Dr. Benno Kaufhold: Economic region of Erfurter Kreuz – Engine of the Thuringian economy

The economic region of Erfurter Kreuz offers the largest settlement spaces avail­­able in the Free State of Thuringia, and the new company settlements and expansions of recent years have allowed it to develop into a 200-hectare area. With an expansion potential of up to 400 hectares of business and industrial areas, the region is well posi­­tioned. The cities of Arnstadt and Ilmenau represent the two main and complementary centres of development in the region. In Ilmenau, the balanced mix of industries and the only technical university of the Free State of Thuringia generate synergy effects and constitute significant location advan­­tages. Tradi­­tional sectors such as mechanical engineering, the glass industry, measurement and electrical engi­­neering are complemented by companies focusing on new technological fields such as the motor vehicle component indus­­try, sensor technol­­­­­ogy and solar industry. To­­day, the tradi­­­tion-steeped “measurement tech­­no­­­­­logy from the Gera valley”, for ex­­ample, stands for in­­novations in the field of temperature meas­­urement and sensor tech­­­nology. In parti­c­­ular, the new settlement of several high-tech companies in the fields of en­­ergy technology and photo­­voltaics has gener­ated a lot of motion at Erfurter Kreuz in recent years. Reasons for the positive devel­­opment in­­­clude not least the central location and infra­structural advantages. The well devel­­­oped network of federal roads brings the A4, A9, A71 and A73 motorways within quick and easy reach. The nearby Erfurt-Weimar Airport provides optimal con­­­nec­­­tion possibilities to the airports of Berlin, Mu­nich and Frankfurt am Main, high­­­­light­­­­­­ing the central location within Europe. The railway connection to the freight traffic shrinks the distances to industrial centres such as Cologne, Stutt­­­gart, Munich, Ham­­­burg, Berlin, Leipzig and Dresden. Numer­­ous internationally active companies such as Daimler AG, N3 Overhaul Services GmbH, Bosch Solar Energy AG and BorgWarner Trans­mis­­sion Systems GmbH have recognised those advantages and invested in this location.

TU-Ilmenau-06-ari-Kopie

Even in the face of the future shortage of skilled labour, the supply of skilled new recruits in the Technology Region Ilmenau Arnstadt is secured thanks to the nearby Ilmenau University of Tech­­nology.
It trains specialists in technology, natural sciences, economics and the media and cooperates in numerous projects with com­­panies in the region.

TU Ilmenau is innovation centre and driving force for the region. The Ilmenau Uni­­versity of Technology can look back to 110 years of tradition in engineer train­­ing. With approximately 6,400 students and a staff of 1,300, the university is a manage­­­able teaching and research facility, where studies are rapid and research is varied and efficient. Studies in technology, nat­ural sciences, economics and the media are pillars at the University of Technology. The academic education and research are char­­acterised by inter­­disciplinarity, a close practical connection, and an early involvement of the students in current research projects. The close coop­­­eration with a variety of large and medium-sized companies in Germany and abroad as well as the large demand in the industry provide the grad­­­uates with outstanding opportuni­­ties on the labour market. In select fields of expertise as well as fundamental and applied research, the university ranks among the top on a national level and increasingly also on an international level. The interdisciplinary and cross-faculty co­­op­­­eration and ensuing bundling of com­­petencies towards com­­petitive research clusters in nano engin­eering, precision tech­­nology and precision measurement technology, technical and biomedical as­­sist­­ance systems, drive, energy and envi­­­ron­­­mental technologies, digital media tech­no­­logy, and mobile com­­mu­­­nications are particularly characteristic.

TU-Ilmenau-02-ari

Graduates in technical studies enjoy fabulous employment opportunities.

