Dr. habil. Henry Hasenpflug: The Dresden region is developing

Breaking new ground to the East – The development of traffic infrastructure in the Dresden administrative county
The need-based extension of the infrastructure of all transport carriers is of central importance for the economic de­­velopment of a region. The Dresden State Directorate, as the planning approval au­­thority and the authorization body for the funding of traffic projects, is involved in the development of the traffic infrastructure in the Dresden administrative county and thereby assumes a bundling role.

The Federal Government and the Free State of Saxony regard themselves re­­spon­sible particularly for the fundamental traffic development of the region. There­­by the East Saxon transnational connection to Poland and the Czech Republic gains increasing importance, especially also in terms of growing economic integration and dependency.

The conceptual basis for the development and new construction of the major federal motorways, the federal railroads and the federal waterways is formed by the Federal Route Plan 2001–2015 (BVWP- Bundes­verkehrswegeplan), the Traffic Projects German Unity and the State Development Plan of the Free State of Saxony. An investment master plan which encompasses all transport carriers additionally stipulates the medium-term investment strategy of the Federation for the execution of transport policies for 2006 until 2010 and creates the necessary planning and in­­vestment security for the federal states.

 

S-Bahn-vor-Bergkulisse

According to the currently applicable Fe­­deral Route Plan, in the Dresden administrative county federal motorways and federal roads with an urgent demand as well as with other demand are accounted for by thirty projects with estimated total costs of approximately 626 million euros. These measures primarily concern the construction of bypasses and the development of motorway access points. The objective of these measures is the elimination of traffic congestion and the development of structurally underdeveloped regions. Simultaneously, a sub­­stantial part of the projects opens or im­­proves the opportunities of regional border traffic between Saxony, North Bohemia and Lower Silesia or establishes junctions to large nationwide transport axes.

Already in the past, numerous projects which were accompanied by the State Directorate or the Dresden Re­­gi­­o­­nal Council as the official plan approving and funding body were aimed at the opening of state traffic over its eastern borders and beyond. An example thereof is the new construction of the A 17 federal motorway.

On the German side, the expressway to Prague has a length of 44.6 kilometres, for which the Dresden Regional Council executed the planning approval procedure. The traffic clearance was carried out on 21 December 2006. Therewith one of the most significant transport projects in the region was brought to a close: Starting with the preliminary draft plan in 1995 through the planning approval notice in 2003 up to the clearance, the project engaged the Dres­­­­den Regional Council for more than ten years.

The section 1.2 of the B178n between Nostitz and Löbau, which has already been released to traffic, is a part of the important connection to eastern neighbours. After its completion, the high way will connect the entire south-eastern Saxony region between Zittau and Löbau to federal motorway 4 and simultaneously establish the connection to Liberec and further on to Prague.
Another example of the effective infrastructural upgrading of the region over the regional and state borders and beyond is the new construction of a runway for the Dresden International Airport. In the course of the implementation of this project in 2007, the runway was relocated and extended during ongoing air traffic. The necessary planning approval procedure was also in this case executed by the Dresden Regional Council. In the meantime, the airport in Dresden has also developed an attraction for air passengers from beyond the state borders. In 2008, almost 37,000 flight operations were registered there. Last year, with 1.86 million passengers, the Dresden International Airport therewith again achieved a record in passenger volume.


Hybridbus-vor-Semperoper

As regards its record in the service of the traffic infrastructure of the region, the Dresden State Directorate can be proud, however, also with its performance in the recent past. In the years between 2006 and 2008, the Dresden State Directorate, or rather its predecessor authority, the Dresden Regional Council, which existed until July 2008, created building rights through planning approval notices for the following projects, amongst others in the region:

