Dr. Herbert Hirschler: Supporting and financing companies – rapid loan subsidies

There can be no economic growth without loans. Quite apart from anything else, economic growth is based on com­­pa­nies’ keenness to invest. But companies often find that they cannot afford to hold their own in the market, implement new ideas or expand business activities out of their own pockets, which means that they sometimes need bank loans. This means that loans are also a parameter for economic growth in normal times, not only in times of crisis. At the company-formation stage in particular, those wish­­ing to start companies depend on a wide range of various different financing op­­tions; this applies equally to the medium-sized sector in implementing its ideas. At the end of the day, customised finan­­cing concepts are critical for companies’ commercial development.

KfW_0960

The state of Hessen, the German federal government and the European Union support medium-sized companies with a wide range of different assistance pro­­grammes. These also include public guarantees, which can provide important assistance. Because of the wide range of support options, companies looking for a rapid solution can often lose their way, so it is im­­por­­tant that both existing companies and those people wishing to form companies find out quickly about the right assistance mea­­sures and thereby considerably improve their access to loans, sureties, subsidies and investment capital.

Subsidies can be obtained for almost every kind of investment as well as for consolidating capital equipment and equity capital. Advice on subsidies ob­­­tai­­ned from the Wirtschafts- und Infra­­strukturbank Hessen (Hessian bank of commerce and infrastructure) assists companies and those wishing to form companies in finding suitable subsidy programmes.

Subsidy programmes for the commercial sector are usually arranged by a com­­pany’s house bank. In this way it is pos­­si­­ble to determine in an interview rea­­son­­ably quickly why a company needs the loan, how much is required and whether the loan application will have any chance of success. Even more complex problems can be assessed quickly and, depending on how well the loan application has been prepared, a decision can be made fairly soon. Specific advice is very useful in helping companies to find the right programme for each financing need.

LTH-fh-030-Kopie

The most important programme in busi­­ness development in Hessen is the Kredit­­pro­gramm Gründungs- und Wachstums­­finan­zie­rung (company start-up and business development financing loan programme). This programme subsidises investments in company start-ups, the creation of new and permanent jobs and apprenticeships/traineeships and company expansion and consolidation.

Business development loans from this programme are granted to cover the capital requirements of existing and newly formed companies in Hessen and are available for up to two million euros. These loans are approved on condition that these investments have a reasonable prospect of long-term commercial success – even capital equipment can be financed. Since 1 January 2011, invest­­ments outside Hessen can also be fi­­­nan­­ced provided the applicant’s business has been based in Hessen for a minimum period two years and the loan pro­­tects long-term competitiveness and jobs in Hessen. Subsidies can also be obtained for the construction of property to be leased to third parties immediately following construction; this is for the purpose of creating or retaining a social infrastructure.

These business development loans are refinanced with funds from the KfW (bank for reconstruction) Banking Group. The loans from the Wirtschafts- und Infra­strukturbank Hessen, which are cheap in any case, are also reduced to an espe­­cially low interest rate of 0.2 per cent and to 0.4 per cent in structurally weak economic regions.

KfW_1326

Manufacturing companies and freelanc­ers with up to 15 employees can obtain loans from a “Kapital für Kleinunter­neh­­men” (capital for small companies) programme. These loans are intended to improve com­­panies’ and freelancers’ financial structure and liquidity situations and enable them to take up additional outside capital.

There are also subsidy programmes for improving regional economic structure. These programmes are designed to assist commercial investments which are par­­ticularly worthy of assistance from an economic point of view, which require special effort on the part of the company and, among other things, which are in­­tend­­ed to subsidise the construction or extension of a plant, the takeover of a defunct plant or a plant threatened by closure. The project must be designed to create new, long-term jobs or protect existing ones. Projects of this nature enjoy priority in certain areas of Hessen – particularly in northern Hessen.

KfW_1000

Support for trade fairs enables medium-sized companies in Hessen and freelanc­­ers to take part in trade fairs and exhi­­bi­­tions, mainly in difficult or geographically very distant overseas markets. These subsidies are used mainly to open up and consolidate new markets. Assistance for participation in trade fairs and exhibitions in Germany and elsewhere within the European Union is intended to primarily benefit the qualified trades and small companies with up to ten employees. Subsidies are approved for groups of at least three companies. Interested companies can apply to the responsible trades chambers and industry associations. The projects are approved throughout Hessen with all involved parties.

For companies undergoing temporary financial hardship, it is recommended that they contact their house bank as quickly as possible and explain fully the company’s commercial situation. Only if they are properly informed will banks be pre­­pared to assist companies in phases of decreasing revenues and tight liquidity. Experience has shown that many medium-sized businesses find it difficult to conduct strategic communication with their house banks without assistance. However, in order to maintain good busi­­ness relations with their house banks, companies must demonstrate both a stable operational business and reliable prospects for a long-term improvement in their business situation with a solid business plan. Businesspeople who can­­not provide such evidence out of their own resources should seek help as quick­­ly as possible.

