Dr.-Ing. Reinhard Proske: Global players and entrepreneurial well-being in the region

The economic success of any enter­prise already commences at the choice of a location. For the CircleSmartCard AG, which was founded in Erfurt on 21 May 1999, it proved to be the right and good decision to establish itself in Erfurt. This is a fact that cannot only be attributed to the investment promotion in the Central German business location.

Unlike quite a few rather sedate au­thorities in the west of Germany, the administration at the Erfurt lo­cation reaches quick and competent decisions. Whether a snack bar, car dealership or prospective global market leader in the area of chip-card production – a proactive and cooperative administration can be relied upon for a speedy business registration. The comprehensive and speedy advice of the Chamber of Commerce and In­dustry also pleasantly raises itself above the time-consuming procedures of comparable institutions at other locations.


CSC_-(35)

The state capital of Thuringia is one of the supporting legs of the Erfurt-Wei­­mar-Jena-Ilmenau technology re­gion. Each of these cities cultivates excellent skilled personnel at their own univer­sities. Skilled personnel are available and are inspired to do their work. Last but not least: Erfurt, situated in the centre of Europe, offers attractive and favourable commercial premises.

More important than these factors is, however, the existence of an economic infrastructure, which allows for the achievement of synergy effects. From the CircleSmartCard viewpoint: the Cubit electronics GmbH company was already domiciled in Erfurt – a market and technology leader amongst the producers of antennae systems for non-contact chip cards. Cooperation with this organization in the collective development and production of non-contact chip cards proved extremely successful. The developed product is generally reputed to be the product of the future. Other industry-related organ­izations have also established them­selves and are building cooperative net­­works.

IMG_9413m---copie

It is the claim of CircleSmartCard to be the chip card producer with the worldwide highest quality standard; to produce chip card bodies according to modern production processes from tailor-made materials for various applications; to have reasonable delivery costs; and in further-development to­geth­er with customers and partner organizations, still be in the leading position. The organization produces 240 million chip cards – an increasing trend – and is today the global market leader in its field. Thereof 65 per cent is produced for the export market. The naturally international orientation of global players makes a functional infrastructure of street, rail and air essential. Erfurt has at its disposal a fast IC-­connection to the “Frankfurt am Main” airport and furthermore an internal airport with ac­­cess to other internation­al airports in Germany.
The region managed the ambitious goal: to supply the worldwide chip card market with highquality injection-cast card bodies from technical thermoplastic synthetic material and to promote the development of new tailor-made card materials as well as the improvement of industrial production processes for new applica­tions and markets. With its factors the location contributes thereto that high-tech enterprises grow in international competition right up to world leadership.


CSC_-(62)

The surroundings of the technology region enable organizations operating in the micro-technology field to devel­op new concepts, materials and procedures beyond the production so that new applications are accessible and so automatically contribute towards the growth of the market.

Präsentation1_pptThe author was born in 1949 and stud­ied chemistry at the Technical Uni­ver­­sity Claus­thal, where he also received his doctorate and was for many years involved in the field of nuclear energy and as part of management in the plas­tics processing industry. In 1999 he founded the Circle­SmartCard AG in Er­­furt. He has been the president of the Association for Plastics Processing In­­dustry since 2002.

Dr.-Ing. Reinhard Proske: Global Player und das unternehmerische Wohlbefinden in der Region

Der wirtschaftliche Erfolg eines jeden Unternehmens fängt bereits bei der Standortwahl an. Für die Circle­Smart­Card AG, am 21. Mai 1999 in Erfurt gegründet, hat sich die Entscheidung zur Ansiedlung in Erfurt als richtig und gut erwiesen. Eine Tatsache, die nicht nur an der Investitionsförderung für den mitteldeutschen Standort auszumachen ist.

Anders als so manche eher behäbig ar­­beitende Behörde im Westen der Repu­blik trifft die Verwaltung am Stand­ort Erfurt schnelle und kompetente Ent­schei­­dungen. Ob Döner-Im­biss, Auto­han­del oder künftiger Welt­markt­führer im Bereich der Chipkartenpro­duk­tion ­– mit einer zügigen Gewerbe­an­meldung durch eine mitdenkende und mitwirkende Verwaltung darf gerechnet werden. Und auch die umfassende und zügige Beratung durch die Industrie- und Handelskammer hebt sich wohltuend von zeitintensiveren Verfahren vergleichbarer Institutionen an anderen Standorten ab.