• Federal road 96/federal road 6 – West­­tangente Bautzen: This scheme aims at the shifting of transit traffic out of the Bautzen city centre and leads to an enhancement of the city ring road.
• New construction of state road 106, Bautzen southern bypass: Therewith, the connection of the state and federal roads which run towards Bautzen via a road ring and an express motorway access, is successful.
• Federal road 98, Bischofswerda eastern bypass: The project assures an effective connection between Kamenz, Sebnitz, Neustadt and Bischofswerda, and in addition guarantees an express con­­nection of Saxon Switzerland to federal motorway 4.
• New construction of federal road 178n, section 3.1 between Löbau and Ober­­cunnersdorf: The progressive new con­­struction of this major motorway, which runs in a north-south direction, is of paramount significance to the East Saxon region; the route links the border triangle to the German motorway net­­work and therewith in particular, also opens up the North Bohemian re­­gi­­on.
• New construction of state road S 127b, feeder and the border crossing at Krau­­schwitz: Therewith, the relief of the border crossing situated in Bad Muskau and consequently the improvement of the regional traffic connections from and to Poland, is successful.
• New construction of federal road B 170 south of Dippoldiswalde: The capacity and road safety of the federal road, which as the Europastraße (Inter­­na­­tional E-road network) E 55 offers one of the most important connections of the border region south of Dresden to the motorway network, are markedly being im­­proved; simultaneously, the adaptation to the required flood protection is being carried out.
• Development of the B 156 between Bautzen and the old Kamenz county boundary for the strengthening of the Bautzen ­– Hoyersverda traffic connection and further to Bad Muskau.
• New construction of the Görlitz – Cott­­bus B 115 in and to the south of Weiß­­keißel: Traffic flows, which are initially routed from the south via the B 178 up to federal motorway 4 at Weißen­­berg, can take up the more efficient roadway and transfer as a link road to federal road 15.
At present, a total of 68 further project applications are being processed for planning approval at the Dresden State Directorate. Amongst these projects are again some which are also aimed at a better infrastructural cross-linking with the East European neighbours.

A17-Plauenscher-Grund

Thus, the planning approval for sections 3.2 and 3.3 for the repeatedly mentioned B 178n is now already underway, with which the newly constructed road is to be extended close up to Zittau, avoiding the Herrnhut bottleneck.
The Dresden State Directorate as the planning approver is also currently busy with a new natural gas pipeline, which is to cross Saxony from north to south. This so-called OPAL (Ostsee-Pipeline-An­­bin­­dungs-Lei­­­­tung – Baltic Sea Pipeline Connection Pipe) energy line is to en­­sure the future flow of natural gas from Russia through the Baltic Sea directly to Germany and from there further on to South and West Europe, avoiding accident-sensitive land transit. The pro­­ject therefore has significance for the security of energy supply of the entire European Union.

However, the Dresden State Directorate is involved not only in the east, which is close to the border, but also in the western part of the administrative county, in on-going planning approval procedures in preparation for further important improvements of the infrastructure. For instance, the progressive planning approval for the new construction of the B 169 between Riesa and federal motorway 14 provides for an effective connection of the entire Riesa economic region to the European high way network.

Mobility economically and ecologically organized – The development of local public transport in the Dresden administrative county
The local public transport (ÖPNV) contributes towards the coverage of large traffic flows in the urban centres as well as to mobile basic services in the poorly populated areas of the Dresden administrative county. The Dresden State Direc­­to­­rate supports the efforts of transport organizations, administrative unions and town councils for an attractive and affordable local public transportation amongst other things through the granting of funding. In 2007 and 2008 alone, grants totalling 167 million euros were extended for this purpose.
In the process, a focal point is provided for the continuation of the development of the commuter train line between Pirna and Meißen in the area of the Dresden-Neustadt railway station.


Airport-Dresden---Neue-SLB

The modernization of the railway line between Bischofswerda and Zittau is in the process of implementation. With investments of around 85 million euros, the preconditions in the super-structural, civil engineering and security technology areas are created, in order to cover the distance between Dresden-Neustadt and Zittau in less than 80 minutes and simultaneously provide a speedy connection to our Czech neighbours.

In 2007, work also began on the railway line between Görlitz and Zittau to be able to offer transportation qualities sufficing present day requirements. This also comprises the construction of new entry points in Hirschfelde and Hagen­­wer­­der.
The state capital of Dresden still forms a significant focal point of investment activities in the transportation sector. With the development of the Lennéplatz, a further great scheme of the Dresdner Verkehrs­be­triebe AG (a public transportation company) in the traffic facility area was implemented. In the re­­maining route network the work, in the last few years has, above all, been concentrated on the completion of the removal of the flood damage of 2002, as well on as the obstacle-free design of bus stop facilities.
However, the highlight of the construction activities for the Dresden tram line was the start of the extension of the tramline section of line 7 from Dresden-Gorbitz to Dresden-Gompitz with a length of approximately 2.7 kilometres, that was jointly realized with the construction of the connection point of federal road 173 to federal motorway 17.
In the range of the bus transportation com­­panies, the modernization of the oper­­­­ational facilities has been concluded. Here, efforts are henceforth concentrated on the introduction of new communication and dispatch technology. Com­­men­­cing in 2008, at the realization of the findings of the research project “intermobil”, in future there is to be a re­­gio­­nal operations control system in the Dresden region, which will ensure the connection of individual means of transport as well as serving the overlapping transport carrier information of passengers.

