unter einem Dach. Es wurde von Großherzog Ludewig I. begründet, der seine natur- und kunst­­ge­­schicht­­lichen Sammlungen 1820 dem Staat übereignete – zur „Beförderung wahrer Auf­­klärung und Verbreitung nützlicher Kenntnisse“. Im Jahr 1906 wurde der heutige Museumsbau von Alfred Messel eröffnet.

Die Gemäldegalerie umfasst Werke altkölnischer und nieder­­rheinischer Schule, darunter Stefan Lochners be­­rühmte „Darbringung Christi im Tempel“. Die ältere mittelrheinische Malerei ist mit Altarwerken in einzigartiger Weise vertreten. Im Mittelpunkt der holländischen Malerei steht „Die Elster auf dem Galgen“ von Pieter Bruegel dem Älteren. 1924 gelangte eine Werk­­samm­­lung zu Arnold Böcklin in das Museum. In der Zeit nach 1945 wurde die Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts gepflegt – unter anderem Corinth, Kirchner, Beckmann, Polke, Richter, Baselitz.


GK-165

Unter den Bildwerken der Skulpturensammlung ist die Kreuzigungsgruppe des Tilman Riemenschneider hervor­­zuheben. Für das 19. und 20. Jahrhundert stehen Werke von Klinger, Archipenko, Lipchitz und Arp im Zentrum. Der „Block Beuys“ – seit 1970 zunächst als Leihgabe im Museum – ist mit 290 Arbeiten von 1949 bis 1972 der größte bestehende Werkkomplex von Joseph Beuys. 2004 kam über eine Schenkung die Sammlung Simon Spierer mit 40 Skulpturen der Klassischen Moderne in das Museum.

Die Sammlung „Kunsthandwerk“ zeigt mittelalter­­liche Gegenstände aus Elfenbein und Edel­­metall, darunter frühmittelalterliche Diptychen, ein Täfelchen vom sogenannten Magdeburger Antependium und das Kuppelreliquiar vom Meister des Gregorius-Trag­­altars. Der Jugendstil kann mit den bedeutends­­ten Künstlern wie Olbrich, Behrens, Lalique, Gallé, Ashbee, van de Velde und Hoffmann gezeigt werden.

Die archäologischen Sammlungen umfassen Boden­­funde der Heimat und des Rheinlands. Eindrucks­­voll ist zum Beispiel das Figurenmosaik aus Bad Vilbel vom Ende des 2. Jahrhunderts n. Chr. Die Graphische Sammlung umfasst etwa 30.000 Blätter. Schon 1803 wurden Stiche und Holzschnitte von Dürer und Rembrandt erworben. Das 19. Jahrhundert wurde für die Darmstädter und süddeutschen Künstler gepflegt.

GR-215

Zu den deut­­schen Zeichnungen gesellten sich italienische, französische und niederländische des 16., 17. und 18. Jahrhunderts mit Werken von Michel­angelo und Botticelli. Grafik der Pop Art und Zeichnungen von Joseph Beuys stehen für das 20. Jahrhundert.

Den Sammlungen der Geologisch-Paläontologischen und Mineralogischen Abteilung sind die stratigraphische Sammlung und die Paläontologie – die fossile Funde be­­inhalten – sowie Funde aus der Grube Messel, wie das berühmte „Messeler Urpferd“, zuge­­ordnet. Die Mineralien­­sammlung enthält einmalige Stücke aus der Sammlung Ruppenthal. Den Schwer­­punkt der Zoologischen Schau­­sammlung bil­­den seit 1906 die einmaligen Dioramen. In zehn tiergeogra­­fi­­schen Gruppen wird die Verbreitung der Tiere über die Erde gezeigt. In diesen Gruppen sind Tiere eines ganzen Kontinents oder einer charakteristi­­schen Landschaft zusammengefasst. Hier in der Tierwelt schließt sich für den Rundgang der Kreis.

Wenn sich die Besucher vor den Objekten dieses Museums der natur-, menschheits- und kulturgeschichtlichen Ent­­wicklung bewusst würden – auch in Verbindung mit dem historischen Hintergrund, dann hätte das Hessische Landes­­museum auch im Sinne seiner Gründer seine Aufgabe erfüllt.

Pohl-14.9.10_12Dr. Klaus-Dieter Pohl, Jahrgang 1950, studierte Kunstgeschichte, Neuere Geschichte und Publizistik in Göttingen und Berlin. Er war anschließend für die Öffent­lich­­keits­­arbeit an der Nationalgalerie zuständig und promovierte 1986 an der Uni­­ver­­sität Osnabrück. Nach seinem Volontariat am Germanischen National­­museum Nürnberg war er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Deutschen Historischen Museum Berlin tätig. Seit 1991 ist Dr. Klaus-Dieter Pohl Kustos für Malerei und Plastik des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts am Hessischen Landesmuseum Darmstadt.