Dr. Carmen Hildebrandt: Capitalize on synergy – City-overlapping co-operation in tourism

In 1994, the cities Erfurt, Weimar, Jena and Ilmenau combined with a further 15 Thu­ringian cities to form the association, “Städte­tourismus in Thüringen” eV (a Thuringian city tourism association). To­­­gether they want to promote tourism in Thuringia and a stronger positioning on the national and international tourism market as well as actively lobby for city tourism in local and national government politics. In worldwide competition for city and cultural travellers, conference and incentive clients, the city agents rely on the bundling of individual strengths. For successful marketing activities, it is necessary to capitalize on sensible sy­­n­­­ergies without forsaking own autonomy.

Half of all guests registered in hotels and guesthouses in the Free State of Thu­ringia spend the night in the cities. It turns out that the amount of international guests is markedly higher. 76 per cent of all non-German overnight guests come to the cities of Thuringia. It is they that are observed on the international market for Thuringia.
In addition to the association cooperation, several member cities work very clo­­sely together in their respective re­­gions or also as regards certain annual themes. Since 1999 very close cooperation has existed between the three central Thuringian cities of Erfurt, Weimar and Je­­na, in particular. In that year Wei­­mar was the European Capital of Culture and in the realization of the “cultural city year”, it involved the neigh­­bouring cities as well as the surrounding area. The cities are each situated only 20 ki­­lometres apart along the A4 motorway. Their tourism organizers and those re­­­s­ponsible for cul­­tural activities have com­bined in order to strengthen the already practiced joint trade fair ap­­­­pearances through intensive cooperation in additional tourist marketing fa­­cets.

 

domst07-03-hoch

Culture with three cities in-step
In this manner, since 1999, a joint re­­gio­­nal cultural calendar has been re­­leased, wherein the regionally significant cultural events – of the cities Erfurt, Weimar and Jena as well as the Weimar county rural area – are published.

Under the motto “Kultur im Drei-Städte-Takt – Musiksommer” (three cities in-step with culture – music summer) the unique summer festivals of the three ci­t­­ies are therein specially advertised to­­­gether. The “DomStufenfestspiele” (dome festival games) in Erfurt, the arts festival in Weimar and the cultural arena in Jena characterize the cultural highlights of July and August. Likewise the most diverse other open-air performances of the region are presented, for example the Erfurt summer theatre in the “Bar­füßer­­kirche” church, in the school of music court­yard and in the Micha­elis church courtyard or the Köstritzer glass marquee in Weimar. With all these events, the idyllic beer gardens and ice-cream parlours the cities possess an abundance of experiences for the locals as well as guests from around the world.

Conferences with three cities in-step
A second focal point of joint marketing for the cities is the communication of the conference and congress region “Er­­furt-Weimar-Jena” under the motto “Ta­­gen im 3-Städte-Takt” (conferen­ces with three cities in-step), supplementary to the respective advertising of the individual cities as meeting locations. For the first time in 2003 a joint destination report materialized. Already in 2004 the conference region was introduced by a joint study tour for conference and congress decision-makers, event management agencies and travel operators. A current activity focal point lies in the conception of the regional “congress plan­­ner”, a sales guide that is specially oriented towards the acquisition of congresses for 500 or more participants. The three cities are introduced with their specific conference facilities, for example: the congress centre of the “neue weimarhalle”, the Erfurt trade fair, the Erfurt “Kaisersaal” (hall) and the
St .Augustine’s Evangelical Monastery in Erfurt or the Zeiss Planetarium in Jena. The extraordinary event sites of the re­­gion are also presented in order to pro­­mote att­ractive social programmes.

Even for the realization of the financially intensive trade fair participation, the following is necessary: on the one hand, regrouping in the financial budgets of the three tourist operators in favour of this cooperation project and in in­­­­stances to the expense of independent projects. On the other hand, sensitization of the conference sites and hotels of the re­­spective cities is vital for city-overlapping collaboration. Neither can be taken for granted. The advantages of this bundling of strengths for market presence must constantly be communicated.

 

Unbenannt-2

Erfurt, Weimar and Jena are centrally lo­­­cated in the middle of Germany and offer historic and modern conference centres, an attractive accommodation market as well as a comprehensive se­­lection of incentives and social programmes – ideal for conference and con­­gress hosts as well as event management agencies.

