Dr. Christoph Leitl: Strategies for the coming fiscal years

Austria remains in demand as a Euro­­pean business location. In recent times, domestic companies, the government and social partners have demonstrated Austria’s resiliency during the most severe financial and economic crisis since the 1930s.

With the economic recovery packages, the banking package and the generous and flexible implementation of short-time work by companies and public authorities, nearly 86,000 jobs could be saved during this time! Internationally, Austria was among the top five EU member states in an OECD comparative study! The respectable real growth of the Aus­trian economy of 1.0 per cent in the second quarter of 2011 compared to the same quarter of the previous year represents a significant contrast to the majority of countries in the eurozone. This is testament to the strength of the red-white-red economy. However, we must not forget that Austria’s economy cannot isolate itself completely from international uncertainties and risks.


KfW_0187-Kopie586727_original_R_K_by_Sara-Hegewald_pixelio

Economic researchers anticipate that the coming year will see a weakening of the economy and we will not remain unaffected by the concern over Europe as a business location and the debt crisis.
As a small business location in the heart of Europe, it is therefore even more im­­portant that we increase our competitiveness and maintain our attractiveness for foreign investors.

In 2010 alone, an increase of 25 per cent was achieved in businesses moving to Austria. Strong growth was registered especially in companies from Germany and the CEE/SEE and BRIC countries. The incoming companies invested 221.1 million euros, which is a 166 per cent increase in investments in Austria compared to the previous year.

Exports as a running horse. The development of Austria’s foreign trade reflects the success of an economic policy focused on competition. Following a decline during the crisis, annual export rates of ten per cent are expected in 2011/2012. The share of innovative SMEs in Austria is the third highest in Europe. This includes process inno­­vations, for example, used to integrate technologies developed by other companies. The successful niche policy is based on extensive flexibility and well-­educated specialist workers, as well as on integration into international value chains and effective partnerships between small and medium-sized businesses.

Social stability. This is an important require­­ment for planning investments and the quality of the location. The capacity to solve problems and the adaptability of the Austrian social partners have re­­sulted in strikes – if at all – being measured in seconds and social security in Austria being very high. The social partners in Austria understand themselves as being the managers of change, who always attempt to represent the overall interests of our country alongside those of their members. In over 60 years, the actions of the social partnership have contributed significantly to Austria’s rise to become one of the most prosperous and stable countries in Europe.

The economy is improving. As a result of the excellent performance of domestic companies, tax revenue for the Ministry of Finance is increasing. To not tackle the challenges which Austria faces now would be a cardinal sin. This includes budget consolidation, climate and environ­mental protection, securing the energy supply, the consequences of demographic development, migration and integration as well as ensuring the attractiveness of our business location.

Consistently pursuing the “IQ strategy”.

The future of our location will be decided by the consistent pursuit of the “IQ strategy”. Innovation and quality are the corn­­erstones with which we can move ahead of the international competition. The fact is that we cannot win a price competition against countries with low wages. Our location is characterised by the quality of its products and services. However, this can only succeed with highly skilled workers. That is why we must promote research, innovation, schools and universities, in order to be prepared to meet the challenges of the future. Educational reform is therefore of vital importance. The dual training of our apprentices is among the best in Europe. The excellent performance of our apprentices was demon­­strated impressively recently by the flood of medals won at the EuroSkills competition. However, achievements in schools are not as impressive, as the Pisa results demonstrate. Feedback from business also reinforces the need for taking action without delay. Many businesses criticise the lack of basic education shown by school leavers at the start of their apprenticeships: they demonstrate sometimes alarming deficits in economic knowledge, reading and mathematics. This means that we must develop and foster the potential of our young people, whatever their talents and skills, to the best of our ability. We must also use opportunities provided by career guidance. Even today, most female apprentices become hairdressers, retail salespersons or office clerks. We must inspire girls to go into technical fields, too. Indus­­try is using higher salaries as just one enticement.


AT0306-Gollob-3-LD0048-Kopie

AT0306-Gollob-2-LD0023-Kopie

Competition for the best minds.

