Dr. Ali Mabrouk: ICT in Tunisia – Attractive for investments

With its special geographic location near Europe, the Republic of Tunisia holds a strategically favourable position. Tunisia is one of the countries with the highest potential for the outsourcing of IT services in North Africa. This is es­­­pe­­­­cially due to the following advantages:
• Trade agreements with Europe
• Low wage levels
• Wide-spread knowledge of foreign lang­uages
• High quality of education in natural sciences and in the IT field
• Political support for local IT service providers and IT learning centres

The information and communications technology sector (ICT) is a dynamic eco­­­nomic field with a high priority and the fastest growth rates. Between 2007 and 2011, the industry has experienced a growth of 17.5 per cent and contributes significantly to the gross domestic product.

grafik1

Moreover, Tunisia was one of the first na­­­tions in Africa and the Middle East to define and implement an ICT strategy. The country’s focus has been placed on information technology, software for in­­­dus­­trial technologies, services and the multimedia field. This strategy comprised, among other things, the development of human resources and a reform of the regulatory and institutional conditions.

Human capital:

•­­ 600 software companies

•­­ 300 IT system integrators

•­­ 400 retailers

•­­ 11 Internet service providers

Employees:

•­­ 10,000 in software companies

•­­ 17,000 in call centres

•­­ 2,000 in ICT hardware sales

•­­ 5,000 in installation (SW+HW) and maintenance

•­­ 7,000 in telecommunication operators

On a global level, Tunisia ranks seventh in the quality of higher education, ninth in availability of scientists and engineers and fifth in the efficiency of the manage­­ment of public spending. Thanks to its economic successes, Tunisia received the following investment grade rankings: BBB (Standard & Poor’s), Baa2 (Moody’s), BBB+ (Fitch-IBCA) and A- (R&I).

The Tunisian state guarantees the educa­­tion of all children and has made remarkable progress with regard to the educa­­tion standard. Nearly seven per cent of the budget is used for education. There are 192 higher education institutions and one virtual university. In 2010, the num­­ber of students increased by a factor of eight to 370,000, of which 58 per cent were female. All of the higher education institutions are equipped with Internet and PCs, and more than 50,000 students are enrolled in ICT degree programmes – this corresponds to approximately 14 per cent of all students. About 10,000 students graduate annually from an ICT de­­gree programme. This means that the Tunisian job market is characterised by a high availability of ICT experts.

The budget for research was 1.25 per cent of the GDP. School education is man­­datory and free of charge up to the age of 16 years. The school enrolment rate for six-year-old children exceeds 99 per cent. The basic education in schools takes nine years.

Economic competitiveness. In the 2009/­­2010 ranking of the World Economic Fo­­­rum, Tunisia was No. 40 with regard to the global ability to compete, thus rank­­ing higher than many industrialised coun­­tries. In Africa, Tunisia ranks first, even before South Af­­­rica, Mauritius, Egypt and Morocco.

This ranking is based on 12 qualitative and quantitative criteria: institutional fra­­­me­­­­work (legislative and administrative context), macroeconomic stability, in­­­fra­­­­­structure, health and primary education, innovation and market efficiency (finan­­cial sector, job market and goods), tech­­­nolo­­gical capacity, size of the market, complexity of the economy and the higher education, further education. Fur­­­ther­­­more, Tunisia benefits from com­pe­­titive wages and salaries of its labour force.

In 2011, Tunisia was No. 23 (of 50) in the AT Kearney Global Services Location Index (GSLI). This key figure indicates the ap­­­peal of countries to the offshore industry. The index is comprised of three categories and eleven subcategories which, in turn, are measured by several indicators. The main categories are:

•­­ Financial appeal of the country (for ex­­­ample, average wages, electricity prices and taxes)

•­­ Qualification and availability of personnel

•­­ Economic environment (for example, in­frastructure, IT service quality, cultural and institutional framework conditions).

grafik2

Knowledge-based society. Well aware of the crucial factors for economic and social development – namely knowledge and technology – the country continuously increases its investment in the sec­­tor of knowledge and ensures the adaptation of the education system and the area of further education. The objective is to ensure the necessary qualifications for the world of employment. Because early on, there was an awareness of the im­­port­ance of the certification of companies and qualifications in order to guarantee a high quality of services and products as well as a consistent improvement, Tunisia started participating in the ISO certification programme a long time ago.

