Dirk Drewes: Great success despite difficult conditions

Afghanistan is one of the poorest countries on earth and therefore a focus of German development cooperation work. Ten years have now passed since the fall of the Taliban. Since then, a lot has changed in this mountainous country ravaged by decades of war. But irrespec­­tive of the recognisable progress in the country, daily life is still dominated by poverty and inadequate infrastructure in all areas. This underlines the fact that our work in Afghanistan is far from complete.

Only a few months after the fall of the Taliban regime, the German government already began its first steps towards rebuilding the country. Energy and drink­­ing water provision formed the initial focus. Water is an indispensable basis for life as is sufficient energy supply, and both are key prerequisites for the development of a country. Later, other aspects of life were addressed, including the process of supporting “good governance”. This primarily encompasses promoting the rule of law by strengthening justice, the provision of legal infor­­mation and legal support. Measures for establishing a police force, such as those involving the German Police Pro­­j­­ect Team (GPPT) in the north of the country, go hand in hand with this. One of the central goals of this support is fighting corruption and protecting human rights. The other focuses of German-Afghan devel­­opment work include im­­proving basic and vocational education as well as pro­­mo­­ting sustainable economic development, particularly with a view to creating sources of income for the increasingly young population.

Right at the start of the rebuilding efforts and only a couple of months after the reestablishment of bilateral relations between Afghanistan and the Federal Republic of Germany, the Stuttgart-based engineering company Fichtner success­­fully established various urgently needed projects in the country revolving around two pillars of its core business – energy as well as water and infrastructure. In 2002, a project was launched to renovate and extend municipal drinking water supply systems by an international consortium led by Fichtner Water & Transportation GmbH (at the time known as Beller Consult GmbH). 22 cities with a total of around three million residents were included in the programme. Since then, Fichtner has been working flat out on a whole range of different drinking water projects, mostly financed by the Federal Republic through the KfW Bankengruppe (KfW bank group).

At the current time, various orders are being carried out for projects involving supply systems in Kabul and several other cities in the Northern Provinces. Despite these ongoing civil construction projects, access to clean tap water remains an unfulfilled wish for many Afghans. In Kabul only around one third of the popu­­lation has drinking water, and this number is as low as one fifth in the rest of the country. In particular, rural populations rely on water from wells and waterways. Leaky dry wells as well as sewage and waste tainting waterways and groundwater often mean that this water is unclean. The diseases resulting from this lead to high rates of child mortality and substan­­tially impact development in the country.

There is also still a lot to be done when it comes to Afghanistan’s energy supply. In the country’s cities today only around one in four people have access to electricity, whereas this figure is estimated as low as 15 per cent in rural areas. In 2005, Fichtner GmbH & Co. KG launched its first energy project in Afghanistan: the order was to carry out a viability study for the 280-megawatt hydroelectric power plant Baghdara, 70 kilometres north­­east of Kabul. This project was started but only completed to the project definition phase before being blocked for almost four years. Recently the con­­tractual partners began working towards continuing and completing this important study for the energy supply in Afghanistan once again. In addition, Fichtner has re­­ceived orders for a whole range of different tasks relating to hydroelectric plants of all sizes, as well as planning irrigation projects and conducting repairs and maintenance on dams. These orders encompass the entire range of services, from initial viability studies to tendering, construction supervision and launch. Currently, Fichtner is working on several small and medium-sized hydroelectric plants in the north of the country. These plants are almost all relatively old, mostly built by the Soviets, and have suffered heavily from the decades of war and a lack of maintenance. Now the task is to rebuild and modernise these plants wherever possible and financially viable. In Afgha­­n­istan itself, the amount of energy gen­e­­rated is still at an insufficient level at present. The country does not have any notable tapped deposits of fossil fuels and is greatly dependent on energy im­­ports from neighbouring countries. That is why regenerative energies are being promoted in a wide range of different programmes, particularly by the Federal Republic of Germany. The great potential of hydroelectric power, especially in mountainous regions, should be exploited. In addition, smaller, local projects for wind energy and solar power are under­­way, as is village-level work to generate energy through biogas.

However, generating or importing energy is not enough, as this energy also has to be transported and brought to the people. In October 2010, Fichtner GmbH & Co. KG received an order to supply seven towns in the Northern Provinces with electricity.  

Der Rat der Ältesten von Naibabad.