The demo­­graphic change certainly does plenty to aggravate the situation. The birthrate in Austria declined by over 20 per cent bet­ween 1993 and 2001. This trend will con­­tinue to worsen. At the same time, an increasing number of the baby boom generation, born in the 1950s and 60s, are reaching retirement. The Red-White­­Red Card, which allows immigration of skilled workers from third countries based on specific criteria, will help to alleviate the situation. The full liberalisation of the employment market will also provide relief. However, development cannot be stopped. Retail and trades alone calculate their requirement for skilled workers at 13,000 people. The competition for the best minds has begun and Austria must be among the leaders in order to not fall behind.

Universities, too, are lacking money. While the federal subsidies for pensions will increase to 12 billion euros by 2014, uni­­v­ersities demand a comparably small amount of 300 million euros. This is where we need to begin. And if we established a greater number of all-day schools, in which students can be better cared for and educated by specialist teachers, a great deal would be accomplished. In return, savings must be implemented in school administration, for example by eliminating district and provincial school boards. This has already been agreed in governmental treaties; now the government just has to implement it.

Education will therefore be one of the most crucial issues facing the business location in the coming years, because Asia – in particular India and China – but also South America, are catching up very quickly. These countries not only have many young and hard-working em­­ployees, but also have a growing number of highly skilled and specialised workers.

Debt hinders growth. There is also a need for action in budget consolidation. The financial framework recently passed calls for an increase in the debt ratio by 2013. This will bring the deficit to 75 per cent of gross domestic product, representing an unprecedented, historic high for the Second Republic. Austria will thus record a debt that is 50 billion euros higher than the imposed debt ceiling of 60 per cent of the gross domestic product. Federal spending on cash and interest alone currently totals 8.3 billion euros. That equals nearly 23 million euros per day. The debt and interest burden has increased to an alarming level in recent years, due in part to the worldwide crisis, but also due to the delayed structural reforms. A family of four would have to pay nearly 4,000 euros every year just for the interest due on the federal debt. This debt burden will hinder economic growth if Austria does not take steps to achieve a sustained reduction in debt and interest.

Only Luxembourg’s citizens retire earlier. It is primarily the pension payments that cause substantial holes in the federal budget. Early retirement has become endemic in Austria, and its effects are frightening. Life expectancy has increased, but the retirement age has dropped sig­­nificantly. Today, Austrians spend much more time in retirement and education than 40 years ago. The number of years spent contributing is steadily declining, while the pension subsidies paid by the state are reaching dizzying heights. Govern­­ment expenditures for pensions increased by 53.5 per cent between 2001 and 2010. The international comparison is clear: with an average age for first pension claims of 59 for men and 57 for women, Austria has the lowest retirement age of all OECD countries except Luxembourg. Early retire­­ment under the ‘Hackler’ rule must be elimi­­nated without replacement as soon as possible, by 2013 at the latest. Each year, 70,000 people apply for a disability pension. This flood is also impossible to finance in the long term and must be cut off. The most important goal of pension reform must be to steadily increase the actual re­­­t­­irement age from 58, as at present, to the legal retirement age (60 for women and 65 for men). Working longer must be rewared.

We are now standing at a crucial crossroads. Austria must take the challenges it is facing seriously. Education, research and innovation must be supported, and urgently needed reforms in schools, health and administration must be tackled in order to ensure Austria’s long-term and sustained competitiveness of the location. Business is a reliable partner in and driving force behind these reforms.

Leitl_2009_03_300-KopieThe author (born in 1949) studied social and economic sciences. Christoph Leitl is an entrepreneur and a politician in the Austrian People’s Party (ÖVP). From 1977 to 1990, he was the managing director of Bauhütte Leitl-Werke Ges.m.b.H. He has been president of the Austrian Federal Chamber of Commerce since 2000 and chairman of the social insurance service for commerce and industry (SVA) since 2004.

Dr. Christoph Leitl: Strategien für die nächsten Wirtschaftsjahre

Österreich ist als europäischer Stand­ort unvermindert gefragt. Zuletzt haben die heimischen Betriebe, Regierung und Sozialpartner in der schwersten Finanz- und Wirtschaftskrise seit den 1930er Jahren Österreichs Standfestigkeit unter Beweis gestellt.

