Dr. Karl-Ludwig Kley: Active in the entire world, at home in Darmstadt

Despite all prophecies of doom, Ger­many is an internationally significant location in the research and development of new medications. In recent years, German research-based pharma­ceutical com­­pa­­nies have been expending continuously increasing contributions in this field, to more than five billion euros annually. This amounts to about 14 million euros spent daily for the development of new medi­cations. This demonstrates that Ger­many continues to be an important location for internationally operating pharmaceu­­tical com­­panies. For the German natio­nal economy, with a net added value of over 100,000 euros per employee – more than almost any other industry – this sector has an important significance. Research-based pharmaceutical compa­nies have proven time and again through high investments and the creation of new jobs that they rely on Germany.
In a globalised world, in which loca­­tions are in competition with each other, this is only possible when innovation-friendly and reliable conditions are met. There is definitely no lack of challenges for this industry in Germany and also internationally: more and more complex health reforms, that are im­­plemented at ever shorter intervals, the competition due to generic drugs, increasing pricing pressure, or the trend for more stringent statutory requirements for safety and proven benefits of new medications. For a re­­source-poor country such as Germany re­­search is of crucial significance to remain com­­petitive internationally, and therefore, secure prosperity.

01394HIGH_PYRAMIDWITHLOGODA-Kopie

Merck, with headquarters in Darm­stadt, is a German company driven by the spirit of research and an in­­quiring mind, the joy of innovation and creativity, while never abandoning its cor­­porate culture and values. In ad­­di­tion to the production of various medications and chemicals, numerous depart­­ments call this location their home; their employees support­ing companies around the globe and pro­­viding services locally. Sev­eral sub­­sidiary com­­panies are also based here: Merck Serono GmbH, Merck Con­su­mer Health Care Holding GmbH, Merck Selbstmedikation GmbH and Merck Shared Services Europe GmbH. In 2010, Merck posted total revenues of about 9.3 billion euros; the operating result was 1.1 billion euros. A total of about 40,000 people work for the Merck Group in 67 countries. In Darmstadt, there are approximate­ly 8,900 em­­ploy­­ees and more than 450 apprentices.
In Merck’s nearly 350-year history, the company has always maintained the balance between the tried and tested and the new, between tradition, progress and new thinking. “Sustain – Change – Grow” is therefore the motto of the company, which today, as a publicly listed company on the stock ex­­change and a global operation, does business in markets around the world.

The Merck corporate culture is grounded in values which are obligatory for all employees at all times: courage, achieve­­ment, responsibility, respect, integrity and trans­­parency are the compass by which the economic and social actions of the man­­agement and employees are determined.

01520HIGH_YOUNGLIFESCIRESEA-Kopie

With operations in chemical, pharma­ceu­­tical and life sciences, the Darmstadt-based company has not only profound expertise but also a high potential for syn­­ergies. These business areas have many similarities and cross-fertilize each other. Merck operates with phar­ma­­ceu­tical and chemical products on regu­lated markets, which distinguish them­­selves through high specialisation and innovation propensity. With the acquisi­tion of the US life-science company Milli­pore in 2010, further synergy effects were added, such as the new methodology for the targeted use of biopharmaceuticals or the search for new ways for biotechnological produc­tion. Further­more, due to the takeover, Merck has become a world leader in the life-science industry. The portfolio spans a total of more than 40,000 products and processes – from laboratory chem­­icals to complete solutions for the pro­­duction of biopharmaceutical medications. Broadly speak­­ing: solutions are offered to the individ­ual client, and high-tech products in the material field are provided for industrial customers.

In many areas Merck operates as a lead­­er. Here are two examples of this from the chemical industry: liquid crys­­tals, which play a key role in flat screen televisions, in notebooks/laptops or in mobile phones – the company is a driving force in this technology and world market leader. The probability that these liquid crystals are used in the attractive flat screens of the world-wide leading display manufac­­turers is high. Another example are pearlescent-­effect pigments, a highly spe­­cialized niche of the pigment market, which are for example used in printing inks, lacquers, plastics and deco­­rative and body-­­care cosmetics.

