Dr.-Ing. Peter Grambow: A piece of the future from Bavaria – Innovation through nanotechnology

Nanotechnology is a key technology for the 21st century. New material properties can be created with the help of nanotechnology through an exact mastering of the structure sizes between 1 and 100 nanometres, and properties, such as the mechanical stability for the respective application, can be tailored.

 

Nanotechnology, as a cross-sectional technology, influences many important industry sectors such as the semi­conductor industry, automobile industry, biotechnol­ogy, chemical industry, medical technology, sensor tech­nology, environmental technology, aerospace, mechanical engin­eering and the textile industry. In addition, nanotechnology provides a wide range of application options for completely new products or product characteristics such as conductive plastics, ultralight building materials or coatings with a high thermoconductivity.

Germany, along with the USA and Japan, is a world leader in nanotechnology in terms of technological leadership and innovative strength. Bavaria is among the leading nanotechnology locations in Germany. Particularly small and medium-sized enterprises in Bavaria can draw on the enormous potential offered by nanotechnology. Co­­operation with national and international institutions, networks and companies outside Bavaria’s borders is of tremendous importance in securing and expanding this leading position over the long term.
Running parallel to the manufacturing processes for nanomaterials are process technologies, such as dispersion, which are developing into key technologies on the way to increased quantities. Here, an optimisation of the even distribution of a specific nanomaterial, for example in a plastics matrix, takes place, which allows a targeted functionalisation of this synthetic material, hence providing it with tailored characteristics it otherwise would not have. Integrating, for example, nanosilver makes plastics conductive, thereby making completely new product characteristics possible.

raumfahrtteil

This technological development also affects the strategy within the Cluster Nanotechnology. Exploiting synergies within and even between different industries is extremely important for the innovative process. Project enquiries show that linking different areas can provide decisive impetus for a competitive advantage. Networks play an extremely important role in this, in order, for example, to illustrate the entire value-added chain, starting from the production of the raw mater­ial combined with the worldwide availability all the way to disposal. One company is generally not able to provide the required de­­velopment work and bear the eco­no­mic risks on its own. For this reason, the Cluster Na­no­technol­ogy ­has established cor­­responding networks (for example Nano­Carbon, Nano­Silber, Nano­BRIDGE etc.), which are especially active at the interfaces be­­tween research, applica­tion-oriented development and production. And this is exactly where the work of the Clus­ter Nanotechnology begins, whose primary task is the tech­nology transfer between the stakeholders from science and business.

Cluster Nanotechnology – Using networks for success – The Nanoinitiative Bayern GmbH manages the Cluster Nanotechnology in Bavaria, which in turn is sponsored by the Free State of Bavaria through its clus­ter initiative. The efficient support of technol­ogy transfer between the stakeholders from science and business delivers new impetus to the areas of research, development and production. Innovations in this high-tech sector are primarily driven by small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), because the implementation often requires a considerable willingness to take risks and requires a high degree of flexibility. The cluster’s focus is on sup­­porting the SMEs in the implementation within specific R&D projects.

In addition, the Förderverein Nanonetz Bayern e.V. network association acts as an open platform for cluster activ­ities. Bundling and coord­inating the core competencies from research, industry, academics and services creates synergies which con­­tribute significantly to in­tro­ducing nanotechnology ap­proaches to society and busi­ness.

A wide range of events, for example cluster meetings, trade congresses or participa­tion in trade fairs in form of joint cluster exhibition stands, were coordina­t­­ed to suit the core activities in order to pro­vide interested companies and players from the cluster with a significant added value. Project work represents one of the cluster’s most important core activities. Depending on customer requirements, it ranges from initiating a project to support, consulting and execution all the way to complete project management. In addi­tion, R&D projects or working groups can also create the nucleus for establishing further-reaching networks. One of the primary objectives is bringing innovative small and me­­dium-sized enterprises, large companies and application-oriented research institutions and universities to­­gether, with the goal of transferring nanomaterials into specific, close-to-market applications and products.