Der Rat der Ältesten von Naibabad.

From initial planning and tendering pro­­cesses through to construction supervision, approvals and launch, this project once again covered the entire value creation chain from start to finish. The North East Power System (NEPS) project is multifaceted. On the one hand, it en­­compasses the construction of various 20-kilovolt high-voltage power lines with a total length of almost 100 kilometres. On the other, local power grids in towns had to be built, right down to the connections to individual houses. The seven towns involved in the project included the capital of Balkh province, Mazar-e Sharif, the economic hub of northern Afghanistan, as well as small villages in the mountain gorges of the Hindu Kush and municipalities in fertile valleys at the watershed of the Hindu Kush to the south.

Over and above these projects financed by the international community, economic revival can be seen all over Mazar-e Sharif. New buildings are rising up left, right and centre. In the surrounding area, the Hoff­­mann continuous kilns in the brickworks are in operation day and night to cover demand. In old kilns, similar to those used at the time of Alexander the Great, lime is being extracted from marble.

In addition to presenting and outlining project details, this publication is also intended to show how projects like this can be carried out by people on the ground in Afghanistan – a country which we only hear about in connection with war, death and bombings. For me as resident manager of Fichtner GmbH & Co. KG in Mazar-e Sharif, it goes without saying that the safety of all our employees, whether international or national, is the top priority above all technical and business issues. Many aspects of life here are different to those which we are used to in other, more peaceful countries. I also had to get used to the local rules, even after 36 years of working abroad in Arab and Asian countries.

Haushaltswarenmarkt.

Haushaltswarenmarkt.

Following an order from the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), the GTZ (German Technical Cooperation – now GIZ) set up a risk management system, which is used in all areas of the German reconstruction aid organisation.

The risk management system is intended to ensure that all em­­ployees can live and work in the greatest possible safety. To ensure that this security system can be effective, set rules have to be followed, some of which substantially affect private aspects of life and work patterns. For instance, private cross-country drives are only made in exceptional circum­­stances for understandable safety reasons. The evening strolls through the bazaars, souks and courtyards of the old town, which are so popular in many Arab coun­­tries (indeed this was something I did several times a week in my last project at solar power plant Ain Beni Mathar in Morocco), are now a no-go. Buying sup­­plies in town should be limited to essentials and only be undertaken together with others. All local employees are checked for their compliance to these rules and drivers/guards receive training in their obligations. Luckily, the north of the country is relatively peaceful, particularly the area surrounding Mazar-e Sharif. However, lei­­sure activities are still largely limited to the residential buil­­ding. It is clear that not everyone is able to deal with this sub­­stantial en­­croach­­­ment to personal free­­dom at times. How­­ever, it is es­­sen­­tial to follow these rules for the good of your own safety, that of your colleagues and the project as a whole. Being prepared to make this sacrifice is essential to working in Afghanistan.

However, in general I have only had posi­­tive experiences in my relatively regular meetings with members of the council of elders in various towns involved in our projects as well as with both the young and old Afghans I have met at marketplaces. No matter where you go, you are greeted with hospitality, warmth and a willingness to help. It should be clear to foreigners that these types of meetings also mean following the elementary rules of a conservative Muslim society and Central Asian culture.

Let us hope that the still highly fragile peace in the north of the country stabilises and extends to other provinces, helping peace to establish a lasting foothold in Afghanistan.

Passbild_Drewes-KopieThe author can look back on over 36 years of experience in managing large inter­­na­­tional construction projects. He has worked in almost all Arab countries as well as on large projects in China and Southeast Asia. Most recently, Dirk Drewes worked as site manager for Fichtner GmbH & Co. KG at the thermosolar hybrid power plant Ain Beni Mathar in Morocco and has been serving as resident manager in Mazar-e Sharif, Afghanistan since 2010.

Dirk Drewes: Große Erfolge trotz schwieriger Bedingungen

Afghanistan ist eines der ärmsten Länder der Erde. Es ist Schwerpunktland der deutschen Entwicklungs­zusammenarbeit. Zehn Jahre sind seit dem Sturz der Taliban vergangen. Seither hat sich viel getan in dem durch Jahrzehnte des Krieges zer­­ris­­senen Land am Hindukusch. Doch un­­geachtet der erkennbaren Fortschritte zeigt sich im täglichen Leben noch immer die Armut der Menschen und die Un­­zu­­läng­­lichkeit der Infrastruktur in allen Bereichen. Dies macht deutlich, dass die Arbeit in Afghanistan noch nicht beendet ist.