This system will become all the more effective, the more and the better the con­­nection points which are created between the individual providers of the ÖPNV on the one hand, and the individual traffic on the other hand. The in­­vest­­ment pro­­­­gram­­mes of the Zweck­­ver­­bände Ver­­kehrs­­­­­­­verbund Oberelbe (ZVOE – Trans­­port Federation Upper Elbe) and Ober­lau­sitz-Nieder­­schlesien (ZVON – Transport Federation Upper Lusatia-Lower Silesia), which contain about 60 projects for trans­­fer points in the administrative county, should in essence be completed by 2010. In the past two years, the transition point or rather, bus stations and PR facilities, were added in Glas­­hütte, Dresden-Cosse­­baude, Bi­­schofs­­­wer­­da, Dürrröhrsdorf, Prieste­­witz, Groß­­­­­­har­­tau, Pulsnitz, Rade­­berg, Otten­­dorf-Okrilla and Pirna. Facilities under construction are found in Arns­­dorf, Klin­­­gen­berg-Colmnitz and Riesa. Together with the connection points which are to be completed in the next few years, they will contribute thereto that the number of ÖPNV (local public transport) users will increase further, which despite the decline in population, for instance from the previous year, in­­creased by about two per cent in 2007.

A modern ÖPNV is naturally also characterized by the application of modern vehicles. In this way, the promotion of the acquisition of omnibuses is continued with approximately six million euros per annum. From 2010 onward the Dres­­d­­ner Verkehrs­­be­­trie­­be AG will be in a position to utilize only modern low-floor trams from Bautzen. In Dres­­den, already since 2007, in the commuter train area, 53 new double-deck coaches have been in oper­­ation, which can be cleaned and maintained in the likewise newly created Fahr­­­zeugwerkstatt Dres­­den-­­Altstadt (vehicle workshop).
A further concern of our office is the promotion of attractive and safe ÖPNV stations in the region, as these represent the direct link between the passenger and the transport company. In the local councils visible im­­prove­­ments have already been achieved with the annual construction of 20 to 30 stations and passenger shelters. In conjunction with the administrative union we will continue making further progress in this regard.

 

060209shh06The author was born in 1948 and studied geography and mathematics in the German teacher education program­­me. After obtaining his doctorate he quali­­fied as a professor in socio-economic geo­­graphical issues. From 1992 until 1998, he first worked at the Saxon State Ministry of Home Affairs and until 2000, he was the president of the Statistical State Office of Saxony. He is the president of the Dresden State Directorate.

Dr. habil. Henry Hasenpflug: Die Region Dresden baut aus

Auf neuen Wegen nach Osten – Zur Entwicklung der Verkehrsinfra­struktur im Direktionsbezirk Dresden
Der bedarfsgerechte Ausbau der In­­fra­struktur aller Verkehrsträger ist von zen­­traler Bedeutung für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung einer Region. Als Plan­­feststellungsbehörde und als Bewil­li­gungs­­stelle bei der Förderung von Ver­­kehrsvorhaben ist die Landesdirektion Dresden an der Entwicklung der Ver­kehrsinfrastruktur im Direktionsbezirk Dresden mit beteiligt und übernimmt dabei eine Bündelungsfunktion.

Der Bund und der Freistaat Sachsen se­­hen sich insbesondere für die grund­­le­gen­­­de verkehrliche Erschließung der Re­­gion in der Pflicht. Dabei erlangt die grenz­­überschreitende An­­bindung Ost­­sachsens nach Polen und Tschechien, ge­­rade auch als Aspekt wach­­sender wirt­­schaftlicher Ver­net­zung und Ab­­hän­­gig­keit, zunehmendes Gewicht.