The production capacity of MWCNT (Multi-Wall Carbon Nanotubes), for example, con­­tinues to increase and reached, according to the American Ceramic Society, a worldwide total of more than 4,500 tonnes/year (2011). This means that nano­materials are increas­ingly available in larger quan­ti­ties. Cluster activities in this sector have been expanded considerably and the NanoCarbon cooperation network was founded primarily as a result of the increased interest, the enormous technical options for carbon nanotubes and the discovery of graphenes.
The Network NanoCarbon– The Network NanoCarbon in particular targets supporting SMEs in turning research results regarding nanocarbon material into innovative applications and marketable products. NanoCar­bon serves as a contact point for partners from industry and research and focuses on the manufacturing, processing, application, production and disposal of nanocarbon ma­­terials. Fa­-cilitation by the network management provides com­­prehensive support for the partners in the cooperation, while close technological cooperation enables them to establish new applica­tions and products for nanocarbons on the market. Numerous targeted R&D projects are planned as part of the Network NanoCarbon and designed to utilise the potential offered by nanocarbon materials be­­tween institutions and companies, sev­­eral of which have their home in Bavaria (FutureCarbon, Eckart and HPS). The competitiveness of SMEs in Bavaria is to be sustainably increased through the participation of the companies in network projects.

NanoSilver network project – The NanoSilber network has taken on the task of promoting and supporting small and medium-sized enterprises in the responsible use of nanosilver through innovative developments. Nano­silver is a material featuring considerable technical and economic potential. Silver nanoparticles and wires display unique characteristics, which are superior to those found in macro­scopic silver. Market surveys forecast that, due to these characteristics, the nanosilver market will grow from 290 million USD in 2011 to two billion USD in 2018.

The network management supports the partners by facilitating cooperation, and in applying for funding and finding new cooperation partners.

hochhäuser generator fettes_auto

European Centre for Dispersion Technologies (EZD) – Processing and process technology are becoming increasingly valuable along with nanomaterials (e.g. nanosilver and nanocarbon). Automation technology and process technology often play a decisive role in introducing nanotechnology into the respective production environments or making them more efficient. In order to clearly focus on process technology, the Cluster Nanotechnology initiated and carried out the founding activities for the European Centre for Dispersion Technologies (EZD) in Selb together with the Süddeutsches Kunststoffzentrum (SKZ), the German plastics center. In 2012, in a focused action, by dedicated companies from the region, the SKZ and the cluster managed to secure funding in the amount of five million euros for the establishment and initial operation of the EZD.

The key focus of the newly founded research and technology transfer centre is on the manufacturing and characterisation of micro and nanoscale dispersions. In order to offer these relevant services to industry, a competent team as well as diverse equipment in the three areas formulation, dispersion processes and analy­sis are available in Selb. Close cooperation with industry plays a considerable role for the EZD. Particularly small and medium-sized companies often do not have suffi­cient capacities to conduct research and development. “These companies can immediately take advantage of the support offered for dispersion technologies by the EZD,” says Dr. Wolff-Fabris, head of the EZD. An additional focus of the EZD is on further training and knowledge transfer.

From laboratory to series production – Numerous developments based on nanotechnology have resulted in a number of unique products over the past years. Currently, work on the further development and commercial optimisation of manufacturing and processing technologies is underway.

 

EZD

Two examples of this: nanoplus Nanosystems and Technologies GmbH was established as a spin-off from the laboratories of the University of Würzburg in 1998. nanoplus has experienced contin­uous growth since its founding. Headquarters and main plant of nanoplus are in Gerbrunn near Würzburg. A second plant was opened in Meiningen/Thuringia in 2009. The company specialises in laser diodes for gas sensors and is currently the world­wide market leader. The wavelengths for single-mode semiconduct­or lasers range from 760 to 3,500 nm.

