Dr.-Ing. Frank Zimmermann: Innovations in satellite navigation

Satellite navigation is a modern techno­l­ogy that is characterised by an increas­ing number of application areas and hence by a huge market potential. New, highly sophisticated solutions can have a substantial economic effect. But, whether this is going to create jobs depends de­­ci­­sively on the extent to which innovations are successfully implemented. The added value of a new application is forming the basis here in terms of market success.

The satellite navigation system Galileo is one of the most important European inno­­vation projects. It provides the foundation for a multitude of satellite-based pro­d­ucts and services. Galileo has been estab­­lished to supply data worldwide in order to determine exact locations. This system, similar to the US Global Positioning Sys­­tem (GPS), was jointly initiated by the European Union (EU) and the European Space Agency (ESA). Galileo provides an important contribution to the technological independence of Europe with its efficient satellite and ground infrastruc­­ture. Furthermore, in comparison with GPS, it offers improvements in terms of availability and accuracy. Galileo will con­­sist of a constellation of 30 satellites in three orbital planes at an altitude of 23,000 kilometres above the Earth and a global network of ground stations. It is designed to provide highly accurate, guaranteed global positioning services and will be interoperable with the two existing global systems, the GPS and the Russian GLONASS (Global Navigation Satellite System). By offering dual frequencies, Galileo will deliver real-time po­­si­­tioning accuracy down to the metre range, which is unprecedented for a pub­­licly avai­l­­able system. Galileo will be the first com­­mon European infrastructure that be­­comes pro­­perty of the Euro­­pean Union, re­­pre­sen­­­­ted by the Euro­­pean Com­­mission. As of 2014, an initial expansion stage available to the user shall be achieved by a con­­stel­lation of 18 satellites, and full ope­­­­ra­­tional capability of the satellite naviga­­tion system, including a constellation of 30 sa­­tellites, can be expected some­­time around 2019.

Bild2

 

The Centre for Satellite Navigation in Hesse, called cesah, is a competence, information and incubation centre for satellite navi­­ga­­tion and is owned by the state of Hessen, Darmstadt, the city of science, and by lead­­ing industry and research establishments. Be­­sides the Darmstadt University of Tech­­no­l­­­­­ogy and Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences, there are also two private stake­­holders: T-Systems International GmbH and VEGA Space GmbH.
The foundation is based on a joint initiative of the European Space Agency ESA and the state of Hessen in order to create a centre for satellite navigation – in the immediate vicinity to the European Space Operations Centre ESOC in Darm­­stadt. The aim is to promote and accelerate the market development for appli­­ca­­tions in the field of satellite navigation as well as the creation of new high-tech jobs in the region. On behalf of ESA, cesah operates the Business Incubation Centre (BIC) in Darmstadt. It promotes young businesses and start-ups with the technical development, implementation and market launch of new products and ser­­vices related to satellite navigation. In close collaboration and through ESA’s technical and financial support, enterprises receive the necessary initial aid. This includes the development of ideas in terms of concept and business plan, questions about patenting and realisation of prototypes, creation of organisa­­tional structure as well as the acquisition of strategic partners and key clients. The integration into ESA’s network of experts as well as the close cooperation with regional and international partners represent critical success factors for entre­­­preneurs. In this context, cesah serves as organisation point and point of contact for the ideas competition European Satel­­lite Navigation Competition (ESNC).

The 22 companies which are already sup­­ported by cesah are dealing with ap­­pli­­cations for satellite navigation in trans­­port and logistics, flood protection and forestry, control and maintenance tasks, secure mobile payment services and high-accuracy positioning in the maritime in­­dustry. The main focus lies on topics re­­lated to the use of GPS, the European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service (EGNOS) and in future, in particular also on Galileo.

Bild5

In addition to the use in agriculture, ground and air traffic as well as pedestrian navigation, the sa­­tellite navigation may also be considered for a multitude of applications in the field of logistics, in particular, for the track­­­­ing of goods. However, satellite navi­­ga­­tion is reaching its limits inside buil­d­ings and in their immediate vicinity. The signal reception is limited or can even be completely hindered due to shadowing effects. In this context, com­­plementary technologies for indoor lo­­ca­­­tions pro­­mise a higher level of system availability and accuracy. In this case, only the com­­bined use of different navigation technologies may enable the opening of new markets.