Certain programmes of corporate certification were also established. This in­­­cludes CMMI, ITIL and CISA, for example. As a result, the first CMMI Level 5-certified enterprise in Africa is in Tunisia. An ambitious programme for the certification of qualifications has also been set up. It aimed at enabling 70,000 gra­­d­uates to obtain certifications in information technology and telecommunications (CISCO, Microsoft, ITIL, LTI, Oracle, etc.). To encourage enterprises to partici­pate in the certification processes, the appropriate incentives were created. 50 to 70 per cent of the cost incurred for the certification was covered.

Infrastructure. For a long time, Tunisia has placed great importance to its telecommunications infrastructure, which is the most modern in the Mediterranean region and Africa. As a result, the telecommunication network covers the whole country, and it is the only network in North Africa that is connected to all neigh­­bouring countries. Consequently, good telephone and Internet connections as well as multimedia transmission are en­­sured. Between 2001 and the end of 2009, the bandwidth was increased from 72 Mbit/s to 27.5 Gbit/s. Moreover, Tunisia has the highest density of telephones and num­­ber of PCs in North Africa.

To promote the founding and development of companies with a high innovation potential, Tunisia started an ambitious programme for the development of ten technology parks. This program­­me includes three parks that have specialised in ICT.

In addition, Tunisia also has a modern real estate portfolio at particularly com­­­petitive prices. This also includes real estate which, thanks to its equipment, allows com­­panies to provide activities and services primarily related to or fo­­cussing on ICT (such as call centres, BPO).

grafik3

The Network Readiness Index describes the IT-related state of development of a country. Especially after the Tunisian Revolution two years ago, which was aided by the Internet, new opportunities can arise for the ICT market, provided that the political situation remains stable.

Prospect. Today, we have witnessed fun­­­damental changes in Tunisia. The Tuni­­sian people have ushered in a new era in their country with the democratic revo­­lution. The atmosphere is positive and a spirit of optimism is clearly noticeable. The people, employers and employees are proud and motivated to build their own Tunisia, not directed by others.

German businesses can take advantage of the opportunities arising from this chan­­ge. It can be expected that Tunisian enter­­prises are more willing to invest. Now it is essential for the German and the Tuni­­­sian economy that the new opportunities are made use of and that they are implemented with commitment in a cooperative manner.

 

Mabrouk-KopieThe author studied Electrical and In­­­­for­­mation Technology Engineering in Stutt­­gart and obtained an MBA from Grande Ecole de Commerce ESSEC Paris and Mannheim Business School. Mabrouk is director of research at the private Swiss “Monarch University of Graduate Studies in Management” and teaches Manage­­ment and Strategy.

Dr. Ali Mabrouk: IuK in Tunesien – Attraktiv für Investitionen

Die Republik Tunesien hat mit ihrer besonderen geografischen Lage nah an Europa eine strategisch günstige Po­­sition inne. Tunesien gehört zu den Ländern mit den höchsten Poten­zialen für das Outsourcing von IT-­Dien­st­­leis­tungen in Nordafrika. Dies lässt sich ins­besondere auf die folgenden Vorteile zurückführen:

•­­ Handelsvereinbarungen mit Europa

•­­ Niedriges Lohn- und Gehaltsniveau

•­­ Verbreitung von Fremdsprachen­kennt­nissen

•­­ Hohe Bildungsqualität in Naturwissen­schaften und im IT-Bereich

•­­ Politische Unterstützung lokaler IT-Dienst­leister und -Bildungszentren

Der Informations- und Telekommuni­ka­tions-Sektor (IuK) ist ein dynamisches Wirtschaftsfeld mit einer hohen Prio­ri­tät und mit den größten Wachstums­ra­ten. Zwischen 2007 und 2011 hat die Branche einen Zuwachs von 17,5 Prozent verzeichnet. Sie trägt nachhaltig zum Bruttoinlandsprodukt bei.

grafik1

Zudem war Tunesien einer der ersten Staaten in Afrika und im Mittleren Osten, die eine IuK-Strategie definiert und auf­­­gesetzt haben. Dabei hat das Land den Fokus auf die Informationstechnologie, Software für Industrietechnologien, Dien­st­­­­­leistungen und Multimedia gelegt. Diese Strategie beinhaltete unter anderem die Entwicklung der Human Ressources, eine Reform der regulatorischen und institu­­tionellen Gegebenheiten.

