Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Schories: Water management to the very last drop

Africa’s water resources are limited, mainly depending on climate factors, essentially rainfalls and weather. Even the existing and available quantities of water are generally subject of low quality affecting people’s health and negatively impacting on agriculture.

Climate change has imposed additional pressure on water availability and acces­­sibility. In fact, water distribution in major parts of Africa tightly depends on the cli­­mate variable and consequently is char­acterized by complex patterns and op­­posite models changing from im­­portant rainfalls over the equatorial zone to an extreme aridity in the Sahara. Nor­thern Africa is the most water-stressed sub-­region, with less than one per cent of the renewable water resources of the continent for an area equivalent to 19 percent of Africa. The rainfalls are also impacting on the groundwater quantities, from which a lot of African countries are tightly depending. Groundwater is used for domestic and agricultural con­­sumption in many areas, particularly in arid sub-regions where surface water re­­sources are limited. However, areas heavily dependent on groundwater reserves are also at risk of water shortages, as water is extracted far more rapidly than it is recharged.

KfW_5440

Efforts to provide adequate water re­­­sources for Africa will confront several challenges. Symptoms of physical water scarcity are showing up, evoking severe environmental degradation including river desiccation and pollution, declining gr­ound­water and water allocation where some groups win at the expense of others, raising the problem of conflict between and within nations.

Water availability and food security are elements ineluctably linked, hindering human wealth everywhere and are excep­­tionally critical in Africa. The productivity of agriculture depends significantly on the availability of water for irrigation. It has to be pointed out that purification and reuse of wastewater in combina­tion with efficient use of water is the only sustainable way to solve the water prob­­lem in water-scarce regions in Africa.

In the very recent few years, African govern­­ments, especially in the northern countries, started begging attention to the water issue; however, only a few actions have been taken yet, mainly due to the expensive technologies and knowledge transfer in the water treatment sector. The reuse of purified wastewater in agriculture and industry has strong potential to reduce stress on valuable fresh water resources in two ways, avoiding their pollution and reduction of their consumption. Trends over the past years in the construction of was­­te­­­water treatment technologies in Africa have been toward conventional wastewater treatment plants. However, devel­­­­oping countries cannot afford the high energy prices and operation costs of ad­­vanced and specialized systems, which require a trained and qualified staff as well. As a result, in most African regions the bulk of domestic and industrial waste­­water is finally discharged without any treatment or after primary treatment only, thus causing direct damages on health and environment. Traditional wastewater treatment techniques in Africa, when used, are far from optimising water puri­­fication. Reuse of water with such quality is impossible. This situation has motivat­ed experts and authorities to search for creative, efficient and environmentally sound ways to control water pollution. The development of simple, easy to ope­­r­ate and cost-effective biotechnological water treatment technologies is particu­­larly interesting for African countries. Bio­­technological methods are governed by plants or micro-organisms which can detoxify contaminants in water, soils, sedi­­ment, and sludge.

Current research in biotechnology is giv­ing new opportunities for sustainable waste­water treatment systems. Biotech­­nologies for wastewater treatment require relatively low capital investment when land is available at a reasonable price. They are easily maintained and they can han­dle uneven loads. All these features plus the ability to markedly reduce organic pollution, nutrients, and pathogen concentrations, have made these alterna­tives very attractive, particularly for rural communities.

Among the natural biological treatment systems available, the constructed wetlands treatment has been already im­­plemented in Africa and a considerable record of experience and design practice has been documented. Cons­­tructed wetlands are one of the most ef­­­ficient technologies for treatment of waste­­water with low pollution degree. Wetlands are being recognized as providing many benefits, including: food and habitat for wildlife; water quality improvement; flood protection; shoreline erosion control; and opportunities for recreation and aesthetic appreciation. The potential applications of wetland range from treatment of muni­­­cipal and various types of industrial waste­­water, to polishing of tertiary treated water and diffuse pollution. Wetlands signifi­­cantly reduce suspended solids, organic pollution, pathogens, heavy metals and excessive nutrients from wastewater.

