Dr. Eric Schweitzer: Patience is important, reforms and innovation are critical

Germany has recovered quickly after the Lehman crisis. And even in the face of the continuing uncertainty due to the debt crisis, growth in this country is still some­­what stable. Since Germany is the best foreign customer of more than half of the EU states, such a de­­vel­­opment also helps our neighbours and partners in Europe. Already in the previous years, German im­­ports from there rose considerably: for the years from 2007 to 2011, Germany ranked second among all EU states with re­­gard to im­­port growth. This proves that the criticism voiced occa­­sionally is un­­­­­­jus­­ti­­fied, according to which Germany is de­­picted as being unilaterally export-oriented and partially res­­pon­­­­sible for the current sit­­uation in some of the euro countries.

What is true about Germany, however: it’s a good example of the efficiency of structural economic reforms. Only ten years ago, we were considered as bring­­ing up the rear in Europe – “The sick man of Europe” was the title in a re­­nowned English-language magazine back then. In this difficult phase, we managed to draw the necessary conclusions from the economic stagnation during the early years of the new mil­­len­­nium and take partly painful countermeasures. The success factors were just as valid back then as they are today: Germany has a sound industrial founda­­tion – the “old economy” is the “future economy”. The manufacturing trades contribute around 25 per cent to the economic performance, thus taking a leading position in comparison to other European countries. Producers, suppliers and service providers have been tightly interlinked for years and form the “Netzwerk Industrie” (industrial net­­­­­work). There is a balanced mixture of companies from the core industries and service pro­­viders such as research and development, consulting or market re­­search. Their inter­­action keeps the healthy cycle of innova­­tion, growth and employment going.

KfW_4651-Kopie

Through the recent years, companies have worked on their productivity and innova­­tive power and invested in new products, services and processes, in new markets and new cooperation. Espe­­cially those industries with a strong presence in Ger­­many, such as automo­­tive and me­­chan­­ical engineering, chem­­­­­ical and elec­­tron­­ics, have made enormous efforts and have integrated new technologies again and again. As a re­­sult, the investments of com­­panies in re­­search and development rose an aston­­­ishing 40 per cent within ten years, reaching an estimated 50 billion euros in 2011. Even during the crisis in 2008/ 2009, businesses did not stint on their innovation expenditures. Today, the suc­­cess in the world markets proves this strat­­egy right. The positive attitude to­­­­wards globalisation is also a key to suc­­­­cess. Early on, the companies developed mar­­kets all over the world – and they are continuing to look around. Particu­­larly in the dynamic growth regions of Asia, Latin America and Africa, new po­­tential keeps growing, which the companies de­­­­velop by implementing sales structures first and subsequently setting up pro­­duc­­tion sites.

In Germany, we have a unique variety of companies which almost the entire world envies us for: there are large, successful stock companies, many committed small businesses and – compared to other coun­­tries – a wide range of medium-sized enter­­prises, many of which are family-owned. 90 per cent of all businesses in Ger­­many are run by families; these businesses ac­­count for 60 per cent of all jobs. Among them are many “hidden champions” who are highly inno­­vative and successful in the world markets. These companies in par­­ticular do not think in terms of quar­­terly reports, but rather take more of a long-term ap­­proach. The typical export-oriented medium-sized company on aver­­age is already active in 16 foreign markets. This attitude of “think global – act local” is unique in the world.

Politics has also supported these de­­vel­­op­­ments by providing favourable condi­­tions, for example with regard to the em­­­­ploy­­ment market. The parties to the wage agree­­­ments have made an im­­por­­t­­ant con­­­­­tribution for a long time through their intelligent wage policies. By now, approx­­i­­mately one in two persons in Ger­­­­­­many has a job – these are record numbers.

Does this mean that Germany has made it once and for all? Experience has shown: if you rest on your laurels, you’ll be left behind. The demographic de­­vel­­op­­ment is my biggest concern. Even though the development has been known for years, no decisive measures have been taken. Soon we will be hit by the full force of the decline in population. Many companies are already having difficulties filling their vacancies with appropriately qualified candidates. Germany’s most im­­­­por­­tant “raw material”, namely skilled and innovative professionals, is becoming scarce. Every one in three companies considers the shortage of skilled labour a risk for its business development, and already in the coming months at that. We – that is politics, economy and society – will jointly have to meet this challenge with smart ideas.

This encompasses not only a higher quality of school edu­cation, more further education, the in­­creased employment of people at an ad­­vanced age and a better compatibility of career and family, but also more op­­por­­tunities for people who have come or will continue to come to us from other countries.

Let’s look ahead: our European neighbours recently have begun to implement the reforms which have already made the Federal Republic of Germany strong. This means that our Euro partners will catch up in terms of competitiveness – maybe not overnight, but cer­­tainly in the medium run: Ireland has raised the pensionable age, Spain has adopted a debt brake. Italy has made its employment market more flexible, Portugal has done away with public holidays. These are only some of the most recent examples. The list of measures is long – and gets longer every day. This should spur us here in Ger­­many to not sit back and take things easy.