02281HIGH_PC_ANNUALREPORT08-Kopie

New technologies are also being developed. For example, these include prod­­ucts such as materials for energy stor­­age in hybrid vehicles, products for the photovoltaic industry or innovative lumi­­nescent materials based on light-emit­­ting diodes (LEDs) and organic light-emitting diodes (OLEDs). The latter are made of ultra-thin layers, which emit light instantly as soon as voltage is applied. Specifically to further de­­velop these inno­­vations, the company opened a research and development centre for 340 employees for approxi­mately 50 million euros in Darmstadt in September of 2010. The two six-storey buildings and clean-room tech­­nical centre are the com­­pany’s largest single investment for re­­search and development in chemistry.
The two pharmaceutical divisions – prescription and non-prescription medicines – had total revenues of about 6.2 billion euros in 2010. The two chemical divisions brought in approximately 3.1 billion euros.

00933HIGH_PHPRODUCTIONLINE-Kopie

The name Serono in the pharma division’s name is a reminder of the acquisition of the Swiss biotechnology company at the be­­ginning of 2007, which resulted in Merck becoming a leading global bio­p­harmaceutical company. The portfolio of this division, which at 92 per cent accounts for the largest part of the pharmaceutical sales, includes such important prescription drugs as Rebif and Erbitux: these benefit patients who are suffering from multiple sclerosis or cancer. In addition, medications for infertility, growth disorders, cardiovascular diseases and metabolic diseases are offered – indications which are taken care of mainly by specialists. More than half of the total revenues of the Merck Serono division are generat­ed by biotechnologically produced drugs.

While the prescription drug products of the division Merck Serono help to heal serious diseases and improve the quality of life of patients, the self-medi­cation com­­pounds of the division Con­sumer Health Care aim to prevent illnesses and minor ailments.

01457HIGH_SODIUM_HYDROXIDE-Kopie

Merck continuously invests in pharma­ceu­­tical research and development. Last year this amounted to almost 1.2 billion euros. Worldwide about 3,000 people dedicated themselves to re­­searching and developing new medications – primarily in Darmstadt, Geneva and Boston. In Darmstadt, in 2010 a total of 609 million euros were spent on research and development (44 per cent of the research & development budget); the investment in property amounted to 168 million euros (42 per cent of the total budget for fixed assets).

Appreciation for the city of Darmstadt is demonstrated by the chemical and pharmaceutical company through initiatives regarding local responsibility in the areas of education, culture, sport as well as in social commitment. To support the up-and-coming generations of scientists, especially in the field of the natural sciences, Merck has for 15 years organised the Hessian regional competition of the re­­nowned “Jugend forscht” program at its location in Darmstadt. (“Jugend forscht” is a German youth science competition. With more than 10,000 participants annually, it is the biggest youth science and technology competition in Europe.) Furthermore the company has for many years supported approximately 40 schools around Darmstadt and Gernsheim. Since 2008, Merck has promoted the so-called “junior laboratory” in collaboration with the Technische Universität Darm­stadt (Tech­nical University of Darm­­stadt). In these newly built premis­es of 200 square metres on the university campus, pu­­pils from pub­­lic schools to students taking final exams for their high-school diploma are encouraged to conduct their own ex­­per­­iments under the guidance of university staff and get to know the world of chemistry.

 

Since exercise is an important balance to daily working life, Merck sponsors more than 150 sports clubs in the city of Darm­­stadt and the surrounding region. To increase the athletic and communal interest of people from the region and to enhance the general awareness about health and fitness, Merck supports, among others, the annual sports and games festival in the Herrngarten Park in the city of Darmstadt. In addition, the company spon­­sors cultural events in the region in collab­oration with local cultural institutions and organisations, for example Central­station (a world-famous concert-venue in the city of Darmstadt). These numerous examples make it obvious: Merck is indeed active in the entire world, but at home in Darmstadt. We come from here and we belong here.

01303HIGH_THORSTEN_SCHENK-Kopie

02289HIGH_KLEY_PORTRAIT-KopieThe author was born in 1951 and studied law in Munich. He held various ex­­ecu­tive positions at Bayer AG. In 1998, Kley became a member of the executive board of Lufthansa AG. In 2006, he was ap­­pointed vice-chairman and in 2007 Chair­­man of the Executive Board of Merck KGaA.

