Dr. Inge Lorenz: New paths for literature

Darmstadt is a city of literature. Besides the nationally and internationally active and renowned literary institutions based here, there has also been a house of liter­a­­ture administered by the city in the John F. Kennedy house since 1995. What makes this house so special is that it pools a variety of different literary and cultural interests together.

Readings by the authors are the true mainstay of the Literaturhaus. In two high-quality semi-annual programmes, the facility invites people to focus on contemporary literature.

Blumenbar_Dobler_Ali_Wewerka

Since 1997, local author Kurt Drawert has been running a writing workshop in the Darmstadt Literaturhaus, which is known beyond the region, became the “Zentrum junge Literatur” (centre for young literature) in 2004 with the opening of a “Lesebühne” (reading stage) for first public appearances by the younger generation of authors, and is considered an experimental ground for literary talents. That targeted promotion is bearing fruit, for, time and again, participants successfully manage to continue on their literary way and draw attention from the literary scene through their own publications.

Other literary and cultural facilities, including in the fields of art, photography and music, have their seats in the Darmstadt Literaturhaus and contribute to the complete programme with their own events. They represent the third pillar of the Literaturhaus. By combining all offerings, up to 170 events are held in the lecture hall every year.
In the autumn of 2009, the operating council for the administrator of the Literaturhaus, the Darmstadt muni­­cipal enterprise for the cultural institutions of the city of science, decided to further develop the quality of this municipal facility. The goal is that all institutions in the Literaturhaus take advantage of their opportunities to co­­operate actively in terms of content and organiza­tion in order to attract a larger audience. Moreover, external cooperation is to contribute to expanding the event pro­­gramme and improve the public appeal of the Literaturhaus.

Implementing those new ways required changes that are already bearing fruits. The thematic orientation of the reading programme is a novelty. The programme manager Adrienne Schneider is setting new directions in the event programme. She has further managed to initiate cooperation with the cultural centre “Centralstation” and the book club “Buch des Monats”. She could also win some of the associations in the Literaturhaus over to participate in organizing an exciting programme. That resulted in an uncon­ventional literary offering of high quality, meant to attract a new and mostly younger audience at other venues as well.


foto_literaturhaus_rgb

Another novelty consists of a show room set up by “Darmstädter Tage der Fotografie” (Darmstadt days of photo­­graphy) in the lobby of the lecture hall with current photographic posts beyond the established festival.
The new internet presence, which provides an up-to-date introduction of all institutions participating in the programme of the Literaturhaus with their events, as well as an attractive corporate design graphically and virtually convey the “new” Literaturhaus.

Moreover, the coordination office of the Literaturhaus has established itself as the contact point and information centre for collaborative exchanges on the one hand and for all who are interested in finding out more about what is going on there on the other hand.

The future of the Darmstadt Literaturhaus has a good base thanks to a personal and open-minded image. Committed work on the new concept is to be continued. It is not enough for the Literaturhaus to initiate, it must also evolve.

Ann-DargiesDr. Inge Lorenz studied art history, modern German literature and classical archaeology at the University of Frankfurt on the Main. She obtained a doctorate in philosophy at the Saarland University in Saarbrücken. Since 1996, the author has been active for the city of Darmstadt. Initially, she was in charge of public relations for the International Music Institute of Darmstadt. Then, she was active as deputy head and assistant spokes­­person of the Federal Press and Information Office. From 2006 to July 2010, Inge Lorenz was cultural commissioner; she is now head of the cultural office and top operating manager of the Darmstadt municipal enterprise for the cultural institutions of the city of science.

Dr. Inge Lorenz: Neue Wege für die Literatur

Darmstadt ist eine Literaturstadt. Neben den in der Stadt ansässigen renommierten, auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene arbeitenden literarischen Insti­tu­tionen gibt es seit 1995 auch ein Literaturhaus im John-F.-Kennedy-Haus unter städtischer Trägerschaft. Hier bündeln sich unterschiedliche Interessen der Lite­ratur und der Kulturarbeit, die in ihrer Vielfalt das Besondere dieses Hauses ausmachen.

Autorenlesungen sind das eigentliche Standbein des Literaturhauses. Mit zwei qualitativ anspruchsvollen Halbjahresprogrammen lädt die Einrichtung zur Aus­einandersetzung mit zeitgenössischer Literatur ein.