Die konzeptionelle Basis für den Aus- und Neubau der Bundesfernstraßen, der Schienenwege des Bundes und der Bun­­deswasserstraßen bilden der Bundes­verkehrswegeplan 2001–2015 (BVWP), die Verkehrsprojekte Deutsche Einheit und der Landesentwicklungsplan des Freistaates Sachsen. Ein alle Verkehrs­träger umfassender Inves­ti­tions­rah­men­­plan legt ergänzend die mittelfristige Investitionsstrategie des Bundes zur Umsetzung der Verkehrspolitik für die Jahre 2006 bis 2010 fest und schafft für die Bundesländer die notwendige Planungs- und Investitionssicherheit.

S-Bahn-vor-Bergkulisse

Nach dem aktuell geltenden BVWP ent­­fallen im Direktionsbezirk Dresden auf Bundesautobahnen und Bundes­stra­ßen im vordringlichen Bedarf sowie im weiteren Bedarf dreißig Vorhaben mit ver­­an­­schlagten Gesamtkosten von et­­wa 626 Millionen Euro. Bei diesen Maß­­nah­­men handelt es sich im Wesentlichen um den Bau von Ortsumgehungen und den Aus­­bau von Autobahn­an­schluss­stel­­len. Ziel der Maßnahmen ist die Be­­sei­ti­gung von Verkehrsengpässen und die Er­­schlie­­ßung strukturschwacher Re­­gio­­nen. Gleich­­zei­­tig öffnet oder verbessert ein erheblicher Teil der Vorhaben Mög­­lichkeiten des re­­gionalen Grenzverkehrs zwischen Sach­sen, Nordböhmen und Niederschlesien oder stellt Anschlüsse an große überre­­gionale Verkehrs­ach­sen her.

Schon in der Vergangenheit zielte eine Reihe von Vorhaben, die die Landes­di­rektion beziehungsweise das Re­­gie­rungs­­­präsidium Dresden als Plan­fest­stel­lungs- und Förderstelle begleiteten, auf die ver­­kehrliche Öffnung des Lan­des über seine östlichen Grenzen hinaus. Exemplarisch dafür ist der Neubau der Bundes­auto­bahn A 17.
Auf deutschem Gebiet hat die Schnell­­straße von Dresden nach Prag eine Län­ge von 44,6 Kilometern, für die das Dresd­ner Re­­gie­­rungspräsidium das Plan­­­fest­­stel­lungs­verfahren durchgeführt hat. Die Verkehrsfreigabe erfolgte am 21. De­­zem­­ber 2006. Damit war eines der be­­deutendsten Verkehrs­­pro­­jekte in der Re­­gion zum Abschluss ge­­bracht worden: Angefangen von der Vor­­ent­wurfs­pla­­nung im Jahr 1995 über den Plan­fest­­stel­lungs­­beschluss im Jahr 2003 bis zur Freigabe hat das Vorhaben das Re­­gie­rungs­prä­si­dium Dresden mehr als zehn Jahre be­­schäftigt.
Auch der bereits dem Verkehr übergebene Abschnitt 1.2 der B 178n zwischen Nostitz und Löbau ist Teil einer wichtigen Verbindung zu den östlichen Nach­­barn. Die Fernstraße wird nach ih­­rer Fer­­tigstellung den gesamten südostsächsischen Raum zwischen Zittau und Löbau an die BAB 4 anbinden und gleich­­zeitig den Anschluss nach Libe­rec und weiter nach Prag herstellen.
Ein weiteres Beispiel der über die Re­­gions- und Landesgrenzen hinaus wirk­samen infrastrukturellen Auf­wer­tung der Region ist der Neubau einer Start- und Landebahn für den Dresdner Flughafen. Im Zuge der Realisierung die­­ses Vor­ha­bens im Jahr 2007 wurde die Piste bei laufendem Flugbetrieb verlegt und verlängert. Das erforderliche Plan­fest­­stell­ungsverfahren führte auch in diesem Falle das Dresdner Re­­gie­rungs­präsidium durch. Der Airport in Dres­den entfaltet inzwischen auch Anzie­hungskraft für Fluggäste von jenseits der Landesgrenzen. 2008 wurden dort fast 37.000 Flugbewegungen re­­gis­triert. Mit 1,86 Millionen Fluggästen erzielte der Dresdner Flughafen dabei im vergan­­genen Jahr erneut einen Re­­kord bei den Passagierzahlen.


