Dr. Detlef Hamann: High level of economic integration at the border triangle

The French author Paul Lacroix once compared the idea of intending to unify Europe with an attempt at making an omelette without beating eggs. What is astonishing is that Lacroix already for­­med this view more than 170 years ago. If we today look back at not yet 20 years of transnational collaboration in the border triangle of Saxony, the Czech Republic and Poland, it almost appears that the clocks tick differently there, namely faster. For it is, without a doubt, impressive how many joint projects could be implemented between Ger­­many, Poland and the Czech Republic in the border region in a comparatively short time. Perhaps today you can build on a foundation, which as the economic triangle Saxony-Bohemia-Si­­lesia once counted amongst the strongest and most dynamic regions of Euro­­pe, easier than elsewhere – despite the long prevailing economic, social and corporate differences. At least the positive development of the past just under two decades clarifies how strong the connections between the people of the living spaces on both sides of the border still are. A strong argument for that which is still to come.


357

As a consequence of Saxony’s geographical position, the development of the Free State itself is now more than ever influenced through processes beyond the almost 570-kilometre-long state border. If one considers the regional distribution of the resident population of Saxony, it is established that about one third thereof live in the regions close to the border. Furthermore the border region actually accounts for almost half the surface area of Saxony. After the EU expansion on 1 May 2004, the significance of transnational collaboration with the Czech Re­­public and Poland for Saxony expectedly increased again, and thus also found access to the rural development of the Free State. Therein Saxony has defined goals for the development of transnational co­­operations for joint cross-border re­­gional development plans and the preparation and implementation of joint concepts, without in doing so curtailing the cultural diversity of the European zone and the opportunities of all the participants. Thus in the recent EU structural funding period from 2000 to 2006, consequent to these plans, a significant portion of funding allocated to Saxony was also deployed for the development of this border region.

dresden_IHK

For the development of cross-border cooperation and the extension of neighbourly relationships Saxony has however, already for a long period re­­ceived EU aid. Already since the beginning of the 1990s, the European Union has supported diverse projects, within the scope of the EU community initiative INTERREG, which further develops the common border zones to a sustainable economic and living environment as well as enhances the competitiveness of the Saxony-Czech and Saxony-Lower Silesia border regions. With the INTERREG III A programme, this development finds its continuation in the funding period 2007–2013 as an independent objective with the title “Euro­­pean territorial collaboration – cross-bor­­der collaboration” as well as in the “Oper­­atio­­nal Pro­­gramme of the cross-border collaboration Saxony – Czechia – Po­­land 2007–2013”. The project funding granted therewith sets great demands on the quality of the cooperation be­­tween the partners on both sides of the border to actually design and im­­plement sustainable territorial de­­vel­­opment.

This specific situation also naturally has grave consequences for the tasks of the Dresden Chamber of Industry and Commerce, whose chamber district is found in the direct neighbourhood of Poland and the Czech Republic, in the east bordering on the Polish Voivodships Dolnos­­laskie (Lower Silesia) and Lubuskie (Lebus) with a length of 112 kilometres as well as in the south with a length of 205 kilometres bordering on the Czech Republic and the North Bohemian county.

463Despite the fact that the multitude of businesses which have settled here only originated in their present form in the years following German reunification, the traditional economic ties between Saxony, Bohemia and Lower Silesia are still found here and have been revived by co-operation, service and marketing relationships.

Which formidable standards have already been met is already made clear by looking at the foreign trade statistics of Saxony. Under the top target regions of products and services from the Free State, Poland in 2008 ranked a brilliant second with almost 1.5 billion euros, solely outflanked by the USA. The Czech Republic after all came in at a remarkable seventh place with 1.2 billion. The southern neighbour in turn ranked right in front with 2.7 billion euros with the Saxony importations in the previous year: From Poland, products and services to the value of 1.3 billion euros were bought, which meant place three.

With their contact centres for Saxon-Czech economic cooperation in Dres­­den and Zittau as well as for the Saxon-­­Polish relationship in Görlitz, the Chamber has been initiating solid practical transnational economic promotion for many years, whether through the disclosure of variegated information, the holding of events, or the imparting of individual business contacts and the organization of bi- or tri-national projects.

