Dr. Fritz Audebert: Global “Energy Industry” made in Lower Bavaria – Intercultural know-how for lasting international success

In view of progressive globalisation, intercultural competence is essential for companies’ commercial success. But only those who pay attention at the details, global cooperation becomes a success factor.

 

The international scene offers companies an unlimited number of opportunities – there are new markets to be opened up and, in times of a shortage of skilled employee, and increasing specialisation, recruits are to be obtained from all around the world. All these processes ensure considerable tension in internationally active companies. “How can I persuade Indian business partners about my services? Why did my Chinese partner give me a clear “yes”, only for me to find out later that the project will now not go through? How can I put together a team efficiently if Ameri­can, Spanish and Swedish colleagues have completely different values and Ideas? And why do Russian job applicants always look so serious in the photos attached to their applications?

Schiff_bearbeitet-Kopie

Companies and institutions pay a high price for intercultural misunderstandings. The costs of business meetings, international projects and sending employees to foreign cultural environments quickly reach dizzy heights – and often fail due to a lack of sensitivity for the other culture. Intercultural awareness goes far beyond greeting ceremonies and seating arrangements in business meetings. Knowledge about specific cultural features and communication behaviour, hierarchical mentalities and time management are all crucial when dealing with other cultures, as is the right degree of appreciation, tolerance and acceptance.

ICUnet.AG stands for permanence in international orientation. Located in Passau on the banks of the Danube, the company is not concerned with generating hydro-electric power, but rather with promoting intercultural energy. The intercultural consulting firm assists companies and organisations in matters of international orien­tation and global mobility. As a leader in service, quality and innovation, it is the partner of numerous companies and institutions in all matters concerning intercultural consulting, developing intercultural competence, assessment and global mobility. Its over 12 locations in Germany and abroad and over 150 permanent employees and 350 contract employees and consultants ensure that the company is a local partner and contact for companies all around the world.
ICUnet.AG is a “systems supplier” of the ICU® solution: ICUnet.AG is unique in the world in linking individual solutions to an overall concept for international orientation. Intercultural consulting, developing competence, analysing potential and global mobility complement and define each other and make it possible to offer customised solutions. As the company in its sector with the most awards (including the Best of Consulting, European Business Awards, Deutscher Gründerpreis (German start-up award) or Deloitte Technology Fast 50), ICUnet.AG – including in 2014 – won the prize as “Germany’s most client-oriented service provider” for the fifth time in succession.

 

icu_tag2_kongress-68-Kopie

Transformers combine various tension levels of a power network and convert induced voltage into high tension for feeding into the grid. The annual Intercultural Congress organised every year by ICUnet.AG in cooperation with the city of Passau mainly generates a regional hub of global know-how and intercultural high performance. Which trends will influence the international management of tomorrow? How does global cooperation become a success factor? Speakers such as Dr Milton Bennett, Ph.D., Director at the Intercultural Development Research Center, Prof. Dr Geert Hofstede, emeritus Professor of Organisational Anthropology and International Management at the University of Maastricht, and Philip Mountford, CEO at Hunkemöller International BV, share their very personal international experience.

Generators are driven by the force of their turbines. Innovations guarantee a comparable force in daily business. ICUnet.AG continually expands its innovative leadership both through research projects with universities around the world and through new, trendsetting developments. This is institutionalised through its own “Innovation Lab”, the icu®LAB. Innovative developments are made together with clients and guarantee sustainability. ICUnet.AG distinguishes itself in particular through continued development and optimisation of service quality, particularly in client service. This year as well, it won an award for its innovative achievements – the Medium-Sized Sector Initiative awarded its tool ICU NeXt Destination (IND) the “Innovation Prize IT 2014” in the category “BEST OF Promotional Services”. This secondment management tool accelerates and optimises relocation processes, where all relevant process data of a given overseas posting are methodically recorded on computer, documented and are available both for the posted client him/herself, the personnel looking after him/her and the contracting relocation service provider at all times and worldwide. Thus, the tool promises effective and transparent data control and considerably reduces complexity. Mr Alexander Veit, Head of Global Mobility Services at Siemens AG Austria, emphasises the tool’s other advantages: “The IND creates transparency, saves time and aids cost efficiency. Our users have had very positive experience with the IND because it is very simple to use and requires no particular technical skills. In everyday work in particular, the IND is very pleasant to use.”