Blumenbar_Dobler_Ali_Wewerka

Seit 1997 führt der Darmstädter Schriftsteller Kurt Drawert im Darmstädter Literaturhaus eine überregional bekannte Textwerkstatt durch, die sich 2004 durch die Eröffnung einer „Lesebühne“ für erste öffentliche Auftritte des Autorennachwuchses zum „Zentrum junge Literatur“ entwickelt hat und als Experimentierfeld für literarische Talente gilt. Diese gezielte Förderung trägt Früchte, denn immer wieder schaffen es Teil­neh­me­rinnen und Teilnehmer, ihren literarischen Weg erfolgreich fortzusetzen und in der Literaturszene durch eigene Veröffentlichungen aufzufallen.

Weitere literarische und kulturelle Einrichtungen, unter anderem aus den Bereichen der Kunst, Fotografie und Musik, haben im Literaturhaus Darmstadt ihren Sitz und sind mit eigenen Veranstaltungen am Gesamt­pro­gramm beteiligt. Sie sind die dritte Säule des Literaturhauses. Nimmt man alle Angebote zusammen, finden im Vortrags­­saal des Hauses jährlich bis zu 170 Veranstaltungen statt.
Im Herbst 2009 hat die zuständige Betriebskommission für den Träger des Literaturhauses, der Eigenbetrieb Kulturinstitute der Wissenschaftsstadt Darmstadt, eine qualitative Weiterentwicklung dieser städtischen Ein­richtung beschlossen. Diese hat zum Ziel, dass alle Insti­­tutionen im Literaturhaus ihre Möglichkeiten nutzen, inhaltlich und organisatorisch aktiv zusammenzuarbeiten und damit einen breiteren Publikumskreis ansprechen. Außerdem sollen externe Kooperationen zu einer Aus­weitung des Veranstaltungsprogramms und zu einer verbesserten öffentlichen Ausstrahlung des Literatur­hauses beitragen.

Die Umsetzung dieser neuen Wege erforderte Ver­ände­rungen, die bereits Früchte tragen. Neu ist die thematische Ausrichtung des Leseprogramms. Die Programm­­leiterin Adrienne Schneider setzt neue Akzente im Veranstaltungsprogramm. Zugleich sind ihr erste Koope­rationen mit der „Centralstation“ und dem Verein „Buch des Monats“ gelungen. Einige der im Literaturhaus an­­sässigen Vereine konnte sie als Mit­­veranstalter eines spannenden Programms gewinnen. So ist ein unkonven­tionelles literarisches Angebot mit hoher Qualität ent­standen, das auch an anderen Ver­anstaltungsorten ein neues und vor allem auch jüngeres Publikum ansprechen will.


foto_literaturhaus_rgb

Neu ist auch die Einrichtung eines Schauraumes durch die „Darmstädter Tage der Fotografie“ im Vorraum des Vortragssaales mit aktuellen fotografischen Positionen über das etablierte Festival hinaus.
Der neue Internetauftritt, der alle am Literatur­haus­programm teilnehmenden Institutionen mit ihren Ver­­­an­­staltungen aktuell präsentiert, sowie ein ansprechendes Corporate Design vermitteln grafisch und virtuell das „neue“ Literaturhaus.

Etabliert hat sich außerdem das Koordinationsbüro des Literaturhauses als Kontakt- und Informationsstelle, zum einen für den Austausch in der gemeinsamen Arbeit und zum anderen für alle, die wissen möchten, was dort geschieht.

Die Zukunft des Darmstädter Literaturhauses hat eine gute Basis durch ein persönliches und experimen­tierfreudiges Profil. Am neuen Konzept soll engagiert weiter­­gearbeitet werden. Es soll nicht dabei bleiben, nur etwas anzustoßen, das Literaturhaus soll sich auch fortentwickeln.

Ann-DargiesDr. Inge Lorenz hat Kunstgeschichte, Neuere deutsche Literatur und Klassische Archäologie an der Universität Frankfurt am Main studiert. Sie promovierte zur Dr. phil. an der Universität des Saarlandes in Saarbrücken. Seit 1996 ist die Autorin für die Stadt Darmstadt tätig. Zunächst war sie für die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit des Internatio­nalen Musikinstituts Darmstadt zuständig. Anschließend war sie als stellvertretende Amtsleiterin und stellvertretende Pressesprecherin im Presse- und Informationsamt tätig. Von 2006 bis Juli 2010 war Inge Lorenz Kulturbeauftragte und ist jetzt Leiterin des Kulturamtes sowie Erste Betriebsleiterin des Eigenbetriebs Kulturinstitute der Wissenschaftsstadt Darmstadt.