That this commitment is mak­­ing an impact has already been attested re­­peatedly by the regional organizations. So far, es­­pecially firms in the producing and mercantile trade could profit of cross-border business advantages. Practical distances – from all locations of the chamber district to the bordering neighbouring countries – represent no real obstacle, according to the information received from many organizations. Most likely the existing road infrastructure still presents barriers here. In future even more in­­dustries will most certainly be­­long to the profiteers on both sides of the border, as the region between Saxony, Poland and the Czech Republic aligns itself and reaches even greater economic integration.


459

With this progressive process, however, the competitive pressure on all the or­­ganizations in the tri-nation economic zone will also increase. For our Saxon firms, this could well bring greater challenges than for the Polish and Czech ones, which are still searching their position between cheaper or technological high-grade, but more cost-effective production. The intensive utilization of the available IHK (Chamber of Industry and Commerce) contact centres for economic cooperation, the realization of cooperation agreements of the Saxon chambers with those of the neighbouring countries, trans-national association projects, organizational networks and technology centres can and must actively and seminally accompany this process.

Despite the already achieved and at times also well-deserved pauses and reflecting, it must in force continuing to look ahead, to continue improving and to develop new potential. For ulti­­mately, the three bordering countries and the EU will not without reason allow the significant costs of the development of theses border regions.

What exactly the future will bring, nobody knows, solid notions and expectations however no doubt exist. For instance, that the Euro region will be even more recognized as a collective region and likewise represent and develop to be attractive for entrepreneurs as much as for employees. The decisive topics may not be abstract discussions relating to competitors and the lowest wage and the highest subsidy, but rather the vibrancy of a development region with manifold potential. Therefore additional initiatives must be developed, which can in turn release momentum.

hamann_grossThe author was born in Magdeburg in 1956 and studied economics in Leipzig. He obtained his doctorate at the Dres­­den University for Transport and Com­­mu­nications in 1986. He started his career as a research assistant, but in 1988 he switched to the Dres­den electric machine company, VEM. Since 2003 Dr. Hamann has been CEO at the Dres­­den Chamber of Industry and Commerce (IHK).

Dr. Detlef Hamann: Hohes Niveau an wirtschaftlichen Verflechtungen im Dreiländereck

Der französische Schriftsteller Paul Lacroix verglich einmal die Idee, Eu­­ropa einen zu wollen, mit dem Versuch, ein Omelett zu backen, ohne Eier zu zerschlagen. Das Erstaunliche daran ist, dass Lacroix dieses Bild bereits vor mehr als 170 Jahren prägte. Blicken wir heute auf noch nicht einmal 20 Jahre grenzüberschreitende Zu­­sammen­­ar­­beit im Dreiländereck von Sachsen, Tschech­­ien und Polen zurück, scheint es fast so, als tickten die Uhren dort anders – nämlich schneller. Denn es ist ohne Frage be­­ein­­druckend, wie viele gemeinsame Pro­­jek­­te im Grenzraum zwischen Deutschland, Polen und Tschechien in vergleichsweise kurzer Zeit realisiert werden konnten. Viell­­eicht lässt es sich ja – trotz der lange Zeit vorherrschenden ökonomischen, so­­­­zialen und gesellschaftlichen Unter­­schie­­­­de – auf ein Fundament, das als Wirt­­schafts­­­­dreieck Sachsen-Böh­­men-Schle­­s­­­­ien einmal zu den stärksten und dynamischsten Regionen Europas zählte, heute besser aufbauen als anderswo. Zu­­mindest verdeutlicht die positive Ent­­wicklung der letzten knapp zwei Jahr­­zehnte, wie stark die Bindungen zwischen den Lebensräumen der Menschen bei­­der­­seits der Grenzen immer noch sind. Ein starkes Argument auch für noch Kom­­mendes.


357

Bedingt durch die geografische Lage Sachsens wird die Entwicklung des Freistaates selbst mehr denn je durch Prozesse jenseits der rund 570 Kilo­­meter langen Staatsgrenze beeinflusst. Be­­trach­tet man die regionale Verteilung der Wohnbevölkerung Sachsens, ist fest­­zustellen, dass in den grenznahen Ge­­bie­­ten rund ein Drittel davon lebt. Darüber hinaus macht die Grenzregion sogar an­­nähernd die Hälfte der sächsischen Lan­­desfläche aus. Nach der EU-Erweiterung am 1. Mai 2004 ist der Stellenwert der grenzüberschreitenden Zusammen­­ar­­beit mit Tschechien und Polen für Sachsen erwartungsgemäß noch einmal angestiegen und fand so auch Eingang in den Landesentwicklungsplan des Frei­­staa­­tes. Sachsen hat darin Ziele zur Entwicklung von grenzübergreifenden Koopera­­ti­­o­­nen, für gemeinsame grenzüberschreitende regionale Raumordnungspläne und die Erstellung und Umsetzung gemeinsamer Konzepte definiert, ohne dabei die kulturelle Vielfalt des europäischen Rau­­mes und die Chancen aller Beteiligten zu beschneiden. Diesen Planungen folgend, wurde in der letzten EU-­­Struk­­tur­­fondsförderperiode von 2000 bis 2006 auch ein erheblicher Teil der auf Sach­­sen entfallenden Mittel für die Ent­­wick­­lung dieser Grenzregion eingesetzt.

