Dr. Friedrich Caspers: Bancassurance in the German cooperative sector

Customers in Germany can use different sales channels to obtain insurance and make retirement provisions. One option is to use a classic sales channel and go through a general agent, but brokers and direct sales via the Internet are quite popular as well. Compared to other European countries, however, sales over the bank counter – bancassurance in short – is still clearly underrepresented, even though it offers great potential, as the example of R+V Versicherung within the cooperative banking group Genos­­senschaftlichen FinanzGruppe shows.

When a bank, an insurance company and a customer cooperate, this can be a win-win situation for everyone in­­volved. Prerequisites for the success of bancassurance are a close, strategic cooperation of the bank and the insurer, products tailored to the customer’s needs, coordinated processes and struc­­tures as well as joint teams that work together well. There is another special success factor within the cooperative banking group: the common cooperative philosophy.

A winning proposition for customer, bank and insurance provider. If these components are combined correctly, bancassurance leads to a “win-win-win situation” for the customer, the bank and the insurance company. That way, the customer requires only one contact person in his or her financial institution for all financial needs – from the current account to a real-estate loan to private retirement provisions. This allows the perfect coordination and combination of the required banking and insurance products. Of course, after all, the local principal bank knows the financial as well as the personal situation of the customer best. Apart from this, a fully insured customer is, of course, attractive for the bank and the insurer with regard to turnover and earnings.

Additional earnings opportunities for the bank. This results in a number of advantages for the bank, whereby the strategic establishment of insurances as a core business field of the bank is a requirement for sustainable success. First, the hedging against risks increases the financial freedom of the customer and the bank alike. Another positive aspect for the financial institution is the opportunity to establish a second source of income, independent of any interest-dependent business. Commission is a low-risk business for the bank. Moreover, for commission earned, there is generally no need for risk-weighted assets. Consequently, the bank can generate a higher turnover with the capital re­­sources available, while focusing largely on the commission business.

Customer retention and safeguarding the status quo. Furthermore, especially the hedging against company risks significantly improves the individual risk of a bank. Thus, for example, a business interruption insurance ensures a company’s financial ability to repay loans, as the insurer continues to pay the wages as well as the credit payments in case of loss. And, last but not least, a cooperation of this kind provides an excellent tool not only for private, but also for cor­­porate clients to retain customers and protect the customer base from other providers. Because, regardless of whether the customer wishes to buy an investment product, needs a loan or has spe­­cific insurance and provision needs – the customer will stay with the bank.

Unbenannt-2

Customer retention and safeguarding the status quo. Furthermore, especially the hedging against company risks significantly improves the individual risk of a bank. Thus, for example, a business interruption insurance ensures a company’s financial ability to repay loans, as the insurer continues to pay the wages as well as the credit payments in case of loss. And, last but not least, a cooperation of this kind provides an excellent tool not only for private, but also for cor­­porate clients to retain customers and protect the customer base from other providers. Because, regardless of whether the customer wishes to buy an investment product, needs a loan or has spe­­cific insurance and provision needs – the customer will stay with the bank.

Close interlinking and bank-affine prod­­ucts are indispensable. However, the numerous advantages by no means make bancassurance a sure-fire success. Prod­­ucts, structures, processes, technology and employees must be fully in line with the bank’s needs. In this context, products must meet the following criteria: easy to understand, standardised and tailor-made for specific target groups. The bank-relevant customer groups are the focus here. R+V thus has developed a product port­­folio for corporate custom­­ers that is tailored primarily to the most import­ant corporate clientele of the cooperative banks – small and medium-sized companies.
Interface-free technical support al­­ready at the point of contact. Not only the product offering, but also the struc­­tures and processes must be coordin­ated and interlinked between the bank and the insurer. A deeply nested integration of the insurance business into the financial institutions’ information technology is absolutely indispensable, for only in this way can the processes run smoothly.

Professional cooperation between bank employees and insurance employees. Last but not least, the cooperation and qualification of local bank employees and insurance experts plays a central role – irrespective of whether the bank supports its customers exclusively with its own employees (independent market cultiva­­tion) or with the aid of the insurer’s field staff (supporting market cultivation).
The sale of insurance policies at the bank counter will always remain a result of teamwork, regardless of the actual market cultivation model chosen. Based on the experience gained over decades, R+V has developed its own customer ser­­vice models and customised them to the respective bank. In these models, the insurer follows the structure of the bank partner, which means a shift in focus away from the traditional sector orientation of the insurance towards the target group orientation of the bank sector.

RPL-10-KopieThe German commercial credit coopera­tive Volksbank and agricultural credit cooperative Raiffeisenbank are traditionally operated on a regional basis. For perfect interaction, it is imperative that R+V follows this structure. Their specialists are available locally and are fully integrated into the teams and processes if the bank wishes to apply this customer service model. The insurance experts are especially skilled in line with the sales and business culture of the VR banks. In turn, the bank employees are trained in the area of insurances. As deciding factors for success, an optimum of support through field service staff and teamwork thus have already been common practice at the cooperative banking group (Genossenschaftliche FinanzGruppe) for years.