Long-distance cycle trail
„Thuringian city chain”
A workgroup is planning the development of the long-distance cycle trail “Thu­­­­ringian city chain”. This workgroup includes members of the city tourism centre and traffic planners of the seven adjacent and mem­­ber cities Altenburg, Gera, Jena, Weimar, Erfurt, Gotha and Eisenach and local agents of the six adjacent administrative districts. This long-distance cycle trail has been classified in the Germany-wide network plan as part of the D4 Route and will in future be one of the most important East-West connections. On a 225 kilometre stretch it connects seven of the most beautiful cities in Thuringia, well-known landmarks and cultural highlights and it leads through scenically attractive areas. All the cities along this cycle trail are on the German railway route network, enabling the uncomplicated cycling of a section of the trail. In addition, the long-distance cycle trail is connected to numerous other cycling trails, with which the cyclist can reach further at­tractive regions in Thuringia, for example, the Ilm cycle trail in Wei­mar leads to Ilmenau.
The workgroup wants to unify the signpost status on the entire route and further optimize the construction level as well as release professional geographic material in cooperation with publishers. Through the combined efforts of the project groups the coordination of all schemes and plans for the long-distance cycle trail “Thuringia city chain” is promoted.
Joint marketing projects at national and international level should further increase the popularity of this long-distance cycle trail in Central Germany. Last but not least, the quality improvement of the cycling trail is also of use to the residents of the participating cities and regio

Taking stock of success in city tourism
In the medium-term analysis, the balance tilts very favourably towards tourism development of the three cities Er­­furt, Weimar and Jena. From 1998 until 2006, the commercial accommodation could be raised by 36 per cent, while in contrast a mere seven per cent could be achieved for the entire Free State. The significance of tourism in the cities of Erfurt, Weimar and Jena in relation to the state level in consideration of the annual comparison of 1998 to 2006: 71 per cent of the in­­crease of all commercial accommodation in the Free State comes from the three central Thuringian cities.

 

Unbenannt-1

Outlook
The cities of Thuringia offer a central position, an excellent traffic connection, an attractive and diverse accommodation market, excellent regional catering and historical and modern conference centres, first-class cultural events, market places and folk festivals. The tourism organisers of the cities of Erfurt, Weimar and Jena are optimistic that tourism development can be stimulated also in the years to come. Further national current theme campaigns, for example “Bauhaus 2009”, are jointly supported to increase the popularity of the cities. In particular, the permanence of presence at the financially intense public fairs and trade-visitor workshops in important in­­ternational target markets like Swi­t­zer­land, France, the USA or Japan will also in future be promoted by the bundling of instruments and strengths.
The city-overlapping cooperation in the different themes of tourism marketing will complement the activities of individual cities, strengthen combined priorities and overall contribute towards the stabilization of tourism development in this region.

HildebrandtDr. Carmen Hildebrandt is the chair­woman of the “Städtetourismus in Thü­rin­gen eV” association and heads the workgroup for the long-distance cycle trail “Thüringer Städte­kette”, as well as the workgroup “Tagen im 3-Städte-Takt” (meetings with three cities in-step). Sin­­ce 1998, she has been the managing di­­rector of the “Tourismus GmbH Er­­furt” (a tourism company).

Dr. Carmen Hildebrandt: Synergien nutzen – Städteübergreifende Kooperationen im Tourismus

Die Städte Erfurt, Weimar, Jena und Ilmenau haben sich 1994 mit weiteren 15 Thüringer Städten im Verein „Städte­tourismus in Thüringen“ eV zusammen­geschlossen. Gemeinsam wollen Sie den Städtetourismus in Thüringen fördern und auf dem nationalen und internatio­nalen Tourismusmarkt stärker positionieren sowie die Lobbyarbeit für Städte­tourismus in der Landes- und Kommu­nal­­politik aktiv betreiben. Im weltweiten Wettbewerb um Städte- und Kultur­reisende, Tagungs- und Incentive-Kun­den setzen die Städtevertreter auf die Bündelung individueller Stärken. Es gilt, sinnvolle Synergien für erfolgreiche Mar­­ketingaktivitäten zu nutzen, ohne die Eigenständigkeit aufzugeben.

Die Hälfte aller Gäste, die in den Hotels und Pensionen des Freistaates Thürin­gen registriert werden, nächtigt in den Städten. Deutlich höher fällt der Anteil bei den internationalen Gästen aus. 76 Prozent aller nichtdeutschen Übernach­tungs­gäste kommen in die Thüringer Städte. Sie sind es, die auf dem internationalen Markt für Thüringen wahrgenommen werden.

