Dr. Alexander Wrabetz: The film industry – economic factor and differentiating feature

Around 100 million euros for Austrian productions, eight million euros for Aus­­trian film, around 20 Austrian TV and film productions as well as 100 domestic series and sequel episodes every year on ORF: these figures alone show how seriously ORF as a public broadcaster takes its social role as the largest domestic film producer and employer in the film industry. With this, we provide a clear state­­ment to strengthen Austria as a film location every year. And with success: international prizes for works co-financed by ORF, such as an Oscar for Stefan Ruzowitzky’s “The Counterfeiters” and the Palme D’Or at Cannes for Michael Haneke’s “The White Ribbon” emphasise the quality of Austrian filmmaking.

In terms of size, Austria’s film industry is comparable with that of Denmark, for example – however with one key difference: while the Danes produce films only for their own native lang­­uage area, Austrian produc­tion is part of the larger German language area. The domestic production industry is therefore subject to the same competitive environment as the German one, but without the refinancing options available to our neighbours. While we are producing for eight million Aus­trians, the Germans are producing for 82 million PLUS the eight million Aus­­trians, for the same money per minute of film. We there­­­fore have all the disadvantages of a large market, but are unable to make use of its advantages. Each year, the advertising windows of competing German broadcasters drain 350 million euros from Aus­­tria, without offering specific programming services for Austria.


WN_DiegrosseChance_01-Kopie

Given this starting position, we are com­­mitted to genuine Austrian quality: this distinguishes us from the competition and generates sustainable public appeal – as our self-produced ORF cult crime series “Schell ermittelt” documents.

As a social broadcaster, we communicate Austria, which also helps to differentiate us from competing domestic broadcasters. Our aim is to tell stories with characters which could only take place this way in Aus­­tria. The Austrian identity is based on the culture, history, language, landscape – and even the weather, as for example in Alpine dramas. We make pro­­grammes for our audience, for people we respect. As a public broadcaster, we have a duty to all of Austria, and invest in the media quality of the future with every single production.
Needless to say, the commitment we display in films and series is also a contribution to maintaining and promoting Aus­tria as a business location. Our successful series “Der Winzerkönig” with Harald Krassnitzer is representative of this economic stimulation. During filming, investment was made over many months in the infrastructure of the Rust am Neu­­­siedlersee region: transport, catering, acco­m­­modation (for a large film production team over a long time), logistics, advice in questions regarding wine, search­ing for motifs – all this provides immediate invigoration for the region’s economy. The added value provided by the increased familiarity of the Eastern Austrian region abroad is one of the lasting effects of the series production by ORF.


orf_MGK2011_20110714105348-Kopie

As this example shows, ORF, as an integral part of the national economy and as a pro­­ducer, cultural provider and employer far beyond its purely journalistic function, always attempts to strengthen the business location and thus to provide some of the services which society rightly de­­mands of it: not only as a programming provider to reflect Austrian authenticity and support identity through the films and series it produces, but also to provide added value in terms of commitment to society as part of the corresponding structures. Thus ORF is the largest em­­ployer in the domestic creative and film industry. It thus creates and maintains thousands of jobs and is inseparably linked to the domestic economy and to Austria as a media location.

wrabetz1_2011_ok-KopieThe author (born in 1960) has a doctorate in law. Functions at companies including Girozentrale and Bank der Österreichischen Sparkassen were followed by positions at Österreichische Industrieholding AG (ÖIAG), voestalpine and the Vamed Group. In 1998, Dr. Wrabetz was appointed commercial director of ORF, and has been ORF general director since 2007. He was confirmed in office in 2011.

Dr. Alexander Wrabetz: Filmindustrie – Wirtschaftsfaktor und Differenzierungsmerkmal

Rund 100 Millionen Euro für österreichische Produktionen, acht Millionen Euro für den österreichischen Kinofilm, rund 20 öster­­reichische TV- und Kinofilmproduktionen sowie 100 heimische Serien- und Reihen­­­episoden jährlich im ORF: Allein diese Zahlen beweisen, wie ernst der ORF als Public Broadcaster seine gesellschaftliche Aufgabe als größter heimischer Film­­produzent und Arbeitgeber in der Film­in­dustrie nimmt. Wir liefern damit jedes Jahr ein klares Statement für die Stärkung des Filmstandorts Österreich ab. Mit Erfolg: Internationale Aus­zeich­nungen für vom ORF kofinanzierte Werke wie ein Oscar für Stefan Ruzowitzkys „Die Fälscher“ und die Goldene Palme von Cannes für Michael Hanekes „Das weiße Band“ unterstreichen die Wertigkeit des österreichischen Filmschaffens.