Dr. Karl-Ludwig Kley: Weltweit unterwegs, in Darmstadt zu Hause

Deutschland ist allen Unkenrufen zum Trotz ein international bedeutender Stand­­ort in der Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) neuer Medikamente. In den letzten Jahren haben die forschenden Pharma-Unternehmen in Deutschland stetig stei­­gende Beträge für diesen Bereich aufge­­wendet, jährlich mehr als fünf Milliarden Euro. Sie geben hierzulande also Tag für Tag 14 Millionen Euro für die Entwick­lung neuer Medikamente aus. Das zeigt, dass Deutschland für international agierende pharmazeutische Unternehmen nach wie vor ein wichtiger Standort ist. Für die deutsche Volkswirtschaft hat die Branche mit einer Nettowertschöpfung von über 100.000 Euro pro Mitarbeiter – so viel wie in kaum einer anderen Branche – einen bedeutenden Stellenwert. Die forschen­den Pharmaunternehmen haben immer wieder durch hohe Investitionen und das Schaffen neuer Arbeitsplätze bewiesen, dass sie auf den Standort Deutschland setzen.

01394HIGH_PYRAMIDWITHLOGODA-Kopie

In einer globalisierten Welt, in der die Standorte im Wettbewerb miteinander stehen, ist dies aber nur möglich, wenn innovationsfreundliche und verlässliche Rahmenbedingungen gegeben sind. An Herausforderungen, vor denen die Branche in Deutschland, aber auch international steht, mangelt es wahrlich nicht: immer kompliziertere Gesundheitsreformen in immer kürzeren Abständen, die Konkur­­renz durch Generika, zunehmender Preis­druck oder gestiegene zulassungsrecht­liche Anforderungen an Sicherheit und nachgewiesenen Nutzen neuer Medi­ka­­mente. Für ein rohstoffarmes Land wie Deutschland ist Forschung von zentraler Bedeutung, um international wettbewerbs­fähig zu bleiben und damit den Wohl­stand zu sichern.

00240HIGH_RD2004BREMER-Kopie

Ein deutsches Unternehmen, das von Forschergeist, Innovationsfreude und Schaffenskraft angetrieben wird, aber dabei nie seine Firmenkultur und seine Werte preisgegeben hat, ist Merck mit dem Stammsitz in Darmstadt. Neben der Produktion verschiedener Arznei­mittel und Chemikalien sind hier auch zahlreiche Abteilungen beheimatet, deren Mitarbeiter die Länder­gesell­schaften welt­­weit unterstützen und zentrale Dienst­leistungen erbringen. Einige Tochter­firmen sind ebenfalls ansässig: Merck Serono GmbH, Merck Consumer Health Care Holding GmbH, Merck Selbstmedikation GmbH und Merck Shared Services Europe GmbH. 2010 erzielte Merck Gesamterlöse von rund 9,3 Milliarden Euro; das operative Ergebnis betrug 1,1 Milliarden Euro. Insgesamt arbeiten rund 40.000 Men­schen in 67 Ländern für die Merck-Gruppe. In Darmstadt arbeiten rund 8.900 Mitarbeiter, hinzu kommen mehr als 450 Auszubildende.
In seiner fast 350-jährigen Geschichte hat das Unternehmen stets die Balance zwischen Bewährtem und Neuem, zwischen Tradition, Fortschritt und neuem Denken gehalten. „Bewahren – verändern – wachsen“ sind denn auch die Grund­festen des Unternehmens, das heute als börsennotierter, globaler Konzern auf den Weltmärkten agiert. Die Merck’sche Unternehmenskultur fußt auf Werten, die für alle Mitarbeiter jederzeit verbind­lich sind: Mut, Leistung, Respekt, Verant­­wortung, Integrität und Transparenz sind der Kompass, an dem sich das wirtschaft­­liche und soziale Handeln des Manage­ments und der Mitarbeiter ausrichtet.

