Dr. Engelbert Günster: Science and innovative health solutions in Rhineland-Palatinate

Science and research play a decisive role in Germany. They are both key factors in international competition and form a central component of the welfare and prosperity of our society. Rhineland-­­Palatinate is well-positioned as a state with a wide-ranging and dynamic science and research landscape. Renowned inter­­national companies are located here, alongside many medium-sized companies and innovative start-ups. In addition, Rhineland-Palatinate has a number of universities and research institutes with excellent facilities and a broad range of subject areas. For example, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz – one of Germany’s ten largest universities – is the only university in Germany that brings together almost all of its institutes in a campus close to the city centre. This pro­­­­vides students with excellent options in research and teaching. Even beyond uni­­versity studies, young people have good prospects in Rhineland-Palatinate. There is demand for well-educated specialists in the chemical and pharmaceutical in­­dus­­­tries in particular. Thanks to its mixture of universities and industrial re­search centres, Rhineland-Palat­­i­nate is a leading location for these in­­no­­vative sectors.

The chemical and pharmaceutical in­­dus­­tries can look back on more than one hundred years of history in our region. These are also the most important indus­­trial sectors in Rhineland-Palatinate in terms of revenue and employment: they gen­­erate around 30 per cent of the re­­venue in the state and some 20 per cent of all employees earn their money through them.
Rhineland-Palatinate boasts two global players in this sector, with Boehringer Ingelheim in Ingelheim and BASF in Ludwigshafen. Both companies offer a broad portfolio of innovative products. Plastics and chemicals from BASF are in international demand, while medication from Boehringer Ingelheim, such as for the treatment of respiratory and car­­diovascular diseases, are standard in therapy worldwide. Furthermore, the family-owned company Boehringer Ingel­heim, which is among the world’s 20 leading pharmaceutical companies, has suc­­cessfully expanded its research ac­­tivities in thromboembolic diseases, car­­dio­­metabolic diseases and cancer. Over 42,000 staff on all continents are working on research, development, production and marketing for new medications with high therapeutic value for human and animal health, true to the company vision: “Value through Innovation”. But it is not just the large reference com­­panies that embody the spirit of research and innovation in Rhineland-Palatinate.

A number of small and medium-sized companies contribute to achieving the pharmaceutical and chemical industries’ export rate of over 62 per cent with 55,000 staff. Young, innovative companies are setting up in the Mainz area in particular, taking advantage of the scientific environment and the local infrastructure of technology centres. It is no coincidence that Mainz was named “City of Science” last year. The city’s dedication and the contributions from specific scientific and economic projects to city development were decisive to the award of this title. Twelve months filled with events and “a passion for science” have since passed. Boehringer Ingelheim made an active contribution with ten further edu­­cation presentations. The diverse range of presentations spanned topics on research for human and animal health to the embodiment of com­­pany values in its corporate culture. Science­­­­related communication continues in Mainz, even after the year of science 2011: The “Na­­turhistorisches Museum Mainz” (Mu­­­­seum of Natural History), one of the city’s museums closely involved in research, has joined forces with Boehringer Ingel­­heim for an exhibition on “How a medicine is created”.

JGU_bibliothek_recht_und_wirtschaft_01_foto_thomas_hartmann-Kopie
JGU_bibliothek_recht_und_wirtschaft_02_foto_thomas_hartmann

Mainz is a leading and well-liked university city beyond Rhineland-Palatinate’s borders, too. The figures are proof enough of this: around 40,000 students are en­­rolled at the three main universities, which cover almost all academic subject areas – Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Mainz University of Applied Sci­­ences and Mainz Catholic University of Applied Sciences.

Furthermore, two Max Planck Institutes are located in Mainz: the Max Planck Ins­­titute for Chemistry and the Max Planck Ins­­titute for Polymer Research are both situated at the Johannes Gutenberg Uni­­versity campus. With their diverse range of research areas, the institutes comple­ment the work of the universities and other research institutes. In addition to the close cooperation with the Max-Planck Society, a close collaboration has also been established with the Helmholtz and Leibniz Associations in recent years.