CSC_-(35)

Die thüringische Landeshauptstadt ist eines der Standbeine der Technologie­region Erfurt, Weimar, Jena und Ilme­nau. Jede dieser Städte bildet an der eigenen Universität exzellentes Fachper­so­nal aus. Arbeitskräfte sind verfügbar und für ihre Arbeit zu begeistern.
Und nicht zuletzt: Erfurt, in der Mitte Europas gelegen, bietet attraktive und günstige Gewerbeflächen.

Wichtiger als solche Faktoren ist jedoch das Vorhandensein einer wirtschaftlichen Infrastruktur, durch die sich Synergieeffekte erzielen lassen. Aus der Sicht von CircleSmartCard: Am Standort Erfurt war bereits die Firma Cubit electronics GmbH ansässig, ein Markt- und Technologieführer unter den Herstellern für Antennensysteme für kontaktlose Chipkarten. Die Koope­r­ation mit diesem Unternehmen bei der gemeinsamen Entwicklung und Produk­tion von kontaktlosen Chipkarten er­wies sich als äußerst erfolgreich. Das entwickelte Produkt wird allgemein als das Produkt der Zukunft angesehen. Auch andere branchennahe Unter­nehmen haben sich etabliert und bilden Netzwerke der Kooperation.

IMG_9413m---copie

Der Anspruch von CircleSmartCard ist es, den Chipkartenherstellern weltweit höchste Qualität, nach modernsten Ver­­fahren hergestellte Chipkartenkörper aus maßgeschneiderten Materialien für die verschiedensten Anwendungen kostengünstig zu liefern und in der Wei­­ter­ent­wicklung gemeinsam mit den Kun­den und Partnerfirmen stets an der Spit­ze zu sein. Das Unternehmen produziert 240 Millionen Chipkarten – Tendenz steigend – und ist heute ein Weltmarkt­führer in seinem Bereich. Dabei wird zu 65 Prozent für den Export produziert. Die naturgemäß internationale Ausrich­tung von Global Playern macht eine funk­­tio­nie­rende Infrastruktur auf Straße, Schie­­ne und zur Luft erforderlich. Erfurt ver­­fügt über eine schnelle IC-Verbindung zum Flughafen Frankfurt am Main und zudem über einen In­­landsflughafen mit Anschluss zu anderen internationalen Airports in Deutsch­land.
Aus der Region heraus ist es gelungen, das hoch gesteckte Ziel zu realisieren, den Chipkartenmarkt mit hochqualitati­ven, spritzgegossenen Kartenkörpern aus technischen thermoplastischen Kunst­­stof­fen weltweit zu beliefern und die Ent­wick­­lung von neuen maßgeschneider­ten Kar­­tenmaterialien sowie die Ver­­besserung der industriellen Pro­duktionsprozesse für neue Appli­ka­tionen und Märkte voranzu­­treiben. Der Standort trägt mit seinen Fak­­toren dazu bei, dass Unternehmen der Hoch­technologie im internationalen Wettbe­werb bis hin zur Weltmarkt­füh­rerschaft wachsen.


CSC_-(62)

Das Umfeld der Technologieregion er­­mög­­licht dem im mikrotechnologischen Be­­reich arbeitenden Unterneh­men je­­doch auch, über die Produktion hinaus neue Konzepte, Materialien und Pro­zesse zu entwickeln, damit neue Ap­­plikationen zu erschließen und so zum Wachstum der Märkte selbst beizutragen.

Präsentation1_pptDer 1949 geborene Autor studierte an der TU Clausthal Chemie und wurde dort promoviert und war über lange Jahre im Bereich der Kernenergie und geschäftsführend in der kunststoffverarbeitenden Industrie tätig. 1999 gründete er die CircleSmartCard AG in Er­­furt. Seit 2002 ist er Präsident des Ge­­samt­verbandes Kunststoff­verar­bei­ten­de Indus­trie eV.