Djaida Marianne Henry-Perret: Entertainment with a historical backdrop

Battlefield-Band-2010

The Jagdhof (hunting lodge) was constructed under Landgrave Ernest Louis between 1709 and 1725 with the purpose of accommodating the par force hunting dogs, beaters and huntsmen. The vaulted basement (Keller), more than six metres high, served as cold storage for the game. Nowadays, the Jagdhofkeller is considered to be a hidden gem in the heart of Bessungen and a flagship for numerous music events.
Traditional jazz is at home here on a par with many other contemporary music styles. The “Keller” is a meeting point for fans of French chanson, Celtic folk, and more. But the programme also includes Irish rock, such as Kieran Halpin, gospel, and jazz, such as the Barrelhouse Jazzband. Live performances from the stand-up comedy scene, such as the NightWashClub of Cologne, are particularly popular. Cabaret artists such as Johannes Flöck and Ulrike Mannel have the audience in fits of laughter as well.

During the summer months, open air concerts are held at the Jagdhof, organized in cooperation with the Jazzinstitut Darmstadt. Whether for Crémant receptions, concerts, cabaret or open air events, the Jagdhof and its Keller offer visitors an exceptional ambience.

Marianne-mit-RomeoDjaida Marianne Henry-Perret was born in Algiers, Algeria, in 1961. In 1962, she fled with her mother and brother to the French Basque region. In 1972, her family moved to the famous working-class and artists’ quarter “Belleville” in Paris. In 1978, she went to the “Ecole boule” school, and in 1983, she obtained a degree in interior architecture. For the next eleven years, she worked in Paris, London, and Tokyo. In 1994, she came to Hesse to work as a visual merchandiser. From 1997 to 2000, she was a restaurateur in Togo (West Africa), after which she returned to Darmstadt. Here, she opened “La Java,” her first restaurant. Together with Klaus Rohmig, she has been operating the Bessungen “Jagdhofkeller” as well as the related French restaurant “Belleville” since 2006.

Djaida Marianne Henry-Perret: Unterhaltung in historischer Kulisse

Battlefield-Band-2010

Der Jagdhof wurde in den Jahren 1709 bis 1725 unter Landgraf Ernst Ludwig erbaut, um die für die Parforcejagd benötigte Hundemeute samt Treibern und Jägern unter­zubringen. Der darunter liegende Gewölbekeller mit über sechs Meter hohen Decken diente als kühles Vorrats­lager für das erlegte Wild. Heute gilt der Jagdhofkeller als verstecktes Juwel im Herzen Bessungens und als ein Aushängeschild für viele Musikveranstaltungen.
Der traditionelle Jazz ist hier genauso zu Hause wie viele andere zeitgenössische Stilrichtungen der Musik. Der Keller ist ein Treffpunkt unter anderem für Freunde des französischen Chansons und des Celtic Folk. Aber auch irischer Rock, zum Beispiel von Kieran Halpin, oder Gospel- und Jazzklänge, wie von der Barrelhouse Jazzband, gehören zum Programm. Besonders beliebt sind die Liveauftritte aus der Stand-up-Comedy-Szene, wie dem NightWashClub aus Köln. Auch Kabarettisten wie Johannes Flöck oder Ulrike Mannel bringen die Zuschauer zum Lachen.

In den Sommermonaten finden im Jagdhof Open-Air-Konzerte statt, die gemeinsam mit dem Jazzinstitut ver­­anstaltet werden. Ob Crémant-Empfänge, Konzerte, Kabarett oder sonstige Freiluftevents, der Jagdhof mit seinem Keller bietet den Besuchern ein außergewöhnliches Ambiente.

Marianne-mit-RomeoDjaida Marianne Henry-Perret wurde 1961 in Algier, Algerien, geboren. 1962 floh sie mit ihrer Mutter und ihrem Bruder ins franzö­sische Baskenland. 1972 zog die Familie nach Paris in das berühmte Arbeiter- und Künstlerviertel „Belleville“. 1978 folgte ein Studium an der „Ecole boule“ und 1983 erhielt sie das Diplom zur Innenarchitektin. Danach folgten elf Jahre berufliche Tätigkeiten in Paris, London und Tokyo. 1994 kam sie nach Hessen, um als Schauwerbegestalterin zu arbeiteten. Von 1997 bis 2000 war sie als Gastronomin in Togo, Westafrika, tätig und kehrte dann nach Darmstadt zurück. Sie eröffnete hier ihr erstes Restaurant „La Java“. Seit 2006 führt sie mit Klaus Rohmig zusammen den Bessunger „Jagdhofkeller“ sowie das damit verbundene Französische Restaurant „Belleville“.