Dr.-Ing. habil. Bertram Dressel: Innovation centres are experienced partners in the development of knowledge-based economic structures in Germany

Not every company founder is strong enough right from day one to start a business by themselves. Typically, the best-possible alternative is to get started in an innovation, technology or business incubation centre.

The economic success of a country is increasingly determined by its ability to successfully establish new products and services in the market within a short period of time. In Germany, the conditions for this are more than just good thanks to its extraordinarily efficient research landscape. A common complaint is, however, that the translation into marketable products and services either takes too long or is neglected altogether. Innovation centres are institutions which specifically tackle this problem – and do so successfully. By providing targeted support to new companies arising from the research sector, they pave the way for an efficient innovation culture.

If one analyses the work of the centres over the past 30 years, the assessment is positive. The German innovation centres were able to create more than 260,000 innovative jobs in a total of around 40,000 newly founded companies. Records show that foundations within the innovation centres have a success rate of more than 90 per cent. During re­­cent years, the number of newly founded companies in the inno­­vation centres has remained at a stable level of around 900 per year, irrespective of any crises. Relative to the total num­­­­­­ber of companies belonging to the centres, this equates to approximately 15 per cent in new businesses annually. At the end of 2012, the capacity utilisation of the Ger­­man innovation centres exceeded 80 per cent for more than three quarters of the centres.

These figures show very clearly that the centres have been very successful in their three main tasks, namely to initiate knowledge-based foundations, to support the technology transfer and to promote businesses.

With the five pillars of their services

• Innovation
• Infrastructure
• Consulting
• Capital
• Education

the centres provide the best prerequisites for successful innovation-based foundations and results-oriented tech­­nology transfer.

Until now, the services in the areas of infrastructure, consulting and innovation management have been the centres’ well-established standards. As part of the further development of the range of services offered, the capital factor is becoming more and more important. Currently the services of this pillar are characterised by intermediary services such as finance consulting, brokering of contacts to investors or networking with business angels. Moreover, it is important that the innovation centres procure an industry-specific infrastructure or renter-­specific equipment for start-ups and can rent these at conditions suitable for new businesses. Otherwise the new companies are not able to purchase such often expensive equipment themselves. Thanks to their exten­­sive network, the innovation centres can ensure optimum utilisation of the equipment. The services of the education pillar include issues relating to professional motivation through the familiarisation with innovations as part of school education as well as practice-oriented training phases of non-academic and academic vocational training. In this context, the centres – as partners of science and industry – can provide a platform where new practical educational services are set up in cooperation with the education providers. This service pillar is rounded off with modules of post-graduate further education and extra-occupational qualification. By linking this service pillar to the other services of the centres, new levels of quality can be achieved in the support of start-ups, innovation transfer as well as training and further education.

A number of lessons learned can be derived from the success story. An essential factor in the successful work of the innovation centres has been and still is the close cooperation with scientific institutions. The dovetailing with existing economic structures as well as with other parties involved in supporting start-ups, on the other hand, is just as important. Here it becomes obvious that regional alliances work together very successfully and in a results-oriented fashion. Beyond these regional networks, the national network of innovation centres also forms a critical basis for success, not only in terms of the national and even international exchange of experience regarding the work of the innovation centres, but also in sector-specific work groups, as offered by the German Association of Innovation, Iechnology and Busi­­ness Incubation Centres, ADT.

The nature and conditions of value creation and competition change fundamentally in modern knowledge socie­­­ties, as knowledge is becoming the key basis for new ranges of products and services. Those who make effec­­t­ive use of the networked, local and interdisciplinary knowledge that is available have a competitive advantage. Spatial proximity and smooth transitions feed the communicative exchange and interdisciplinary interaction processes between people from the areas of re­­search and economy in these centres. Similar results cannot be achieved with conventional structures for technology transfer, especially if they are superimposed by administration. In a globalised world, the innovation centres form ideal platforms and frameworks for the interaction of universities, businesses and governments to benefit innovation and economic growth. What is very helpful in this context is that the centres and parks are able to efficiently counter the increasing costs and risks of the commercialisation of knowledge. They create best-possible conditions for the commercial use of scientific results by providing and taking advantage of a joint infrastructure as well as of highly flexible mixed areas between the scientists and business people involved.

