Dr. Andreas Wendt: Industrial excellence from manager to youngest apprentice

An automotive manufacturer that only produces premium branded products and then places them on the market against competition, must not only appear credible, but be it. This is only possible if all processes and activ­­ities are geared to­­­wards obtaining the highest standard of quality and if each em­­ployee adopts the same mentality. Starting with re­search and development as well as production through to marketing, sales and after­­sales, the BMW Group thus places considerable emphasis on product and process quality for its vehicles (customer perspective), on profitability (shareholder perspective), on appeal as an employer (employee perspective) and on sustainability (societal perspective).

BMW-Regensburg_Montage_0171
BMW Plant Regensburg – Success factor in eastern Bavaria. The BMW plant in Regensburg makes an import­ant contribution to the success of the entire company, having produced the 1 Series (5-door, 3-door), the 3 Series sedan, the 4 Series convertible and the Z4 as well as the corresponding M models. Around 9,000 employees, including more than 300 apprentices, manufacture over 1,100 vehicles every day, which are then delivered to customers all around the world. In 2013, 295,417 automobiles were produced and more than 5.5 million vehi­cles have rolled off the assembly lines at the plant in eastern Bavaria since production first began in 1986. The company has invested around four billion euros in construction and ongoing expansion of the plant. Thus, BMW settling in Regensburg has been an important driving factor behind the economic upturn for the entire region. Because when the plant was established, many suppliers and service firms also relocated to the surrounding area, which has in turn created nearly 15,000 jobs here. Besides playing an economic role in the region, the plant in Regensburg is also a major socio-political factor. BMW endorses a high quality of living for the people in the whole of eastern Bavaria through its involvement in culture, sport, education, environment and other social commitments.

BMW-Regensburg_1er-3er_Altstadt_2386

Vision for the future serves as a guide­line for executives and employees. To safeguard the competitiveness of the location of Regensburg, not just in an external and internal environment, but also on an international level, the plant pursues a strategic ap­­proach in line with the concept of excellence: the entire plant needs to clearly stand out from the competition. The mentality of all employees, the process and lastly the final products need to be excellent. Thus, the claim is: we inspire customers – as standard. We are becoming the most flexible plant across the production network thanks to our outstanding start-up competency and maximum cost-effectiveness.

This is all summarised in the plant’s “Vision for 2017”, which is again derived from the Number ONE corpor­ate strategy and the functional strategy of the BMW Group production division. Executives and employees at the site have developed this vision and it serves as the guiding principle for all actions. The “Vision” consists of different levels: the employees are the main focus. The why, how and what of the actions undertaken in the plant are also explained. The customers and relevant stakeholders (general public, press, representatives from politics, economy and society, educational institutions etc.) are centred around the site and the vision. Because these are, with their purchase de­cision or attitude towards the location, key parameters for a successful BMW plant.

BMW-Regensburg_Lackiererei_Decklack-frontal

It is crucial that all employees understand these connections to ensure that this claim for excellence can be continuously fulfilled. One prerequisite for this involves the conviction of executives and an intense dialogue between executives and employees. This in turn en­­sures that all of the employees at the site have adopted the same approach and are moving in the same direction.

Working towards business excellence step by step. A holistic mindset and approach in the spirit of corporate responsibility is vital to success. The aim is to ensure that the economic sustainability within the company takes place in accordance with the customers, employees, shareholders and the society. The management team at the plant in Regensburg designs the path towards the future, using the management model of European Foundation for Quality Management (EFQM), and, as a result, it comes down to the enablers and the outcome. On the enablers’ side, there is the performance and role of the management team, the employees, the processes, partners and the strategic approach. In contrast, the outcome side involves establishing measur­able, comparable and comprehensible results for the customers, employees, society and company. In regular improvement cycles in accordance with PDCA (Plan, Do, Check, Act), results should be consistently enhanced in all fields.

P90078731_highRes

The status quo can be made transparent by conducting regular internal and external examinations. Customer perceptions, feedback from society and plant visitors as well as controlling mechanisms of business figures are all assessed. Furthermore, the plant utilises external perceptions from EFQM assessors. By adopting such methods, the plant receives objective and valu­able stimuli regarding strengths and potential. The fact that the plant has made it to the top of the German and European level of excellence in recent past is underscored by receiving numerous awards at the EFQM Awards and the Ludwig Erhard Prize 2013.