Hybridbus-vor-Semperoper

Hinsichtlich ihrer Bilanz im Dienste der Verkehrsinfrastruktur der Region kann sich die Landesdirektion Dresden aber auch mit ihren Leistungen in jüngster Vergangenheit sehen lassen. In den Jah­­­­ren zwischen 2006 und 2008 ha­­ben die Landesdirektion Dresden be­­ziehungs­wei­­se die Vor­gängerbehörde, das bis Juli 2008 bestehende Regierungs­prä­si­dium Dres­­den, in der Region unter an­­derem für folgende Vorhaben durch Plan­­­fest­stel­­­­lungs­­beschlüsse Baurecht ge­­schaffen:

• Bundesstraße 96/Bundesstraße 6 – West­­­­tangente Bautzen: Diese Maß­nah­me zielt auf die Verlagerung des Durch­­­­gangs­­­­verkehr aus der Bautzener In­­nen­­­stadt und führt zu einer Wei­ter­­ent­­wicklung des Stadtrings.
• Neubau Staatsstraße 106, Süd­um­ge­hung Bautzen: Damit gelingt die Ver­knüpfung der auf Bautzen zulaufenden Staats- und Bundesstraßen durch ei­­nen Straßenring und ein schnellerer Auto­bahnzugang.
• Bundesstraße 98, Ortsumfahrung Bi­­schofswerda: Das Vorhaben verspricht eine leistungsfähige Verbindung zwischen Kamenz, Sebnitz, Neustadt und Bischofswerda, garantiert zudem eine schnellere Anbindung der Sächsischen Schweiz an BAB 4.
• Neubau der Bundesstraße 178n, Ab­­schnitt 3.1 zwischen Löbau und Ober­­­­cunnersdorf: Der abschnittsweise er­­folgende Neubau dieser in Nord-Süd-Richtung verlaufenden Fernstraße ist von überragender Bedeutung für den ostsächsischen Raum; die Trasse bin­­det das Dreiländereck an das deutsche Autobahnnetz an und erschließt da­­bei insbesondere auch den nordböhmischen Raum.
• Neubau der Staatsstraße S 127b, Zu­­brin­­­­­­ger und Grenzübergang Krau­­sch­­witz: Da­­­mit gelingt die Entlastung des in Bad Muskau gelegenen Grenz­­über­gangs, mit­­­­hin die Verbesserung der regionalen Ver­­­kehrsanbindungen von der und in die Republik Polen.
• Ausbau der Bundesstraße B 170 südlich Dippoldiswalde: Leis­tungs­fä­hig­keit und Verkehrssicherheit der Bun­­des­­straße, die als Eu­­ro­­pastraße E 55 eine der wichtigen Ver­­­bindungen der Grenzregion südlich von Dresden mit dem Autobahnnetz anbietet, werden deutlich verbessert; gleich­­zeitig er­­folgt die Anpassung an den er­­­­forderlichen Hochwasserschutz.
• Ausbau der B 156 zwischen Bautzen und der ehemaligen Kreisgrenze Ka­­menz zur Stärkung der Verkehrs­ver­­bindung Baut­­zen – Hoyerswerda und weiter nach Bad Muskau.
• Ausbau der B 115 Görlitz – Cottbus in und südlich von Weißkeißel: Verkehrs­ströme, die aus dem Süden durch die B 178 zunächst bis zur BAB 4 bei Wei­ßenberg geführt werden, kann die leis­tungsfähigere Trasse aufnehmen und als Querspange zu BAB 15 weiterleiten.

A17-Plauenscher-Grund

Gegenwärtig werden für insgesamt 68 weitere Vorhaben Anträge auf Plan­fest­­stellung in der Landesdirektion Dres­­den bearbeitet. Unter diesen Vorhaben sind wieder einige, die auch auf eine bessere infrastrukturelle Vernetzung mit den osteuropäischen Nachbarn zielen.

