Dr. Eva Lohse: Living and working in Ludwigshafen am Rhein

“Heyme stages Wagner on the original site” – that was the headline of the Frankfurt Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung when Ludwigshafen’s Theater im Pfalz­­bau staged “Das Rheingold” (The Rhine Gold), the first part of Richard Wagner’s opera tetralogy “Der Ring des Nibe­­lungen” (The Ring of the Nibelung).

The area surrounding Worms, only a few kilometres north of Ludwigshafen, is con­­sidered the original location of the Saga of the Nibelungs. Theatre manager Heyme, when presenting the Ring project in Ludwigshafen, explained that he was convinced that the legendary trea­­s­ure of the Nibelungs could not have been sunk anywhere else in the Rhine than near the northern city district Edig­­heim.

So far, nobody has yet found the treasure, but for anyone striving for wealth through ideas, diligence and hard work, Ludwigshafen is the place to be. If the city rankings compiled by the Wirt­­schafts­­woche and the Initiative for a New Social Market Economy are correct, Ludwigs­­hafen is “the best city for com­­panies”.

The second-largest city in Rhineland-Palatinate, together with its twin city Mannheim on Baden-Württemberg’s side of the Rhine, constitutes the industrial core of the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region. Ludwigshafen ranks among the most productive cities in Germany with a gross domestic product of 83,800 euros per person employed. Only Düs­­sel­­dorf and Frankfurt achieve an even higher value.

A significant part of this added value can be attributed to the BASF, which operates not only the largest but also one of the world’s most effective and innova­­tive chemical production sites at its head­­quarters in Ludwigshafen. If BASF is “The Chemical Company”, then Lud­­wigs­­hafen is the chemical city.

Other companies such as Giulini, Raschig or Reckit Benckiser are also part of the chemical site Ludwigshafen. For AbbVie, for example, Ludwigshafen is the most important location for pharmaceutical research outside the United States. Of the 2,000 employees at the location, 900 scientists are involved in developing new med­­i­­cation to treat AIDS, Alz­­heimer’s or other diseases.

The chemical industry is by far the most important industrial sector of the city, but even so, it only accounts for a little more than a third of employment. Espe­­cially in the last few years, the city’s eco­­nomic basis has been enlarged by a tar­­geted establishment of companies from other sectors.

Deutsche-Telekom-Kopie

New jobs have been created, particularly in mechanical engineering, retail, communication and information technol­­ogies as well as in food production.

The world’s leading manufacturer of road pavers, Joseph Vögele AG, has moved its base to Ludwigshafen and has built a new plant in the south of the city. Deutsche Telekom AG accommodates several hundreds of jobs in the region in a new building in the Rheinallee. Next door, a new office building for BASF em­­ployees is being developed and the old-established pump manufacturer Halberg Maschinenbau has put up a new adminis­­tration building just a stone’s throw away in 2013. The regional bakery Görtz has moved its head office and production back to its place of origin in Lud­­wigs­­hafen and supplies more than 100 bakery chains every day from the new bakery house in the city district Rheingönheim.

Ludwigshafen is a changing city. This is nothing new to us, as change and trans­­formation have been and still are a con­­stant companion in the history of our young city. Ludwigshafen represents the only successful founding of a new city in inland Germany in the 19th century. Although the city bears the name of a Bavarian king, its real success is almost exclusively due to its citizens. Ludwigs­­hafen has not been established on the basis of a monarchical will, but because of the initiative of its entrepreneurs and the diligence of the people. This is a tradition that we feel obliged to follow and which results in a great openness regarding the interests of companies and founders of new businesses. Lud­­wigshafen was and is a place for people who are open to change and who are willing to change something themselves, who actively want to shape a piece of the future for themselves and for others – simply put, it is a great place for entrepreneurs.