Flexible and cost-effective vehicle production according to the customers’ requirements. The key success factors in Regensburg include start-up competency, flexibility and cost efficiency. The plant lays the foundation for faultless products from the very first vehicle by means of outstanding start-up competency, i.e. the ability to inte­­grate new models and their product and process innovations in series production without any special ex­­penses. At the same time, this represents the basis for a wide variety of models with a frequent, cycle-related intro­duction and phasing out of model ranges from the market.

BMW-Regensburg_Karosseriebau_0018

For the plant, flexibility means adapting its production figures to the market requirements and being able to manufacture more (or fewer) vehicles as well as being able to produce many (currently seven with more to come in the future) different types of vehicles on a production line. The high level of flexibility amongst the workers accompanies the flexibility in volumes and models. They constantly require new skills and qualifications, in addition to adapting to working times and shift models requirement. It is this high level of flexibility which gives the site its significant competitive advantage.

Not least, cost efficiency also plays an important role: to begin with, the customer is only willing to pay for added value and thereby performance; secondly, profitability represents the basis for future viability and the growth of both the plant in Regensburg and the entire BMW Group.

The production halls at the plant in Regensburg are arranged along the value stream so that the strategic approaches are applicable in practice. The process chain illustrates vehicle production from steel roller (pressing plant) to delivering the finished vehicle, i.e. handing over the vehicle to the sales unit. The value stream is therefore divided into four areas (technologies) from pressing plant and car body construction to the paint shop to the assembly of the entire vehicle. Production is sup­­ported by planning, quality assurance and above all logistics. This ensures that the parts are available in the right quantity and at the right time at the installation location during assembly. The employees can thus manufacture vehicles of premium quality in series and excite the customers. Ultimately, it is the employees who are responsible for success. This success story cannot be carried forward without a motivated, qualified and competent workforce. That’s why the plant in Regensburg relies on its own next-generation workforce and is one of the largest training enterprises in the region. BMW represents excellence: from the youngest apprentice to manager

 

BMW_WerkleiterDrAndreasWendtWith a PhD in mechanical engineering, Dr. Andreas Wendt joined BMW AG in Munich in 2002. From 2003 to 2006, he was in charge of production of “chassis and drive components” in Landshut, Dingolfing and Berlin. From 2006 to 2009, he was the managing director of BMW Motoren GmbH, Steyr in Austria and has since then managed the BMW plant in Regensburg.

Dr. Andreas Wendt: Industrielle Exzellenz vom Manager bis zum jüngsten Lehrling

Ein Automobilhersteller, der ausschließlich Marken­­pro­dukte der Premiumklasse produziert und im Wett­be­werb vermarktet, muss nicht nur glaubwürdig erscheinen, er muss es sein. Das ist nur möglich, wenn alle Pro­zesse und Aktivitäten auf höchste Qualität ausgerichtet sind und jeder Mitarbeiter dabei mitgenommen wird. Beginnend bei For­­schung und Entwicklung, über die Produktion bis hin zum Marketing, Vertrieb und Aftersales setzt die BMW Group deshalb in höchstem Maße auf Produkt- und Prozessqua­lität bei ihren Fahrzeugen (Kundenperspektive), auf Wirt­schaftlichkeit (Shareholderperspektive), auf Attraktivität als Arbeitgeber (Mitarbeiterperspektive) und auf Nachhal­­tigkeit (Gesellschaftsperspektive).

BMW-Regensburg_Montage_0171
BMW Werk Regensburg – Erfolgsfaktor in Ostbayern.Das BMW Werk Regensburg leistet mit der Produktion der 1er Reihe (5-Türer, 3-Türer), der 3er Limousine, dem 4er Cabrio und dem Z4 sowie den dazugehörigen M-Varianten einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Erfolg des Gesamtunter­­nehmens. Rund 9.000 Mitarbeiter, darunter über 300 Aus­zubildende, stellen jeden Tag über 1.100 Fahrzeuge her, die an Kunden in aller Welt aus­­­geliefert werden. 2013 wurden 295.417 Automobile gebaut, seit dem Produk­tionsstart im Jahr 1986 rollten über 5,5 Millionen Fahr­zeuge im ostbayerischen Werk vom Band. Investiert hat das Unternehmen für den Werksaufbau und kontinuierlichen Ausbau bisher rund vier Milliarden Euro. Damit ist die Ansiedlung von BMW in Regensburg ein wichtiger Treiber für den wirtschaftlichen Auf­schwung der ganzen Region gewesen. Denn im Zuge der Werks­grün­dung haben sich auch zahlreiche Zuliefer- und Dienstleis­tungs­unter­­nehmen im Umfeld niedergelassen und dort ebenso an die 15.000 Arbeitsplätze geschaffen. Neben der wirt­­­schaft­lichen Rolle ist das Werk Regensburg auch ein wich­­tiger gesellschaftspolitischer Faktor der Region. Mit seinem Engagement für Kultur, Sport, Bildung, Umwelt und So­­ziales setzt sich BMW für eine hohe Lebensqualität der Menschen in ganz Ostbayern ein.