The user expects solution approaches, especially in the field of logistics, which ensure a smooth process.

Against this backdrop, suitable techno­l­ogies for indoor locations and their im­­mediate vicinity have been intensively examined within the framework of the research project GNSS-INDOOR. The sys­­tem that has been developed for this purpose also combines communication elements and supportive methods along with the actual locating technology. The locating system has been supplemented with sensors for condition monitoring of carried goods in relation to pressure and temperature, just to mention two examples. These data are transmitted to a server either directly by radio or via web-based interfaces. As a result, along with the actual position information, an information content is generated that enables the optimization of a logistic process and is usable in form of monito­r­­ing as well as control. The early detection of errors in the process operation should enable cost savings.

First experimental studies on the efficiency of the selected technologies took place under laboratory conditions. This was followed by a field test at the DHL hub at Leipzig/Halle Airport for the monitoring of unit load devices that were transported by tractors from a depot to predefined loading zones on the airport apron. Equipped with a mobile navigation appliance, which combined GPS with WLAN in the underlying case, a complete tracking of the tractors and hence also the containers turned out to be successful. The complete process flow was monitored from a centre, and potential weaknesses, such as unloading at the wrong loading zone, were recognized in real time – supplemented with information on the condition of the load. In this way, the verification of suitability of the location system for process moni­­toring and optimisation was successfully provided in a real environment, under realistic conditions and within the frame­­work of an existing logistic process. The project was financed over a period of more than two years with funds provided by the Federal Ministry of Eco­­n­­om­ics and Technology through the German Aerospace Center (DLR) – under the sub­­sidy file number 50 NA 0701. In addition to further industry and research establishments, the Centre for Satellite Navigation in Hessen (cesah) and its stake­­holder Vega Space GmbH, based in Darmstadt, have been project partners. The acquired competence for the seamless tracking of goods, both indoors and outdoors, is benefiting the founding company cesah.

IMG_4488-KopieAfter completing his study in Aerospace Engineering at the University of Stuttgart and subsequent PhD in the field of Astro­­nautics, the author has been em­­ployed with Vega Space GmbH since 2001. Since 2009 he has been managing director of cesah GmbH (Centre for Satel­­lite Navigation in Hesse). In addition, Dr. Zimmermann is lecturer in the In­­s­­titute of Space Systems at the Univer­sity of Stuttgart.

Dr.-Ing. Frank Zimmermann: Innovationen der Satellitennavigation

Satellitennavigation ist als moderne Tech­­nologie durch eine wachsende Zahl von Anwendungsfeldern und damit ein enormes Marktpotenzial gekennzeichnet. Neue, hochentwickelte Lösun­­­gen können eine erhebliche wirtschaftliche Wirkung erzielen. Ob hierbei Arbeitsplätze ge­­schaffen werden, hängt ent­­scheidend davon ab, in welchem Umfang es gelingt, Innovationen um­­zusetzen. Der Mehrwert einer neuen Anwendung bildet hierbei die Grund­­lage für den Markterfolg.