The natural sciences in Mainz also rank among the top in international research rankings. The Academic Ranking of World Universities 2011 counts the Institute for Physics at Johannes Gutenberg Uni­­versity among the top 75 worldwide. The Institute for Molecular Biology (IMB) at Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz is a prime example of the dedication of the industry to fundamental university research in Rhineland-Palatinate. The Boehringer Ingelheim Foundation is funding the establishment and operation of this international centre of excellence with a total of 100 million euros for a dur­­ation of ten years. Rhineland-Palatinate is therefore receiving one of the largest private donations that has ever been given to a scientific institution at a university. This basic funding ensures that the researchers at the institute have access to state-of-the-art technologies and can work on major projects in the long term. The state of Rhineland-Pal­­atinate has also contributed to funding the establishment of this centre of excellence by having a new building constructed, which will offer renowned scientists an excellent working environment. As a result, the newly founded institute fulfils international standards for cutting-edge re­­search – another gain for the science sector in Rhineland-Palatinate.

Fundamental research at the Institute  for Physics, University of Mainz.

Fundamental research at the Institute for Physics, University of Mainz.

physik_03_foto_thomas_hartmann-Kopie Oeffentlichkeitsarbeit_Uni_UMZ_Archiv_OeA_015833-Kopie

 Another successful example of the imple­­mentation of science in companies’ work in the health care/pharma/chemical sector are the clusters and networks in Rhine­­land-Palatinate, which bring together com­­panies, research and development insti­­tutions, educational institutions, service providers, chambers and associations in target-driven cooperation. A few representative examples include CI3 (cluster for individualised immunity intervention), whose members include over 200 small and medium-sized companies in addition to well-established companies in the Rhine-Main region, BioRN (Biotech Cluster Rhine-Neckar), which is structured similarly, and the Health Care Management Initiative Rhineland-Palatinate of the Minis­­­­tries for the Economy and Health. “Natur­stoff­­zentrum Rheinland-Pfalz” (Natural Materials Centre) at Johannes Gutenberg University is also worth mentioning, as well as the leading-edge TRON oncology research centre in Mainz, where the uni­­versity, uni­­versity medical centre and biotech start-up companies cooperate closely in trans­­ferring the results of scien­­tific research into the development of inno­­vative cancer therapy concepts.

 

 

engelbert_guenster-KopieThe author studied chemistry and completed a PhD in macromolecular chemistry in Mainz. He has been working at Boehr­­inger Ingelheim for 28 years. Dr. Günster was a country manager in Can­ada and responsible for the prescription medicines business in Europe and the AAA region (Asia, Africa, Aus­­tra­lia). He has been country manager of Boehringer Ingel­­­heim in Germany since April 2009.

Dr. Engelbert Günster: Innovative Gesundheitslösungen am Wissenschaftsstandort Rheinland-Pfalz

Wissenschaft und Forschung spielen eine entscheidende Rolle in Deutschland. Sie sind wichtige Faktoren im internationalen Wettbewerb und von zentraler Bedeutung für das Wohlergehen und den Wohlstand in unserer Gesellschaft. Der Standort Rheinland-Pfalz ist mit einer vielfältigen und dynamischen Wissenschafts- und Forschungslandschaft sehr gut aufgestellt. Namhafte internationale Unternehmen sind hier ebenso angesiedelt wie eine Viel­­zahl an Mittelständlern und innovativen Start-ups. Darüber hinaus besitzt Rheinland-­­Pfalz eine Reihe gut ausgestatteter und breit aufgestellter Universitäten und For­­schungsinstitute. So vereint beispielsweise die Johannes Gutenberg-Universität – eine der zehn größten deutschen Hochschulen – als einzige Universität der Bundes­republik fast alle Institute auf ihrem innenstadtnahen Campus. Dies bietet Studenten her­vor­­ragende Möglichkeiten in Forschung und Lehre. Auch über das Studium hinaus haben junge Menschen in Rheinland-Pfalz gute Perspektiven. Besonders im Bereich Chemie und Pharma sind gut ausgebildete Fachkräfte gefragt. Rheinland-Pfalz ist auf­­grund der Mischung aus uni­­versitärer und industrieller Forschung ein führender Standort dieser innovativen Branche.

Die Pharma- und Chemieindustrie hat in unserer Region eine mehr als hundert Jahre alte Geschichte und ist im Hinblick auf Umsatz und Beschäftigung die wichtigste Industriebranche in Rheinland-Pfalz: Sie generiert rund 30 Prozent des Um­­satzes im gesamten Bundesland, knapp 20 Prozent aller Beschäftigten verdienen hier ihr Geld.

engelbert_guenster-KopieDer Autor hat in Mainz Chemie studiert und in makromole­kularer Chemie promoviert. Er arbeitet seit 28 Jahren bei Boehringer Ingelheim. Dr. Günster war Landes­geschäftsführer in Kanada und für das Geschäft mit verschreibungspflich­tigen Medikamenten in Europa und der AAA-Region (Asien, Afrika, Australien) ver­­antwortlich. Seit April 2009 ist er Vor­­sit­­z­­ender der Geschäfts­füh­rung der Boehringer Ingel­heim Deutsch­land GmbH.