BMW-Regensburg_1er-3er_Altstadt_2386

Zukunftsbild als Leitfaden für Führungskräfte und Mitarbeiter. Um die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Standorts Re­­gensburg im internen und externen, gerade aber auch im internationalen Umfeld sichern zu können, ver­­folgt das Werk einen strategischen Ansatz gemäß dem Exzellenzgedanken: Das gesamte Werk soll sich deutlich vom Wettbewerb abheben. Die Einstellung aller Mitar­beiter, die Prozesse und letztlich die fertigen Produkte müssen exzellent sein. Der Anspruch lautet: Wir begeis­­tern Kunden – serienmäßig. Im Produktionsnetzwerk werden wir das flexibelste Werk mit herausragender Anlauf­kom­­petenz und höchster Kosteneffizienz.

Zusammengefasst dargestellt ist dies im „Zukunftsbild 2017“ des Werkes, das wiederum abgeleitet ist von der Unternehmensstrategie Number ONE und der Funktional­strategie des BMW Group Produktionsressorts. Es wurde erarbeitet von Führungskräften und Mitarbeitern am Standort und ist das Leitbild für sämtliches Handeln. Das „Zukunftsbild“ besteht aus verschiedenen Ebenen: Im Mittelpunkt stehen die Mitarbeiter. Zugleich werden das Warum, das Wie und das Was des Handelns im Werk erläutert. Um das Zukunftsbild sind die Kunden und re­­levanten Stakeholder (Öffentlichkeit, Presse, Vertreter aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft, Bildungs­ein­rich­tungen etc.) des Standorts verortet. Denn diese sind mit ihrer Kaufentscheidung bzw. ihrer Einstellung zum Stand­­ort maßgebliche Parameter für den Erfolg des BMW Werkes.

BMW-Regensburg_Lackiererei_Decklack-frontal

Es ist wichtig, dass alle Beschäftigten diese Zusammen­hänge verstehen, damit der Exzellenzanspruch durchgängig erfüllt werden kann. Voraussetzung dafür ist die Über­zeugung der Führungskräfte und ein intensiver Dialog zwi­schen Führungskräften und Mitarbeitern. Damit wird sicher­­gestellt, dass alle Beschäftigten am Standort „mitgenommen“ werden, und alle gemeinsam „an einem Strang ziehen“.

Schritt für Schritt zur Unternehmensexzellenz. Für den Erfolg ist ein ganzheitliches Denken und Handeln im Sinne der unternehmerischen Verantwortung unerlässlich. Ziel ist die wirtschaftliche Nachhaltigkeit des Unternehmens im Einklang mit Kunden, Mitarbeitern, Anteilseignern und der Gesellschaft. Die Führungsmannschaft des Werkes Re­­gensburg gestaltet den Weg in die Zukunft mit Hilfe des Managementmodells der European Foundation for Quality ­Management (EFQM), dabei geht es um Befähiger und Ergebnisse. Auf Befähigerseite stehen Leistung und Rolle der Führungsmannschaft, der Beschäftigten, der Prozesse,­ von Partnern und des strategischen Ansatzes. Demgegen­­über stehen auf Ergebnisseite die messbaren, vergleichbaren und nachvollziehbaren Resultate für Kunden, Mit­­ar­­beiter, Gesellschaft und Unternehmen. In regelmäßigen Verbesserungszyklen nach PDCA (Plan, Do, Check, Act) sollen nachhaltige Ergebnissteigerungen auf allen Feldern erzielt werden.