The stated strategic objective of the coop­­er­­ation between university and commer­­cial enterprises is the quick transfer of the results from scientific research to­­­wards eco­­nomic application. Expressions of the partnerships with companies for a durable and sustainable expansion of the range of expertise as well as the con­­­tinuous reinforcement of the university’s scientific pro­­file include endowed profes­­sorships speci­­­­fi­­­cally geared to that purpose. Dedicated to the fields of synthetic material technology, precision measure­­ment technology, photovoltaics and indus­­trial electrical engi­­neering, they relate to economically rele­vant branches of technology. Spin-offs from research facilities are part of innovation and technology trans­­fers and a key means of turning scientific research results into added-value chains. In recent years, approx­­i­­mately 100 technology-oriented companies founded by graduates and staff members have settled around the Ilmenau University of Technology. This has generated several hundred jobs. Those create the potential for additional settlements in re­­search-intensive areas of technology.

Rich cultural and natural spaces. Where economic and scientific potentials de­­ve­­l­­op, there is also a need for excellent li­­ving conditions with a high recreational value. The various museums, churches and cas­­tles of the region offer plenty of opportuni­­ties for adventure and learning about historic personalities of the cultural his­­tory of Germany. They include the work places of the german writer Jo­­hann Wolf­gang von Goethe in Ilmenau and Stützer­bach as well as the composer Jo­­hann Se­­­­bastian Bach in Arn­­stadt and Dorn­­heim. “Mon Plaisir”, the Baroque city of dolls at the New Palace in the district capi­­tal Arn­­stadt is a treas­­ure of art history. Art enthu­­siasts can visit the house of the Thuringian painter Otto Knöpfer in Holz­­hau­sen or one of numerous exhibitions in the Arn­­­­­­stadt art gallery. The country­­side is charac­terised by an extra­­or­­di­nary variety of land­­scape elements, includ­­­ing geo­­lo­gi­­cal pecu­­liar­­ities, exten­­sive forests, rug­­ged and rol­­­­ling mountains, rivers and creeks, mea­­­­dows, fields, and woods, crea­­t­­­ing the con­­­­ditions for a location of particular quality.

 

LR_DrThe author was chief executive of the district of Ilmenau from 1990 to 1994, then CEO of the foundation for the promotion of Thuringian technology and innovation until 1996, and project manager for tech­­no­­­­­logical development in the Thuringian state development agency from 1996 to 2001. From 2001 to 2006, he led the faculty of studies at the Thuringian university of coop­­er­ative education. Since 2006, Dr. Kaufhold has been chief executive of the Ilm district.

Dr. Benno Kaufhold: Wirtschaftsregion Erfurter Kreuz – Motor der Thüringer Wirtschaft

Die Wirtschaftsregion Erfurter Kreuz bietet die größten Ansiedlungsflächen des Frei­­staates Thüringen und hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren durch Neuansied­lungen und Erweiterungen auf rund 200 Hektar Fläche sehr gut entwickelt. Mit einem Erweiterungspotenzial auf bis zu 400 Hektar Gewerbe- und Industrieflä­­chen ist die Region gut aufgestellt. Die Städte Arnstadt und Ilmenau bilden die zwei wich­­tigsten und sich ergänzenden Ent­­­­wicklungsschwerpunkte der Region. Der ausgeglichene Branchenmix und die ein­zige technische Universität des Frei­­staates Thüringen in Ilmenau erzeugen Synergie­effekte und sind wesentliche Stand­­­­­ort­­vorteile. Traditionelle Branchen, wie Ma­­schinenbau, Glasindustrie, Mess- und Elektrotechnik, werden ergänzt durch Unternehmen mit Schwerpunkten in den neuen Technologiefeldern, wie der Auto­mobil­­zuliefererindustrie, Sensorik und der Solarindustrie. Die traditionsreiche „Mess­­technik aus dem Geratal“ steht heute bei­­­spielsweise für Innovationen auf dem Gebiet der Temperaturmesstechnik und Sensorik. Insbesondere die Neuansied­­lung mehrerer Hightech-Unternehmen der Energietechnik und Photovoltaik hat in den letzten Jahren für viel Bewegung am Erfurter Kreuz gesorgt. Fragt man sich nach den Gründen der posi­­tiven Entwicklung, so sind nicht zuletzt die zentrale Lage und die infrastrukturellen Vorteile zu nennen: Das gut ausgebaute Netz der Bundesstraßen gewährleistet eine bequeme und schnelle Erreichbarkeit der Autobahnen A4, A9, A71 und A73. Der nahe gelegene Flughafen Erfurt-Weimar bietet beste Anschlussmöglichkeiten zu den Großflughäfen Berlin, München und Frankfurt/Main und unterstreicht somit die zentrale Lage in Europa. Durch Gleis­­­­­­­­an­­­­­­bindung an den Güterverkehr schwin­­den Entfernungen zu Industriezentren wie Köln, Stuttgart, München, Hamburg, Ber­­lin, Leipzig und Dresden. Viele interna­­tio­­nal tätige Unternehmen wie beispiels­­weise die Daimler AG, N3 Overhaul Ser­­vices GmbH, die Bosch Solar Energy AG oder die BorgWarner Transmission Sys­­tems GmbH haben diese Vorteile erkannt und hier am Standort investiert.