Festival_des_-deutschen_Films

Even though change is part of our tradition, the changes of recent years are of particular significance. The changes along the banks of the Rhine are the most evi­­dent ones. The entire riverbank of the Rhine in Ludwigshafen has been a port and industrial area for a long time. A modern shopping centre with 130 stores was built on the site of the former container port upstream of the city centre, including trendy brand stores such as Desigual or Hollister, which are still rather rare in Germany. Next to it, a new urban space has been created with the Platz der Deutschen Einheit, opening up the city centre to the Rhine. The city centre location next to the Rhine is unique in the region. It enables locals and visit­­ors alike to experience Ludwigshafen as a city on the Rhine. On the edge of the former port area, the old hangar, placed under protection as a historical building, is being turned into the new headquarters of an advertising agency. With the Rhein­­ufer Süd and Parkinsel, the best residen­­tial areas of the city are located in imme­­diate proximity in the south. The develop­­ment of Parkinsel started in 1900. The old and park-like tree population and a certain level of remoteness in a rather central location due to the island position have always made it one of the most beau­­tiful residential areas in the metro­­politan region. The Parkinsel has been home to the “Festival of German Film” since 2005, which attracts the stars of Ger­­man cinema to Ludwigshafen each year in summer.

The development of the adjacent on­­shore district Rheinufer Süd as a residential area only began in recent years. A total of more than 700 high-class apartments will be built here. The demand in the first development blocks has grown so rapidly that the area can already be considered one of the most popular residential areas in the metropolitan region.

Apart from this top-level segment, there are attractive development areas with detached and semi-detached houses for young families in the city districts, espe­­cially in Rheingönheim and Oggersheim. This may be – alongside the targeted establishment of companies outside of the chemical industry – the most profound change in Ludwigshafen. The city has long maintained its outdated self-image as a working-class city and its housing policy was unilaterally focused on the construc­­tion of floor areas. By now, the development areas are tailored to the needs of the small and medium-sized businesses.

Small and medium-sized businesses appre­­ciate Ludwigshafen’s central location in the metropolitan region, its excellent trans­­port connections, a comprehensive range of educational and childcare facilities as well as its attractive price-quality ratio, espe­­cially on the housing market. The city with the – on average – highest paid jobs in the region is also gaining attractiveness as a place of residence. The demand is growing, but the market is not overpriced yet. This situation is not only interesting for those looking for housing accommodations but also for the real estate industry. Various project developers, in addition to the new construction sector, are committed to the high-quality renovation and refurbishment of old buildings. The Pantera AG, for example, is restoring the Wislicenus­­höfe, which were built between 1918 and 1920, with 260 apartments in the northern city centre. In the city district Friesenheim north of the city centre, the Luwoge GmbH is renovating the Hohenzollern­höfe, which date back to 1923, with 160 apartments.

The development in Ludwigshafen’s real estate industry is met with great interest, even on a nationwide basis. As the mag­­azine “Capital” recently stated: “The city has rid itself from its reputation as the centre of attraction of the chemical in­­dustry. With the Rheinufer Süd district, one of the best residential areas of the region was established out of nothing. Now, the old workers’ housing estates are made respectable again. Ludwigs­­hafen has done it, and it has caught up with Mannheim and Heidelberg.”

Naturally, I am very pleased to receive so much recognition related to the change in Ludwigshafen. But honestly speaking: “Ludwigshafen has done it” is a sentence that does not really match the city’s men­­tality. Ludwigshafen will remain true to itself – and by that it will also continue to change. We will remain open to change and people with creative ideas.

autor_OB_2013_große_DateiThe author studied law and has performed various activities as an administrative lawyer. She lectured at the Federal Uni­versity of Applied Administrative Sciences in Mannheim from 1996 until 2001. Since 2002, she has been mayor of Ludwigshafen am Rhein and, since 2006, chairwoman of the Rhine-Neckar Regional Association. She has been also became vice-president of the German Asso­­ciation of Cities in 2013.

Dr. Eva Lohse: Wohnen und arbeiten in Ludwigshafen am Rhein

„Heyme inszeniert Wagner am Original­­­­schauplatz“ – so titelte die Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung, als das Lud­­­­­­­­­­wigshafener Theater im Pfalzbau mit dem „Rheingold“ den ersten Teil von Richard Wagners Operntetralogie „Der Ring des Nibelungen“ auf die Bühne brachte.