Compared to conventional treatment sys­­­tems, constructed wetlands are low cost, easily operated and maintained, and have a strong potential for application in de­­­veloping countries, particularly by small rural communities. The pollution in such systems is removed through a combination of physical, chemical and bio­logical processes including sedimentation, precipitation, adsorption by soil particles, assimilation by plant tissue, and microbial transformation. Biological wastewater treatment in combination with mem­­brane separation (so-called membrane bioreactors, MBR) has figured out to be one of the most efficient treatment concepts. Membranes allow decoupling of pollutant’s retention time from hydrau­­lic retention time in the bioreactor, ena­­bling even biological degradation of pollu­­tants which are not biodegradable under normal circumstances. By proper choice of the membrane properties, the quality of the treated water can be tailored to the planned reuse application, for example for agricultural use concentrations of ni­­tro­­gen or phosphorus can be adjusted to the needs of the crops being irrigated. The most important advantage of MBR systems is a pathogen-free effluent. In­­novative MBR systems are furthermore characterised by energy consumption circa 2 kWh per m³ treated water, which is three to four times lower than the en­­ergy demand for seawater desalination. ttz Bremerhaven has successfully initia­­t­ed development of such technologies for applications in North Africa a few years ago (e.g. EU FP6 projects PURATREAT, www.puratreat.com).

However, many applications of biotechnology have not yet delivered practical solutions due mainly to the lack of information about the benefits of these technologies as well as the lack of dissemination of solutions adapted to local circumstances. WATERBIOTECH (Coor­di­na­tion and Support Action Project fund­ed by the EU in the 7th Framework Pro­­gramme, www.waterbiotech.eu) is an ini­­­­­­­tiative that will cope with water scarcity in Africa by providing access to relevant stakeholders in Western, Eastern and Nor­­th­­ern Africa to know-how in biotechnol­ogies, good practices and management solutions adapted to their local condi­tions for the sustainable management of polluted water resources. The targeted countries of WATERBIOTECH will be Tuni­­sia, Algeria, Morocco, Egypt, Senegal, Burkina Faso, Ghana and Saudi Arabia.
The idea is to disseminate best practices jointly with all the requirements and the strategy necessary for the implementa­tion of selected biotechnologies specifically assigned to local regions within the targeted countries. Relevant actors that will benefit from this action will be farmers, providers of sewage treatment services, authorities and decision makers, specialized scientific communities, local com­­munities, and general public who live in water-stressed areas.

The integrated approach of WATERBIOTECH takes into consideration that different as­­­pects influence the availability of water resources and only a holistic vision can provide effective solutions to enhance water management in African countries. Environ­­­­mental and health concerns, as well as socio-economic aspects such as hou­­se­­holds income, water consumption patterns, irrigation methods or interests in water resources of different stakeholders must be taken into account in the proposal of solutions. WATERBIOTECH outputs will enhance the decision making process by providing guidelines and materials that support stakeholders to implement cost-­effective and sustainable solutions adap­­t­­ed to the reality in their regions.

KfW_5439-Kopie

ttz Bremerhaven is an independent pro­­vider of research services and operates in the field of application-oriented re­­­search and development. Under the um­­­brella of ttz Bremerhaven, an internation­al team of experts is working in the areas of food, environment and health. The En­­vironment Department at ttz Bremer­haven performs applied research and de­­velopment in the areas of “Water, Energy and Land Use Management” around the globe. Innovative ideas from the fields of energy efficiency, renewable energies, water and wastewater treatment, aquaculture, sustainable landscape and re­­source management are developed, real­­ized and introduced into the market in cooperation with enterprises, associations and research partners. Over the last five years, the Environment Depart­­ment at ttz Bremerhaven has participat­ed in over 250 national and international projects or coordinated them.

For more than seven years ttz Bremer­­haven has been successfully cooperating with re­­search institutions as well as national and private water treatment institutions in Tunisia such as Centre de Bio­tech­nologie de Sfax, Centre International des Technologies de l’Environnement de Tunis, Centre de Recherches et des Techno­lo­gies des Eaux Soliman, ONAS – Office National de l’Assainissment, TESCO – Tunisian Engineering Services Com­pa­ny Tunis, etc. and acted as consultant to the GIZ site office in Tunisia in the field of valorization of agro-industrial residues.Africa’s water resources are limited, mainly depending on climate factors, essentially rainfalls and weather. Even the ex­­­isting and available quantities of water are generally subject of low quality af­­­fecting people’s health and negatively im­­pacting on agriculture.

 

Schories_09-KopieThe author was born in 1964 and studied General Process Engineering, receiving his doctorate in 1999 at the TU Claus­­thal. Bio­­­logical waste treatment and water manage­­ment are the core activities of his job. Dr.-Ing. Schories has been working for ttz Bremerhaven since 2001 and has been the Technical Director of the En­­vironmental Institute since 2005. Further­­­more, he has been a lecturer at the Bremer­­haven Univer­sity of Applied Sciences since 2012.

Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Schories: WATERBIOTECH – Wassermanagement bis zum letzten Tropfen

Afrikas Wasserressourcen sind be­­gren­­zt und hängen überwiegend von klima­­­tischen Faktoren ab, hauptsächlich vom Niederschlag und den allgemeinen Wet­­terbedingungen. Verfügbare Wasser­­men­­gen sind meist von schlechter Qualität und beeinträchtigen die Gesundheit der Menschen und die landwirtschaftliche Pro­­­­­duktionsqualität.

Zudem erhöht der Klimawandel das Pro­­­blem der Verfügbarkeit von Wasser und dessen Zugänglichkeit. Tatsächlich hängt die Wasserverteilung in vielen Teilen Afri­­kas stark von Klimaschwankungen ab und ist durch komplexe Strukturen und gegensätzliche Modelle geprägt – von wichtigen Regenfällen in den Zonen ent­­lang des Äquators bis hin zu extremer Dürre in der Sahara. Nordafrika ist die Region, die am meisten mit dem Wasser­­mangel zu kämpfen hat. Weniger als ein Prozent der erneuerbaren Wasser­res­sour­cen des Kontinents muss für ein Gebiet ausreichen, das 19 Prozent der Fläche von Afrika ausmacht. Die Regenfälle beeinflus­­sen zudem die Grundwassermengen, auf die viele afrikanische Länder angewiesen sind. Das Grundwasser wird in vielen Ge­­­bieten für den häuslichen Bedarf und in der Landwirtschaft genutzt, vor allem in den wasserarmen Regionen, in denen Ober­­flächenwasserressourcen begrenzt sind. Auch hier wirkt der Wassermangel be­­­­­­­­­- drohlich, da das Wasser viel schneller ent­­­nommen wird als es sich wieder auffüllt.

KfW_5440

Die Bereitstellung adäquater Wasser­res­­sour­cen für Afrika ist eine große Heraus­­forderung. Die Symptome physischer Was­­­ser­­­­knappheit mehren sich und rufen schwere Umweltschäden hervor: Austrock­nung und Verschmutzung von Flüssen, sinken­­de Grundwasserpegel und schlechte Was­­serverteilung. Dies steigert die Konflikte innerhalb und zwischen den Nationen.

Wasserverfügbarkeit und Nahrungs­mittel­­sicher­­heit sind untrennbar miteinander verbunden. Sie beeinflussen den Wohl­­stand der Menschen auf der ganzen Welt und sind in Afrika besonders entscheidend. Die Pro­­duktivität der Landwirtschaft hängt ent­­schei­­dend von der Verfügbarkeit von Was­­ser für die Bewässerung ab. Es muss deut­­lich gemacht werden, dass die Wieder­­auf­­bereitung und Wiederverwendung von Ab­­­­wasser in Kombination mit einer effizienten Nutzung von Wasser die einzige nach­­haltige Möglichkeit ist, das Wasser­­­problem in den wasserarmen Regionen Afrikas zu lösen.

In den letzten Jahren haben die afrikanischen Regierungen vor allem in den nörd­­­­­­lichen Ländern damit begonnen, der Wasser­­ problematik mehr Aufmerksamkeit zu widmen. Allerdings wurden bis jetzt, haupt­­sächlich aufgrund der kostspieligen Tech­­nologien und des Wissenstransfers im Wasseraufbereitungssektor, nur einige wenige Maßnahmen durchgeführt. Die Wie­­derverwendung von aufbereitetem Ab­­wasser in der Landwirtschaft und in der Industrie bietet großes Potenzial, die Knapp­­heit an wertvollen Frisch­wasser­­ressou­r­cen auf zweierlei Arten zu reduzieren: Ver­­meidung von Verschmutzung und Redu­­zierung des Verbrauchs.

In den letzten Jahren lagen konventionelle Abwasseraufbereitungsanlagen im Trend. Allerdings können sich Entwick­lungs­­länder die hohen Energiepreise und Betriebskosten für fortschrittliche und spezialisierte Systeme, die noch dazu geschultes und qualifiziertes Personal benötigen, nicht leisten. Das hat zur Folge, dass in den meisten Regionen Afrikas ein Großteil des häuslichen und industriellen Abwassers unbehandelt oder nur nach einer ersten Behandlung abge­­­leitet wird. Dies zieht direkte Gesund­heits- und Umweltschäden mit sich. Die traditionellen Abwasserauf­bereitungs­tech­nologien in Afrika, sofern diese ge­­nu­t­zt werden, sind weit von der optimalen Wasseraufbereitung entfernt. Die Wie­­der­­verwendung von Wasser, das eine solche Qualität aufweist, ist unmöglich. Diese Situation hat Experten und Behörden mo­­tiviert, nach kreativen, effizienten und umweltfreundlichen Wegen zur Kon­trol­le der Wasserverschmutzung zu suchen. Die Entwicklung von einfachen, leicht zu bedienenden und kosteneffizienten bio­­technologischen Wasserauf­be­rei­tungs­tech­nologien ist für die afrikanischen Länder von besonderem Interesse. Biotechno­lo­gische Methoden basieren auf Pflanzen oder Mikroorganismen, die Verunreini­gun­gen in Wasser, Böden, Sedimenten und Schlamm entgiften können.