 

140701_ICUnet

And by the way: Russian job applicants don’t smile because such conduct in their culture is interpreted as unprofessional. Smiling and the expression of all types of emotion are restricted to private life and are exchanged only in the family circle or with good friends. Intercultural cooperation can only lead to the hoped-for increase in efficiency if special cultural characteristics are given room in the team. The basis is mutual understanding and respect for the other culture. ICUnet.AG provides advice and support in overcoming these intercultural hurdles and achieving long-lasting international success.

DrThe author accumulated valuable international experience as a project leader in Ecuador, Columbia, Peru and Brazil. Inspired by intercultural differences, he studied languages, commerce and regional studies at the University of Passau and gained valuable experience and language skills during stays in Spain, Russia and Portugal. In 2001, Dr. Audebert put his intercultural business concept into practice and formed ICUnet.AG. Dr. Audebert is happily married and he and his wife Cäcilia have three children.

Dr. Fritz Audebert: Globale „Energiewirtschaft“ made in Niederbayern – Interkulturelles Know-how für nachhaltigen internationalen Erfolg

Interkulturelle Kompetenz ist angesichts der fortschreitenden Globalisierung essenziell für den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg von Unternehmen. Doch nur wer auf die Feinheiten achtet, für den wird die globale Zusammenarbeit zum Erfolgsfaktor.

 

Das internationale Geschäftsparkett bietet Unterneh­men unendlich viele Chancen: Neue Märkte sollen er­schlossen und Stellen in Zeiten von Fachkräftemangel und zunehmender Spezialisierung international besetzt werden. All diese Prozesse sorgen für erhebliche Span­nungen in international aktiven Unternehmen: Wie über­zeuge ich indische Geschäftspartner von meiner Leis­tung? Wieso wurde mir von den chinesischen Kollegen klar ein „ja“ signalisiert, um hinterher festzustellen, dass das Projekt doch nicht zustande kommt? Wie gestalte ich Teamarbeit effizient, wenn doch der amerikanische, der spanische und der schwedische Kol­­lege ganz unterschiedliche Werte und Vorstellungen mitbringen? Und warum wirken russische Kandidaten für eine Stelle auf ihren Bewerbungs­­fotos immer so ernst?

Schiff_bearbeitet-Kopie

Unternehmen und Institutionen bezahlen interkulturelle Missverständnisse teuer: Die Kosten für Geschäftstreffen, internationale Projekte und die Entsendung von Mitar­beitern in fremde Kulturräume erreichen schnell schwin­delerregende Höhen – und scheitern häufig an mangeln­der Sensibilität für die andere Kul­tur. Interkulturelles Bewusstsein geht weit über Begrü­ß­ungszeremonien oder Sitzordnun­gen beim Geschäftstreffen hinaus. Das Wissen um kulturspezifische Merkmale wie Kommunika­tionsver­­halten, Hierarchiedenken oder Zeit­management ist entscheidend im Umgang mit anderen Kulturen, ebenso das richtige Maß an Wertschätzung, Toleranz und Akzeptanz.

Für Nachhaltigkeit im Bereich der Internationalisierung steht die ICUnet.AG: An den Ufern der Donau gelegen, widmet sich das Unternehmen mit Haupt­­sitz in Passau nicht der Wasserkraft, sondern der Förderung interkultureller Energie. Das interkulturelle Beratungshaus be­­gleitet Unternehmen und Organisationen rund um In­­ter­nationalisierung und Glo­bal Mobility. Als Service-, Quali­täts- und Innovationsführer ist es Partner zahlreicher Unter­neh­men und Institutionen rund um Interkulturelle Be­­ratung, Kompetenzent­wicklung, Assessment und Global Mobility. Mehr als zwölf Standorte im In- und Ausland und über 150 feste sowie 350 freie Mitarbeiter und Interkulturelle Berater sorgen dafür, dass das Unterneh­men weltweit für seine Kunden Ansprechpartner vor Ort ist.
Mit der ICU®-Lösung ist die ICUnet.AG Systemanbieter: Weltweit einzigartig verknüpft die ICUnet.AG einzelne Leistungen zu einem Gesamtkonzept für Internationali­sierung. Interkulturelle Beratung, Kompetenzentwick­lung, Potenzialanalyse und Global Mobility ergänzen und be­­dingen sich gegenseitig und erlauben maßgeschneiderte Lösungen. Als meistausgezeichnetes Unter­nehmen seiner Branche (unter anderem Best of Con­sulting, Euro­pean Business Awards, Deutscher Gründer­preis oder Deloitte Technology Fast 50) ist die ICUnet.AG auch 2014 wieder, bereits zum fünften Mal in Folge, mit dem Preis „Deutschlands kundenorientiertester Dienstleister“ ausgezeichnet worden.