Die Gegend um Worms, das nur wenige Kilometer nördlich von Ludwigshafen liegt, gilt als Schauplatz der Nibelun­­gen­­­­sage; und Theaterintendant Heyme hatte, als er das Ludwigshafener Ring-Pro­­jekt vor­­stellte, erklärt, nach seiner Über­­zeu­­­­­­­­gung könne der sagenhafte Gold­­schatz der Ni­­belungen nirgendwo anders als auf Höhe des nördlichen Stadtteils Edig­­­­­­­­heim im Rhein versenkt worden sein.

Den Schatz hat tatsächlich noch niemand gefunden, aber wer durch Ideen, Fleiß und Arbeit zu Wohlstand kommen will, für den ist Ludwigshafen der rich­­tige Ort. Wenn man dem Städteranking 2011 der Wirtschaftswoche und der Ini­­­­tiative Neue Soziale Marktwirtschaft glauben darf, dann ist Ludwigshafen „die beste Stadt für Unternehmen“.

Die zweitgrößte Stadt von Rheinland-Pfalz bildet gemeinsam mit der auf der baden-württembergischen Rheinseite ge­­­­­­­­legenen Schwesterstadt Mannheim den industriellen Kern der Metropol­­­re­gion Rhein-Neckar. Mit einem Brutto­­inlands­­produkt von 83.800 Euro pro Be­­schäf­­tigtem gehört Ludwigs­­hafen zu den produktivsten Städten der Re­­pu­­blik. Nur Düssel­­dorf und Frankfurt können hier einen noch höheren Wert vorweisen.

Ein beachtlicher Teil dieser Wert­schöp­­­fung geht auf das Konto der BASF, die an ihrem Stammsitz nicht nur den größ­­­­­­ten, sondern auch einen der effek­­tivs­­ten und innovativsten Chemie­­stand­­orte der Welt betreibt. Wenn die BASF „The Chemi­­cal Company“ ist, dann ist Lud­­wigs­­hafen the chemical city.

Zum Chemiestandort Ludwigshafen ge­­­­­­hö­­­­­­ren aber auch Unternehmen wie Giulini, Raschig oder Reckit Benckiser. Für AbbVie zum Beispiel ist Ludwigs­­ha­­fen der wichtigste Standort der Phar­­­­ma-Forschung außerhalb der USA. Unter den 2.000 Beschäftigten am Stand­­ort sind 900 Wissenschaftler, die hier nach Medi­­kamenten gegen AIDS, Alz­­­­heimer und andere Krank­heiten suchen.

Die chemische Industrie ist zwar der mit Abstand wichtigste Wirt­schafts­zweig für die Stadt, sie stellt aber trotz­­­­­­dem nur ein gutes Drittel der Arbeits­­plätze. Ge­­rade in den letzten Jahren ist es ge­­lungen, durch gezielte Ansied­­lun­­gen aus anderen Bran­­chen die wirtschaft­­liche Basis der Stadt zu verbreitern.

Deutsche-Telekom-Kopie

Neue Arbeitsplätze sind vor allem im Maschinen­bau, im Einzelhandel, in der Kommu­­nikations- und Infor­­ma­tions­­­tech­­­­­­­nologie und in der Lebens­­mittel­pro­duk­­­tion ent­­standen.

Mit der Joseph Vögele AG hat der welt­­weit führende Hersteller von Straßen­­fertigern seinen Sitz nach Lud­­wigs­­­­­­ha­­fen verlagert und im Süden der Stadt ein neues Werk gebaut. Die Deut­­sche Tele­­kom hat mehrere Hun­­dert Arbeits­­plät­­ze aus der Region in einem Neu­­bau an der Rheinallee konzentriert. Un­­­­mittel­­­­­bar da­­­­neben entsteht ein neues Bürogebäude für BASF-Mitarbeiter, und nur einen Stein­­­­wurf davon entfernt hat der tra­­di­tions­­reiche Pumpen­­her­­­­steller Halberg Ma­schi­­nen­­­bau 2013 ein neues Ver­­wal­­tungs­­ge­­bäude errichtet. Der regionale Groß­­­­bäcker Görtz hat Firmen­­­­sitz und Pro­­duk­­tion an seinen Ur­­sprungs­­­­ort Ludwigs­­hafen zurückver­­legt und beliefert aus dem neuen Back­­haus im Stadt­­teil Rhein­­­gön­­heim täglich mehr als 100 Filialen.