Durch aktuelle Forschungen in der Bio­­technologie ergeben sich neue Möglich­keiten. Biotechnologien für die Abwasser­­auf­­bereitung erfordern einen relativ ge­­ringen Kapitaleinsatz, sofern die dafür not­­wendige Fläche zu einem akzeptablen Preis verfügbar ist. Die Anlagen sind einfach instandzuhalten und können auch schwankende Massen handhaben. All die­­se Faktoren sowie die Fähigkeit, organische Verschmutzung, Nährstoffe und die Konzentration von Krankheitserregern merk­­­lich zu reduzieren, machen diese Alter­­nativen, besonders für ländliche Gegen­den, äußerst attraktiv.

Zu den verfügbaren natürlichen biologischen Aufbereitungssystemen zählt die in Afrika bereits eingeführte Pflanzen­­kläranlage. Eine erhebliche Menge an Er­­fahrungswerten und Praxisentwürfen wurde bereits dokumentiert. Pflanzen­kläranlagen zählen zu den effizientesten Technologien zur Aufbereitung von Ab­­­wasser mit niedrigem Verschmutz­­ungs­­­grad. Feuchtgebiete haben zahlreiche Vor­­teile: Nahrung und Lebensraum für die Tier­­welt, Verbesserung der Wasserqualität, Schutz vor Überschwemmung, Kontrolle von Küstenerosion und Möglichkeit zur touristischen Nutzung. Die potenzielle An­­­­wendung von Feuchtgebieten reicht von der Aufbereitung von städtischem sowie industriellem Abwasser bis hin zur Auf­­bereitung von tertiärbehandeltem Was­­ser und der Diffusion von Verschmutzung. Feuchtgebiete reduzieren die organische Verschmutzung und den Anteil von Schweb­­stoffen, Krankheitserregern, Schwerme­tal­len und übermäßigen Nährstoffen im Wasser erheblich.

Pflanzenkläranlagen bergen ein großes Potenzial für die Anwendung in Ent­wick­lungs­­ländern, besonders für kleine Ge­­meinden und ländliche Gegenden. Die Ver­­schmutzung wird in solchen Sys­te­men durch eine Kombination von physi­kalischen, chemischen und biologischen Pro­­zes­sen beseitigt. Bio­­logische Abwas­­ser­aufbereitung in Kombi­­­nation mit Mem­­branen, den so genannten Membran­bio­­­reaktoren MBR, hat sich als eines der effizientesten Aufbereitungs­kon­zepte herausgestellt. Membranen erlauben die Entkopplung der Verweilzeit von Schad­­stoffen von der hydraulischen Verweil­zeit im Bioreaktor und er­­mö­­glichen da­­­durch einen gleichmäßigen bio­­logischen Abbau von Schadstoffen, die unter nor­­malen Umständen nicht biologisch ab­­­baubar sind. Mit der richtigen Wahl der Membraneigenschaften kann die Quali­­tät des aufbereiteten Wassers auf die ge­­plante Wiederverwendung zugeschnitten werden. Für den landwirtschaftlichen Gebrauch beispielsweise kann die Kon­­zentration von Stickstoff und Phosphor für die Be­­­wäs­­serung auf die Bedin­­­­gungen der angebau­­ten Pflanzen angepasst werden. Der wich­­tigste Vorteil der MBR-Systeme ist keimfreies aufbereitetes Abwasser. Innovative MBR-Systeme zeichnen sich außerdem durch einen Energieverbrauch von nur circa zwei kWh pro m³ aufbereitetem Wasser aus – drei- bis viermal weniger als der Be­­darf für Meereswasserentsalzung. ttz Bre­­mer­­haven hat vor einigen Jahren erfolgreich die Entwicklung solcher Techno­­­logien wie das EU FP6-Projekt PURATREAT für den Einsatz in Nordafrika initiiert.