Mit den beiden Kon­junk­turpaketen, dem Bankenpaket und der groß­zügigen und flexiblen Um­­set­zung von Kurzarbeit durch die Unternehmen und die öffentliche Hand konnten rund 86.000 Arbeits­plätze in dieser Zeit gesichert werden! International gesehen, liegt Österreich damit im OECD-Ver­gleich unter den fünf besten EU-­Mit­glieds­staaten. Das respek­table Wachs­tum der österreichischen Wirtschaft von real plus 1,0 Prozent im zweiten Quartal 2011 gegenüber dem Vorquartal hebt sich deutlich von der Mehrzahl der Länder des Euro-Raumes ab. Das ist ein Zeugnis der Stärke der rot-weiß-roten Wirtschaft. Wir dürfen jedoch nicht aus den Augen verlieren, dass sich Österreichs Wirtschaft internationalen Unsicherheiten und Risiken nicht gänzlich entziehen kann.


KfW_0187-Kopie586727_original_R_K_by_Sara-Hegewald_pixelio

Wirtschaftsforscher gehen für das nächste Jahr von einer Abschwächung der Kon­junk­­tur aus, und die Sorge um den euro­­pä­ischen Wirtschaftsstandort, um die Schul­den­­krise lässt auch uns nicht unberührt.
Umso wichtiger ist es, dass wir als kleiner Wirtschaftsstandort im Herzen Europas unsere Wettbewerbsfähigkeit schärfen und unsere Attraktivität für ausländische Investoren wahren.

Allein im Jahr 2010 konnte ein Plus bei den Betriebsansiedelungen von 25 Pro­­­­zent erzielt werden. Einen starken Zu­­wachs verzeichnete man insbesondere von Be­­trie­­ben aus Deutschland und dem CEE/SEE-­­Raum sowie den BRIC-Staaten. Die angesiedelten Betriebe haben dabei mit 221,1 Millionen Euro um 166 Pro­zent mehr in Österreich investiert als im Jahr zuvor.

Exporte als running horse. Die Ent­wick­lung des österreichischen Außenhandels zeigt den Erfolg einer wettbewerbsorien­tierten Wirtschaftspolitik. Nach einem Rückgang in der Krise werden für 2011/­­2012 jährliche Exportraten von zehn Pro­­zent erwartet. Der Anteil innovativer KMUs in Österreich ist der dritt­höchste Europas. Dabei geht es etwa um Prozess­­­inno­va­tionen, um die Inte­gra­tion nicht selbst entwickelter Technologien. Die erfolgreiche Nischen­politik basiert auf großer Flexibilität und gut ausgebildeten Fach­arbeiter­Innen, sowie auf der Inte­gration in inter­na­tio­nalen Wertschö­p­fungs­ketten und der effektiven Partner­schaft unter größeren und kleineren Unternehmen.

Soziale Stabilität. Sie ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung für die Planbarkeit von Investitionen und die Standortqualität. Problemlösungskapazität und Anpas­sungsfähigkeit der österreichischen Sozial­­partner haben dazu geführt, dass Streiks – ­­wenn überhaupt – in Sekunden gemessen werden, dass die soziale Sicherheit in Österreich sehr hoch ist. Die Sozial­partner verstehen sich in Österreich als Manager des Wandels, sie versuchen, neben den Interessen der eigenen Mitglieder stets vor allem das Gesamtinteresse unseres Landes zu vertreten. In über 60 Jahren hat das Handeln der Sozialpartnerschaft wesentlich zum Aufstieg Österreichs zu einem der wohlhabendsten und stabilsten Länder Europas beigetragen.

Wirtschaft ist im Aufwind. Durch die gute Performance der heimischen Betriebe steigt das Steuerauf­kommen für das Finanzministerium. Jetzt aber die großen Herausforderungen, vor denen Öster­­­­reich steht, nicht anzugehen, wäre ein Kardinal­­fehler. Dazu gehören die Bud­­­get­kon­soli­dierung, der Schutz von Klima und Um­­­welt, die Sicherung der Energie­ver­sor­gung, die Folgen der demo­­grafischen Ent­wick­lung, Migration und Inte­­gration sowie die Absicherung der At­­trak­­tivität unseres Wirtschafts­stand­ortes.