Nur wenige Monate nach dem Ende der Taliban-Herrschaft begann die Bundes­­republik Deutschland mit ersten Auf­­bau­­maßnahmen. Energie- und Trink­­wasser­versorgung standen hierbei im Vorder­­grund. Wasser als eine der unver­­zichtbaren Grundlagen des Lebens und eine ausreichende Energieversorgung sind zentrale Voraussetzungen für die Ent­­wick­­lung eines Landes. Später kamen weitere Bereiche hinzu. Die Unterstützung „guter Regierungsführung“ gehört zu diesen neueren Sektoren. Sie umfasst besonders die Förderung der Rechtsstaatlichkeit mit Stärkung der Justiz, Rechts­aufklärung und Rechtshilfe. Einher gehen diese Maß­­nahmen mit der Polizeiausbildung durch deutsche Polizeiprojektteams im Norden des Landes. Ein zentrales Ziel dieser Unter­­stützung sind die Bekämpfung der Kor­­ruption und der Schutz der Menschen­­rechte. Eine verbesserte Grund- und Berufs­­bildung sowie die Förderung einer nach­­haltigen Wirtschaftsentwicklung, besonders unter dem Blickwinkel der Schaffung von Ein­­kommensmöglichkeiten für eine stetig wachsende junge Bevölkerung, bilden weitere Schwerpunkte der deutsch-afgha­­nischen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit.

Gleich zu Beginn der Aufbaumaß­nahmen und nur ein paar Monate nach Wieder­­aufnahme der bilateralen Beziehungen zwischen Afghanistan und der Bundes­­republik Deutschland konnte sich das Stuttgarter Ingenieurunternehmen Fichtner erfolgreich mit zwei Säulen seines Kern­­geschäfts, Energie sowie Wasser & Infra­­struktur, in verschiedenen für das Land so lebensnotwendigen Projekten etablieren. Im Jahr 2002 begann ein Projekt zur Sanierung und Erweiterung von städ­­ti­­schen Trinkwasser­versorgungssystemen durch ein internationales Konsortium unter der Federführung von Fichtner Water & Transportation GmbH (damals noch Beller Consult GmbH). Hierbei wurden insgesamt 22 Städte mit einer Gesamt­einwohnerzahl von etwa drei Millionen Menschen in das Programm aufgenommen. Seitdem hat Fichtner ununterbrochen die verschiedensten Trinkwasser­projekte bearbeitet und realisiert, zumeist finanziert durch die Bundesrepublik über die bundeseigene Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau, KfW.

Zurzeit werden mit verschiedenen Auf­­trägen Projekte für Versorgungs­ein­rich­­tungen in Kabul und in mehreren Städten der Nordprovinzen durchgeführt. Trotz dieser Projekte des zivilen Aufbaus bleibt der Zugang zu sauberem Leitungs­wasser ein noch unerfüllter Wunsch für viele Afghanen. Noch immer steht in Kabul nur etwa einem Drittel und im Rest des Landes nur rund einem Fünftel der Bevöl­­kerung sauberes Trinkwasser zur Ver­fügung. Besonders die Landbevölkerung ist auf Wasser aus Brunnen und fließenden Gewässern angewiesen. Durch undichte Sickergruben sowie in Gewässer und Böden eingebrachte Abwässer und Ab­­fälle ist das Wasser jedoch häufig stark verunreinigt. Die daraus resultierenden Krankheiten führen zu einer hohen Kinder­­sterblichkeit und beeinträchtigen die Entwicklung des Landes.