A critical factor for success is local and regional networking with scientific institutions. For this reason, setting up such institutions directly in the innovation centres is desirable. Successful projects from industry and science under one roof, as they were realised with the Saxon biotechnology centres in Leipzig and Dresden, for example, reveal the potential for success. Moreover, the centres are able to inspire and lead regional economic developments such as the settling of new re­­search facilities or new science-focused businesses. With their maxim of customer orientation, the centres are predestined to be protagonists in such processes.

The main focal point of the centres’ work is and will con­­tinue to be the generation and support of knowledge-based foundations. A key factor for success is to recognise and implement the support of start-ups as a process. When doing so, the centres integrate various regional actors, each of whom maps individual components of the process chain. These components are illustrated in Figure 2. The relevant actors differ, depending on the location. The innovation centres focus on the steps from company foundation to company growth. One aspect of the holistic approach is also the reciprocity. In this way, innovation is not a one-way street, but successful innovation projects generate feedback which triggers new research projects, thus resulting in a new quality of mutual collaboration.

It is obvious that the German innovation centres provide the best conditions to continue to play an import­ant role in the process of innovation.

The author was born in Meerane, Germany, in 1955 and studied Process Engineering at TU Dresden, where he completed his doctorate (“Dr.-Ing.”) in 1982 and postdoctoral habilitation in 1987. He is managing director of TechnologieZentrumDresden GmbH and president of the ADT German Association of Innovation, Technology and Business Incubation Centres.

Dr.-Ing. habil. Bertram Dressel: Innovationszentren sind erfahrene Partner bei der Entwicklung wissensbasierter Wirtschaftsstrukturen in Deutschland

Nicht jeder Gründer ist von Anfang an stark genug, auf sich allein gestellt  ein Unternehmen zu starten. Die bestmögliche Alternative ist in der Regel  der Start in einem Innovations-, Technologie- oder Gründerzentrum.

Die wirtschaftliche Leistungsfähigkeit eines Landes wird zunehmend von der Fähigkeit bestimmt, neue Produkte und Leistungen erfolgreich und zeitnah im Markt zu etablieren. Die Voraussetzungen dafür sind in Deutsch­­­land mit einer ausgeprägt leistungsfähigen For­­schungs­­­­­landschaft mehr als nur gut. Häufig wird jedoch be­­klagt, dass die Überführung in marktfähige Produkte und Leis­­tungen entweder zu schleppend erfolgt oder gänzlich vernachlässigt wird. Innova­­tions­­zentren sind Einrich­­tun­­gen, die genau diese Schwach­­stelle erfolgreich an­­gehen. Durch die gezielte Un­­ter­­­­stützung von Unter­­neh­­mens­­­grün­­dungen aus der For­­schung heraus ebnen Sie einen Weg effizienter Innovationskultur.

Analysiert man die Arbeit der Zentren in den vergangenen 30 Jahren, so kommt man zu positiven Ein­schät­zun­­gen. In den deutschen Innovationszentren konnten mehr als 260.000 inno­­vative Arbeits­plätze in insgesamt rund 40.000 neu gegründeten Unternehmen ge­­schaffen werden. Bei den Grün­­dungen in den Inno­­va­­tionszentren wird eine Über­­lebensquote von mehr als 90 Prozent verzeichnet. In den letz­­ten Jahren ist die Anzahl der Neugründungen von Unter­­neh­­men in den Innova­­tions­­zen­­tren unabhängig von Krisen bei jähr­­­lich etwa 900 auf hohem Niveau ge­­blieben. Damit entstehen, ­be­­zogen auf die Ge­­samt­­zahl der in den Zentren angesiedelten Unternehmen, jährlich etwa 15 Prozent Neuzu­gänge. Die Auslastung der deutschen Innova­­tions­­zentren lag Ende 2012 bei mehr als drei Viertel der Zentren über 80 Prozent.