The above-mentioned reforms are part of the fight against the sovereign debt crisis. None of us in Europe must re­­duce our efforts. With its course of simul­­taneously saving money and implement­­­ing reforms as well as with the agreement on the fiscal pact, Europe has taken the right path. We should continue to promote the measures with determin­ation and not cause new insecurities by constantly coming up with new suggestions. In the medium to longer term, only one thing is important: regaining lost trust. The states of Europe will only succeed in this effort if they adopt a policy of authenticity – a policy where citizens are told truthfully what it will cost, a policy without new debt.

eric-schweitzer-2013-2The author, who was born in Malaysia in 1965, earned a doctorate in business administration. In 1990, he entered the management of ALBA AG. He has been a member of the board of ALBA Group since 1993 and CEO since 2011. In March 2013, Dr. Eric Schweitzer became the president of the Association of German Chambers of Industry and Commerce (Deutscher Industrie- und Handelskammertag, DIHK)

Dr. Eric Schweitzer: Geduld ist wichtig, Reformen und Innovation sind entscheidend

Deutschland hat sich nach der Lehman-Krise schnell erholt. Und auch im derzeitigen Umfeld anhaltender Unsicher­heit durch die Schuldenkrise erweist sich das Wachstum hierzulande noch als einigermaßen robust. Da Deutsch­­land für mehr als die Hälfte der EU-­Staaten bester Auslandskunde ist, hilft eine solche Entwicklung unseren Nach­­barn und Partnern in Europa gleichermaßen. Bereits in den Jahren zuvor haben die deutschen Importe von dort ordentlich zugelegt, Deutschland landet im Zeitraum zwischen den Jahren 2007 und 2011 auf Platz zwei des Einfuhr­­wachstums aller EU-Staaten. Das belegt, wie falsch der manchmal geäußerte Vorwurf ist, Deutschland als einseitig exportorientiert und als mitverantwort­­­lich für die derzeitige Lage in einigen Euroländern darzustellen.

Was Deutschland aber tatsächlich ist: ein gutes Beispiel für die Wirksamkeit von strukturellen Wirtschaftsreformen. Noch vor zehn Jahren galten wir als Schlusslicht in Europa – „The sick man of Europe“ titelte damals eine namhafte englische Zeitschrift. In dieser schwierigen Phase ist es uns gelungen, die nötigen Schlüsse aus der wirtschaft­­lichen Stagnation Anfang der 2000er Jahren zu ziehen und mit teilweise schmerzhaften Maßnahmen gegenzusteuern. Die Erfolgsfaktoren sind da­­mals so aktuell wie heute: Deutsch­land verfügt über eine gute industrielle Basis – „old economy“ ist „future economy“. Das produzierende Gewerbe trägt rund ein Viertel zur Wirtschaftsleistung bei und nimmt damit im europäischen Ver­­gleich eine führende Stellung ein. Produzenten, Zulieferer und Dienstleister sind über Jahre eng miteinander verflochten, bilden das „Netzwerk Industrie“. Es be­­steht eine ausgewogene Mischung aus Unternehmen industrieller Kern­bran­chen und Dienstleistern wie Forschung und Entwicklung, Beratung oder Markt­­for­­schung. Ihr Zusammenspiel hält den ge­­sunden Kreislauf aus Innovation, Wachs­­tum und Beschäftigung in Bewegung.

KfW_4651-Kopie

In den letzten Jahren haben die Unter­­nehmen an ihrer Produktivität und Inno­­vationskraft gearbeitet sowie in neue Pro­­dukte, Dienstleistungen und Prozesse, in neue Märkte und neue Kooperationen investiert. Gerade in Deutschland stark vertretene Branchen wie Automobil- und Maschinenbau, Chemie und Elektro haben sich enorm angestrengt und immer wie­­der neue Technologien integriert. So stie­­gen die Investitionen der Unternehmen in Forschung und Entwicklung innerhalb von zehn Jahren um beachtliche 40 Pro­­­zent auf geschätzte 50 Milliarden Euro im Jahr 2011. Selbst in der Krise 2008/ 2009 haben die Betriebe nicht an ihren Innovationsaufwendungen gespart. Der Erfolg auf den Weltmärkten gibt dieser Strategie heute recht. Ein Schlüssel zum Erfolg ist auch die positive Haltung zur Globalisierung. Die Unternehmen haben frühzeitig Märkte überall auf der Welt er­­schlossen – und schauen sich weiter um. Gerade in den dynamischen Wachs­­tums­­regionen Asiens, Lateinamerikas und Afrikas tun sich neue Potenziale auf, die die Unternehmen zunächst mit Vertriebs­­strukturen und im Folgenden dann mit Produktionsstandorten erschließen.
Wir haben in Deutschland einen einzigartigen Unternehmensmix, um den uns fast die ganze Welt beneidet: Es gibt erfolgreiche große Aktiengesell­­schaften, viele engagierte Kleinunternehmen und einen – im internationalen Vergleich – breiten Mittelstand, der sehr stark von Familienunternehmen geprägt ist. In Deutschland liegen 90 Prozent der Un­­ter­­­­nehmen in Familienhand, sie stellen 60 Prozent der Arbeitsplätze. Darunter viele „Hidden Champions“, die hoch inno­­vativ und auf den Weltmärkten erfolgreich sind. Gerade diese Unternehmen denken nicht in Quartalsberichten, son­­­­dern längerfristig. Typische exportorien­­tierte Mittelständler sind im Schnitt bereits auf 16 Auslandsmärkten aktiv. Vergleichbares „Think global – act local“ gibt es weltweit nicht.

