Dr. Eva-Maria Stange: Dresden offers excellent research and first-rate tertiary education

packdeinstudium_4

Anyone who has once witnessed the “Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften” (Long Night of Sciences) in Dresden knows: Dresden is a city of sciences. On this night it is possible for everyone to visualize and experience how unbelievably diverse the research topics are with which Dresden scientists are en­­gaged. The “Long Night of Sciences” gives the audience an insight into the extreme diversity of Dresden’s academic and scientific community:

The Saxon state capital boasts ten universities. Over 40,000 students from 114 nations are able to choose from about 200 different study courses. With around 33,000 students, the Dresden University of Technology (TU Dresden) is the largest university in Saxony and offers qualifications in more than 100 study courses. The TU Dresden, with its excellence cluster and a graduate school, has furthermore de­­monstrated its excellence in the course of the “Bun­­des­­exzellenz­ini­­ti­­a­­tive” (federal excellence initiative). The Dresden University of Applied Sciences is the second largest university in the city with over 5,000 students. It offers students 33 study courses with qualifications in the areas of engineering, design, economics and environmental studies. Some­­one looking for an especially practice-oriented qualification is in good hands at the Uni­­versity of Cooperative Edu­­cation, which has one of its seven locations in Dresden.

However, Dresden is not only a city of natural scientists and engineers. Unique artistic study courses are offered by the Dresden University of Visual Arts (HfBK Dresden), the Hochschule für Mu­­sik “Carl Maria von Weber” Dres­den (University of Music) and the famous Palucca-Schule Dres­den – a university of dance.
The Palucca-Schule is the only independent university of dance in Germany. Founded by Gret Palucca in 1925, classical and contemporary dance as well as improvisation is taught here. The University of Visual Arts belongs to the oldest of its kind in the German-lan­­guage regions. It dates back to the “Zei­chen- und Malerschule” (Drawing and Painters School), which was first founded in 1680. Famous painters such as Caspar David Friedrich and Otto Dix tought here. The University of Music is in keeping with the rich musical tradition of Dresden.
A further five universities operate independently: the Dresden International University, the Evangelische Hochschu­­le für Soziale Arbeit Dresden (evangelic university for social work), the Hoch­­schule für Kirchenmusik (university of church music), the Fachhoch­schule für Religionspädagogik und Ge­­meinde­dia­­konie Moritzburg (technical university of religious education and parish services) and the Fach­hochschule der Säch­­sischen Ver­wal­tung Meißen (tech­­ni­­cal university for Saxon administrative affairs).

In addition to a wide selection of study courses, the attractive study environment in Dresden is of particular importance for prospective students. 32 student dormitories, which accommodate 6,700 students, comparatively cheap renting and a wide range of cultural and recreational offers are strong arguments for studying in the Saxon state capital.
Besides a diverse academic landscape, Dresden also scores points with a strong research community: With eleven institutions, Dresden has risen to be the second-largest location of the Fraun­­hofer Society in Germany today. Four institutions of the Leibniz Scientific community, three Max Planck institutes as well as numerous affiliated university institutions com­­plete the university research. In national and international competition, these institutions have made a name for themselves as acknowledged re­­search locations.

Where science is strong, economic success also follows. A particularly im­­pressive example of this is biotechnology. A clear indication of the success of the Saxon Biotechnology-Offensive in the field of science is the procurement of the first special research area for stem cell research and the Center for Re­­gen­er­a­tive Therapies Dresden (CRTD) from the German Research Foun­­da­­tion. Growing success is developing around these scientific beacons, and in close proximity, a multitude of young innovative biotechnology enterprises.

To prevent the young scientific talent of tomorrow from running out, we are canvassing the students of tomorrow with our campaign “Pack dein Studium. Am besten in Sachsen.” (Do your de­­gree. At best in Saxony) together with the Saxon universities: aimed at Saxon youth as well as those of other federal states. The objective is to motivate as many young people as possible for a degree course in order to counter the threatening shortage in qualified labour of the next few years. With the Higher Education Pact 2020,­­ the federal government and the federal states have agreed to make significantly more student places available by 2010, so as to offer attractive prospects to the impending “mountain of students” in the West-German states.