„IQ-Strategie“ konsequent verfolgen. Die Zukunft unseres Standortes entscheidet sich an der konsequenten Verfolgung der „IQ-Strategie“. Innovation und Qualität sind die Eckpfeiler, mit denen wir uns von der internationalen Konkurrenz abheben können. Denn einen Kostenwett­be­werb gegen Billiglohnländer können wir nicht gewinnen. Unser Standort profiliert sich durch die Qualität seiner Produkte und Dienstleistungen. Das gelingt aber nur mit gut ausgebildeten Mitarbeitern. Daher müssen wir Forschung, Innovation, Schule und Universitäten fördern, um für die Anforderungen der Zukunft gerüstet zu sein. Eine Bildungsreform ist dafür von zentraler Bedeutung. Bei der dualen Ausbildung unserer Lehrlinge sind wir in Europa auf den Spitzenplätzen. Die aus­­gezeichneten Leistungen unserer Lehrlinge hat zuletzt der Medaillenregen der Euro­­Skills eindrucksvoll bewiesen. Weniger gut läuft es jedoch in der Schule, die Pisa-Ergebnisse zeugen davon. Aber auch die Rückmeldungen aus der Wirtschaft führen den akuten Handlungsbedarf vor Augen. Zahlreiche Betriebe bekritteln die mangelnde Schulbildung ihrer Lehranfänger: Vor allem beim Wirtschaftswissen, Lesen und in der Mathematik weisen sie zum Teil erschreckende Defizite auf. Das bedeutet, dass wir das Potenzial unserer Jugend­­­­lichen, gemäß ihrer Talente und Bega­­­­bungen, bestmöglich zur Entfaltung bringen müssen. Auch bei der Berufsberatung müssen wir ansetzen. Noch immer werden die meisten weiblichen Lehrlinge Friseurin, Einzelhandels- oder Bürokauffrau. Hier gilt es, verstärkt Mädchen für die Technik zu begeistern. Die Industrie lockt nicht zuletzt mit höheren Gehältern.


AT0306-Gollob-3-LD0048-Kopie

AT0306-Gollob-2-LD0023-Kopie

Wettlauf um die besten Köpfe. Der demo­­grafische Wandel trägt sein Übriges zur angespannten Situation bei. Zwischen 1993 und 2001 sanken die Geburten in Österreich um über 20 Prozent. Dieser Trend wird sich noch verschärfen. Gleich­­zeitig gehen immer mehr stärkere Jahr­gänge, nämlich die Babyboomer der 1950er und 60er Jahre, in Pension. Die Rot-Weiß-Rot-Card, die einen kriteriengeleiteten Zuzug von Fachkräften aus Drittstaaten ermöglicht, wird hier Abhilfe schaffen. Auch die vollständige Öffnung des Arbeitsmarkes wird eine Entlastung bringen. Die Entwicklung lässt sich jedoch nicht aufhalten. Allein Gewerbe und Hand­­­­werk beziffern ihren Bedarf an qualifizierten Fachkräften mit 13.000 Per­sonen. Der Wettlauf um die besten Köpfe hat begonnen und Österreich muss vorne mitmischen, um nicht den An­­schluss zu verlieren.
Auch bei den Universitäten fehlt das Geld. Während die staatlichen Zu­­schüsse für die Pensionen bis 2014 auf zwölf Milliarden Euro steigen, fordern die Universitäten ver­gleichsweise geringe 300 Millionen Euro. Hier müssen wir an­­­setzen. Und wenn wir noch mehr Ganz­tages­schulen schaffen, Schülerinnen und Schüler mit Hilfe von Förderlehrern besser betreuen und ausbilden, dann ist schon viel geschafft. Im Gegenzug muss bei der Schulverwaltung gespart, sollten etwa die Bezirks- und Landesschulräte abgeschafft werden. Das ist auch bereits im Regierungsüberein­kommen paktiert, die Regierung muss es nur noch umsetzen.