An initial point of contact for such matters may be the local chamber of commerce or trades chamber with their networks of advisors. Subsidies are also available for improving a company’s performance, its competitiveness, for simplifying company start-ups and successions and for consult­­ing and training for small and medium-sized companies. In Hessen there are a large number of advisory centres, such as industry and trades chambers and associations etc. which can offer subsidised advisory services.

 

KfW_0247

If a loan application is declined, business­­people should carefully analyse the rea­­sons for the refusal and discuss these with their company client advisor at their house bank. If the application failed due to insufficient collateral, indemnity bonds could help. With the “indemnity bond without a bank”, sure­­ties of up to 500,000 euros can be ap­­plied for with the Bürg­­schaftsbank Hessen (Hessian guarantee bank) directly. The granting of such a surety makes it easier for the house bank to ap­­prove a loan application and is an im­­por­­tant component for a financing concept.
For sureties from a liability guarantee of one million euros, interested companies should contact the Wirtschafts- und Infra­­strukturbank Hessen. This organisation prepares the documentation required for the decision at the application stage, advises companies, banks and savings banks for the sureties committee of the state of Hessen and reconciles the inter­­ests of the various parties involved.

There is a wide range of other subsidies available, of which some are also tied to certain regions, such as rural areas. This opens up a further, wide range of subsidy options. Every interested businessman and would-be start-up business­­man would there­­fore be well ad­­vised to use the subsidy con­­sulting services of the Wirtschafts- und Infrastrukturbank Hessen, which guides applicants through the range of subsidies available on behalf of the state of Hessen.

LTH_11_fertigFrom 1991 to 1999 the author was vice-president of the Darmstadt Re­­gion­al Council and permanent secretary of state in Hessen’s Ministry of Economics, Trans­­port, Urban and Regional Develop­­ment from 1999 to 2004. He is spokesman of the management of the Wirtschafts- und Infra­­struktur­bank Hessen, which emerged as a result of the merger of the Investi­­tions­bank Hessen and the LTH – Bank für Infra­­struktur, which he has managed since 2004.

Dr. Herbert Hirschler: Unternehmen fördern und finanzieren – Kurze Wege zur Kreditförderung

Ohne Kredite kein Wirtschafts­wachstum! Wachstum basiert unter anderem auf der Investitions­freude von Unternehmen: die Behaup­tung am Markt, die Umsetzung neuer Ideen und die Ausweitung der Ge­­schäfts­­tätigkeit können aber oft nicht aus eige­­ner Tasche bezahlt werden, häufig wer­­den Bankkredite benötigt. Daher sind Kre­­dite nicht nur in Krisenzeiten ein Para­meter für Wirtschaftswachstum. Gerade Start-ups sind in der Gründungsphase auf eine breite Palette verschiedener Finan­­zie­rungs­­­möglichkeiten angewiesen; dies gilt gleich­­er­­maßen für den Mittelstand bei der Umsetzung seiner Ideen. Pass­genaue Finanzierungskonzepte sind letzt­­end­­lich ausschlaggebend für die wirtschaft­­liche Entwicklung der Unternehmen.

KfW_0960

Das Land Hessen, der Bund und die Euro­­päische Union unterstützen mittelstän­­dische Betriebe mit einer Vielzahl verschie­­dener Förderprogramme. Darunter finden sich auch öffentliche Bürgschaften, die wichtige Hilfestellung geben können. Aufgrund der Fülle der Förderangebote verlieren Unternehmen auf der Suche nach der idealen Lösung schnell die Orien­­tierung. Es ist daher wichtig, dass sich Unternehmen, aber auch Existenz­grün­­der, rasch über für sie passende Förder­­mög­lich­­keiten informieren und so die Versor­­gung ihrer Unternehmen mit Kre­­diten, Bürg­schaften, Zuschüssen und Beteili­gungs­­kapital deutlich verbessern können.
Es gibt für fast jeden Investitionsanlass, aber auch für die Betriebsmittel- und Eigen­­kapitalstärkung Fördermöglich­kei­ten. Mit ihrer Förderberatung hilft die Förder­bank des Landes Hessen, die Wirt­­schafts- und Infrastrukturbank Hessen, Unternehmen und Existenzgründern bei der Suche nach geeigneten Förderprogrammen.