 

23317677The author was born in 1957 and is the Minister of State for Arts and Science for the Free State of Saxony. The postdoctoral mathematics and physics teacher became the chairperson of the Trade Union for Edu­­cation and Science (GEW) in Saxony in 1993, and in 1997 she became the federal chairperson of the GEW. Since 1998 she has also been an executive board member of Edu­­ca­­tion International and a member of the board of trustees of numerous universities.

Dr. Eva-Maria Stange: Dresden bietet exzellente Forschung und beste Hochschulausbildung

packdeinstudium_4

Jeder, der in Dresden einmal die „Lan­ge Nacht der Wissenschaften“ miterlebt hat, weiß: Dresden ist eine Stadt der Wissenschaften. Für jedermann wird in dieser Nacht sicht- und erlebbar, wie unglaublich vielseitig die For­schungs­themen sind, mit denen sich die Dres­dner Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissen­schaftler beschäftigen. Die „Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften“ gibt dem Publi­kum einen Einblick in die äußerst vielfältige Dresdner Hochschul- und Wissen­schafts­­landschaft:

Die sächsische Landeshauptstadt wartet mit zehn Hochschulen auf. Über 40.000 Studierende aus 114 Nationen können aus etwa 200 verschiedenen Studien­­­gän­gen auswählen. Mit rund 33.000 Stu­­­­­dentinnen und Studenten ist die Tech­ni­sche Universität Dresden die größte sächs­ische Universität, sie bietet eine Ausbildung in über 100 Stu­dien­gängen. Im Zuge der Bundes­exzellenz­initiative hat die TU Dresden mit einem Exzel­lenz­cluster und einer Graduier­ten­schule zu­­­dem ihre Exzellenz bewiesen. Die Hoch­­schule für Technik und Wirt­schaft ist mit über 5.000 Studenten die zweitgrößte Hochschule der Stadt. In 33 Studien­gängen bietet sie den Stu­dierenden eine Ausbildung in den Be­­reichen Tech­nik, Ge­­staltung, Wirtschaft und Umwelt. Wer eine besonders praxis­orientierte Aus­­bil­dung sucht, ist bei der Berufs­aka­­demie gut aufgehoben, einer ihrer sie­ben Stand­orte befindet sich in Dres­den.

Aber Dresden ist nicht nur eine Stadt der Naturwissenschaftler und Inge­nieu­re. Ein­­zigartige künstlerische Studien­gän­ge bieten die Hochschule für Bil­dende Künste Dresden, die Hochschule für Mu­­sik „Carl Maria von Weber“ Dres­den oder die berühmte Palucca-Schule Dres­den – Hochschule für Tanz.
Die Palucca-Schule ist die einzige eigen­ständige Hochschule für Tanz in Deutsch­land. Gegründet 1925 von Gret Palucca, werden hier klassischer und zeitgenössischer Tanz sowie Improvisation ge­­lehrt. Die Hochschule für Bildende Küns­te gehört zu den ältesten ihrer Art im deutschsprachigen Raum. Sie geht zu­­rück auf die erste, 1680 gestiftete „Zei­chen- und Malerschule“. Berühmte Ma­­ler wie Caspar David Friedrich und Ot­­to Dix lehrten hier. Die Hochschule für Musik steht in der reichen musikalischen Tra­dition Dresdens.