Österreichs Filmindustrie ist größenmäßig etwa mit jener aus Dänemark zu vergleichen – mit einem wesentlichen Unter­­schied: Produzieren die Dänen für einen autochtonen Sprachraum, ist die österreichische Produktion im größeren deutschen eingebettet. Die heimische Pro­duk­tions­wirtschaft ist also der gleichen Kompetitivität wie die deutsche ausgesetzt, allerdings ohne die Refinanz­ierungs­möglichkeiten unseres Nachbarn. Pro­du­­zieren wir für das gleiche Geld pro Filmminute für acht Millionen Öster­reicher, produzieren die Deutschen für 82 Milli­onen UND die acht Millionen Österreicher. Wir haben also alle Nachteile des großen Marktes, können aber dessen Vorteile nicht nutzen. Jedes Jahr ziehen die Werbe­­fenster der deutschen Konkurrenz­sender 350 Millionen Euro aus Österreich ab, ohne spezifische Programmleistungen für Österreich anzubieten.


WN_DiegrosseChance_01-Kopie

Angesichts dieser Ausgangslage setzen wir auf genuin österreichische Qualität: Das macht uns unverwechselbar gegen­­über der Konkurrenz, das generiert nach­­haltigen Publikumszuspruch – wie etwa die eigenproduzierte ORF-Kultkrimiserie „Schell ermittelt“ beweist.

Als Rundfunk der Gesellschaft vermitteln wir Österreich und unterscheiden uns dadurch auch von den heimischen Kom­­merz­sendern. Unser Ziel ist es, Geschich­­ten mit Figuren zu erzählen, die auf diese Art und Weise nur in Österreich stattfinden können. Die österreichische Iden­­tität hängt zu­­sammen mit der Kultur, der Geschichte, mit der Sprache, mit der Topografie – ja sogar mit dem Wetter, zum Beispiel bei alpinen Dramen. Wir machen Pro­gramm für unser Publikum, für Menschen, die wir respektieren. Als öffentlich-rechtlicher Sender sind wir der Gesamtheit Öster­­reichs verpflichtet und investieren mit jeder einzelnen Produktion in die Medien­­qualität der Zukunft.
Selbstverständlich ist unser Engagement bei Film und Serie auch eine Leistung zum Erhalt und zur Förderung des Wirt­­schaftsstandorts Österreich. Unsere Er­­folg­­­serie „Der Winzerkönig“ mit Harald Krassnitzer steht hier pars pro toto für die wirtschaftliche Belebung: Während der Dreharbeiten wurde monatelang in die Infrastruktur der Region Rust am Neusiedlersee investiert: Transport, Ver­­pflegung, Unterkunft (und das für ein großes Filmteam über einen längeren Zeit­­raum hinweg), Logistik, die Beratung in önologischen Fragen, Motivsuche – all das belebt die Wirtschaft der Region unmittelbar. Der Mehrwert der gesteigerten Bekanntheit der ostösterreichischen Region über die Landesgrenzen hinaus ist einer der nachhaltigen Effekte der Serien­­produktion des ORF.


orf_MGK2011_20110714105348-Kopie

Wie dieses eine Beispiel zeigt, hat der ORF als Teil der nationalen Ökonomie als Produzent, Kulturveranstalter und Auf­­trag­­geber über seine rein publizistische Funktion hinaus immer versucht, den Wirtschaftsstandort zu stärken und somit einen Teil der Leistungen zurückzugeben, die die Gesellschaft zu Recht vom ihm ein­­fordert: nicht nur als Programman­bieter mit den produzierten Filmen und Serien österreichische Authentizität ab­­zu­­bilden und Identität zu stiften, sondern auch als Teil des Gefüges Mehrwert im Sinne eines Engagements für die Allgemeinheit zu liefern. So ist der ORF der größte Auftraggeber der heimischen Kreativ- und Filmindustrie. Er schafft und erhält somit Tausende von Arbeits­plätzen und ist untrennbar mit der heimischen Wirtschaft und dem Medien­stand­ort Österreich verbunden.

wrabetz1_2011_ok-KopieDer 1960 geborene Autor promovierte in Rechtswissenschaften. Auf Tätigkeiten unter anderem bei der Girozentrale und Bank der Österreichischen Sparkassen folgten Positionen bei der Österreichischen Industrieholding AG (ÖIAG), voestalpine sowie der Vamed Gruppe. 1998 wurde Dr. Wrabetz zum kaufmännischen Direktor des ORF bestellt, seit 2007 ist er ORF-Generaldirektor. In dieser Funktion wurde er 2011 bestätigt.