A founding member of the Nanonetz Bayern e.V. net­work association is Schaeff­ler Technologies GmbH & Co. KG. One of the main topics for Schaeffler, an automotive supplier, is reducing friction in conventional com­bustion engines. In the coat­ing centre, which was founded especially for the development of in­­novative coating systems, work over the past years has focussed on designing sophisticated coating systems that reduce friction considerably. A reduction in friction results in reducing CO2 emis­sions; in a specific case up to two per cent per vehicle, so that a considerable contribution to saving resources through the direct influence of nanotechnology can be registered here. Furthermore, components and systems, for example for the automotive sector, have been developed and transferred to high-volume production.

 

Peter-GrambowThe author studied Electrical Engineering in Darmstadt and then, as a research fellow, assisted in the planning and establishment of the microstructure labora­tory at the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research in Stuttgart. After obtaining a doctorate, he held various positions in industry. Dr. Grambow has been responsible for managing the Cluster Nanotechnology since 2010.

Dr.-Ing. Peter Grambow: Ein Stück Zukunft aus Bayern – Innovation durch Nanotechnologie

Die Nanotechnologie ist eine Schlüsseltechnologie des 21. Jahrhunderts. Mit ihrer Hilfe können neue Materialeigenschaften durch eine genaue Beherrschung der Strukturgrößen zwischen 1 und 100 Nanometern gezielt eingestellt und Eigenschaften wie z.B. die mechanische Stabilität für die jeweilige Anwendung maßgeschneidert werden.

 

Als Quer­schnittstechno­­logie beeinflusst die Nanotechno­logie viele wichtige Branchen wie Halb­leiterindustrie, Automobilindustrie, Biotech­nologie, Chemie, Medizin­technik, Sensorik, Umwelttech­nologie, Luft- und Raum­fahrt, Maschinenbau und Textilindustrie. Darüber hinaus bieten Nanotechno­logien eine Vielfalt von Anwendungs­mög­lich­keiten für völlig neue Produkte oder Produkt­eigenschaften wie leitfähige Kunststoffe, ultraleichte Bau­stoffe oder Lacke mit hoher Wärme­leitfähigkeit.

Neben den USA und Japan liegt Deutschland im Bereich Nanotechnologie an der Weltspitze hinsichtlich Techno­logieführerschaft und Innovationskraft. Bayern gehört dabei zu den führenden Nanotechnologie-Standorten in Deutschland. Insbesondere kleine und mittlere Unter­nehmen in Bayern schöpfen aus dem enormen Potenzial der Nanotechnologie. Um diese Spitzenposition langfris­tig zu sichern und weiter auszubauen, ist die Kooperation mit nationalen und internationalen Institutionen, Netz­werken und Firmen über die bayerischen Landesgrenzen hinaus von großer Bedeutung.

raumfahrtteil
Parallel zu den Herstellungsverfahren von Nano­mat­eria­lien entwickeln sich die Prozess­technologien wie das Dis­pergieren zu Schlüssel­technologien auf dem Weg zu höheren Stückzahlen. Dabei optimiert man die gleichmäßige Verteilung eines bestimmten Nanomaterials beispielsweise in einer Kunststoffmatrix und kann damit diesen Kunststoff gezielt funktionalisieren, ihm also maßgeschneiderte Eigenschaften verleihen, die er sonst nicht hätte. Durch die Einbringung von z.B. Nanosilber kann man Kunststoffe leitfähig machen und damit völlig neue Produkteigenschaften realisieren.