So läuft für die bereits mehrfach er­­wähn­­te B 178n nun die Planfeststellung für die Abschnitte 3.2 und 3.3, mit denen unter Umgehung des Nadelöhrs Herrn­hut die Neubautrasse bis nahe an Zit­tau heran verlängert werden soll.
Auch für eine neue Erdgasfernleitung, die Sachsen von Nord nach Süd queren soll, ist die Landesdirektion Dres­den als Planfeststeller gegenwärtig tä­­tig. Die­ser OPAL (Ostsee-Pipeline-An­­bin­­dungs-Lei­­­­tung) genannte Energie­strang soll künf­­­­tig dafür sorgen, dass Erdgas aus Russ­­land, unter Umgehung störanfälliger Land­­transite, durch die Ostsee direkt bis nach Deutschland und von dort weiter nach Süd- und West­europa strömen kann. Das Vorhaben hat mithin für die Sicherheit der Ener­gieversorgung der ge­­samten Euro­pä­­­ischen Union Be­­deu­tung.
Aber nicht nur im grenznahen östlichen, sondern auch im westlichen Teil des Di­­rektionsbezirkes beteiligt sich die Lan­desdirektion Dresden mit laufenden Plan­­­­feststellungsverfahren an den Vor­be­rei­­tungen für weitere wichtige Ver­bes­­se­­run­gen der Infrastruktur. Bei­­spiels­­weise kann mit der abschnittsweisen Plan­­fest­­­­stellung für den Neubau der B 169 zwi­­schen Riesa und der BAB 14 für eine leis­­tungsfähige Anbindung der ge­­samten Wirt­­schaftsregion Riesa an das europäische Fernstraßennetz gesorgt werden.

Mobilität wirtschaftlich und ökologisch organisieren – Zum Ausbau des öffentlichen Personennahverkehrs im Direktionsbezirk Dresden
Der öffentliche Personennahverkehr (ÖPNV) trägt sowohl zur Bewältigung der großen Verkehrsströme in den Bal­lungsgebieten als auch zur mobilen Grundversorgung in den schwächer be­­siedelten Gebieten des Direktions­be­zir­kes Dresden bei. Die Landesdirektion Dresden unterstützt die Bemühungen der Verkehrsunternehmen, Zweckver­bän­­­de und Kommunen um einen at­­trak­ti­ven und bezahlbaren ÖPNV unter anderen durch die Gewährung von För­der­mit­teln. Allein in den Jahren 2007 und 2008 wurden hierfür Zuwendungen von insgesamt etwa 167 Millionen Euro aus­­gereicht.
Einen Schwerpunkt bildete dabei die Fortsetzung des Ausbaus der S-Bahn-Linie zwischen Pirna und Meißen im Be­­reich des Bahnhofs Dresden-Neu­stadt.


Airport-Dresden---Neue-SLB

In der Umsetzung ist die Mo­­der­ni­sie­rung der Eisenbahnstrecke zwischen Bi­­schofs­­werda und Zittau. Mit In­­ves­ti­tio­nen von etwa 85 Millionen Euro wird hier die Voraus­setzung in den Bereichen Ober­bau, In­­genieurbau und Siche­rungs­tech­­nik ge­­schaffen, um die Ent­fernung von Dres­­den-Neustadt nach Zit­tau in weniger als 80 Minuten zu­­rück­zulegen und gleich­­­­zeitig eine schnel­­le Ver­­bin­­dung zu un­­seren tschechischen Nach­­barn herzu­stellen.

2007 wurde auch mit den Arbeiten an der Eisenbahnstrecke zwischen Görlitz und Zittau begonnen, um eine den heu­­­tigen Anforderungen genügende Be­­för­­derungsqualität anbieten zu können. Dies beinhaltet auch den Bau neuer Zu­­­­gangsstellen in Hirschfelde und Ha­­gen­­werder.
Die Landeshauptstadt Dresden bildet nach wie vor einen bedeutenden Schwer­­punkt des Investitionsgeschehens im Verkehrssektor. Mit dem Ausbau des Lennéplatzes wurde eine weitere große Maßnahme der Dresdner Verkehrs­be­triebe AG im Bereich Verkehrsanlagen realisiert. Im übrigen Streckennetz kon­­zentrierten sich die Arbeiten in den letz­­ten Jahren vor allem auf den Abschluss der Beseitigung der Flutschäden des Jahres 2002 sowie die barrierefreie Gestaltung von Haltestellenanlagen.

Höhepunkt des Baugeschehens für die Dresdner Straßenbahn war jedoch die Inbetriebnahme der gemeinsam mit dem Bau der Anschlussstelle der Bundes­stra­ße 173 an die BAB 17 realisierten Verlängerung der Straßenbahntrasse der Linie 7 von Dresden-Gorbitz nach Dresden-Gompitz mit einer Länge von circa 2,7 Kilometern.