Nicht zuletzt hat die Politik diese Ent­­wicklungen unterstützt – mit guten Rahmenbedingungen, wie sie etwa auf dem Arbeitsmarkt geschaffen wurden. Die Tarifpartner haben über eine lange Zeit mit einer vernünftigen Lohnpolitik einen wich­­tigen Beitrag geleistet. Mit­­t­­ler­­weile ist in Deutschland etwa jeder Zweite er­­werbs­­­­tätig – ein Rekordniveau.
Hat es Deutschland nun ein für alle Mal geschafft? Die Erfahrung zeigt: Wer sich auf Lorbeeren ausruht, verliert den An­­schluss. Die demografische Ent­­wick­­lung bereitet mir die größte Sorge. Die Ent­­wick­­lung ist seit Jahren be­­kannt, aber nichts Entscheidendes wurde unter­­­­nom­­men. Bald trifft uns der Bevöl­ke­rungs­­rück­gang mit voller Wucht. Viele Unter­­­neh­­­­­­men haben schon heute Schwierig­­keiten, Stellen mit ausreichend qualifi­­zierten Bewerbern zu besetzen. Der wichtigste „Rohstoff“ Deutschlands – qualifizierte und innovative Fachkräfte – wird knapp. Jeder dritte Betrieb sieht im Fach­­kräftemangel ein Risiko für seine Ge­­schäftsentwicklung, und zwar be­­reits in den kommenden Monaten. Dieser Heraus­­forderung müssen wir – das heißt Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesell­­schaft ge­­meinsam – mit klugen Ideen begegnen.

Das reicht von besserer schu­­lischer Bil­­dung über mehr Weiter­­bil­­dung, die stär­­kere Beschäftigung Älterer und eine bessere Vereinbarkeit von Be­­ruf und Familie bis hin zu mehr Chancen für Menschen, die aus dem Ausland zu uns gekommen sind oder kommen.
Schauen wir nach vorn: Unsere europäischen Nachbarn beginnen seit kurzem die Reformen durchzuführen, die die Bun­des­­republik Deutschland bereits stark gemacht haben. Die europäischen Partner holen damit – zwar nicht von heute auf morgen, aber sicher mittelfristig – in Sachen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit auf: Irland hat das Renteneintrittsalter er­­höht, Spanien eine Schuldenbremse ver­­abschiedet. Italien hat seinen Arbeits­­­­markt flexibilisiert, Por­­­­tugal Feiertage gestrichen. Das sind nur einige wenige aktuelle Beispiele. Die Liste der Maß­­nahmen ist lang – und wird täglich länger. Das sollte uns hier in Deutsch­­land anspornen, die Hände nicht in den Schoß zu legen.
Die genannten Reformen sind Teil des Kampfes gegen die Staatsschuldenkrise. Wir alle in Europa dürfen in diesen Be­­mühungen nicht nachlassen. Europa hat mit dem Nebeneinander von Sparen und Reformen sowie mit der Einigung auf den Fiskalpakt den richtigen Weg eingeschlagen. Wir sollten die Maßnahmen entschlossen weiter vorantreiben, und nicht ständig mit neuen Vorschlägen neue Unsicherheiten schaffen. Mittel- bis länger­­fristig ist eines entscheidend: ver­­lorenes Vertrauen zurückzugewinnen. Dies kann den Staaten Europas nur mit einer Politik der Wahrhaftigkeit gelingen – einer Politik, die den Bürgern ehrlich sagt, was sie kostet, einer Po­­litik ohne neue Schulden.

eric-schweitzer-2013-2Der 1965 in Malaysia geborene Autor ist promovierter Betriebswirt. Im Jahr 1990 stieg er ins Management der ALBA AG ein. Seit 1993 gehört er dem Vorstand der ALBA Group an, seit 2011 als Vor­­stands­vor­sit­zender. Dr. Eric Schweitzer ist seit März 2013 Präsident des Deutschen Industrie- und Handelskammertages DIHK.