Diese technische Entwicklung hat auch Auswirkungen auf die Strategie innerhalb des Clusters Nanotechnolo­gie. Die Nutzung von Synergien innerhalb und sogar zwischen verschiedenen Industrien ist äußerst wichtig für den Inno­vationsprozess. Die Projektanfragen zeigen, dass die Verknüpfung unterschiedlicher Bereiche entscheidende Impulse für den Wettbewerbsvorteil geben kann. Netz­werke spielen hier eine außerordentlich wichtige Rolle, um beispielsweise die gesam­te Wert­schöpfungskette, ausgehend von der Produktion des Grundmaterials, ver­bunden mit der weltweiten Ver­­fügbarkeit, bis hin zur Ent­sorgung abzubilden. Ei­ne Firma allein ist in der Re­gel nicht in der Lage, die erfor­derlichen Entwick­lungs­leis­tungen zu erbringen und die wirtschaftlich­en Risiken zu tragen. ­Daher hat der Clus­ter Nano­techno­logie entsprechende Netz­werke ­ins Leben ge­ru­fen (z.B. Nano­Carbon, Nano­Silber, Nano­BRIDGE etc.), die insbeson­dere an den Schnitt­stellen zwischen For­schung, anwendungsorientierter Ent­wick­lung und Pro­duktion agieren. Und genau hier setzt die Arbeit des Clusters Nano­technologie an, dessen Hauptaufgabe im Technologie­transfer zwisch­en den Stakeholdern aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft besteht.

Cluster Nanotechnologie ­­– Im Netzwerk zum Erfolg
Die Nanoinitiative Bayern GmbH managt das Cluster Nano­technologie in Bayern, das im Rahmen der baye­rischen Cluster­offensive vom Freistaat Bayern gefördert wird. Eine effiziente Unterstützung des Techno­logie­­transfers zwischen den Stakeholdern aus Wissenschaft und Wirt­schaft liefert neue Impulse für die Be­reiche Forschung, Ent­wicklung und Produktion. Innovationen in diesem Hochtechnologiebereich werden vor allem von kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen (KMU) betrieben, da bei der Umsetzung ­häu­­­fig eine hohe Risiko­bereit­schaft und ein hohes Maß an Flex­ibilität erforderlich sind. Da­her liegt der Fokus des Clusters auf der Unterstützung der KMUs bei der Umsetzung im Rahmen konkreter FuE-Projekte.

Zusätzlich bildet der Förder­verein Nano­netz Bayern e.V. eine ­of­­-
fene Platt­form für die Clus­ter­­aktivitäten. Durch die Bünde­lung und Ko­­­­ordi­nierung der Kernkom­pe­tenzen aus den Be­reich­en der Forschung, Indust­rie, Lehre und Dienst­leistung werden Synergien geschaffen, die wesentlich zur Ein­­­bringung von Nano­­tech­nologie-Ansätzen in den gesellschaftlichen und wirt­schaftlichen Raum beitragen.

Eine Vielzahl von Veranstalt­ungen, z. B. Clustermeetings, Fach­­kongresse oder Messe­teil­nahmen in Form von Cluster-Gemein­schaftsständen, wurde gezielt auf die Kernaktivitäten abgestimmt, um den interessierten Unter­nehmen und Akteuren des Clusters einen deutlichen Mehr­wert anzubieten. Eine der wichtigsten Kernaktivitä­ten des Clusters ist die Pro­jektarbeit. Diese erstreckt sich, je nach Kunden­bedarf, von der Initiierung eines Projektes über Begleitung, Beratung und Durchführung bis hin zum kompletten Management eines Pro­jektes. Darüber hinaus kön­­nen FuE-Projekte oder Arbeits­kreise auch den fach­lichen Keim bil­den, um weiterreichende Netz­werke aufzubauen. Hier gilt es, insbesondere inno­vative kleine und mittlere Unter­nehmen, Groß­­unter­neh­men und an­-wen­dungs­orientierte For­schungs­ins­­­titu­te ­und Uni­versi­täten zu­­­­­sam­menzu­­schließen ­mit dem Ziel, Nano­­materia­l­ien in kon-krete, markt­­nahe Anwen­dun­­gen und Pro­­duk­te zu überführen.