Auch bei der Energieversorgung der Bevöl­­kerung gibt es noch viel zu tun: In den Städten des Landes hat auch heute nur rund ein Viertel der Einwohner Zugang zu Elektrizität, im ländlichen Bereich liegt der Anteil mit geschätzten 15 Prozent noch wesentlich niedriger. Im Jahr 2005 begann für die Fichtner GmbH & Co. KG das erste Energieprojekt in Afghanistan: Der Auftrag für die Machbarkeitsstudie des 280-Megawatt-Wasserkraftwerks Baghdara, 70 Kilometer nordöstlich von Kabul, wurde begonnen, aber nur bis zur Projektdefinition fertiggestellt. Nachdem das Projekt fast vier Jahre blockiert war, sind seit kurzer Zeit Bemühungen der Vertragspartner im Gange, diese für die Energieversorgung Afghanistans so wich­­tige Studie weiterzuführen und zum Abschluss zu bringen. Daneben wurde Fichtner mit verschiedensten Aufgaben bei Wasserkraftwerken aller Größen be­­auftragt sowie mit der Planung von Bewässerungsprojekten und zur Reparatur und Instandsetzung von Dämmen. Dabei wurde das gesamte Leistungsspektrum abverlangt, von ersten Machbarkeits­studien bis hin zu Ausschreibungen, Bau­über­­wachungen und Inbetriebnahmen. Aktuell arbeitet Fichtner an mehreren kleinen und mittleren Wasserkraftwerken im Norden des Landes. Es sind fast alles ältere Anlagen, zumeist sowjetischer Bauart, die durch jahrzehntelange Kriegs­­­einflüsse und Mangel an Unterhaltung schwer gelitten haben. Hier gilt es nun, wenn irgend möglich und ökonomisch vertretbar, sie wieder aufzubauen und zu modernisieren. In Afghanistan selbst gibt es nur unzureichende eigene Energie­­­erzeugung. Das Land verfügt über keine nennenswerten erschlossenen Vor­kommen an fossilen Brennstoffen und ist im höchsten Maße auf den Energieimport aus Nachbarländern angewiesen. Darum werden, vor allem von der Bundes­republik Deutschland, unter den unterschiedlichsten Programmen regenerative Energien ge­­fördert. Das Potenzial an Wasserkraft, gerade in den gebirgsreichen Regionen, gilt es, nutzbar zu machen. Daneben gibt es kleinere, dezentrale Projekte der Wind­­energie und der Fotovoltaik sowie im ländlichen Bereich auf Dorfebene An­­stren­­gungen der Biogaserzeugung.

Es reicht allerdings nicht aus, Energie zu erzeugen oder zu importieren, sie muss auch transportiert und zu den Menschen gebracht werden. Im Oktober 2010 erhielt Fichtner GmbH & Co. KG den Auftrag, sieben Städte in den Nordprovinzen mit Strom zu versorgen.

Der Rat der Ältesten von Naibabad.

Der Rat der Ältesten von Naibabad.

Von ersten Planungen über die Durchführung der Aus­schrei­­bungen und der Bauaufsicht bis hin zu Abnahmen und Inbetriebnahme wird hier wieder die gesamte Wert­schöpfungs­­kette von Beginn bis Ende der Maß­nahme erbracht. Das Projekt North Eastern Power Supply (NEPS) ist äußerst vielschichtig. Zum einen beinhaltet es den Bau von verschiedenen 20-Kilovolt-Hochspannungsleitungen mit einer Ge­­samt­­länge von annähernd 100 Kilometern. Zum anderen sind die Ortsnetze in den Städten bis hin zu den Hausanschlüssen zu erstellen. Bei den sieben Städten handelt es sich unter anderem um die Hauptstadt der Provinz Balkh, Mazar-e Sharif – das wirtschaftliche Zentrum Nordafghanistans –, aber auch um kleine Ortschaften in den Schluchten des Hindukuschs bis hin zu langgezogenen Ansammlungen von Dörfern in fruchtbaren Tälern kurz vor der Wasser­­scheide des Hindukuschs nach Süden.

Über diese von der internationalen Staaten­­gemeinschaft finanzierten Projekte hinaus sieht man besonders in Mazar-e Sharif den Aufschwung an jeder Straßenecke. Überall entstehen neue Gebäude. Im Umland sind die Ziegeleien mit ihren Hoffmann’schen Ringöfen Tag und Nacht in Betrieb. In alten Brennöfen wird wie zu Zeiten Alexanders des Großen der Kalk aus Marmorbrocken gebrannt.