Das Satellitennavigationssystem Galileo ist eines der wichtigsten europäischen Inno­­vationsprojekte. Es bietet die Grund­­lage für eine Vielzahl satellitengestützter Pro­­dukte und Dienstleistungen. Galileo soll weltweit Daten zur genauen Positions­­­­bestimmung liefern. Das dem US-ameri­­kanischen Global Positioning System (GPS) ähnliche System wurde gemeinsam von der Europäischen Union (EU) und der European Space Agency (ESA) initiiert. Galileo leistet mit seiner effizienten Satelliten- und Bodeninfrastruktur einen wichtigen Beitrag zur technologischen Unabhängigkeit Europas. Zudem bietet es im Vergleich zu GPS Verbesserungen in Bezug auf Verfügbarkeit sowie Genauig­­keit. Galileo wird aus einer Kon­­stellation von 30 Satelliten in drei Bahn­­ebenen auf einer Höhe von 23.000 Kilo­­metern und einem weltweiten Netzwerk aus Boden­­stationen bestehen. Es wird einen hoch­­­­präzisen, garantierten, welt­­umspannenden Ortungsdienst bieten und dabei mit den beiden vorhandenen globalen Sys­­temen, dem GPS und dem russischen GLONASS (Globales Satelliten­­navigations­system), verbund­fähig sein. Mit seinem Doppel­fre­quenzstandard wird Galileo eine Echt­­zeitortung mit einer Genauig­­keit im Meter­­bereich er­­möglichen, was bisher noch kein öffent­­lich zugängliches System schafft. Galileo wird die erste Infra­struktur sein, welche Eigen­­tum der Euro­pä­ischen Union wird, ver­­treten durch die Euro­päische Kom­mission. Ab 2014 soll mit 18 Satelliten zunächst eine erste für den Anwender nutzbare Aus­­bau­­stufe erreicht werden, mit der vollen Einsatz­bereit­schaft des Satelliten­­­navi­­gations­systems mit 30 Satelliten wird ab 2019 gerechnet.

Bild2

 

Das Centrum für Satellitennavigation Hessen, genannt cesah, ist ein Kom­­pe­­­tenz-, Informations- und Gründer­zen­­trum für Satellitennavigation und wird vom Land Hessen, der Wissen­schafts­stadt Darmstadt sowie namhaften Industrie- und For­schungs­­ein­rich­tungen getragen. Neben der TU Darmstadt und der Hochschule Darmstadt sind zwei privatwirtschaftliche Gesell­schafter be­­teiligt: die T-Systems Inter­national GmbH und die VEGA Space GmbH.
Die Gründung beruht auf einer gemeinsamen Ini­­tiative der Europäischen Raumfahrt­agentur ESA und des Landes Hessen zur Schaffung eines Zentrums für Satelliten­­navigation – in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Europäischen Satelliten­kontrollzentrum ESOC in Darmstadt. Ziel ist die Förderung und Beschleunigung der Markt­ent­wicklung für Anwendungen im Bereich Satellitennavigation sowie die Schaffung von Hochtechnologie-Arbeitsplätzen in der Region. Im Auftrag der ESA betreibt cesah das ESA-Business-Inkubations­Zentrum (BIC) Darmstadt. Dieses unter­­stützt junge Unternehmen bei der tech­­nischen Entwicklung, Realisierung und Markteinführung neuer Produkte und Dienstleistungen mit Bezug zur Satelliten­­navigation. In enger Zusammenarbeit und mit technischer sowie finanzieller Unterstützung der ESA erhalten die Unternehmen die notwendige Start­hilfe. Diese umfasst die Entwicklung von Ideen zu Konzept und Businessplan, Fragen zur Patentierung und Reali­sierung von Prototypen, Auf­­bau einer Organisationsstruktur sowie die Gewinnung strategischer Partner und Schlüsselkunden. Ein wesentlicher Erfolgs­­faktor für die Unternehmen ist auch die Einbindung in das Expertennetzwerk der ESA sowie die enge Zusammenarbeit mit regionalen und internationalen Partnern. cesah fungiert in diesem Zusammen­hang als Organisations- und Kontakt­stelle für den Ideenwettbewerb European Satellite Navigation Competition (ESNC).

Die mittlerweile 22 durch cesah betreuten Unternehmen beschäftigen sich mit An­­wendungen der Satellitennavigation für Verkehr und Logistik, Hochwasserschutz und Forstwirtschaft, Kontroll- und Wartungs­­aufgaben, sichere mobile Zahlungs­systeme und hochgenaue Positionierung in der Schifffahrt. Der Schwerpunkt liegt hierbei auf Themen zur Nutzung von GPS, European Geostationary Navi­­gation Overlay Service (EGNOS) sowie zukünftig insbesondere auch Galileo.