Anbieter:
•­­ 600 Softwareunternehmen
•­­ 300 IT Systemintegratoren
•­­ 400 Retailer
•­­ 11 Internet-Service-Providers

Beschäftigte:
•­­ 10 000 in Softwareunternehmen
•­­ 17 000 in Call-Zentren
•­­ 2 000 im IuK Hardware-Vertrieb
•­­ 5 000 in Installation und Wartung
•­­ 7 000 in Telecommunication Operators

Tunesien ist weltweit auf dem siebten Rang bei der Qualität der Hochschulaus­bildung und auf dem neunten Rang bei der Verfügbarkeit von Wissenschaft­lern und Ingenieuren sowie auf dem fünften Rang bei der Effizienz des Manage­ments von öffentlichen Ausgaben. Dank seines ökonomischen Erfolgs bekam Tu­­­nesien folgende Investitions-Einor­dnun­gen: BBB (Standard & Poor), Baa2 (Moody), BBB+ (Fitch-IBCA) und A- (R&I).

Der tunesische Staat garantiert die Bil­­­dung aller Kinder und hat in Bezug auf den Bildungsstandard bemerkenswerte Fort­­schritte gemacht. Fast sieben Prozent des Haushalts werden für Bildung verwen­det. Es gibt 192 höhere Bildungs­ins­­ti­tu­tionen und eine virtuelle Universität. Die Anzahl an Studenten hat sich auf 370.000 Studenten im Jahr 2010 verachtfacht, da­­von waren 58 Prozent weiblich. Die höheren Bildungsinstitutionen sind alle mit In­­­­ter­net und PCs ausgestattet und mehr als 50.000 Studenten sind in IuK-Studien­gängen eingeschrieben, was circa 14 Pro­­­zent aller Studenten ausmacht. Pro Jahr machen rund 10.000 Studenten ihren Ab­­schluss in IuK-Studiengängen. Damit zeich­­net sich der tunesische Arbeitsmarkt durch eine hohe Verfügbarkeit von IuK-Fach- und Spitzenkräften aus.

Das Budget für Forschung lag bei 1,25 Prozent des BIP. Bis zu einem Alter von 16 Jahren ist die Schulbildung verpflichtend und kostenlos. Die Einschulungs­rate liegt bei mehr als 99 Prozent für sechs­jährige Kinder. Die schulische Grundaus­­bildung dauert dabei neun Jahre.

Ökonomische Wettbewerbsfähigkeit. Im Ranking des World Economic Forum von 2009/2010 ist Tunesien auf Platz 40 be­­zogen auf die globale Wettbewerbs­fähig­­keit und liegt damit vor zahlreichen in­­­dustrialisierten Staaten. In Afrika rang­­iert Tunesien an erster Stelle, noch vor Süd­­afrika, Mauritius, Ägypten und Marokko.
Dieses Ranking basiert auf 12 qualitativen und quantitativen Kriterien: institutionelle Rahmenbedingungen (legislativer und ad­­ministrativer Kontext), makroökonomische Stabilität, Infrastruktur, Gesundheit und Grundschulbildung, Innovation und Markt­­effizienz (Finanzwesen, Arbeitsmarkt und Güter), technologische Kapazität, Größe des Marktes, Komplexität der Wirtschaft und der höheren Bildung, Aus- und Wei­­­terbildung. Daneben profitiert Tunesien von wettbewerbsfähigen Löhnen und Ge­­häl­­tern seiner Arbeitskräfte.

Tunesien lag beim AT Kearney Global Services Location Index (GSLI) 2011 auf Platz 23 (von 50). Diese Kennzahl misst die Attraktivität von Ländern für die Off­­­shore-Industrie. Dieser Index setzt sich aus drei Kategorien und elf Sub­kate­­go­rien zusammen, die wiederum durch mehr­ere Indikatoren gemessen werden. Die Hauptkategorien gliedern sich in:

•­­ Finanzielle Attraktivität des Landes (zum Beispiel Durchschnittsgehälter, Strompreise und Steuern)

•­­ Qualifikation und Verfügbarkeit von Personal und

•­­ Wirtschaftliches Umfeld (zum Beispiel Infrastruktur, IT-Service-Qualität, kulturelle und institutionelle Rahmenbedingungen).

grafik2

Wissensgesellschaft. Der für die öko­no­­­­­­­mische und soziale Entwicklung ent­­schei­­­­­denden Faktoren – Wissen und Techno­lo­gie – gewahr, baut das Land fortlaufend die Investition in die Wissens­landschaft aus und sichert die Anpas­sung des Bil­­dungssystems und den Bereich der Aus- und Weiterbildung. Ziel ist die Sicher­­stel­lung der nötigen Qualifikationen für die Arbeitswelt. Da man sich schon früh be­­wusst war, dass die Zertifizierung von Unternehmen und Qualifikationen wichtig ist, um eine hohe Dienstleistungs- und Produktqualität sowie konstante Ver­­bes­­serung zu garantieren, nahm Tunesien schon früh am Programm der ISO-Zerti­­­­fizierung teil.