Weitere fünf Hochschulen sind in freier Trägerschaft: Die Dresden International University, die Evangelische Hochschule für Soziale Arbeit Dresden, die Hoch­schule für Kirchenmusik, die Fachhoch­schule für Religionspädagogik und Ge­­meinde­diakonie Moritzburg und die Fach­hochschule der Sächsischen Ver­wal­tung Meißen.
Neben einem breiten Stu­­dien­­an­­­­gebot zählt für die angehenden Aka­­demiker vor allem das attraktive Stu­­dien­­um­­feld in Dres­­den: 32 Stu­­denten­­wohn­­­­hei­­me mit 6.700 Plätzen, ver­­gleichsweise günstige Mieten und ein breites Kultur- und Freizeit­­an­­ge­bot sind gute Argu­­men­­te, um in der sächsischen Lan­­­­des­haupt­stadt zu studieren.
Neben einer vielfältigen Hoch­schul­land­schaft kann Dresden mit einer starken For­­schungs­­land­­schaft punk­­ten: Mit elf Ein­­rich­­tungen ist Dres­­den heu­­te zum zweit­­­größten Stand­­­­ort der Fraun­­­­ho­­fer-Ge­­sellschaft in Deutsch­­land aufgerückt. Vier Ein­­rich­­tun­­gen der Leibniz-Ge­mein­schaft, drei Max-Planck-Institute sowie zahlreiche An-­Institute an den Hoch­schu­­­len ergänzen die uni­­versitäre For­schung. Im nationalen und internationalen Wett­­­bewerb haben sich diese Ein­­rich­­tungen als anerkannte For­­schungs­­stätten einen Namen ge­­macht.
Wo die Wissenschaft stark ist, bleibt auch der wirtschaftliche Erfolg nicht aus. Ein be­­sonderes eindrucksvol­­les Bei­spiel da­­für ist die Biotechnologie. Ein deutliches Zeichen für den Erfolg der säch­sisch­­­en Biotech­­no­­logie­­of­­fen­­­­si­­ve auf dem Ge­­biet der Wis­­senschaft ist das Ein­­­werben des ersten Sonder­­for­schungs­­­bereiches zur Stamm­­zell­­for­­schung und des For­­schungs­­zen­­trums „Regene­ra­ti­ve The­­ra­­pien“ (CRTD) bei der Deut­schen For­­schungs­­ge­­mein­­schaft. Um die­se wis­­sen­­schaftlichen Leucht­­tür­­me he­­rum ent­­wick­­elt sich mit wachsendem Erfolg und in enger Nach­­bar­­schaft eine Viel­­zahl junger in­­­no­­vativer Bio­tech­no­lo­­gie­­un­­ter­­neh­­men.
Damit uns der wissenschaftliche Nach­wuchs von morgen nicht ausgeht, werben wir gemeinsam mit den sächsischen Hochschu­­len mit unserer Kam­pagne „Pack dein Studium. Am besten in Sach­­sen.“ um die Stu­­dierenden von morgen: um die eigenen Landeskinder ebenso wie um die der anderen Bun­desländer. Ziel ist es, möglichst vie­­le jun­ge Men­­schen für ein Studium zu mo­­tivieren, um dem drohenden Fach­kräf­te­­mangel der nächsten Jahre entgegenzuwirken. Mit dem Hoch­­schul­­pakt 2020 haben sich Bund und Länder darauf verständigt, bis 2010 deutlich mehr Stu­dienplätze zur Ver­­fü­­gung zu stellen, um dem in den westdeutschen Bun­des­län­dern be­­vor­­stehenden „Stu­den­ten­berg“ eine at­­trak­­tive Per­­spek­­tive zu bie­­ten.

23317677Die 1957 geborene Autorin ist Staats­mi­­­­nisterin für Wissenschaft und Kunst im Freistaat Sachsen. Die promovierte Ma­­the­­­­matik- und Physiklehrerin wur­de 1993 Vorsitzende der Gewerkschaft Er­­­­­­zie­h­ung und Wissenschaft in Sach­sen und 1997 Bun­­desvorsitzende der GEW. Seit 1998 ist sie außerdem Exe­cutive Board Mem­­ber von Education In­­ter­na­tio­nal und Mit­­­glied verschiedener Uni­­versitäts­ku­­ra­­­to­­rien.