Im Bereich der Busverkehrs­unter­neh­men ist die Modernisierung der Be­­triebs­­anlagen abgeschlossen. Hier konzentrieren sich die Anstrengungen nunmehr auf die Einführung neuer Kom­mu­ni­ka­­tions- und Abfertigungstechnik. Im Jahr 2008 beginnend, wird es künftig in Um­­setzung der Ergebnisse des For­­schungs­­vorhabens „intermobil Region Dresden“ ein regionales Betriebs­leit­sys­tem ge­­ben, das sowohl die Verknüpfung der einzelnen Verkehrsmittel sichert als auch der verkehrsträgerübergreifenden Infor­ma­­­tion der Fahrgäste dient.

Dieses System wird umso wirksamer, je mehr und bessere Ver­knüp­­fungs­­stel­­­­len zwischen den einzelnen An­­bietern des ÖPNV einerseits und dem Indi­­vi­­dualverkehr andererseits ge­­schaf­­fen werden. Die In­­ves­ti­tions­pro­gramme der Zweckverbände Verkehrs­verbund Ober­­elbe (ZVOE) und Ober­lau­sitz-Nie­der­­schle­­sien (ZVON), die etwa 60 Vorhaben für Umsteigestellen im Di­­rektionsbezirk be­­inhalten, sollen bis 2010 im Wesent­­lich­­­en abgeschlossen sein. In den letzten zwei Jahren ka­­men die Über­­gangs­­stellen beziehungsweise Busbahnhöfe und P+R­­Anlagen in Glas­­hütte, Dresden-Cosse­­baude, Bi­­schofs­werda, Dürrröhrs­­dorf, Priestewitz, Groß­­hartau, Pulsnitz, Rade­­berg, Otten­­dorf-Okrilla und Pirna hinzu. Im Bau befinden sich Anlagen in Arns­­dorf, Klin­­­gen­berg-Colmnitz und Riesa. Sie werden ge­­meinsam mit den in den nächsten Jah­­ren noch fertig zu stellenden Ver­­knüpfungsstellen dazu bei­­tra­­gen, dass die Zahl der ÖPNV-Nutzer, die trotz des Be­­völkerungs­­rück­­ganges zum Bei­spiel im Jahr 2007 gegenüber dem Vor­­jahr um circa zwei Prozent zunahm, wei­­ter steigt.

Ein moderner ÖPNV wird natürlich auch durch den Einsatz moderner Fahr­­zeuge geprägt. So wurde die För­­der­­ung der Beschaffung von Omnibussen mit jährlich circa sechs Millionen Euro fortgeführt. Die Dresdner Ver­­kehrs­­be­­triebe AG wird ab 2010 in der Lage sein, ausschließ­­lich moderne Nieder­­flur-Straßen­­bahnen aus Bautzen einzusetzen. Be­­reits seit 2007 verkehren im S-Bahn-Bereich Dres­­­­den 53 neue Doppel­­stock­­wagen, die in der ebenfalls neu entstandenen Fahr­zeug­­werk­­statt Dres­­den-­Alt­­stadt ge­­pflegt und instandgehalten werden können.

Ein weiteres Anliegen unseres Hauses ist die Förderung attraktiverer und si­­cherer Haltestellen des ÖPNV in der Re­­gion, stellen diese doch das unmittelbare Bindeglied zwischen Fahrgast und Verkehrsunternehmen dar. In den Kom­­munen wurden mit dem Bau von jährlich 20 bis 30 Haltestellen und Fahr­gastunterständen bereits spürbare Ver­­besserungen erreicht. Gemeinsam mit den Zweckverbänden werden wir diesen Weg weiter beschreiten.

060209shh06Der 1948 geborene Autor hat in Dresden Geografie und Mathematik auf Lehramt studiert. Nach der Promotion habilitier­­te er zu sozial- und wirtschafts­geo­­grafischen Fragestellungen. Von 1992 bis 1998 zu­­nächst im sächsischen Staats­minis­terium des Innern, war Hasen­pflug bis 2000 Prä­si­­dent des Statisti­schen Landesamtes des Freistaates. Er ist Prä­­sident der Landes­­di­rektion Dresden.