Auch wurden bestimmte Programme der Unternehmenszertifizierung eingerichtet. Dazu zählen zum Beispiel CMMI, ITIL und CISA. Daher hat Tunesien das erste CMMI 5 Level zertifizierte Unternehmen in Afrika. Ein ambitioniertes Programm der Zertifizierung von Qualifikationen wurde ebenfalls eingerichtet. Es zielte darauf ab, 70.000 Absolventen zur Zerti­­fizierung in Informationstechnologie und Telekommunikation zu befähigen (CISCO, Microsoft, ITIL, LTI, Oracle, etc.). Um die Unternehmen zu ermutigen, sich an den Prozessen der Zertifizierung zu beteiligen, wurden entsprechende Anreize geschaffen. 50 bis 70 Prozent der Kosten wurden für die Zertifizierung übernommen.

Infrastruktur. Tunesien hat lange Zeit auf seine Telekommunikations­infra­struk­tur viel Wert gelegt, welche die modernste im Mittelmeerraum und Afrika darstellt. Daher bedeckt das Telekommunikationsnetz das ganze Land und ist als einziges in Nord­­­­afrika mit allen Nachbarstaaten verbun­den. Damit sind gute Telefon- und Inter­­netverbindungen sowie Multimedia­über­­tra­­gung garantiert. Die Bandbreite wurde zwischen 2001 und Ende 2009 von 72 Mbit/s auf 27,5 Gbit/s erhöht. Tunesien hat zudem die höchste Telefondichte und Anzahl von PCs in Nordafrika.

Um die Gründung und die Entwicklung von Unternehmen mit starkem Inno­va­­tio­ns­­­­­­potenzial zu fördern, startete Tu­­ne­­sien ein ambitioniertes Programm für die Ent­­­­wick­­­­lung von zehn Technologie-Parks. Dieses Programm schließt drei Parks ein, die sich auf IuK spezialisiert haben. Da­­neben hat Tunesien auch einen modernen Immo­­bilien­­bestand zu besonders wettbewerbsfähigen Preisen: Immobilien, deren Ausstattung es Unternehmen ermöglicht, Aktivitäten und Dienstleistungen, die im Schwerpunkt mit IuK zu tun haben, zu beherbergen (zum Beispiel Call Center, BPO).

grafik3

Beim Network Readiness Index lag Tu­­nesien im Jahr 2011 auf Platz 35 von 138 Ländern und im Jahr 2012 auf Platz 50 (von 142 Ländern). Der Network Read­iness Index beschreibt den informa­­tionstechnologischen Entwicklungs­stand eines Landes. Insbesondere nach der Jasminrevolution vor zwei Jahren, die durch das Internet gestützt wurde, können sich neue Chancen für den IuK-Markt ergeben, sofern die politische Lage stabil bleibt.

Ausblick. In der Gegenwart sind wir Zeu­gen tiefgreifender Veränderungen in Tu­­nesien geworden. Das tunesische Volk hat mit der demokratischen Revolution in Tunesien ein neues Zeitalter eingeschla­gen. Die Stimmung ist positiv und eine optimistische Aufbruchsstimmung ist klar zu spüren. Die Bevölkerung, Arbeit­geber und Arbeitnehmer sind stolz und motiviert, ihr eigenes, nicht-fremdbe­­stimm­­tes Tunesien aufzubauen.

Deutsche Unternehmer können die Chan­cen nutzen, die sich aus diesem Wandel ergeben. Zu rechnen ist mit einer erhöh­­ten Investitionsbereitschaft von tunesi­schen Unternehmen. Heute gilt es für die deutsche und die tunesische Wirtschaft, die sich bietenden Möglichkeiten wahrzunehmen und partnerschaftlich enga­giert umzusetzen.

 

Mabrouk-KopieThe author studied Electrical and In­­­­for­­mation Technology Engineering in Stutt­­gart and obtained an MBA from Grande Ecole de Commerce ESSEC Paris and Mannheim Business School. Mabrouk is director of research at the private Swiss “Monarch University of Graduate Studies in Management” and teaches Manage­­ment and Strategy.