So wird die Bildungsfrage eine der entscheidendsten Standortfragen der kommenden Jahre, denn Asien – vor allem Indien und China – aber auch Süd­am­er­ika, holen gewaltig auf. Diese Staaten haben nicht nur viele junge und fleißige Arbeit­­nehmer, sondern auch zunehmend gut aus­­gebildete und spezialisierte Fachkräfte.

Schulden sind Wachstums­­bremse. Hand­lungs­bedarf gibt es ebenso bei der Budget­­konsolidierung. Der kürzlich beschlossene Finanzrahmen sieht einen Anstieg der Schuldenquote bis 2013 vor. Damit er­­reicht der Schulden­stand mit mehr als 75 Prozent des Brutto­inlandsproduktes einen noch nie dagewesenen, historischen Höchst­stand in der zweiten Republik. Österreich wird eine Verschuldung aufweisen, die um 50 Milliarden Euro über der vorgegebenen Schuldenobergrenze von 60 Prozent des Bruttoinlandsproduktes liegen wird. Alleine die Staatsausgaben aus dem Titel Kassa und Zinsen belaufen sich aktuell auf 8,3 Milliarden Euro, das sind pro Tag fast 23 Millionen Euro. Schulden- und Zinsen­last haben sich in den vergangenen Jahren, auch bedingt durch die weltweite Krise, aber ebenso durch verschleppte Struktur­reformen, auf ein erdrückendes Niveau gesteigert. Eine vierköpfige Familie müsste jährlich knapp 4.000 Euro alleine für die Zins­­zahlung der Staatsschulden berappen. Dieser Schuldenrucksack wird zur Wachs­­tumsbremse, wenn Österreich nichts unter­nimmt, um Schulden und Zinsen nachhaltig zu senken.

Leitl_2009_03_300-KopieDer 1949 geborene Autor studierte Sozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften.Christoph Leitl ist Unternehmer und Poli­tiker der Österreichischen Volks­partei (ÖVP). Von 1977 bis 1990 war er Ge­­schäfts­­­­führer der Bauhütte Leitl-Werke Ges.m.b.H. Seit 2000 ist er Präsident der Wirt­­scha­­fts­­kammer Öster­­reich und seit 2004 Obmann der Sozial­ver­sich­e­rungs­­­anstalt der ge­­wer­­­blichen Wirt­schaft.

Nur Luxemburger früher in Pension. Vor allem die Pensionszahlungen reißen tiefe Löcher in den Staatshaushalt. Die „Frühpensionitis“ ist Österreichs Volks­krank­heit und ihre Auswirkungen sind erschreckend. Die Lebenserwartung ist gestiegen, doch das Pensionsalter stark gefallen. Die Österreicher verbringen heute viel mehr Zeit in Pension und Aus­bil­dung als noch vor 40 Jahren. Die Zahl der Bei­­tragsjahre sinkt stetig, die Pensions­zu­schüsse des Staates wachsen in schwindel­erregende Höhen. Die Ausgaben des Bundes für Pensionen stiegen zwischen 2001 und 2010 um 53,5 Prozent. Der internationale Vergleich ist eindeutig: Mit einem durchschnittlichen Pensionsantritt von 59 Jahren bei Männern und 57 Jahren bei Frauen hat Österreich nach Luxemburg das niedrigste Pensionsalter aller OECD-­Staaten. Wir müssen die Hacklerpension schleunigst, spätestens 2013, ersatzlos streichen. Jährlich stellen 70.000 Men­schen Anträge auf eine Invaliditätspension, auch dieses Scheunentor ist langfristig unfinanzierbar und muss geschlossen werden. Oberstes Ziel einer Pensionsreform muss sein, das faktische Pensionsalter von derzeit 58 Jahren an das gesetzliche Pensionsalter (bei Frauen 60 Jahre und bei Männern 65 Jahre) heranzuführen. Längeres Arbeiten muss sich lohnen.

Wir befinden uns an einer entscheidenden Weggabelung. Österreich muss seine Her­­aus­forderungen ernst nehmen, Bildung, Forschung und Innovationen fördern, dringend notwendige Reformen bei Schule, Gesundheit, Verwaltung angehen, um die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Standortes lang­­fristig und nachhaltig zu erhalten. Dafür ist die Wirtschaft ein verlässlicher Partner und Reformmotor.