Neben der Aufzählung und Darstellung von Projekteinzelheiten soll hier aber auch dargestellt werden, wie so ein Pro­­jekt in diesem Land, von dem man in Deutsch­land immer Schreckens­nach­richten über Krieg, Tod und Sprengfallen hört, von den Menschen vor Ort durchgeführt werden kann. Für mich als Resident Manager der Fichtner GmbH & Co. KG in Mazar-e Sharif ist natürlich die Sicherheit aller Mit­arbeiter, ob international oder national, ein erstes Anliegen und hat Vorrang vor allen tech­­nischen und kaufmännischen Belangen. So manche Lebensumstände sind hier anders, als viele es aus anderen, ruhigeren Ländern gewohnt sind. Auch ich musste mich nach 36 Jahren des Arbeitens im Ausland, vorwiegend in arabischen und asiatischen Ländern, erst an die Spiel­­regeln gewöhnen.

Haushaltswarenmarkt.

Haushaltswarenmarkt.

Im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Ent­­wicklung (BMZ) hat die GTZ (jetzt GIZ) ein Risikomanagementsystem aufgebaut, das in allen Einsatzgebieten der Organi­­sationen der staatlichen deutschen Auf­­­bau­­hilfe präsent ist.

Durch das Risikomanagement soll gewähr­­leistet werden, dass alle Mit­arbeiter in größt­­möglicher Sicherheit leben und arbeiten können. Damit dieses Sicher­­heits­sys­tem greifen kann, müssen natürlich feste Regeln befolgt werden, die zum Teil tief in die Pri­vats­­­phäre und die Gestaltung des Arbeits­ab­­­­laufes eingreifen. So werden private Über­­land­­­fahrten aus nachvollziehbaren Sicher­heits­­­­erwägungen nur äußerst selten genehmigt. Auch die in vielen arabischen Ländern so beliebten abendlichen Streifzüge durch die Altstadt mit ihren Bazaren, Souks und architek­­tonischen Klein­­oden, wie ich sie mehrmals in der Woche bei meinem letzten Projekt, dem Solarkraftwerk Ain Beni Mathar in Marokko, unternommen habe, muss ich mir hier ver­­kneifen. Besorgungen in der Stadt sind auf das Notwendigste zu beschränken und auch nur in Beglei­­tung zu unternehmen. Alle lokalen Mit­­arbeiter werden einer Über­­prüfung unter­­zogen und Fahrer und Wach­­leute bekommen eine Ein­­weisung in ihre Pflichten. Zum Glück ist es im Norden des Landes und insbesondere im Bereich von Mazar-e Sharif relativ ruhig. Die Freizeit­möglich­keiten beschränken sich dennoch vorwiegend auf den Bereich des Wohn­hauses. Selbst­ver­ständ­­lich kann nicht jeder mit dieser doch manch­­mal einschnei­­denden Beschränkung der persönlichen Frei­­heit umgehen. Doch im Sinne der eigenen Sicherheit, der von Kol­­legen sowie des gesamten Projekts ist es unerlässlich, diese Regeln zu befolgen. Die Bereit­schaft dazu muss man bei einer Tätigkeit in Afghanistan mitbringen.

Generell kann ich jedoch nach meinen bisherigen, doch relativ häufigen Treffen mit Mitgliedern der Ältestenräte in den verschiedenen Ortschaften un­­seres Pro­­jekts sowie mit Jung und Alt der Be­­völ­­kerung auf dem einen oder anderen Markt­­platz nur positiv von diesen Be­­geg­­nungen berichten. Gast­freund­schaft, Herz­­lichkeit und Hilfs­bereitschaft be­­gegnen einem allenthalben. Dass man bei solchen Be­­suchen die elementaren Regeln einer konserva­­tiven islamischen Gesell­­­schaft und der zentralasiatischen Kultur befolgt, sollte für jeden Fremden, der als Gast kommt, eine Selbst­verständ­­­lichkeit sein.

Es bleibt zu wünschen, dass sich der noch sehr zerbrechliche Frieden des Nordens stabilisiert und auch die anderen Provinzen erreicht, sodass sich das Land in Ruhe entwickeln kann.

Passbild_Drewes-KopieDer Autor verfügt über 36 Jahre Erfahrung im Management von großen internationalen Bauprojekten. Er war in nahezu allen arabischen Staaten sowie für Großprojekte in China und Südostasien tätig. Für die Fichtner GmbH & Co. KG war Dirk Drewes als Site Manager des thermosolaren Hybrid­­kraft­werks Ain Beni Mathar in Marokko und ist seit 2010 als Resident Manager in Mazar-e Sharif, Afghanistan, tätig.