Unbenannt-3
Common history and philosophy. The common cooperative philosophy of the VR banks and R+V Versicherung forms the solid foundation of the cooperative “bancassurance building”. Financial insti­­tutions can rely on the fact that the insurer will support the customer in case of loss and deliver the agreed-upon ser­­vices with a high service level. This mu­­tual trust between VR banks and R+V is not only a result of the daily cooperation, but also of a long-standing tradition: al­­ready since its founding in 1922, has R+V Versicherung been the largest coop­e­­rative insurer. The insurer’s objective for the cooperative organ­­isation is true to the principle: “values create values”.

caspersThe author has been chairman of the board of R+V Versicherung AG since 2006. After earning his doctorate in eco­­nomics in Münster, Germany, he started his professional career at McKinsey & Company. Before becoming a top-level manager at R+V Versicherung, he worked for the Allianz Group for 18 years, among other things as member of the board of management of the Allianz Versicherungs-AG, Munich.

Dr. Friedrich Caspers: Bankassurance im deutschen Genossenschaftssektor

Kunden in Deutschland können sich über verschiedene Vertriebswege versichern und für ihr Alter vorsorgen. Eine Mög­­lichkeit ist hierzulande der klassische Vertriebsweg über Generalagenten, aber auch Makler und der Direktvertrieb über das Internet erfreuen sich großer Beliebt­­heit. Im europäischen Vergleich ist der Vertrieb über den Bankschalter – kurz Bankassurance – in Deutschland je­­doch noch deutlich unterrepräsentiert. Er bietet aber großes Potenzial wie das Bei­­spiel der R+V Versicherung innerhalb der genossenschaftlichen Finanz­­Gruppe zeigt.
Die Zusammenarbeit von Bank, Versi­­che­­­rer und Kunde kann für alle Betei­­ligten ein Gewinn sein. Voraussetzungen für den Erfolg von Bankassurance sind eine enge, strategische Zusammen­arbeit von Bank und Versicherer, passgenaue Pro­­dukte, ab­­­­gestimmte Prozesse und Struk­­turen so­­­­wie funktionierende ge­­­mein­­­­­same Teams. Innerhalb der genossen­­schaftli­­chen Finanz­­Gruppe gibt es noch einen weiteren speziellen Erfolgs­­ga­ran­­ten: die gemeinsame genossenschaft­­liche Philosophie.

Ein Gewinn für Kunden, Bank und Ver­­sicherer. Bankassurance führt – wenn diese Bausteine richtig zusammengesetzt sind – zu einer „Win-Win-Win-Situa­­tion“ für Kunden, Bank und Assekuranz. So benötigt der Kunde mit seinem Geld­­­institut lediglich einen Ansprechpartner für sämtliche finanziellen Belange: vom Girokonto über ein Immobiliendarlehen bis hin zur privaten Altersvorsorge. Auf diese Weise kann der Bedarf an Bank- und Versicherungsprodukten optimal auf­­­­einander abgestimmt und kombiniert werden. Denn die finanzielle und auch die persönliche Situation des Kunden kennt die Hausbank vor Ort natürlich am besten. Daneben ist ein rundherum abge­­sicherter Kunde selbstverständlich hinsichtlich Umsatz und Ertrag attraktiv für die Bank und den Versicherer.

Zusätzliche Ertragschancen für die Bank. Für die Bank ergibt sich dabei ein ganzes Bündel an Vorteilen, wobei als Voraus­­setzung für nachhaltigen Er­­folg die stra­­te­­gische Etablierung von Versiche­­run­­gen als Kerngeschäftsfeld der Bank notwen­­dig ist. Zunächst erhöht die Absicherung der Risiken den finanziellen Spielraum von Kunde und Bank gleichermaßen. Ein weiterer Pluspunkt für das Kreditinstitut ist die Möglichkeit, sich ein zweites wirt­­schaftliches Stand­­bein losgelöst vom zins­­­abhängigen Ge­­schäft zu schaffen. Das Provisions­ge­schäft ist für die Bank mit niedrigeren Risiken verbunden. Zu­­dem entsteht für Provisionserträge gene­­rell kein Bedarf an risikogewichteten Aktiva (Risk-Weighted Assets). Folglich kann die Bank mit der gegebenen Eigen­­kapitalausstattung bei stärkerem Fokus auf das Provisions­­ge­­schäft mehr Umsatz generieren.