dresden_IHK

Für die Entwicklung grenzüberschreitender Kooperationen und den Ausbau nachbarschaftlicher Beziehungen wird Sachsen jedoch schon deutlich länger die Hilfe der EU zuteil.
Bereits seit Anfang der 90er Jahre unterstützt die Europäische Union im Rahmen der EU-Gemeinschaftsinitiative INTERREG vielfältige Vorhaben, die die gemeinsamen Grenzgebiete zu einem zukunftsfähigen Wirtschafts- und Le­­bens­­­­raum weiterentwickeln sowie die Wett­­be­­werbsfähigkeit des sächsisch-tschechi­­sch­­en und sächsi­­sch-nie­der­­schle­­si­­­­­­sch­­en Grenz­­rau­­m­­es steigern sol­­len. Mit dem Pro­­gramm INTERREG III A findet diese Entwicklung in der För­­der­­per­­i­­o­­de 2007–2013 ihre Fortsetzung
als eigenständi­­ges Ziel mit dem Titel „Europäische territoriale Zu­­sammen­­ar­­beit – grenzübergreifende Zu­­sammen­­­­­­ar­­beit“ sowie im „Operationellen Pro­­gramm der grenzübergreifenden Zu­­sammen­­arbeit Sachsen – Tschechien – Polen 2007–2013“. Die dabei gewährte Projektförderung stellt hohe An­­for­­der­­un­­gen an die Qualität der Ko­­operation zwischen den Partnern auf beiden Sei­­ten der Grenzen, um tat­­sächlich eine nach-­
haltige territoriale Entwicklung zu ge­­stalten und umzusetzen.
Für die Arbeit der Industrie- und Han­­dels­­kammer Dresden, deren Kammer­­be­­zirk sich in direkter Nachbarschaft zu Polen und Tschechien befindet, im Osten mit einer Länge von 112 Kilo­­me­­tern an die polnischen Wojewodschaften Dolnoslaskie (Niederschlesien) und Lubuskie (Lebus) grenzt sowie im Süden mit einer Grenzlinie von 205 Kilometern zu Tschechien und dem Bezirk Nordböhmen, hat diese spezifische Lage natürlich auch gravie­­ren­­de Aus­­wir­­kun­­gen.

463
Trotz der Tatsache, dass die Vielzahl der hier ansässigen Betriebe in ihrer heutigen Form erst in den Nachwendejahren ent­­standen ist, finden sich nach wie vor tra­­di­­tionelle wirtschaftliche Ver­­flech­­tun­­gen zwischen Sachsen, Böhmen und Nie­­der­­schlesien, denen heute durch Ko­­o­­per­­a­­ti­­ons-, Dienstleistungs- und Ab­­satz­­be­­zie­­hungen neues Leben eingehaucht wurde.
Welches beachtliche Niveau bereits erreicht wurde, macht allein schon ein Blick auf die sächsische Außen­­handels­­sta­­tistik deutlich. Unter den Top-Ziel­­re-­gionen von Produkten und Leistungen aus dem Freistaat rangierte Polen 2008 mit fast 1,5 Milliarden Euro, lediglich überflügelt von den USA, auf einem hervorragenden zweiten Rang, Tsche­­ch­­ien kam mit rund 1,2 Milliarden immerhin noch auf einen beachtlichen Platz sieben. Ganz vorn rangiert der südliche Nachbar dafür mit 2,7 Milliarden Euro im vergangenen Jahr bei den sächsischen Importen, aus Polen wurden Waren und Leistungen im Wert von 1,3 Milliarden Euro eingekauft, was Rang drei bedeutete.
Mit ihren Kontaktzentren für sächsi­­sch­­­-tschechische Wirtschaftskooperation in Dresden und Zittau sowie für sächsisch-polnische Beziehungen in Görlitz initiiert die Kammer seit vielen Jahren ganz praktische grenzüberschreitende Wirt­­schafts­­förderung, durch die Gewährung vielfältiger Aus­­künf­­te, die Durchführung von Ver­­an­­stal­­tun­­gen, oder die Vermittlung ein­­zel­­be­­trieblicher Kon­­takte und die Or­­ga­­­­nisation bi- oder trinationaler Pro­­jek­­te.