KfW_5351

Jedoch konnten viele Anwendungen der Biotechnologie bis heute keine praktischen Lösungen liefern. Dies liegt vor allem am Mangel an Information über die Vor­­teile dieser Technologien und an der mangelnden Verbreitung von an örtliche Um­­­stände angepassten Lösungen. WATER­­­BIO­­­TECH ist eine durch die EU im 7. Rah­men­­­­­­­­­programm finanzierte Initiative, die die Wasserknappheit in Afrika bewältigen möchte, und stellt Stakeholdern in West-, Ost- und Nordafrika Fachwissen im Be­­reich der Biotechnologie, Verfahren und Managementlösungen zur nachhaltigen Steuerung verschmutzter Wasserressour­cen zur Verfügung. Als Zielländer hat sich WATERBIOTECH Tunesien, Algerien, Ma­­­rok­­ko, Ägypten, Senegal, Burkina Faso, Ghana und Saudi Arabien gesetzt. Die Idee liegt in der gemeinsamen Ver­­breitung be­­währter Methoden samt der für die Ein­­führung ausgewählter Biotech­­­nologien not­­­­­­wendigen Bedingungen und Strategien, die speziell auf die einzelnen Regionen inner­­halb der Zielländer ange­­passt sind. Rele­­­­vante Akteure, die von dieser Aktion profi­­­tieren werden, sind Bauern, Dienstleister für Abwasser­auf­bereitung, Behörden und Ent­­schei­­­dungs­­träger, wissenschaftliche Ein­­­rich­­tungen sowie Kommunen und die interessierte Öffentlichkeit.

WATERBIOTECH berücksichtigt, dass die Verfügbarkeit von Wasserressourcen von verschiedenen Aspekten beeinflusst wird und nur eine ganzheitlich ausgerichtete Vision effektive Lösungen zur Verbes­se­­r­­ung des Wassermanagements in Afrika bereitstellen kann. Umwelt- und Ge­­­sund­­heitsbedenken sowie sozialwirtschaftliche Aspekte, etwa das Einkommen privater Haushalte, unterschiedliche Muster des Wasserverbrauchs, Bewässerungs­met­ho­den oder das Interesse an Wasser­res­sour­­cen verschiedener Stakeholder müssen beim Vorschlag von Lösungen miteinbe­­zogen werden. Die Leistungen von WATER­BIOTECH dienen der Verbesserung des Entscheidungsprozesses durch Bereit­stellung von Richtlinien und Materialien, die Stakeholder bei der Einführung von kosteneffizienten und nachhaltigen, an die realen Zustände ihrer Region angepassten Lösungen unterstützen.

KfW_5439-Kopie

ttz Bremerhaven ist ein unabhängiger An­­­­­bieter von Forschungs­dienst­leis­tung­en, unter dessen Dach ein internationales Experten-Team für Lebensmittel, Umwelt und Ge­­­sund­­heit arbeitet. Die Umwelt­ab­teilung von ttz Bremerhaven führt welt­weit angewandte Forschung und Ent­wick­­­lungen in den Be­­­reichen „Wasser, Ener­­gie und Landnutz­ungs­­management“ durch. Innovative Ideen aus den Bereichen Ener­­­­gieeffizienz, erneuerbare Energien, Was­ser- und Abwasser­auf­be­rei­tung, Auqa­­kul­­tur, nachhaltiges Landschafts- und Res­­sour­­cen­­­management werden in Ko­­ope­­ration mit Unternehmen, Verbänden und Forschungs­­partnern entwickelt, realisiert und auf den Markt gebracht. In den letz­­ten fünf Jahren waren dies über 250 Projekte.

ttz Bremerhaven kooperiert mit Ein­­rich­­tungen wie dem Centre de Biotechno­lo­gie de Sfax, dem Centre International des Tech­­no­­logies de l’Environnement de Tunis, dem Centre de Recherches et des Tech­­­­no­­lo­­gies des Eaux Soliman, mit Office National de l’Assainissment ONAS und Tunisian Engineering Services Company Tunis TESCO zusammen und berät das GIZ-­­Büro in Tunesien auf dem Gebiet der Verwertung von agroindustriellem Abfall.

 

Schories_09-KopieDer 1964 geborene Autor hat Allge­­meine Verfahrenstechnik studiert und wurde 1999 von der TU Clausthal promoviert. Biologische Abfallbehandlung und Was­­sermanagement sind die Kernthemen seiner Arbeit. Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Schories ist seit 2001 für die ttz Bremerhaven tätig, seit 2005 als Technischer Leiter des Umweltinstituts. Seit 2012 hat er zudem einen Lehrauftrag an der Hoch­­schule Bremerhaven.