Die Förderprogramme für die Wirtschaft werden im Regelfall durch die Hausbank vermittelt. Daher kann in einem persön­­lichen Beratungsgespräch bei der eigenen Hausbank schnell ermittelt werden, wie viel und wofür ein Unternehmen Geld bekommen kann und ob ein Antrag auf öffentliche Förderung Aussicht auf Erfolg hat. Selbst komplexere Projekte können so zeitnah beurteilt und je nach Vor­­be­­rei­tung auch schon im ersten Durchgang bis zur Entscheidungsreife gebracht wer­­den. Auf jeden Fall kann durch eine gezielte Be­­ra­­tung den Firmen dabei geholfen werden, das für den jeweiligen Finanzierungs­anlass zweckmäßige Programm zu finden.

LTH-fh-030-Kopie

Das wichtigste Programm der Wirtschafts­­förderung in Hessen ist das Kreditpro­gramm Gründungs- und Wachstums­finan­­zierung. Damit sind Investitionen im Zu­­sammen­hang mit Existenz­gründun­gen, der Schaf­fung neuer sozialversiche­rungs­­pflichtiger Ausbildungs- und Arbeits­plät­­ze sowie Erweiterungs- und Festigungs­­inves­­titionen förderfähig.
Förderdarlehen aus dem Kredit­pro­gramm Gründungs- und Wachstumsfinan­zie­rung decken den Kapitalbedarf bestehender und neu gegründeter Unternehmen in Hessen bis zu einer Höhe von zwei Mil­­lio­­nen Euro. Voraussetzung ist, dass diese Investitionen einen nachhaltigen wirt­­schaft­­lichen Erfolg erwarten lassen. Auch Betriebsmittel können finanziert werden. Seit dem 1.1.2011 sind darüber hinaus Inves­titionen außerhalb Hessens finanzierbar, sofern der Antragsteller seit mindestens zwei Jahren seinen Sitz in Hessen hat, mit dem Förderdarlehen die Wettbewerbs­fähig­keit langfristig sichert und den Erhalt hessi­scher Arbeitsplätze gewähr­­leistet. Ebenso ist der Bau von Immo­­bilien mit anschlie­­ßender Vermie­tung oder Ver­­pachtung an Dritte zur Er­­haltung oder Schaffung einer so­­zialen Infra­struktur aus dem Programm förder­fähig.

Diese Förderdarlehen sind durch Mittel der KfW-Ban­­kengruppe refinan­­ziert. Die ohnehin schon güns­­tigen Darlehen wer­­den von der Wirtschafts- und Infra­struk­­tur­­bank Hessen zusätzlich mit einer Zins­­ver­güns­­ti­gung um 0,2 und in strukturschwachen Räumen sogar um 0,4 Prozent­­punkte ver­­billigt.

KfW_1326

Unternehmen der gewerblichen Wirt­schaft und freiberuflich Tätige mit bis zu 15 Be­­schäftigten können Kredit­­­mittel aus einem Kredit­­pro­­gramm „Kapital für Klein­­unter­­nehmen“ erhalten. Diese Finan­­zie­­rungs­mit­­tel sollen zur Verbes­serung der Finanzie­rungs­­struktur sowie der Liqui­­ditäts­­­situation bei den Unter­neh­men und Frei­­beruflern dienen und ihnen die Auf­­nah­me zusätz­­li­­chen Fremd­­kapitals ermöglichen.

Darüber hinaus gibt es Förder­­pro­gram­­me im Rahmen der Verbes­­serung der regio­­nalen Wirtschafts­struk­tur. Gefördert wer­­den hier­­bei gewerbliche Investi­tio­nen, die volks­­wirtschaftlich besonders förde­­rungs­­würdig sind, eine besondere An­­­­strengung des Betriebs erfordern und unter anderem im Zusam­men­­hang stehen mit der Errich­­tung oder der Erweiterung einer Betriebs­­stätte oder der Über­­­nahme einer stillgelegten oder von Stilllegung be­­droh­­ten Betriebsstätte. Mit den In­­ves­­ti­­tions­vor­­haben müssen neue Dauer­­­ar­­beits­­­plätze geschaffen oder vor­­han­­de­ne gesichert werden. Vorrangig werden hier Vor­­haben in bestimmten Gebieten Hessens – vor allem in Nord­­hessen – unter­­stützt.

KfW_1000

Mit der Messeförderung wird hessischen mittelständischen Unternehmen sowie Angehörigen freier Berufe die Beteili­gung an Messen und Ausstellungen, über­wie­­­gend auf schwierigen oder weit ent­­fern­ten Märk­­ten im Ausland ermöglicht. Diese För­­de­­run­­gen dienen insbesondere zur Erschlie­­ßung und Festigung neuer Märkte. Die Unterstüt­­zung von Beteiligungen an Messen und Aus­­stellungen im Inland und der Europäischen Union kommt in erster Linie dem Hand­­werk und Klein­betrieben mit bis zu zehn Be­­schäf­­tigten zugute. Ge­­fördert werden Gruppen von mindes­­tens drei Unternehmen. Interes­­­sierte Un­­ter­­neh­­men können sich an die zu­­stän­­di­gen Kammern und Verbände wen­­den. Die Vorhaben werden hessen­weit mit allen Akteuren abgestimmt.