Die Produktionskapazität für MWCNT (Multi-Wall Car­­bon Nanotubes) bei­spiels­­weise ist wei­ter angestiegen und lag nach Aus­sage der Ame­rican Cera­mic Society weltweit bei über 4.500 Jahres­tonnen (2011). Das bedeutet, dass diese Nano­materialien zunehmend auch in größeren Mengen zur Verfü­gung stehen. Insbesondere aufgrund des wachsenden Interesses, der enormen technischen Möglich­­­­keiten von Carbon Nanotubes und auch der ­Ent­deck­ung der Graphene wurden die Cluster-Aktivitäten in diesem Bereich stärker ausgebaut und das Ko­op­erationsnetz­werk Nano­Carbon gegründet.

Das Netzwerk NanoCarbon
Das Netzwerk NanoCarbon zielt vor allem auf die Un-
­ter­­stützung von KMUs bei der Umsetzung von For­schungs­ergebnissen zu ­Na­-
no­kohlen­stoffmaterialien in inno­­va­tive Anwendungen und marktfähige Produkte ab. Nano­Car­bon fungiert als Anlauf­stelle für Partner aus Indus­trie und Forschung und be­schäftigt sich mit der Herstellung, Verarbeit­ung, Anwen­dung, Produktion und Entsorg­­ung von Na­­-
no­kohlenstoff­­­ma­te­ria­lien. Die Partner werden dabei durch die Moderation des Netz­werk­manage­ments bei der Zusammenarbeit umfassend unterstützt und durch eine enge technologische Zusammenarbeit in die Lage versetzt, neue Anwendungen und Produkte für Nano­kohlen­stoffe am Markt zu etablieren. Im Rahmen des Netzwerks NanoCarbon sind mehrere zielgerichtete FuE-Projekte zur Nutzung des Poten­zials von Nano­kohlenstoffmaterialien zwischen Insti­tuten und Unter­nehmen geplant, von denen eine Reihe in Bayern ansässig sind (FutureCarbon, Eckart und HPS). Durch die Teil­nahme der Unter­nehmen am Netz­werkvor­ha­ben soll die Wettbewerbsfähig­keit des baye­rischen Mittel­­stands nach­haltig gesteigert ­werden.

Netzwerkprojekt NanoSilber
Das Netzwerk NanoSilber hat sich die Förderung und Unterstützung kleiner und mittlerer Unternehmen bei der verantwortungsvollen Nutzung von Nano­silber durch innovative Entwick­lun­gen zur Auf­­gabe gemacht. Nanosilber ist ein Material mit einem hohen technisch­en und wirtschaftlichen Potential: Silber-Nanopartikel und -drähte zeigen einzigartige Eigen­schaften, die makroskopisches Silber nur in geringerem Ausmaß aufweist. Aufgrund dieser Eigenschaften prognostizieren Markt­studien dem Nanosilber­markt ein Wachstum von 290 Mio. US-Dollar im Jahr 2011 auf 2 Mrd. US-Dollar in Jahr 2018.
Das Netzwerkmanagement unterstützt die Partner da­bei durch Moderation der Zusammenarbeit, bei der Beantra­g­ung von Fördermitteln und beim Finden neuer Koop­e­rations­partner.

hochhäuser generator fettes_auto

Europäisches Zentrum für Dispersionstechnologien (EZD) Neben den Nanomaterialien (z.B. Nanosilber und Nanokohlenstoff) nimmt die Verarbeitungs- und Prozess­technologie einen immer höheren Stellenwert ein. Die Automatisierungstechnik und Verfahrenstechnik spielen häufig die entscheidende Rolle, um Nanotechnologie in den jeweiligen Produktionsumgebungen einzuführen oder effizienter zu gestalten. Um einen deutlichen Schwerpunkt in der Prozesstechnologie zu setzen, wurden durch den Cluster Nanotechnologie die Gründungsaktivitäten für das Europäische Zentrum für Dispersionstechnologien (EZD) in Selb zusammen mit dem Süddeutschen Kunststoffzentrum (SKZ) initiiert und durchgeführt. In einer konzertierten Aktion von engagierten Unternehmen aus der Region, dem SKZ und dem Cluster konnten in 2012 Fördermittel in Höhe von über 5 Mio. Euro für die Errichtung und den anfänglichen Betrieb des EZD akquiriert werden.