01520HIGH_YOUNGLIFESCIRESEA-Kopie

Mit Geschäften in Chemie, Pharma und Life Science verfügt das Darmstädter Unternehmen nicht nur über profunde Expertise, sondern auch über hohes Synergiepotenzial. Die Geschäftsfelder besitzen viele Gemeinsamkeiten und befruchten sich wechselseitig. So agiert Merck sowohl bei Pharma als auch bei Chemie auf regulierten Märkten, die sich durch eine hohe Spezialisierung und Innovationsfreudigkeit auszeichnen. Mit der Akquisition des US-amerikanischen Life-Science-Unternehmens Millipore im Jahr 2010 sind weitere Synergie­effekte hinzugekommen, beispielsweise bei neuen Methoden zum gezielten Ein­­satz von Biopharmazeutika oder bei der Suche nach neuen Wegen in der biotechnologischen Produktion. Außer­dem ist Merck mit der Übernahme zu einem weltweit führenden Partner der Life-Science-Industrie geworden. Das Portfolio erstreckt sich nun von Labor­chemikalien bis zu Komplettlösungen zur Herstellung von biopharmazeutischen Arzneimitteln – insgesamt mehr als 40.000 Produkte und Verfahren. Ganz allgemein gesagt: Den Kunden werden Problemlösungen geboten und den Industriekunden Hightech-Produkte im Materialbereich geliefert.

In vielen Bereichen ist Merck führend tätig. Zwei Beispiele hierzu aus der Chemie: Bei den Flüssigkristallen, die in flachen Fernsehern, in Notebooks oder in Mobil­­­telefonen eine Schlüssel­rolle spielen, ist das Unternehmen Tech­no­logietreiber und Weltmarkt­führer. Die Wahrschein­lich­­­keit, dass in den attraktiven Flach­bild­schir­men der welt­­weit füh­­renden Display­­her­stel­ler dessen Flüssig­kristalle zum Einsatz kom­­men, ist hoch. Ein anderes Beispiel sind Perlglanz-Effekt­pigmente, eine hoch­spe­zia­­lisierte Nische des Pig­ment­markts, die zum Beispiel in Druck­­farben, Lacken, Kunst­stoffen sowie deko­­rativen und pfle­­gen­den Kos­metika Verwendung finden.

02281HIGH_PC_ANNUALREPORT08-Kopie

Auch an neuen Technologien wird gearbeitet. Hierzu gehören beispielsweise Materialien für die Energiespeicherung in Hybridfahrzeugen, Produkte für die Fotovoltaikindustrie oder innovative Leuchtstoffe auf Basis von Leuchtdioden (LEDs) sowie von organischen Leucht­dioden (OLEDs). Letztere bestehen aus ultradünnen Schichten, die Licht aussenden, sobald man Spannung anlegt. Speziell um diese Innovationen weiterzuentwickeln, hat das Unternehmen im September 2010 für rund 50 Mil­li­o­nen Euro in Darmstadt ein Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentrum für 340 Mit­arbei­ter in Betrieb genommen. Die beiden sechs­­geschossigen Gebäude sowie das Rein­raum-Technikum sind die bislang größte Einzelinvestition für Forschung und Ent­­wicklung in der Chemie.
In den beiden Pharmasparten wurden im Jahr 2010 rund 6,2 Milliarden Euro mit verschreibungspflichtigen und rezept­­freien Arzneimitteln umgesetzt (Chemie: rund 3,1 Milliarden Euro) – das sind rund zwei Drittel der Gesamt­erlöse.

Der Name Serono im Spartennamen ist eine Reminiszenz an den Kauf des Schweizer Biotechnologie­unter­nehmens Anfang 2007; dadurch wurde Merck zu einem weltweit führenden Biopharma­zeutikaunternehmen. Zum Portfolio der Sparte, die mit 92 Prozent den größten Teil des Pharmaumsatzes ausmacht, ge­­hören so bedeutende verschreibungspflichtige Medikamente wie Rebif und Erbitux: Diese kommen Patienten zu­­gute, die an Multipler Sklerose oder Krebs erkrankt sind. Darüber hinaus werden Arzneimittel zur Thera­pie von Unfrucht­barkeit, Wachstums­stö­run­gen, Herz-Kreis­­lauf- und Stoffwechsel-Erkrankungen ange­­boten – Indikationen, die vor allem von Fachärzten betreut werden. Mehr als die Hälfte des gesamten Umsatzes gene­­riert die Sparte Merck Serono mit bio­­tech­­­no­logisch hergestellten Medikamenten.