Ludwigshafen ist also eine Stadt im Wan­­­­del. Das ist für uns nichts Neues, denn Wandel und Ver­­än­­de­­rung waren und sind in der Ge­­schichte unserer jungen Stadt ständige Begleiter. Lud­­wigshafen ist die einzige erfolgreiche Stadt­­grün­­dung des 19. Jahr­­­­­­hunderts im deutschen Binnenland. Und obwohl die Stadt den Namen eines baye­­rischen Königs trägt, verdankt sie die­­sen Er­­folg doch fast ausschließlich ihren Bür­­gern. Ludwigshafen hat sich nicht aus dem Willen eines Monarchen, sondern aus der Initiative seiner Unter­­nehmer und aus dem Fleiß der Men­­schen entwickelt. Das ist eine Tradi­­tion, der wir uns ver­­pflichtet fühlen und aus der sich eine große Offen­­heit für die Inte­­ressen von Unternehmen und Existenz­­grün­­dern er­­gibt. Ludwigs­­hafen war und ist ein Ort für Menschen, die offen sind für Ver­­ände­­­­run­­gen und die bereit sind, auch selbst etwas zu verändern, die für sich und für andere ein Stück Zu­­kunft ge­­stalten wollen – eben ein guter Ort für Unternehmer.

Festival_des_-deutschen_Films

Auch wenn der Wandel bei uns Tradi­­tion hat, so haben doch die Verän­­de­­rungen der letzten Jahre eine besondere Quali­­tät. Am augenfälligsten sind diese Ver­­ände­­rungen am Rheinufer. Lange Zeit war fast das gesamte Lud­­wigshafener Rhein­­ufer mit Hafen- und Industrie­an­lagen be­legt. Heute steht auf dem Gelände des der Innenstadt vorgelagerten ehemaligen Con­­tainer­­hafens ein modernes Einkaufs­zen­­­­trum mit 130 Geschäften, darunter so tren­­dige und in Deutschland bislang noch selten vertretene Marken­­shops wie Des­­igual oder Hollister. Da­­neben ist mit dem Platz der Deutschen Einheit ein neuer urbaner Raum ent­­stan­­den, der die Innen­­stadt zum Rhein hin öffnet. Die Innenstadtlage am Rhein ist in dieser Form einmalig in der Re­­gion. Sie lässt Ludwigshafen für Ein­­hei­­­­mische und Besucher als Stadt am Rhein erleb­­bar werden. Am Rand des ehemaligen Hafen­­geländes wird eine aus denkmalpflegerischen Grün­­den er­­haltene alte Werfthalle zum neuen Hauptquartier einer Werbeagentur um­­­ge­­baut. Südlich davon schließen sich mit dem Rheinufer Süd und der Park­­insel die bes­­­ten Wohn­­lagen der Stadt an. Die Be­­bau­­ung der Parkinsel begann 1900. Mit dem alten, parkartigen Baum­­be­­stand und einer durch die Insellage be­­dingten gewissen Abgeschiedenheit in eigentlich zentraler Lage gehört sie schon immer zu den schönsten Wohn­­gebieten der Metropol­re­­gion. Seit 2005 ist die Parkinsel alljährlich im Sommer Schau­­platz des „Fes­­ti­­vals des deutschen Films“, das regelmäßig die Stars des deut­­schen Kinos nach Ludwigshafen lockt.

Die Entwicklung des auf dem Festland angrenzenden Rheinufers Süd als Wohn­­­­­gebiet begann erst in den letzten Ja­h­­ren. Insgesamt werden hier gut 700 Woh­­nungen des gehobenen Segments entstehen. Die Nachfrage in den ersten Bau­­feldern hat sich so stark entwickelt, dass man heute schon von einer der begehrtesten Wohn­­lagen der Metro­­­pol­region sprechen kann.