Für Unternehmen in einer vorüber­gehen­­den finanziellen Notlage ist zu empfehlen, möglichst schnell den Dialog mit ihrer Hausbank zu suchen und offen über die betriebliche Situation zu sprechen. Denn nur, wenn sie gut informiert sind, werden Kreditinstitute bereit sein, auch Phasen rückläufiger Erträge und angespannter Liquidität zu begleiten. In der Praxis zeigt sich, dass es vielen Mittelständlern schwer­­fällt, eine strategische Kommuni­kation mit den Banken ohne Hilfestellung zu führen. Um aber weiterhin mit der Haus­­bank gut im Geschäft zu bleiben, müssen Betriebe ein stabiles operatives Ge­­­schäft beziehungs­weise die verläss­liche Aus­­sicht auf eine nachhaltige Bes­­se­­rung der Ge­­schäfts­si­­tu­­ation durch einen fun­­dier­­ten Businessplan nachweisen. Unter­neh­mer, die einen solchen Nachweis aus eigener Kraft nicht führen können, sollten schnellst­­­möglich Hilfe suchen.
Eine erste Anlauf­stelle für eine sol­­che Fragestellung kann die örtliche IHK oder Handwerks­kammer mit ihrem Berater­­netz­werk sein. Um Leistungs- und Wett­­­­­bewerbs­­fähigkeit zu verbessern, Grün­­dungen zu erleichtern und Ge­­ne­­rations­­­­wechsel zu sichern, werden nämlich auch Beratung und Schulung von kleinen und mittleren Unter­­nehmen ge­­för­­dert. In Hes­­sen gibt es eine Viel­zahl von Be­­ra­­­tungs­­stellen (zum Beispiel Kam­­mern, Ver­­bände und so weiter), die eine geför­­derte Bera­­tung durchführen können.

KfW_0247

Bei einer Kreditablehnung sollte ein Unter­­nehmer die Gründe dafür genau analysie­­ren und mit seinem Firmen­kun­­den­­berater be­­spre­­­­chen. Wenn die Kredit­­­­vergabe an mangeln­­den Sicher­­­heiten ge­­scheitert ist, könnten Ausfall­bürg­schaf­­ten eine Unter­­stüt­zung darstellen. Mit der „Bürgschaft ohne Bank“ können Bürg­schaften bis zu einer Höhe von 500.000 Euro direkt bei der Bürg­­schafts­­bank Hessen beantragt werden. Die Zu­­sage einer solchen Bürg­­schaft er­­leich­­tert der Hausbank die Kredit­ver­­gabe und stellt einen wichtigen Bau­stein für ein Finan­zie­­rungs­kon­­zept dar. Für Bürg­­schaften ab einem Bürg­schafts­­obligo von einer Million Euro ist die Wirtschafts- und Infra­­struk­­tur­­­bank Hessen Ansprech­­part­­nerin. Sie er­­arbeitet für den Bürg­­schafts­­­­aus­­schuss des Landes Hessen die Ent­­­­schei­­­dungs­­vorlagen, berät Unter­neh­men, Ban­­ken und Sparkassen bei der Antrag­­stellung und moderiert die unterschied­­lichen Interessen.

Es gibt noch eine ganze Reihe mehr an Fördermöglich­­keiten, die teil­­weise auch an bestimmte Gebiete ge­­knüpft sind, zum Beispiel an den ländlichen Raum. Hier öffnet sich ein weiteres, breit ge­­fächer­­tes Spek­­trum an Förderungen. Jedem interessierten Unter­neh­­men und jedem Existenzgründer sei daher die Förder­beratung der Wirt­schafts- und Infra­struk­­tur­bank Hessen an­­­­em­­­pfohlen, die im Auf­­trag des Lan­­des Hessen un­­ent­­geltlich durch die För­­der­­­mög­­lich­keiten lotst.

LTH_11_fertigDer Autor war von 1991 bis 1999 Vize­präsi­­dent des Re­­gie­rungsprä­si­­diums Darm­stadt und von 1999 bis 2004 Staats­­sekretär im Hessi­­schen Ministerium für Wirt­­­­schaft, Ver­­kehr und Landesent­wick­­lung. Er ist Spre­­cher der Geschäfts­lei­tung der Wirt­­schafts- und Infrastrukturbank Hessen, die 2009 aus der Fusion der Investitions­­bank Hessen und der von ihm seit 2004 geführten LTH – Bank für Infrastruktur hervorgegangen ist.