01457HIGH_SODIUM_HYDROXIDE-Kopie

Während die rezeptpflichtigen Produkte der Sparte Merck Serono helfen, schwerwiegende Krankheiten zu heilen und die Lebensqualität der Patienten zu ver­bes­­sern, zielen die Selbstmedikations­prä­pa­­rate der Sparte Consumer Health Care darauf, Erkrankungen vorzubeugen und leichte Beschwerden zu lindern.

Merck investiert kontinuierlich in die phar­­mazeutische Forschung und Ent­wick­lung: Im vergangenen Jahr waren das knapp 1,2 Milliarden Euro. Weltweit engagieren sich rund 3.000 Mitarbeiter dafür, neue Medikamente zu erforschen und zu ent­­wickeln – in erster Linie in Darmstadt, Genf und Boston. Zudem investiert das Unter­­nehmen an seinem Hauptsitz. In Darmstadt wurden 2010 insgesamt 609 Millionen Euro für For­schung und Ent­wick­­lung ausgegeben (44 Prozent der ge­­sam­­ten F&E-Ausgaben); die Investitionen in Sach­an­­la­gen betrugen 168 Millionen Euro (42 Prozent der Gesamtausgaben in Sachanlagen).

01303HIGH_THORSTEN_SCHENK-Kopie

Seine besondere Wertschätzung für den Standort Darmstadt zeigt das Chemie- und Pharmaunternehmen auch in der lokalen Verantwortung in den Bereichen Bildung, Kultur, Sport sowie in sozialem Engage­ment. Um den wissenschaft­li­chen Nach­wuchs besonders in den Natur­wis­­sen­­schaften zu unterstützen, veranstaltet Merck am Standort Darmstadt seit 15 Jahren gemeinsam mit der Stif­tung „Jugend forscht“ den hessischen Landes­­entscheid des bekanntesten Nach­­wuchs­wettbewerbs Deutschlands. Darüber hinaus unterstützt das Unternehmen seit vielen Jahren rund 40 Schulen rund um die Stand­­orte Darmstadt und Gerns­heim. Seit 2008 wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der Tech­nischen Universität Darmstadt das soge­­nannte Juniorlabor betrieben. In diesen neu geschaffenen Räumen an der Uni­ver­sität können Schüler von Grund­­schul­klassen bis zum Abitur unter Anleitung von Universitätsmitarbeitern und Chemie­­studenten auf über 200 Quadratmetern selbst experimentieren und die Welt der Chemie kennenlernen. Da Bewegung ein wichtiger Ausgleich zum beruflichen All­­tag ist, fördert das Unternehmen mehr als 150 Sport­ver­eine in Darmstadt und der Region. Um das sportliche und gemeinschaftliche Inte­r­­esse der Menschen aus der Region sowie das allgemeine Gesund­­heits­bewusst­sein zu steigern, unterstützt Merck unter anderem das jährlich im Darmstädter Herrngarten stattfindende Sport- und Spiel­­fest. Das Unternehmen fördert zu­­dem kulturelle Ver­­anstal­tungen in der Region in Zusam­men­­arbeit mit orts­­an­sässi­­gen Kultur­ein­rich­tungen, zum Beispiel der Central­­station. Zahlreiche Beispiele, die deutlich machen: Merck ist zwar weltweit unterwegs, aber in Darmstadt zu Hause. Hier kommen wir her, hier gehören wir hin.

02289HIGH_KLEY_PORTRAIT-KopieDer 1951 geborene Autor hat in München Jura studiert. Er war für die Bayer AG in verschiedenen leitenden Positionen tätig. 1998 wechselte Kley in den Vor­stand der Lufthansa AG. Im Jahr 2006 wurde er stell­­vertretender Vorsitzender und 2007 Vorsit­zender der Geschäfts­leitung der Merck KGaA.