Diese Zahlen machen deutlich, dass die Zentren ihre drei Hauptaufgaben Initiierung von wissensbasierten Grün­­dungen, Unterstützung des Technologietransfers und Realisierung von Wirtschaftsförderungsaufgaben sehr erfolgreich erfüllt haben.

Die Zentren bieten mit den fünf Säulen ihrer Angebote

• Innovation
• Infrastruktur
• Beratung
• Kapital
• Bildung

beste Voraussetzungen für erfolgreiche innovations­­ba­­sierte Gründungen und ergebnisorientierten Tech­­nologie­­transfer.

Die Angebote im Bereich Infrastruktur, Beratung und Innovationsmanagement sind bisher die gut ausgebauten Standards der Zentren. Im Zuge der Weiter­­ent­­wick­­lung der Angebotspalette kommt dem Faktor Ka­­pital eine wachsende Rolle zu. Die Angebote dieser Säule sind der­­­­­zeit ge­­prägt von vermittelnden Leis­­tungen wie Finan­­zie­­­­rungsberatung, Kontaktvermittlung zu Kapital­­ge­­bern oder Vernetzung mit Business-Angels. Weiter ist es auch wich­­tig, dass die Innovationszentren branchen­spezi­­f­­ische Infra­­­­­­struktur oder mieterspezi­­fische Geräte und An­­lagen für Gründerunternehmen anschaffen und zu gründergerechten Konditionen vermieten können. Den Grün­­dern fehlen an­dern­falls Voraussetzungen, derartige oft teure Anlagen selbst zu erwerben. Die Innovationszentren können durch ihre vielfältige Vernetzung eine optimale Auslastung dieser Geräte und Anlagen gewährleisten. Angebote der Säule Bildung umfassen Fragen der Berufs­­­motivation durch Kennenlernen von Innovationen im Rah­­men der schulischen Bildung sowie praxisorientierte Ausbil­dungs­­­ab­schnitte der nichtakademischen und aka­­demischen Be­­­­rufs­­ausbildung. Hier können die Zentren als Partner von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft eine Platt­­­form bieten, ge­­­­meinsam mit den Bildungs­trägern neue, praxisnahe Bil­­­­dungsangebote aufzubauen. Abgerundet wird diese An­­ge­­­­­bots­­säule durch Bausteine der postgra­dualen Weiter­­­­­bil­­­­dung und berufsbegleitenden Quali­­fi­­zie­­rung. Die Ver­­­­bin­­­­dung dieser Angebotssäule mit den anderen Ange­­boten der Zen­­tren führt zu neuen Quali­­täten der Grün­­der­­­­un­­ter­­stüt­­zung, des Innovations­trans­fers und der Aus- und Weiterbildung.

Aus der Erfolgsgeschichte lassen sich eine Reihe von Erfahrungen ableiten. Wesentlich für den Erfolg der Arbeit der Innovationszentren war und ist eine enge Ver­­zahnung mit wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen. Eben­­­falls erfolgsnotwendig ist andererseits die enge Ver­­zah­­nung mit bestehenden Wirtschaftsstrukturen sowie mit an­de­ren Akteuren der Gründerunterstützung. Hier wird deut­­lich, dass regionale Bündnisse sehr erfolgreich und ergeb­­nisorientiert zusammenwirken. Über diese regionalen Netzwerke hinaus ist auch die überregionale Ver­­net­­zung der Innovationszentren wesentliche Erfolgs­­basis. Zum einen in Form des überregionalen und auch internationalen Erfah­rungs­aus­tausches über die Arbeit der Inno­­vationszentren, zum anderen in branchenorien­­tier­­ten Arbeitskreisen, wie sie der ADT-Bundesverband anbietet.