Das Hauptaugenmerk des neugegründeten Forschungs- und Technologietransferzentrums liegt auf der Herstell­ung und der Charakterisierung von mikro- und nanoskaligen Dispersionen. Um diese relevanten Dienstleistungen für die Industrie anbieten zu können, stehen in Selb ein kompetentes Team sowie eine vielfältige Ausstattung in den drei Bereichen – Formulierung, Dispergierverfahren und Analytik – zur Verfügung. Die enge Kooperation mit der Industrie spielt eine wesentliche Rolle für das EZD. Gerade kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen verfügen meist nicht über ausreichende Kapazitäten zur Forschung und Entwicklung. „Diese können ab sofort Unterstützung auf dem Gebiet der Dispersionstechno­logien durch das EZD in Anspruch nehmen“, so der EZD-Leiter Wolff-Fabris. Ein wei­ter­er Schwerpunkt des EZD liegt auf der Weiter­bildung und dem Wissenstransfer.
Vom Labor zur Serien­produktion Zahlreiche Na­notechnologie-basierte Entwick­lun­gen haben da­­­­bei in den letzten Jah­ren zu einer Vielzahl von neu­­artigen Pro­dukten ge­­führt. Aktu­­ell wer­den Her­stell- ­­­und Ver­­­arbeit­ungs­tech­­­­­ni­ken ­wei­­ter­­ent­­wickelt und ­wirt­­­­­­­­­­schaft­­­­­lich opti­­­miert.

EZD
Da­zu zwei Bei­spiele:

Aus den Labors der Uni­versität Würzburg ist 1998 als Spin-off die Firma nanoplus Nanosystems ­and Technologies GmbH entstanden. Seit der Gründung expandiert nanoplus kontinuierlich. Headquarter und Haupt­werk von nanoplus ist Gerbrunn bei Würzburg. Ein zweites Werk wurde im Jahr 2009 in Meiningen/Thüringen eröffnet. Die Firma hat sich auf Laserdioden für die Gassensorik spezialisiert und ist damit heute weltweit Marktführer. Die Wellenlängenbereiche der monomodigen Halbleiter­laser reichen von 760 bis 3500 Nanometer.

Ein Gründungmitglied des Nanonetzes Bayern e.V. ist die Firma Schaeffler Technologies GmbH & Co. KG. Als Automobilzulieferer ist die Reduktion von Reibung in herkömmlichen Verbrennungsmotoren ein zentrales Thema für Schaeffler. Im Beschichtungszentrum, das speziell für die Entwicklung innovativer Schichtsysteme gegründet wurde, werden seit vielen Jahren raffinierte Schichtsysteme ausgetüftelt, die die Reibung erheblich reduzieren. Rei­bungsreduktion bedeutet CO2-Einsparung, im konkreten Fall bis zu zwei Prozent je Fahrzeug, so dass an dieser Stelle ein erheblicher Beitrag zur Ressourcen­schonung durch den direkten Einfluss von Nanotechno­logie zu verzeichnen ist. Weiterhin wurden Bauteile und Systeme, z.B. für den Automotive-Bereich, entwickelt und in Großserie überführt.

Peter-GrambowDer Autor hat in Darmstadt Elektrotechnik studiert und im Anschluss als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Max-Planck-Institut für Festkörperforschung in Stuttgart das Mikrostrukturlabor geplant und mit aufgebaut. Nach der Promotion folgten verschiedene Stationen in der Industrie. Seit 2010 ist Dr. Grambow zuständig für das Management des Clusters Nanotechnologie.