TU-Ilmenau-06-ari-Kopie

Auch wenn in der Zukunft gut qualifizierte Arbeitskräfte rar werden, in der Techno­­lo­­gie Region Ilmenau Arnstadt ist der Nach­­wuchs von hochqualifiziertem Personal durch die nahe gelegene Tech­­­­nische Uni­­­versität Ilmenau gesichert. Sie bildet Spezi­­­­­­alisten in Technik, Natur­wis­­­sen­­­schaften, Wirt­­­schaft und Medien aus und kooperiert in zahlreichen Pro­­jekten mit Unternehmen der Region.

Die TU Ilmenau ist Innovationszentrum und Impulsgeber für die Region. Die Technische Universität Ilmenau steht für eine über 110-jährige Tradition in der Ingenieurausbildung.
Mit etwa 6.400 Stu­­die­­renden und 1.300 Mitarbeitern ist die Universität eine überschaubare Lehr- und Forschungs­einrich­tung, an der zügig studiert und effizient sowie vielfältig ge­­­forscht wird. Technik, Naturwissen­schaf­­ten, Wirt­­schaft und Me­­dien sind die Säulen des Studiums an der Technischen Uni­versität. Charakteristisch für die akade­­mische Lehre und For­schung sind Inter­­dis­­ziplinarität, ein enger Praxis­bezug und die frühe Einbe­­ziehung der Studierenden in aktuelle For­­schungs­pro­jekte. Die enge Kooperation mit einer Viel­­zahl großer und mittelständischer Unter­nehmen in Deutschland und im Ausland sowie die große Nachfrage der Industrie eröffnen den Absolventen hervorragende Chan­­cen auf dem Arbeits­­markt. Die Tech­nische Uni­­ver­­sität Ilmenau be­­setzt auf aus­­­­ge­wählten Kompe­­­tenz­fel­­dern sowohl in der Grundlagen- als auch in der angewandten Forschung nati­­o­nal sowie zu­­nehmend inter­­national Spitzen­­plätze. Be­­son­­­ders prä­­gend sind die inter­­­­­diszip­­linäre und fakultätsübergreifende Zu­­sam­­­­men­­arbeit und die damit einher­ge­­hende Bün­­d­­elung der Kompetenzen zu den wett­­be­werbs­­fähigen Forschungs­clus­­­­­­­tern Nano­­engi­­neering, Präzisions­­­tech­­­­nik und Präzi­­sions­­mess­­technik, Tech­­nische und bio­­medi­zinische Assis­tenz­systeme, An­­triebs-, Ener­­­­gie- und Umwelt­system­­tech­­nik, Digitale Medien­­technologie so­­wie im Bereich der Mobilkommu­nikation.

TU-Ilmenau-02-ari

Absolventen technischer Studiengänge haben glänzende Berufsaussichten.