Über die Vereinskooperation hinaus ar­­beiten mehrere Mitgliedsstädte in ihren jeweiligen Regionen oder auch zu be­­stimmten Jahresthemen sehr eng miteinander. Insbesondere zwischen den drei mittelthüringischen Städten Erfurt, Wei­­mar und Jena existieren seit 1999 sehr enge Kooperationen. In jenem Jahr war Weimar Europäische Kultur­haupt­­stadt und bezog in die Durch­führung des Kul­­turstadtjahres die Nachbarstädte sowie den Umlandkreis ein. Die Städte liegen nur jeweils 20 Kilometer voneinander entfernt, entlang der Auto­bahn A4. Ihre Tourismusorganisatoren und Kultur­­verantwortlichen haben sich zusam­men­­geschlossen, um die bereits praktizierten gemeinsamen internationalen Mes­­se­­auf­­tritte durch eine intensi­vere Kooperation in weiteren Facetten des touristischen Marketings aufzuwerten.

domst07-03-hoch

Kultur im Drei-Städte-Takt
So wird seit 1999 jährlich ein gemeinsamer Regionaler Kulturkalender heraus­­gegeben, in dem die überregional be­­deutsamen Kulturveranstaltungen der Städte Erfurt, Weimar und Jena sowie des Landkreises Weimarer Land veröffentlicht werden.

Unter dem Motto „Kultur im Drei-Städte-Takt – Musiksommer“ werden darin spe­­ziell die einzigartigen Sommer-Festivals der drei Städte gemeinsam beworben. Die DomStufenfestspiele Erfurt, das Kunst­­fest Weimar und die Kulturarena Jena prägen als kulturelle Highlights die Monate Juli und August. Ebenso werden die vielfältigsten anderen Open-Air-Auf­­führungen der Region präsentiert, wie etwa das Erfurter Sommertheater in der Barfüßerkirche, im Hof der Musikschule und im Michaeliskirchhof oder das Kös­­tritzer Spiegelzelt in Weimar. Mit all diesen Veranstaltungen, den idyllischen Biergärten und Eiscafes besitzen die Städte im Sommer einen hohen Erleb­niswert sowohl für die Einheimischen als auch für die Gäste aus aller Welt.

Tagen im 3-Städte-Takt
Einen zweiten Schwerpunkt der gemeinsamen Vermarktung der Städte bildet die Kommunizierung der Tagungs- und Kongressregion „Erfurt-Weimar-Jena“ unter dem Motto „Tagen im 3-Städte-Takt“, ergänzend zur Bewerbung der je­­weiligen Einzelstädte als Tagungsstand­orte. Ein erstmals gemeinsamer Desti­nationsreport konnte 2003 realisiert werden. Bereits 2004 führte eine ge­­meinsame Study-Tour Tagungs- und Kon­­gressentscheider, Eventagenturen und Reiseveranstalter in die Tagungsregion. Ein aktueller Arbeitsschwerpunkt liegt in der Konzipierung des regionalen „Kon­gressplaners“, ein Verkaufshandbuch, das speziell auf die Akquise von Kon­gres­­sen mit 500 und mehr Teilnehmern ausgerichtet wird. Die drei Städte werden mit ihren spezifischen Tagungs-Fa­­zi­litä­ten wie dem congresscentrum neue weimarhalle, der Messe Erfurt, dem Kai­­sersaal Erfurt und dem Evangelischen Augustinerkloster zu Erfurt oder dem Zeiss-Planetarium Jena vorgestellt. Eben­­so werden die außergewöhnlichen Ver­an­staltungsstätten der Region präsentiert, um reizvolle Rahmenprogramme anzuregen.

Gerade zur Realisierung der finanzintensiven Messebeteiligungen sind zum einen Umschichtungen in den Finanz­haushalten der drei Tourismusorganisa­tionen zugunsten dieser Kooperations­projekte und unter Umständen zu Las­ten selbstständiger Projekte notwendig. Zum anderen ist die Sensibilisierung der jeweiligen städtischen Tagungsstät­ten und Hotels für diese städteübergrei­fende Zusammenarbeit unerlässlich. Bei­des ist nicht selbstverständlich. Die Vor­­teile dieser Kräftebündelung für den Marktauftritt müssen beständig kom­mu­niziert werden.

Erfurt, Weimar und Jena liegen zentral in der Mitte Deutschlands und bieten historische und moderne Tagungszen­­tren, einen attraktiven Beherbergungs­markt sowie ein umfangreiches Angebot für Incentives und Rahmenprogramme – ideal für Tagungs- und Kongressver­anstalter sowie Eventagenturen.

