Dr. Detlef Terzenbach: White Biotechnology: always a step ahead thanks to connected expertise

The colour spectrum of bio­­technology – the key tech­­­nol­ogy of the 21st Century – is a broad one. The red and white bands are the most relevant for the health care economy. Red biotechnology is concerned with applications for med­­ical uses, from genetic diagnosis to new therapies and even cultivating replacement tissue. White biotech­nology on the other hand, also known as industrial bio­­­tech­­nology, develops biotech processes with living cells or enzymes in order to produce chemicals, pharmaceu­tical active ingredients, feed additives and many other substances from renewable raw materials. There is no clear dividing line between red and white biotechnol­­ogy, as medicines and other “red” prod­­ucts are pro­­duced with the help of white biotechnology.

CIB Frankfurt brings all the players together. Special­ists from a wide range of fields are involved in the de­­velopment of biotech processes for the health care eco­­n­­omy, including experts from biotech­­nol­­ogy, chemicals, genetics, medicine, bio­­informatics, process engineering and other disciplines. They conduct their re­­search in in­­dustrial laboratories, univer­­­sities or non-university insti­­tutions; they work for large corporations or small start-ups. Investors who support good business ideas with cap­­ital are also essential for the sector.

Everyone needs to pull together if biotechnology is to develop its full potential. Hessen’s Cluster Inte­­grated Biotechnology (CIB) Frankfurt makes a crucial con­­tri­bution to this, connecting busi­­ness with science, small with large companies, and the biotech sector with the world of finance. CIB Frankfurt emerged in 2008 as one of the five winners of the “Bioindustrie 2021” competition held by the Federal Ministry of Edu­­cation and Research. We see ourselves as a contact partner for industrial biotechnology, and a lively network is at the heart of what we do. As one of the pioneers of white biotechnology, Hessen offers the ideal conditions for our work.

Over 100 years of white biotechnology in Hessen. In Darmstadt, chemist Otto Röhm extracted enzymes from the pan­­­creas of animals in order to tan leather in an en­­vironmentally friendly way as early as 1907. Today, Hessen is one of Germany’s leading locations for white bio­­technology, and it is the many small and medium-­sized companies such as BRAIN, BioSpring, nadicom, N-Zyme BioTec and AB Enzymes that are setting the pace. Together with the giants of the pharmaceuticals industry with sites in Hessen, including Sanofi-Aventis, Merck, Evonik and Sandoz, and the state’s universities and research institutions, they cover the full spectrum of white biotechnology.

The annual CIB Partnering Conference has established itself as a national meet­­ing point for the sector and is the ideal forum for industry representatives and scientists to make contacts and create the basis for new joint projects. Com­­panies from all over Germany are in­­volved in CIB Frankfurt funding projects, including Sanofi-Aventis, Merck, DSM, BASF and Symrise.
The World Congress on Industrial Bio­­technology & Bioprocessing 2012 in Orlando, USA, also showed how much Hessen influences the sector across the globe. In a panel discussion organised and moderated by Dolores Schmitt, Pro­­ject Manager at CIB Frankfurt, the com­­panies Merck, Sanofi-Aventis and Mor­­phosys ex­­plained how they are making biotech processes more cost effective and expanding their potential even further, for example in order to produce new cancer drugs.

Meanwhile, the SYNMIKRO Congress, held annually in Marburg by CIB Frank­­furt and the Center for Synthetic Micro­­biology (SYNMIKRO), has established itself as a spe­­cialist conference for bio­­technology experts from all over Ger­­many. Participant numbers are growing all the time: 350 visitors were recorded in 2012 – 100 more than at the first SYNMIKRO Congress in 2011. The positive re­­sponse can be seen time and again in the many inspira­tional discussions between academic researchers and busi­­ness representatives. These clearly show where syner­gies lie and where cooperation needs to be intensified.


_CIB9609_bearbeitet

 

How large corporations and small start-ups work to­­gether. The SYNMIKRO Con­­gress 2012 was dedicated to the topic of antibiotic resistance. Numerous speakers highlighted the fact that many large pharmaceutical companies have already withdrawn from developing new antibiotics, as the effort and expense needed for research are too high and the ex­­pect­­ed profit margins therefore too low.