Erklärtes strategisches Ziel der Koopera­tionen zwischen der Hochschule und den Wirtschaftsunternehmen ist es, die Ergeb­­­­­­nisse der wissenschaftlichen Forschung rasch in die wirtschaftliche Nutzung zu überführen. Ausdruck der Partner­­schaf­­ten zu Unternehmen und für eine dauerhafte und nachhaltige Erweiterung des Kompe­tenzspektrums sowie der stetigen Ver­stär­­­­­kung des wissenschaftlichen Profils der Uni­­­­­­ver­­­sität sind unter anderem die extra hier­­­­­für geschaf­­fenen Stiftungs­profes­­suren. Mit den Beru­­­fungsgebieten Kunststoff­­­tech­­­­­nik, Präzi­­si­­­­ons­­­­­­­mess­­technik, Photo­­voltaik und Indus­­­trie­­­elektronik stehen sie im Kon­­­text zu den wirtschaftsrelevanten Tech­­no­­lo­gie­­­­­­­­­­­fel­­dern. Ausgrün­­­dun­­gen aus For­­schungs­­­­­­­­­­­­ein­­­­­richtungen sind Teil des Innovations- und Technologie­­transfers und ein wesent­­­­­­liches Mittel zur Umsetzung wissen­­­schaft­­­­­licher For­­schung­­ergeb­­nisse in Wert­schöp­­­­­­­­­f­ungs­­­­­­ketten. In den vergangenen zehn Jahren haben sich rund 100 techno­logie­­­­­­­­ori­­en­­tier­­te Unternehmen im Umfeld der TU Ilmenau an­­­­­ge­­siedelt, die von Absol­­venten und Mit­­ar­­bei­­­tern der Universität gegründet wurden. Auf diese Weise wurden einige hundert Arbeitsplätze geschaffen. Diese bilden das Potenzial für weitere Ansied­­lungen in forschungsintensiven Tech­­no­logiebereichen.

Reichhaltige Kultur- und Naturräume. Dort wo sich wirtschaftliche und wissenschaftliche Potenziale entwickeln, bedarf es auch exzellenter Lebensbedingungen mit hohem Freizeitwert. Die Region bietet in den verschiedenen Museen, Kirchen und Burgen zahlreiche Erlebnis­möglich­keiten so­­­wie Wissenswertes über histo­rische Per­­sön­­lichkeiten der deutschen Kul­­­tur­­geschichte. Dazu zählen die Wir­kungs­­stätten von Johann Wolfgang von Goethe in Ilmenau und Stützerbach und von Jo­­hann Sebastian Bach in Arnstadt und Dorn­­­heim. Ein kunsthistorisches Klein­­od ist die barocke Puppenstadt „Mon Plaisir“ im Neuen Palais in der Kreis­­stadt Arn­­­­stadt. Kunstinteressierte können das Otto-Knöpfer-Haus in Holz­­hausen oder eine der zahlreich stattfindenden Aus­stel­­lungen in der Kunsthalle Arnstadt be­­suchen. Eine außergewöhnliche Mannig­faltigkeit an Land­­­schafts­­elementen mit geologischen Besonder­­heiten, ausgedehnten Wäldern, schroffen oder sanft ansteigenden Bergen, Fluss- und Bach­­läufen, Wiesen, Feldern und Ge­­­hölzen prägt die Landschaft und schafft die Rahmenbedingungen für einen Stand­­ort von besonderer Qualität.

 

LR_Dr

Der Autor war von 1990 bis 1994 Landrat des Kreises Ilmenau, anschließend Ge­­schäfts­­führer der Stiftung für Techno­­­­­logie und Innovationsförderung Thüringen und von 1996 bis 2001 Projekt­­leiter für Techno­lo­gie­­entwicklung in der Thüringer Landes­­ent­­­­wicklungs­gesell­­­schaft. Bis 2006 leitete er als Direktor die Staatliche Stu­dien­­akademie der Berufs­­akademie Thüringen. Seit 2006 ist Dr. Kaufhold Landrat des Ilm-Kreises.