Unbenannt-2

Radfernweg „Thüringer Städtekette“
Eine Arbeitsgruppe, in der neben den Städte-Touristikern und Verkehrsplanern der sieben Anlieger- und Mitgliedsstädte Altenburg, Gera, Jena, Weimar, Erfurt, Gotha und Eisenach zusätzlich die Ver­treter der sechs anliegenden Land­krei­se vertreten sind, plant die Entwick­lung des Radfernweges „Thüringer Städ­­te­kette“. Dieser Radfernweg wurde in der deutschlandweiten Netzplanung als Teil der D4-Route eingeordnet und wird künftig eine der wichtigsten West-Ost-Verbindungen sein. Auf 225 Kilometern verbindet er sieben der schönsten Thü­ringer Städte, bekannte Sehenswürdig­kei­ten und kulturelle Highlights und führt durch landschaftlich reizvolle Gegenden. Alle Städte entlang des Radfernweges sind an das Streckennetz der Deutschen Bahn angebunden, somit können auch Teilabschnitte unkompliziert befahren werden. Darüber hinaus ist der Radfern­weg an eine Vielzahl von weiteren Fern­radwanderwegen angebunden, auf de­­nen der Radtourist weitere reizvolle Re­­gionen Thüringens erreichen kann; so führt etwa der Ilm-Radweg von Weimar nach Ilmenau.

Die Arbeitsgruppe will den Beschilde­rungsstand auf der gesamten Strecke vereinheitlichen und den Ausbauzustand weiter optimieren sowie professionelles Kartenmaterial in Kooperation mit Ver­lagen herausgeben. Durch die gemeinsame Arbeit in der Projektgruppe wird eine Koordinierung aller Vorhaben und Planungen für den Radfernweg „Thürin­ger Städtekette“ befördert.
Gemeinsame Marketingprojekte auf na­­tionaler und internationaler Ebene sollen die Bekanntheit dieses neuen Rad­fernweges in Mitteldeutschland weiter erhöhen. Nicht zuletzt ist die Qualitäts­verbesserung des Radfern­weges auch für die Bewohner der beteiligten Städ­te und Regionen direkt von Nutzen.

Erfolgsbilanz im Städtetourismus
In der mittelfristigen Analyse fällt die Bilanz für die Tourismusentwicklung der drei Städte Erfurt, Weimar und Jena sehr positiv aus. Von 1998 bis 2006 konnte die Zahl der gewerblichen Übernachtun­gen um 36 Prozent gesteigert werden, für den Freistaat Thüringen insgesamt konnten dagegen lediglich sieben Prozent mehr Übernachtungen erzielt werden. Die Be­­deutung des touristischen Ge­­schehens in den Städten Erfurt, Wei­mar und Jena im Verhältnis zur Landes­ebene wird deutlich unter Berücksich­tigung des Jahresvergleichs 1998 zu 2006: 71 Prozent des Zuwachses aller gewerblichen Übernachtungen im Frei­staat kommen aus den drei mittelthüringischen Städten.

Unbenannt-1

Ausblick
Thüringens Städte bieten eine zentrale Lage, eine ausgezeichnete Verkehrsan­bin­­dung, einen attraktiven und vielfältigen Beherbergungsmarkt, exzellente re­­gionale Gastronomie und historische und moderne Tagungszentren, hoch­­wer­­­tige Kultur­veranstaltungen, Märkte und Volks­­feste. Die Tourismusorganisa­toren der Städte Erfurt, Weimar und Jena sind op­­timistisch, auch in den nächs­ten Jahren die Touris­­mus­­entwick­lung stimulieren zu können. Weitere überregio­nale aktuelle Themen­­kam­pagnen, wie beispielsweise „Bauhaus 2009“, werden gemein­­­sam getragen, um den Bekannt­heitsgrad der Städte zu er­­höhen. Ins­be­­sondere die Verstetigung der Prä­senz auf den fi­­nanz­­intensiven Publi­kums­­­mes­­sen und Fach­­­­besucher-Work­shops in den wichtigen internationalen Ziel­märkten wie Schweiz, Frank­reich, USA oder Japan erfordert auch in Zukunft die Bündelung der Mittel und Kräfte. Die stadt­­­­übergrei­fende Ko­­ope­­ration in den verschie­­denen Themen des touri­­s­­tischen Marke­tings wird die Aktivitä­­ten der Ein­­zelstädte er­­gänzen, gemeinsame Akzente verstärken und ins­­ge­­samt zur Stabilisie­­­rung der Touris­­­­­­mus­ent­wick­­lung in dieser Region beitragen.

HildebrandtDr. Carmen Hildebrandt wirkt als Vorsit­zende des Vereins „Städtetourismus in Thüringen“ eV und leitet die Arbeits­gruppe Radfernweg „Thüringer Städte­kette“ sowie die Arbeitsgruppe „Tagen im 3-Städte-Takt“. Seit 1998 ist Dr. Car­­men Hildebrandt Geschäftsfüh­rerin der Tourismus GmbH Erfurt.