Because new antibiotics are urgently needed, however, in order to keep infec­­tious diseases under control, the commit­­ment of smaller biotech companies is even more important. This also applies to the development of med­­i­cines against rare ailments or diseases that occur pre­­­­dominantly in the world’s poorer countries. Here, too, biotech companies and academic institutions are conducting their research in a niche area that pharmaceu­­ti­cal corporations barely touch. However, when promising potential active ingredients need to be tested in clinical studies or new biotech processes on an industrial scale, if not before, large companies need to step up, as only they have the necessary financial resources and suffi­­cient laboratory and production capacity.

Hessen’s advantage in white technology is that the bio­tech sector based here not only conducts research but also pro­­duces. The stand-out production location in Ger­­man biotechnology is Industrie­­park Höchst in Frankfurt. At the former headquarters of Hoechst, the world’s high­est-grossing chemicals and pharma­­ceutical corporation, Sandoz – the ge­­ner­­ics branch of Novartis – now operates Germany’s largest fermentation plant. The products produced here include anti­­biotics. The insulin produc­­tion conducted by Sanofi-Aventis here also has its roots in the former international corpo­­ra­tion, Hoechst. In addi­­tion, Novartis Vaccines produces a wide range of vaccines in Mar­burg, while Heraeus has been using biotechnology to produce chemo­­therapy drugs in Hanau since 2004.

Network of investors for white biotech­­nology. Another key component of the cluster concept in Frankfurt is a network of financing and investors for white bio­­tech­nology projects. To achieve this, the investors’ conference CIB Invest was ini­­tiated as a meeting place for entrepreneurs, scientists and investors. One person keen to emphasise the value of the conference was the bio-­economy expert and former Director of the European Com­­mission, Christian Patermann. “Events like this, that put their emphasis on fi­­nancing, are relatively rare, but they are vital, because without investment, nothing can happen.” Patermann, who presented the CIB Invest 2013 conference, underlined the need for new types of cooperation between the players through­­out the entire value chain in white biotechnology. With its wide range of events and networking activities, CIB Frankfurt is laying the foundation for this.

 

TerzenbachThe author holds a doctorate in Micro­­biology and completed vocational train­­ing as an industrial business management assistant. Following initial experience in the biotechnology sector at Lan­­des­­initiative BioGenTec in Cologne, he has worked for Hessen’s economic pro­­motion agency since 1998. After working in technology, foreign trade and location marketing, he now manages the Bio-Nano-Environment division at HTAI GmbH.

Dr. Detlef Terzenbach: Weiße Biotechnologie: Dank vernetzter Expertise immer einen Schritt voraus

Die Palette der Biotechnologie, Schlüs­sel­­technologie des 21. Jahrhunderts, kennt viele Farben. Relevant für die Ge­­­­­sund­­heitswirtschaft sind vor allem der rote und der weiße Zweig. Die rote Bio­tech­­nologie beschäftigt sich mit An­­­­wen­­dun­­­gen für die Medizin – von der Gen­­diagnostik über neue Therapien bis zur Züchtung von Ersatzge­webe. Die weiße Biotechnologie wiederum, auch industrielle Bio­­technologie genannt, entwickelt Biotech-Prozesse mit lebenden Zellen oder Enzymen, um Chemikalien, Phar­­mawirkstoffe, Futter­mittelzusätze und viele andere Substanzen aus nach­wach­­senden Rohstoffen zu produzieren. Die Grenze zwi­­schen der roten und weißen Biotechnologie verläuft fließend, denn Medikamente und andere „rote“ Pro­duk­te werden mit Hilfe der weißen Bio­­technologie produziert.

CIB Frankfurt bringt alle Akteure zu­sammen. An der Entwicklung von Bio­­tech-Verfahren für die Gesundheits­wirt­­schaft beteiligen sich Fachleute aus den verschiedensten Bereichen: aus Bio­­­tech­­nologie, Chemie und Genetik, aus Me­­di­­zin, Bioinformatik, Ver­­fah­rens­­technik und anderen Disziplinen. Sie forschen in Industriela­boren, Hoch­schu­­len oder außeruniversitären Instituten; sie ar­­bei­­ten für große Konzerne oder für kleine Start­ups. Essenziell für die Branche sind zudem Investoren, die gute Geschäftsideen mit Kapital un­­ter­­stützen.