Bild5

Neben der Nutzung in der Land­wirt­­schaft, für Land- und Luftverkehr sowie für die Fußgängernavigation kommt die Satellitennavigation auch für eine Viel­­zahl von Anwendungen im Bereich Logistik in Frage, insbesondere für die Ver­folgung von Gütern. Die Satelliten­­navigation stößt allerdings innerhalb von Gebäuden und in deren unmittelbarem Umfeld an ihre Grenzen. Durch Abschattungseffekte wird der Empfang der Signale beschränkt oder gar verhindert. In diesem Kontext versprechen komplementäre Technologien zur Ortung in Innenräumen eine höhere System­verfügbarkeit und Genauig­keit. Hier kann nur eine kombinierte Nutzung verschiedener Navigations­technologien die Erschließung neuer Märkte ermöglichen.
Insbesondere in der Logistik erwartet der Nutzer Lösungsansätze, die einen reibungslosen Prozessablauf gewährleisten. Vor diesem Hintergrund wurden im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts GNSS-INDOOR geeignete Technologien zur Ortung in Gebäuden und deren Umfeld intensiv untersucht. Das hierzu entwickelte System kombiniert neben der eigentlichen Ortungstechnologie auch Kommunikations­­elemente sowie unterstützende Verfahren. Ergänzt wurde das Ortungssystem um Sensoren zur Zustandsüberwachung von beförderten Gütern hinsichtlich Temperatur und Druck, um nur zwei Beispiele zu nennen. Diese Daten werden entweder direkt über Funk oder über webbasierte Schnittstellen an einen Server übertragen. Zusammen mit der eigentlichen Positions­übermittlung wird dadurch ein Informations­­gehalt generiert, welcher die Optimierung eines logistischen Prozesses ermöglicht und sowohl in Form einer Überwachung als auch Steuerung verwendbar ist. Durch die frühe Erkennung von Fehlern im Prozessablauf soll eine Kosteneinsparung möglich werden.

Bild7

Erste experimentelle Untersuchungen zur Leistungsfähigkeit der ausgewählten Technologien erfolgten unter Labor­be­dingungen. Daran schloss sich ein Feld­­versuch am DHL-Hub des Flughafens Leipzig/Halle an, zur Verfolgung von Luftfrachtcontainern, die mittels Zug­maschinen von einer Lagerhalle zu vor­­gegebenen Ladezonen auf dem Flughafen­­vorfeld transportiert wurden. Ausgestattet mit einem mobilen Ortungsgerät, welches im konkreten Fall GPS mit WLAN kombinierte, gelang eine lückenlose Ver­­folgung der Zugmaschinen und damit auch der Container. Der gesamte Prozessablauf wurde von einer Zentrale aus überwacht und mögliche Fehler, wie beispielsweise das Entladen an der falschen Ladezone, in Echtzeit erkannt – ergänzt um Infor­ma­­tionen zum Zustand des Ladeguts. Damit gelang in einem realen betrieblichen Umfeld, unter realistischen Bedingungen und im Rahmen eines bestehenden logis­­tischen Prozesses der Eignungs­nachweis des entwickelten Ortungssystems zur Prozessüberwachung und -optimierung. Das Vorhaben wurde über einen Zeit­raum von mehr als zwei Jahren mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Technologie durch die Raumfahrt­agentur des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR) gefördert – unter dem Förderkennzeichen 50 NA 0701. Projektpartner waren neben weiteren Industrie- und Forschungseinrichtungen auch das Centrum für Satelliten­navigation Hessen cesah und sein in Darmstadt an­­sässiger Gesellschafter VEGA Space GmbH. Die gewonnene Kompetenz für die naht­­lose Verfolgung von Gütern im Innen- und Außenbereich kommt den Gründungs­unternehmen am cesah zugute.

IMG_4488-KopieNach seinem Studium der Luft- und Raum­­fahrttechnik an der Universität Stuttgart und anschließender Promotion im Bereich Raumfahrt ist der Autor seit 2001 Mit­­arbeiter der VEGA Space GmbH. Seit 2009 ist er Geschäftsführer der cesah GmbH Centrum für Satellitennavigation Hessen. Zudem ist Dr. Zimmermann Lehr­be­­auf­­tragter an der Universität Stuttgart im Fach­bereich Raumfahrtsysteme.