Dass dieses Engagement Wirkung zeigt, haben die regionalen Un­­ter­­neh­­men be­­reits mehrfach attestiert. Bisher sind vor allem Firmen des produzierenden Gewerbes und des Handels in den Ge­­nuss grenzüberschreitender Ge­­schäfts­­vorteile gekommen. Reale Distanzen – von allen Orten des Kammerbezirks in die angrenzenden Nachbarländer – stellen dabei nach Auskunft vieler Betriebe kein echtes Hindernis dar. Am ehesten setzt hier die vorhandene Straßen­­in­­fra­­struktur noch Grenzen. In Zukunft werden mit großer Sicherheit noch weitere Branchen zu den Profiteuren beiderseits der Grenzen gehören, denn die Region zwischen Sachsen, Polen und Tschechien wird sich weiter angleichen und zu noch größeren wirtschaftlichen Verflechtungen gelangen.


459

Mit diesem fortschreitenden Prozess wird sich aber auch der Wett­­bewerbs­­druck auf alle Unternehmen des trinationalen Wirtschaftsraumes erhöhen. Für unsere sächsischen Firmen könnte dies durchaus größere Heraus­­for­­der­­un­­gen mit sich bringen als für tschechische und polnische, welche ihre neue Positionierung zwisch­­en billiger oder tech­­nologisch hochwertiger, aber kostenintensiverer Produktion noch such­­en. Die intensive Nutzung der bestehenden IHK-Kon­­takt­­zentren für Wirt­­schafts­­ko­­op­­er­­a­­ti­­on, die Umsetzung der Kooper­­a­­tions­­ve­­r­­­­ein­­bar­­un­­­­gen der sächsischen Kammern mit denen in den Nach­­bar­­län­­dern, grenz­­über­­schreitende Projekte von Ver­­bän­­den, Unternehmensnetzwerken und Tech­­­­­­no­­­­lo­­gie­­zentren können und müssen diesen Prozess daher aktiv und wegweisend be­­gleiten.
Trotz des schon Erreichten und des ab und zu durchaus auch verdienten In­­ne­­hal­­tens und Zurückblickens muss es gelten, weiter nach vorn zu schauen, sich weiter zu verbessern und neue Po­­ten­­zia­­le zu er­­schlie­­ßen. Denn letztlich lassen sich die drei aneinander grenzenden Länder und die EU die Entwicklung dieser Grenz­­re­­gi­­o­nen nicht ohne Grund einiges kos­­ten.
Wie die Zukunft genau aussehen wird, weiß niemand, konkrete Vorstellungen und Erwartungen existieren aber sehr wohl. So, dass die Euroregion noch mehr als eine gemeinsame Region erkannt und sich gleichermaßen attraktiv für Un­­ternehmer wie für Ar­­beit­­neh­­mer­­in­­nen und Arbeitnehmer darstellen und entwickeln wird. Nicht abstrakte Dis­­kus­­si­­o­­nen über die Konkurrenz um den niedrigsten Lohn und die höchsten Sub­­ven­­ti­­onen dürfen die bestimmenden The­­men sein, sondern die Ausstrahlung als Ent­­wicklungsregion mit vielfältigen Po­­ten­­zi­­alen. Dafür müssen zusätzliche Ini­­ti­­a­­tiven entwickelt werden, die wiederum Impulse auslösen können.

hamann_grossDer 1956 gebürtige Magdeburger hat in Leipzig Ökonomie studiert und wurde 1986 an der Hoch­schule für Ver­kehrs­we­sen Dresden promoviert. Beruf­lich be­­gann er als wissen­schaftlicher Assis­tent an der Hochschule für Ver­­kehrs­­­­wesen Dresden, wechselte aber 1988 zur Dresd­ner Elek­­tro­­­­ma­schi­nen­firma VEM. Seit 1998 wirkt er für die IHK Dres­den, deren Haupt­ge­­schäfts­führer er seit 2003 ist.