Sie alle müssen an einem Strang ziehen, damit die Biotechnologie ihr Po­­tenzial entfalten kann. Dazu leistet der hessische Cluster Integrierte Bio­in­dus­trie (CIB) Frankfurt einen entscheidenden Beitrag, denn er vernetzt Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft, kleine mit großen Unter­­nehmen sowie die Biotech-Branche mit der Finanz­­welt. CIB Frankfurt ging im Jahr 2008 als einer von fünf Gewinnern aus dem Wettbewerb „BioIndustrie 2021“ des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung hervor. Wir sehen uns als Ansprechpartner der industriellen Biotechnologie, ein lebendiges Netz­­werk ist der Schwerpunkt unserer Arbeit. Die Voraussetzungen dafür sind hierzulande optimal, denn Hessen gehört zu den Pionieren der weißen Biotechnologie.

Über 100 Jahre weiße Biotechnologie in Hessen. Der Apotheker Otto Röhm extrahierte bereits 1907 in Darm­stadt Enzyme aus der Bauchspeicheldrüse von Tieren, um damit umweltfreundlich Leder zu gerben. Heute zählt Hes­­sen zu den führenden Standorten der weißen Bio­tech­no­logie in Deutschland. Schritt­­macher sind dabei die vielen kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen wie BRAIN, BioSpring, nadicom, N-Zyme BioTec und AB En­­zymes. Gemeinsam mit den in Hessen ansässigen Bran­­­­chen­­größen der Chemie- und Pharma­in­dus­trie, da­­runter Sanofi-­Aventis, Merck, Evonik und Sandoz, sowie mit den hessischen Hochschulen und Forschungs­ein­rich­tun­­gen decken sie die gesamte Bandbreite der weißen Biotechnologie ab.

Als überregionales Branchentreffen hat sich die jährlich stattfindende CIB Part­­nering Konferenz etabliert, das ideale Forum für Industrievertreter und Wissen­­schaftler, um Kontakte zu knüpfen und die Grundlage für neue Verbundprojekte zu schaffen. An den Förderprojekten von CIB Frankfurt beteiligen sich Unter­­neh­­men aus ganz Deutschland, darunter Sanofi-Aventis, Merck, DSM, BASF und Symrise.
Welche Impulse von Hessen aus­­gehen, zeigte auch der World Con­­gress on Industrial Bio­tech­nol­­ogy & Bioprocessing 2012 in Orlando, USA. In einem Panel, das Dolores Schmitt, Pro­­jektmanagerin beim CIB Frankfurt, organisierte und moderierte, erläuterten die Unter­nehmen Merck, Sanofi-Aventis und Morphosys, wie sie Bio­­­tech-Verfahren kosteneffizienter ge­­stal­­ten und ihr Potenzial weiter ausbauen, etwa um neue Anti-Krebs­mittel herzustellen.

Der SYNMIKRO-Kongress wiederum, den CIB Frankfurt und das Zentrum für Synthetische Mikrobiologie (SYN­MIKRO) jährlich in Marburg veranstalten, hat sich als Fachtagung für Biotechnologen aus ganz Deutschland etabliert. Die Teil­­neh­­merzahlen steigen kontinuierlich. 2012 konnten wir 350 Besucher verzeichnen – 100 mehr als beim ersten SYNMIKRO-Kongress im Jahr 2011. Die große Re­­so­­nanz zeigt sich auch in den immer wie­­der an­­regenden Diskussionen zwischen akademischen For­­schern und Wirt­schafts­­vertretern. Sie machen deutlich, wo Sy­­nergien liegen oder Kooperationen noch vertieft werden müssen.