Jenseits dieses Top-Level-Segments gibt es in den Stadtteilen, vor allem in Rhein­­­­­­­­­­­gönheim und in Oggersheim, attrak­­tive Neubaugebiete mit Ein- und Zwei­fa­mi­lien­­­­­­häusern für junge Familien. Das ist – neben der gezielten Ansiedlung von Un­­ter­­­­­­­nehmen jenseits der chemischen Indus­­­trie – vielleicht der tiefgreifendste Wandel in Lud­­wigshafen: Die Stadt hat lange ihr überkommenes Selbst­ver­ständ­­­­­­­­nis als Arbeiter­­stadt gepflegt und ihre Wohnungs­bau­politik einseitig auf den Ge­schoss­­flä­chen­­bau ausgerichtet. Mit­­tler­­­­­­weile sind Neu­­baugebiete vor allem auf die Be­­dürf­­nisse des Mittel­­standes zugeschnitten.

Der Mittelstand schätzt an Ludwigs­­ha­­fen die zentrale Lage in der Metro­­pol­­­­re­­gion, die hervorragende Verkehrs­an­bin­dung, ein umfassendes Angebot an Bildungs- und Betreuungseinrichtungen und ge­­­ra­­de auf dem Wohnungsmarkt auch ein gutes Preis-Leistungs­-Ver­hält­nis. Die Stadt mit den – im Durchschnitt – am besten dotierten Arbeitsplätzen in der Region wird auch als Wohnort im­­mer attraktiver. Die Nach­­frage steigt an, aber der Markt ist noch nicht über­­teuert. Das ist eine Situation, die nicht nur für Woh­­nungssuchende interessant ist, son­­dern auch für die Immo­­bilien­­wirtschaft. Ver­schiedene Projekt­ent­wick­­­­­­ler engagie­­ren sich nicht nur im Neubaubereich, sondern auch in der qualitativ hochwertigen Re­­no­­vierung und Sanierung von Alt­bau­ten. So revi­­ta­­lisiert zum Beispiel die Pantera AG die zwischen 1918 und 1920 erbauten Wislicenushöfe mit 260 Woh­­nungen in der nördlichen Innenstadt. Im nördlich an die Innenstadt an­­gren­­zen­­den Stadt­­teil Friesenheim erneuert darüber hinaus die Luwoge GmbH die aus dem Jahr 1923 stammen­­den Hohen­zollern­­höfe mit 160 Wohnungen.

Die Entwicklung auf dem Ludwigs­­ha­­fener Immobilienmarkt wird auch über­­­­­­­­regional aufmerksam registriert. In der Zeitschrift „Capital“ war jüngst zu lesen: „Die Stadt ist raus aus der chemiein­dus­­triellen Schmud­­delecke. Mit dem Viertel Rheinufer Süd wurde eine der besten Wohnlagen der Region aus dem Boden gestampft. Jetzt werden auch die alten Arbeiter­­sied­­lungen salonfähig gemacht. Ludwigshafen hat es geschafft und gleich­­­­gezogen mit Mannheim und Heidelberg.“

Natürlich freue ich mich über so viel An­­erkennung des Wandels in Lud­wigs­hafen. Aber ganz ehrlich: „Ludwigs­hafen hat es geschafft“ ist ein Satz, der nicht wirklich zur Mentalität der Stadt passt. Lud­wigs­hafen wird sich selbst – und damit dem Wandel – treu bleiben. Wir bleiben offen für Veränderungen und für Menschen, die etwas gestalten wollen.

autor_OB_2013_große_DateiDie Autorin hat Jura studiert und da­­nach verschiedene Tätigkeiten als Verwal­tungs­­­­juristin ausgeübt. Von 1996 bis 2001 war sie Dozentin an der Fachhochschule des Bundes für öffentliche Verwaltung in Mann­­­­­­heim. Seit 2002 ist sie Oberbürger­meis­­­­­­terin der Stadt Ludwigshafen am Rhein, seit 2006 ist sie zudem Vorsitzende des Verbands Region Rhein-Neckar und seit 2013 Vizepräsidentin des Deutschen Städte­­tages.