In diesem Bereich verfügt Rheinland-­Pfalz mit Boehringer Ingelheim in Ingelheim und BASF in Ludwigshafen gleich über zwei Global Player. Beide Unternehmen weisen ein breites Portfolio innovativer Pro­­­­­­­­­dukte auf: Kunststoffe und Chemie­­ka­­­lien von BASF sind international ge­­­fragt – Medi­­ka­­mente von Boehringer Ingel­­heim, unter anderem zur Behand­­lung von Atem­wegs- und Herz-Kreislauf-­Erkran­­kungen, ge­­hören weltweit zum Thera­­pie­­stan­d­ard. Zusätz­­lich dazu hat das fami­­liengeführte Unter­­nehmen Boehrin­­ger Ingelheim, das global zu den 20 führenden Pharma­unter­­­nehmen zählt, seine For­­schungs­aktivitäten in den Be­­reichen thromboembolische Er­­­­kran­kun­­­­­­gen, kar­­dio­­­­­metabolische Erkran­­kun­­gen und Krebs­­erkrankungen erfolgreich ausgebaut. Mehr als 42.000 Mit­arbeiter auf allen Konti­­nenten arbeiten daran, getreu der Unter­­neh­­mensvision „Werte schaffen durch Inno­­vation“ neue Medi­­kamente mit hohem therapeutischem Nutzen für die Humanmedizin sowie die Tiergesundheit zu erforschen, zu entwickeln, zu produzieren und zu vermarkten. Jedoch sind es nicht nur die großen Vor­­­­zei­­ge­­­unter­­neh­­men, die Forschungs- und In­­no­­­­­­­va­tions­geist in Rheinland-Pfalz ver­­­­körpern.

Eine Vielzahl an kleinen und mittleren Unter­­­­­­­nehmen leistet ihren Beitrag dafür, dass die Pharma- und Chemiebranche mit 55.000 Beschäftigten eine Exportquote von mehr als 62 Prozent erreicht. Be­­son­­ders rund um die Landeshauptstadt Mainz siedeln sich junge innovative Unter­nehmen an, die das wissenschaftliche Umfeld und die Infrastruktur von Technologiezentren für sich nutzen. Nicht von ungefähr trug Mainz im vergangenen Jahr den Titel „Stadt der Wissenschaft“. Ausschlag­gebend für die Verleihung des Titels waren das große Engagement der Stadt sowie der Beitrag von Wissenschaft und Wirt­schaft zur Stadt­­entwicklung durch konkrete Projekte. Zwölf veranstaltungsreiche und „leidenschaftlich-­wissenschaftliche“ Monate sind seitdem vergangen. Boehringer Ingelheim hat sich mit insgesamt zehn Fort­­bildungs-Vorträgen tatkräftig be­­tei­­ligt. Das breitgefächerte Vortragsangebot reichte von Themen zur Gesundheits­for­­schung für Mensch und Tier bis hin zu gelebter Unternehmens­kultur. Auch über das Wissenschaftsjahr 2011 hinaus wird die Wissenschaftskom­­muni­­­­ka­­tion in Mainz fortgeführt: Das Natur­­historische Museum Mainz, eines der forschenden Museen der Stadt, und Boehringer Ingelheim haben sich zusam­men­­geschlossen und im Rahmen einer Ausstellung gezeigt, wie „Ein Medikament entsteht“.