icu_tag2_kongress-68-Kopie

Transformatoren verbinden verschiedene Spannungs­ebenen eines Stromnetzes und verwandeln induzierte Spannung zur Einspeisung in das Stromnetz in Hochspan­nung um. Der jährlich von der ICUnet.AG in Kooperation mit der Stadt Passau organisierte Interkulturelle Kon­gress generiert neben interkultureller Höchstleistung vor allem einen regionalen Knotenpunkt globalen Know­hows. Welche Trends bewegen das internationale Ma­­nagement von morgen? Wie wird globale Zusammen­ar­beit zum Erfolgsfaktor? Sprecher wie Dr. Milton Bennett, Ph.D., Director Intercultural Development Research Center, Prof. Dr. Geert Hofstede, Professor emeritus für Organisationsanthropologie und internationales Manage­ment, Universität Maastricht, und Philip Mountford, CEO bei Hunkemöller International BV, teilen ihre ganz persönlichen internationalen Erfah­rungen.

Generatoren werden durch die Kraft ihrer Turbinen an­­getrieben. Innovationen ge­­währleisten einen vergleich­­­baren Antrieb im täglichen Geschäft. Die ICUnet.AG baut ihre Innovationsführerschaft sowohl durch Forschungs­projekte mit Universitäten weltweit als auch durch wegweisende Neuentwicklungen kontinuierlich aus. Dies ist institutionalisiert durch ein eigenes „Innovation Lab“, das icu®LAB. Innovative Entwicklungen finden gemeinsam mit dem Kunden statt und gewährleisten Nachhaltigkeit. Durch die kontinu­ierliche Weiterent­wicklung und Optimierung der Ser­vice­qualität, gerade im Technolo­­giebereich, zeichnet sich die ICUnet.AG besonders aus. Auch in diesem Jahr wurde sie für ihre innovativen Leis­tungen prämiert: Die Initiative Mittel­stand hat das Tool ICU NeXt Des­­tination (IND) mit dem „Innova­tions­preis-IT 2014“ in der Kategorie „BEST OF-­Förder­­leistungen“ gekürt. Das Entsendungsmanage­ment Tool beschleunigt und optimiert Relocationprozesse: Die Ge­­samtheit der relevanten Prozessdaten einer jeweiligen Entsendung wird strukturiert ein­­gepflegt, dokumentiert und ist sowohl für den Assignee selbst als auch für die betreu­enden Perso­naler und den begleitenden Relocation-Dienstleister jederzeit und weltweit verfügbar. Das Tool verspricht somit eine wirkungsvolle und trans­­parente Datenkontrolle und reduziert die Komplexität maßgeblich. Mag. Alexander Veit, Head of Global Mobility Services der Siemens AG Österreich, betont weitere Vorzüge: „Das IND schafft Transparenz, spart Zeit und unterstützt damit die Kosteneffizienz. Unsere Anwender haben mit dem IND sehr gute Erfahrungen gemacht, weil es sehr einfach in der Handhabung ist und keine technischen Ambitionen gefordert werden. Gerade im Arbeitsalltag ist das IND sehr angenehm in der Nutzung.“

140701_ICUnet

Der russische Bewerber lächelt übrigens nicht, weil ein solches Verhalten in seiner Kultur als unprofessionell gewertet wird. Lächeln sowie jede Art von Gefühlsaus­drücken sind der Privatsphäre vorbehalten und werden nur im Kreis der Familie oder engen Freunde ausgetauscht. Eine kulturübergreifende Zusammenarbeit führt nur dann zu den erhofften Effizienzgewinnen, wenn kulturellen Besonderheiten im Team Raum gelassen wird. Die Basis ist ein gegenseitiges Verständnis und Achten der jeweils anderen Kultur. Die ICUnet.AG berät und unterstützt dabei, diese interkulturellen Hürden zu nehmen und nachhaltigen internationalen Erfolg zu erreichen.

DrDer Autor sammelte als Projektleiter in Ecuador, Kolumbien, Peru und Brasilien wertvolle internationale Erfahrungen. Von den interkulturellen Unter­schieden inspiriert, studierte er an der Universität Passau Sprachen, Wirtschaft und Kulturraumstudien. Wertvolle Erfahrungen und Sprachkenntnisse gewann er u. a. durch Aufenthalte in Spanien, Russland und Portugal. 2001 realisierte Dr. Audebert sein interkulturelles Geschäftskonzept und gründete die ICUnet.AG. Dr. Audebert ist glücklich verheiratet und hat mit seiner Frau Cäcilia drei Kinder.