P90078731_highRes

Regelmäßige interne und externe Überprüfungen machen den Status quo transparent. Gemessen werden Wahr­nehmungen von Kunden, Rückmeldungen aus der Gesell­­schaft und von Werksbesuchern sowie des internen Cont­­rollings von Geschäftszahlen. Überdies nutzt das Werk die Fremdsicht von Assessoren der EFQM. Auf diese Weise erhält das Werk objektive und wertvolle Anregungen für Stärken und Potenziale. Dass sich das Werk in jüngster Ver­­gangenheit bis an die Spitze des deutschen und europä­­ischen Exzellenzniveaus verbessert hat, machen mehrere Preise bei den EFQM-Awards und der Gewinn des Ludwig-Erhard-Preises 2013 deutlich.

Flexible und kosteneffiziente Fahrzeugproduktion nach Kundenwunsch. Wesentliche Erfolgstreiber für den Stand­ort Regensburg sind die Themen Anlaufkompetenz, Flexibilität und Kosteneffizienz. Das Werk legt durch herausragende Anlaufkompetenz, d.h. die Fähigkeit, neue Modelle mit ihren Produkt- und Prozessinnovationen ohne Sonder­aufwände in den Serienprozess zu integrieren, die Grund­­lage für fehlerfreie Produkte bereits ab dem ersten Fahr­­zeug. Dies ist zugleich Basis für eine große Varianten­vielfalt mit zyklusbedingt häufigen Anläufen und Aus­läufen von Modellreihen.

BMW-Regensburg_Karosseriebau_0018

Flexibilität bedeutet für das Werk, seine Produktionszahlen den Marktanforderungen anpassen und mehr (oder weniger) Fahrzeuge bauen zu können, und viele (derzeit sieben und zukünftig noch mehr) unterschiedliche Fahrzeug­­varianten auf einer Produktionslinie fertigen zu können. Mit dieser Volumen- und Variantenflexibilität geht auch eine hohe Flexibilität der Mitarbeiter einher. Sie benötigen laufend neue Kompetenzen und Qualifikationen, zudem wechseln je nach Anforderung Arbeitszeiten und Schicht­­modell. Gerade die hohe Flexibilität ist ein maßgeblicher Wettbewerbsvorteil des Standorts.

Nicht zuletzt spielt auch die Kosteneffizienz eine wichtige Rolle: zum einen ist der Kunde nur bereit, für Wert­schöp­f­ung und damit Leistung zu zahlen, zum anderen ist Profitabilität das Fundament für die Zukunftsfähigkeit und für das Wachstum des Werkes Regensburg sowie der gesamten BMW Group.

Damit diese strategischen Ansätze in der Praxis angewendet werden können, sind die Produktionshallen im Werk Regensburg entlang des Wertstroms angeordnet. Die Prozesskette stellt die Produktion eines Fahrzeuges von der Stahlrolle (Presswerk) bis zur Auslieferung des fertigen Fahrzeugs, d.h. der Fahrzeugübergabe an den Vertrieb, dar. Der Wertstrom ist dabei in vier Bereiche (Technologien) gegliedert, vom Presswerk über Karos­seriebau und Lackiererei bis zur Montage des Gesamt­fahrzeuges. Unterstützt wird die Produktion von der Pla­nung, der Qualitätssicherung und vor allem der Logistik. Sie sorgt dafür, dass die Teile zum richtigen Zeitpunkt in der richtigen Menge am Verbauort in der Montage bereit­­liegen. So können die Mitarbeiter serienmäßig Fahr­­zeuge in Premium-Qualität bauen und die Kunden begeistern. Denn letztlich sind die Mitarbeiter für den Erfolg verantwort­­lich. Ohne motivierte, qualifizierte und kompetente Be­schäf­­tigte kann diese Erfolgsgeschichte nicht fortgeschrie­­ben werden. Daher baut das Werk Regensburg auch auf den eigenen Nachwuchs und ist einer der größten Aus­­bildungs­­betriebe der Region. BMW setzt eben auf Exzellenz: vom jüngsten Lehrling bis zum Manager!

BMW_WerkleiterDrAndreasWendtDer promovierte Maschinenbauer trat 2002 in die BMW AG, München ein. Von 2003 bis 2006 leitete er die Produktion der „Fahrwerks- und Antriebskomponenten“ in Landshut, Dingolfing und Berlin. Dr. Andreas Wendt war von 2006 bis 2009 Geschäftsführer der BMW Motoren GmbH, Steyr in Österreich und leitet seither das BMW Werk Regensburg.