In modernen Wissensgesellschaften ändern sich Wesen und Bedingungen von Wertschöpfung und Konkurrenz grundlegend. Wissen wird zur wichtigsten Grund­­lage für neue Produkt- und Leistungs­ange­bote. Wer das ver­­netzt, dezentral und interdisziplinär vorhandenes Wissen effek­­tiv nutzt, hat Wettbewerbs­­vor­teile. Räumliche Nähe und flie­­ßende Übergänge speisen in diesen Zentren kommunikativen Aus­­tausch und interdisziplinäre Inter­­aktions­pro­zesse zwischen Personen aus Forschung und Wirt­schaft. Gleichartige Effekte sind mit herkömm­­lichen, vor allem adminis­trativ aufgesetzten Struk­turen für Tech­­nologie­trans­fer nicht zu erzielen. Die Innovationszentren bilden in einer globalisierten Welt ideale Plattformen und Rahmen für das Zu­­sam­­men­­wirken von Uni­ver­si­täten, Wirt­schaft und Regierungen zugunsten von Inno­vation und wirtschaft­­lichem Wachstum. Dabei ist auch sehr hilfreich, dass die Zentren und Parks den wachsenden Kosten und Risiken der Kommerzialisierung von Wissen wirksam be­­gegnen können. Sie schaffen best­­mög­­liche Rahmen­bedin­gungen für die kommerzielle Nut­­zung wissenschaftlicher Ergebnisse durch Bereitstellung und Nutzung gemeinschaftlicher Infrastruktur sowie hoch flexibler Misch­­flä­­chen zwischen den Beteiligten aus Wis­­senschaft und Wirt­­schaft.

Wesentlicher Erfolgsfaktor ist die lokale und regionale Ver­­netzung mit wissen­schaftlichen Einrichtungen. In­­so­­­­fern ist es wünschenswert, solche Einrichtungen direkt in den Innovationszentren anzusiedeln. Erfolg­­reiche Pro­­jekte von Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft unter einem Dach, wie sie bei­­­spielsweise mit den sächsischen Bio­tech­no­logie­­zen­­tren in Leipzig und Dresden realisiert wurden, machen das Erfolgs­­­potenzial deutlich. Außerdem sind die Zen­­tren in der Lage, regionalwirtschaftliche Ent­­wick­­lungen, zum Bei­­­­spiel die An­­­­sie­dlung neuer Forschungs­­ein­­rich­­tungen oder neuer wissenschaftsorientierter Unter­neh­men, anzuregen und zu moderieren. Die Zen­tren sind mit ihrem Grund­­satz der Kun­­denorientierung als Leit­­akteure solcher Pro­­zesse prädestiniert.

Wesentlicher Schwerpunkt der Arbeit der Zentren ist und bleibt es, wissensbasierte Gründungen zu generieren und zu unterstützen. Schlüssel für den Erfolg ist dabei, die Grün­­derunterstützung als Prozess zu erkennen und um­­­­zu­­setzen. Dabei integrieren die Zentren verschiedene re­­gio­­nale Ak­­teure, die jeweils einzelne Bausteine der Pro­­­­zess­­kette ab­­bilden. Diese Bausteine sind in Bild 2 dar­­gestellt. Die je­­wei­­ligen Akteure unterscheiden sich von Standort zu Stand­­ort. Die Inno­­va­­tionszentren haben ihren Schwer­­punkt bei den Schrit­­ten Unternehmensgründung bis Unter­­­­neh­mens­­­wachs­tum.

Ein Aspekt der Ganzheitlichkeit ist dabei auch die Wechsel­­­­­seitigkeit. So wird Innovation nicht zur Ein­­bahnstraße, sondern aus erfolgreichen Inno­­va­tions­­projekten entwickeln sich Rückkopplungen mit An­­re­gungen neuer Forschungs­­vorhaben und führen so zu neuen Qualitäten der wechsel­­seitigen Zusammenarbeit.

Es wird deutlich, dass die deutschen Innovationszentren beste Voraussetzungen bieten, auch zukünftig eine wich­­tige Rolle im Prozess der Innovation zu spielen.

Der Autor wurde 1955 in Meerane geboren und hat an der TU Dresden Ver­­fahrenstechnik studiert, wo er 1982 zum Dr.-Ing. promoviert wurde und 1987 habilitierte. Er ist Geschäftsführer der TechnologieZentrumDresden GmbH. Den ADT-Bundesverband Deutscher Innovations-, Technologie- und Gründerzentren vertritt er als Präsident.