Kundenbindung und Bestandsschutz. Darüber hinaus verbessert insbesondere die Absicherung von Firmenrisiken das individuelle Risiko einer Bank ent­­schei­­dend. So sichert beispielsweise eine Be­­triebsunterbrechungs­versiche­rung die Kapitaldienstfähigkeit eines Unter­neh­mens, da im Schadenfall der Versicherer sowohl Löhne als auch Kre­­dit­­raten weiter bezahlt. Und nicht zuletzt bietet eine solche Kooperation sowohl für Privat- wie auch für Firmenkunden ein hervorragen­­des Mittel zur Kunden­bindung und zum Schutz des Kunden­­bestandes vor anderen Anbietern. Denn der Kunde bleibt sowohl mit dem Wunsch nach Anlage- und Kre­­dit­­produkten wie auch mit seinem ganz persönlichen Versicherungs- und Vorsorge­­bedarf in der Bank.
Enge Verzahnung und bankaffine Pro­­dukte unverzichtbar. Doch die zahlreichen Vorteile machen Bankassurance keinesfalls zum Selbstläufer. Produkte, Strukturen, Prozesse, Technik und Mit­­arbeiter müssen ganz auf die Bedürf­­nisse der Bank ausgerichtet sein. Dabei gelten für die Produkte folgende Kri­te­rien: leicht verständlich, standardisiert und für bestimmte Zielgruppen maßge­­schneidert. Im Mittelpunkt stehen da­­bei die bankrelevanten Kundengruppen. So hat R+V für Geschäftskunden ein Pro­­duktportfolio entwickelt, das vor allem auf die wichtigste Firmenklientel der Ge­­nossenschaftsbanken – mittelstän­­dische Unternehmen – zugeschnitten ist.

Unbenannt-2
Schnittstellenfreie technische Unter­­stüt­­zung bereits am Point of Contact. Ebenso wie das Produktangebot müssen die Strukturen und Prozesse zwischen Bank und Versicherer abgestimmt und verzahnt sein. Absolut unverzichtbar ist eine tiefe Integration des Ver­­siche­­rungs­­­­geschäftes in die Infor­­ma­tions­­­­techno­lo­­gie der Kreditinstitute. Nur auf diese Weise können die Abläufe reibungslos funktionieren.

Qualifizierte Zusammenarbeit von Bank- und Versicherungsmitarbeitern. Last but not least spielt die Zusammenarbeit und die Qualifikation von Bankmitarbeitern und Versicherungsexperten vor Ort eine ganz zentrale Rolle – unabhängig davon ob die Bank ausschließlich mit eigenen Mitarbeitern (selbstständige Markt­bear­­beitung) oder mit Hilfe des Versicherer-Außendienstes (unterstützende Markt­bear­­beitung) die Kunden betreut.

Der Versicherungsverkauf am Bank­­schal­­ter bleibt stets Teamarbeit, unabhängig für welches Marktbearbeitungsmodell sich in der Praxis entschieden wird. Auf Basis jahrzehntelanger Erfahrung hat R+V eigene Betreuungsmodelle entwickelt und sie auf die jeweilige Bank indi­­viduell angepasst. Dabei folgt der Ver­­sicherer der Struktur des Bankpartners, also weg von der klassischen Sparten­­orientierung der Assekuranz hin zur Ziel­­gruppenorientierung des Banksektors.

RPL-10-KopieVolksbanken und Raiffeisenbanken sind traditionell regional aufgestellt. Es ist unverzichtbar für das perfekte Zusam­­men­­­­­spiel, dass R+V dieser Struktur folgt. Deren Spezialisten stehen direkt vor Ort zur Verfügung und sind soweit die Bank dieses Betreuungsmodell wünscht fest in die Teams und Prozesse integriert. Da­­bei sind die Versicherungsexperten speziell in Richtung Vertriebs- und Ge­­schäfts­­­kultur der VR-Banken qualifiziert. Um­ge­­kehrt erfolgt eine Schulung der Bank­­mitarbeiter auf dem Gebiet Ver­­si­­che­­­­­­rungen. Optimale Außendienst-Unter­­­­stützung und Teamarbeit als die ent­­schei­­­­denden Erfolgsfaktoren sind so seit Jahren gelebte Praxis in der genossenschaftlichen FinanzGruppe.

Unbenannt-3
Gemeinsame Geschichte und Philo­so­­phie. Neben den bereits beschriebenen Eckpfeilern ist die gemeinsame genossen­­schaftliche Philosophie von VR-Banken und R+V Versicherung das feste Fun­­da­­ment des genossenschaftlichen „Allfinanz-Gebäudes“. Die Kreditinstitute können sich darauf verlassen, dass der Ver­­si­­cherer im Schadenfall dem Kunden zur Seite steht und die vereinbarten Leis­­tungen auf einem hohen Servicelevel erbringt. Dieses gegenseitige Vertrauen zwischen den VR-Banken und R+V resul­­tiert nicht nur aus der täglichen Zu­­sam­­menarbeit, sondern ist Ergebnis einer langen Tradition: Bereits seit ihrer Grün­­dung im Jahr 1922 ist die R+V Versi­­che­­rung der genossenschaftliche Versi­­che­­rer. Ziel des Versicherers ist es, Werte für die genossenschaftliche Orga­­ni­sa­tion zu schaffen – getreu dem Motto „Werte schaffen Werte“.

caspersDer Autor ist seit 2006 Vorsitzender des Vorstandes der R+V Versicherung AG. Der promovierte Diplom-Kaufmann hat in Münster studiert und seine berufliche Karriere bei McKinsey & Company be­­gonnen. Bevor er an die Spitze der R+V Versicherung wechselte war er 18 Jahre für die Allianz Group tätig, u.a. als Vor­­standsmitglied der Allianz Versicherungs-AG, München. Dr. Caspers ist verheiratet und hat zwei Söhne.