_CIB9609_bearbeitet

 

Zusammenspiel zwischen Groß­kon­zer­­nen und Startups. Der SYNMIKRO-Kongress 2012 beispielsweise widmete sich dem Thema Antibiotika-Resis­­ten­­zen. Mehrere Refe­­­renten hoben hervor, dass sich viele große Pharmakon­zerne be­­reits aus der Entwicklung von neuen Anti­­bio­­tika zurückgezogen haben, weil ihnen der Forschungs­auf­­wand zu hoch und daran gemessen die Umsatz­erwar­tun­gen zu niedrig sind. Da neue Antibiotika aber dringend er­forderlich sind, um Infek­tions­­krankheiten in den Griff zu bekommen, ist das Engagement von kleineren Bio­­tech-Unternehmen und Forschungs­­insti­­tuten umso wichtiger. Das gilt ebenso für die Entwicklung von Medikamenten gegen seltene Leiden oder Krankheiten, die vorwiegend in den ärmeren Ländern der Erde auftreten. Auch hier forschen Biotech-Unternehmen und akademische Insti­tute in einer Nische, in der Phar­­ma­­konzerne kaum aktiv sind. Spätestens dann aber, wenn vielversprechende Wirk­­stoffkandidaten in klinischen Studien oder neue Bio­tech-Verfahren im Indus­­trie­­maß­­stab getestet werden sollen, müssen die großen Unternehmen wieder mit ins Boot geholt werden, denn nur sie verfügen über die dafür erforderlichen finanziellen Mittel sowie über aus­­reichend Labor- und Produktions­kapa­zitäten.

In der weißen Biotechnologie punktet Hessen damit, dass die hier ansässige Biotech-Branche nicht nur for­scht, sondern auch produziert. Der herausragende Pro­­duk­tionsstandort der deutschen Bio­­technologie ist der Industriepark Höchst in Frankfurt. Wo früher der einst weltweit umsatzstärkste Chemie- und Pharma­­konzern Hoechst seinen Sitz hatte, be­­treibt Sandoz, das Generika­­unter­neh­men von Novartis, heute Deutschlands größte Fermenta­tions­anlage. Hergestellt werden hier unter anderem Anti­biotika. Auch die hier von Sanofi-Aventis betriebene Insulin-Produktion hat ihre Wurzeln im ehemaligen Welt­­­unternehmen Hoechst. In Mar­­burg wiederum produziert Novartis Vaccines eine breite Palette an Impf­­stoffen, und in Hanau stellt Heraeus seit dem Jahr 2004 Chemo­thera­­peutika biotechnologisch her.

Investoren-Netzwerk für die weiße Bio­­technologie. Ein weiterer zentraler Bau­­stein des Frankfurter Cluster­kon­­­zep­­tes ist ein Finanzierungs- und Investoren-Netzwerk für Pro­­jek­­te der weißen Bio­­tech­­nologie. Dazu wurde die Inves­­toren­kon­ferenz CIB Invest als Treffpunkt für Un­­ter­­­neh­­mer, Wissenschaftler und Investoren ins Leben ge­­rufen. Den Wert dieser Konferenz hatte etwa der Bio­­ökono­mie-­Experte und ehemalige Direktor der Euro­­päischen Kom­mission, Christian Pater­­mann betont. „Solche Veranstal­tungen, die den Akzent auf die Finanzierung setzen, sind relativ selten, aber sie sind wichtig, denn ohne Investment läuft nichts“. Patermann, der die CIB Invest 2013 moderierte, unterstrich, dass man in der weißen Bio­­technologie neue Wege der Kooperation zwischen den Akteuren entlang der gesamten Wertschöp­­fungs­­kette brauche. Den Grundstein dafür legt CIB Frankfurt mit seinen vielfältigen Veranstaltungen und Netzwerk­aktivitäten.

 

TerzenbachDer Autor ist promovierter Mikrobiologe und hat eine Berufs­aus­bildung zum In­­dustriekaufmann absolviert. Nach ersten Erfahrungen in der Biotechnologie-Bran­­che bei der Lande­sinitiative BioGenTec in Köln ist er seit 1998 für die hessische Wirtschafts­för­derung tätig. Nach Sta­­tio­­nen in Tech­no­­logie, Außenwirtschaft und Standort­marketing leitet er nun den Be­­­reich Bio-Nano-Umwelt bei der HTAI GmbH.