JGU_bibliothek_recht_und_wirtschaft_01_foto_thomas_hartmann-Kopie
JGU_bibliothek_recht_und_wirtschaft_02_foto_thomas_hartmann
Über die Grenzen von Rheinland-Pfalz hinaus ist Mainz ein führender und beliebter Universitätsstandort. Allein die reinen Zahlen wissen hier zu überzeugen: Rund 40.000 Studenten sind an den drei großen Hochschulen eingeschrieben, die nahezu das komplette wissenschaftliche Fächer­­­­spektrum abdecken: die Johannes Guten­­­berg-­­Universität Mainz, die Fachhoch­schule Mainz und die Katholische Fach­­hochschule Mainz.
  Darüber hinaus ist Mainz der Standort von zwei Max-Planck-Instituten: Das Max-Planck-Institut für Chemie und das Max-Planck-Institut für Polymerforschung sind beide auf dem Campus der Johannes Guten­­­­berg-Universität angesiedelt. Die In­­stitute ergänzen mit ihrer vielfältigen For­­­­­schung die Arbeit der Universitäten und anderer For­­schungsinstitutionen. Ne­­ben der engen Kooperation mit der Max-Planck-Gesell­­schaft hat sich seit einigen Jahren auch eine intensive Zusam­­­­­men­­arbeit mit der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft sowie der Leibniz-­­­Ge­­sell­­schaft etabliert.

Die Mainzer Naturwissenschaften belegen Spitzenpositionen in internationalen For­­schungsrankings. Das „Academic Ranking of World Universities 2011“ zählt das Institut für Physik der Johannes Guten­­berg-Universität zu den 75 besten welt­­weit. Ein gelungenes Beispiel für das Engagement der Industrie im Bereich der universitären Grundlagenforschung in Rheinland-Pfalz ist das Institut für Molekulare Biologie (IMB) an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität in Mainz. Die Boehringer Ingelheim Stiftung fördert über eine Dauer von zehn Jahren mit ins­­gesamt 100 Millionen Euro die Errichtung und den Betrieb dieses internationalen Exzellenzzentrums. Damit erhält Rhein­­­­land-­­Pfalz eine der größten Privatspenden, die bislang in eine Wissen­­­­­schafts­ein­rich­­tung an einer Universität geflossen sind. Durch diese Grund­för­der­ung ist sicher­­gestellt, dass die Forscher am In­­stitut Zugang zu aller­­neuesten Tech­­no­­logien haben und lang­­fristig an ehrgeizigen Pro­­jekten arbeiten können. Als ergänzende Förderung be­­teiligte sich das Land Rhein­­land-Pfalz an der Gründung dieses Exzel­lenz­­­zentrums und ließ ein neues Gebäude errichten, das renommierten Wissenschaft­lern hervor­­ragende Arbeitsbedingungen bietet. Damit erfüllt das neu gegründete Institut interna­­­­tionale Standards der Spitzenforschung – ein Gewinn für den Forschungsstandort Rhein­­­­land-Pfalz.

Grundlagenforschung am Institut für  Physik der Universität Mainz.

Grundlagenforschung am Institut für
Physik der Universität Mainz.

physik_03_foto_thomas_hartmann-Kopie Oeffentlichkeitsarbeit_Uni_UMZ_Archiv_OeA_015833-Kopie

Ein weiteres erfolgreiches Beispiel für die Umsetzung von Wissenschaft in unter­­­­nehmerisches Handeln im Segment Ge­­­sund­­heitswirtschaft/Pharma/Chemie sind die in Rheinland-Pfalz vertretenen Cluster und Netzwerke, in denen sich Unter­­nehmen, Forschungs- und Ent­wick­­­­­­­lungs­­­­institutionen, Bildungsein­rich­tun­­­gen, Dienstleister, Kammern und Ver­­bände in einer zielbezogenen Zusammen­­arbeit engagieren. Stellvertretend seien hier er­­wähnt: das CI3 (Cluster für individualisierte Immunintervention), an dem neben etablierten Unternehmen der Rhein-­­Main-­­­Region mehr als 200 kleine und mittlere Unternehmen beteiligt sind, das ähnlich ausgerichtete BioRN (Biotech-Cluster Rhein-­­­­­­Neckar) sowie die Initiative Ge­­­sund­­heits­­­­­­­wirtschaft Rheinland-Pfalz der Ministerien für Wirtschaft und Gesund­heit. Auch erwähnt werden sollte das Natur­­­­­stoffzentrum Rheinland-Pfalz an der Johannes Gutenberg-Uni­­versität und ins­­­­­­­­be­­sondere das onkologische Spitzen­­­for­schungszentrum TRON in Mainz, in dem die Universität, die Universitäts­medizin und Biotech-Start-up-Unter­nehmen eng an der Übertragung wissen­­schaftlicher Ergebnisse in die Ent­­wick­lung innovativer Therapie­kon­zepte in der Krebsbe­hand­lung arbeiten.