Dipl. oec. Anja Wilde: MMR – Raising its profile through networking

Its outstanding dynamism makes the Munich Metropolitan Region one of the leading business centres in Europe. And this is not PR, but it is a tangible and proven fact.

“The Munich Metropolitan Region has achieved top positions in every respect” – this is the plain result of a study carried out by the Federal Institute for Re­­search on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development (BBSR) in May 2009, which compared the strengths and weak­­ness­­es of German metropolitan regions. The result of this study is not a rare ex­­cep­tion: Already early in 2009, the sci­en­tific regional ranking of the New So­­cial Market Economy Initiative (INSM) had placed twelve regional ad­­ministrative units of the MMR among the top 20 of more than 400 rural and urban coun­­ties surveyed.

landshut_modernes_Gebaeude

To the Munich Metro­po­litan Region In­­itiative (MMR), which was reorganized in 2009, this result not only attests to the whole region’s traditional­ly strong infrastructure, but it also ack­­nowledges the excellent networking ac­­tivities of the previously existing structures.

Success does not grow on its own, but is the result of the organized interaction of many committed people: “In the Munich Metropolitan Region, we want to join the forces of the public sector, the chambers, the business com­­munity, science and society to be an engine of innovation and sustainable economic development”, Munich’s Lord Mayor and chairman of the MMR Initiative, Chris­­tian Ude, summarizes the intended aim. The more in­­ten­sive the networking be­­­­­­tween pol­­i­­tics, bu­­siness, sci­­ence and research as well as art and cul­­ture, the more successful the long-term results gener­at­ed from syn­­ergies. To realize this vi­­sion, the MMR is determined to re­­main one of the most successful bu­­siness regions in Ger­many and Eu­­rope, to promote the idea of co­­hesion within the Metropolitan Region and to further strengthen the residents’, partners’ and members’ identification with this region.

2009_emm_karte-Kopie

The region clearly wishes to present it­­­­self as a regional entity. The MMR initiative’s role is to visibly represent this entity and to showcase the region’s pro­­file, its key competencies and its hard and soft location factors for a national and international audience, for in­­stance at trade fairs, at events and in publications. Strong partners, including 24 rural counties, six urban counties, addition­al local authorities at county level and more than 100 companies and institutions, make significant contributions to the region’s success through their ac­­tive involvement and commitment to the Metropolitan Region.

The MMR Initiative supports and strength­­­­ens the region by initiating tar­­get-ori­­ented projects – from MMR commuter tickets to group stands at trade fairs such as Expo Real in Munich.

Natur

Most of the project work is defined, planned and implemented through five work teams and their relevant fields of activities:

• Knowledge team
• Business team
• Environment
• Mobility team and
• Culture team

The knowledge team’s aim is to promote networking and the transfer of knowledge and to communicate information about the MMR as a knowledge region to the public. Projects like the periodic knowledge event “EMMi” or a knowledge atlas showing the medium and long-term po­­tential of the educational system within the MMR once again attest to the commitment of the members and participants.
The business team’s task is to initiate and manage pro­­jects (for example, sur­­veys on key local industries, joint presentations at fair trades) which are to in­­crease the economic pow­­er of, for in­­stance, the health care in­­dustry and enhance the at­­tractiveness of the Mu­­nich Metropolitan Region as a business location.

AUDI

The environment and health team ad­­dresses strategies for dealing with cli­­mate change, forward-looking resource management, and the advancement of the landscape as a hard and soft location factor.

Regional activities are to be recorded and pooled to realize synergies that re­­lieve the environment, which will further improve the environmental conditions in the Munich Metropolitan Region.

The mobility team analyzes transport and logistics issues in the context of the MMR as a destination and the accessi­bility of destinations within the MMR, and develops prospects for expansion. One of its successful steps toward pro­­moting identification is the AboPlus­Card, an MMR-wide regional public trans­­port ticket for commuters launched on 1 Jan­­uary 2009, which is coordinated by the Munich Transport and Tariff Asso­cia­tion (MVV).

Ammersee

Likewise, the recently established culture team seeks to strengthen cultural cooperation and networking and to in­­crease the international profile of the region as an entity.

In short, the MMR Initiative showcases the region’s characteristics in a sus­tain­­­able way. The aforementioned structures help to highlight its multifaceted reality and the broader context of interrelations. The interaction between various technologies, robust links between ex­­pert authorities and the sustained will­­ingness and capacity to innovate are ba­­sic mainstays of the location’s attractive­­ness.

Internally, the MMR Initiative serves as an ex­­change and dialogue platform for participants and as an information cen­­tre for the whole Metropolitan Region, which is used to integrate the strengths of all participants and to communicate best practices. This leads to win-win sit­­uations for all parties involved and as a consequence, the notion of the Me­­tro­politan Region as a valuable asset will be perpetuated in the partners’ and people’s minds.

awe_Wilde_1The author, born in Munich in 1967, studied economics and social sciences at Augsburg University. She completed a postgraduate MBA course at the Uni­versity of Southern Queensland, Australia. After holding various positions as press officer and marketing director, Anja Wilde has been the managing director of the Munich Metropolitan Region MMR since May 2009.

Dipl. oec. Anja Wilde: EMM – Vernetzt Profil zeigen

Die Metropolregion München ist mit ihrer außergewöhnlichen Dynamik euro­­­paweit einer der führenden Wirt­­schafts­­räume. Und das ist keine PR, sondern vielmehr spürbar und belegt.
„Die Metropolregion München erzielt in allen Bereichen obere Rangplätze“ – so lautet dann auch nüchtern das Ergebnis einer Studie des Bundes­­in­­sti­­tuts für Bau-, Stadt- und Raumforschung BBSR vom Mai 2009, in der die deutschen Me­­tropolregionen hinsichtlich ihrer Stär­­ken und Schwächen verglichen worden sind. Das Ergebnis der Studie ist kein Ausreißer, denn schon das wissenschaft­­liche Regionalranking der Ini­­tia­­ti­­ve Neue Soziale Markt­­wirt­­schaft hatte An­­fang 2009 zwölf Gebiets­­körperschaften der EMM unter die Top 20 von insgesamt mehr als 400 untersuchten Landkreisen und kreisfreien Städten gewertet.

landshut_modernes_Gebaeude
Für den 2009 neu organisierten Verein Eu­­ropäische Metropolregion München e.V. EMM ist dies ein Ergebnis, das nicht nur die traditionell starke Infra­­struk­­tur in der Region insgesamt, sondern auch die exzellente Netzwerk-Arbeit der bisheri­­gen Vorgänger-Struk­­tu­ren bestätigt.
Erfolg wächst nicht von allein, sondern ist das Ergebnis systematischen Zu­­sam­­­­menwirkens vieler Akteure: „Wir wollen in der Europäischen Metro­­pol­­re­­gion Mün­­chen Kräfte aus öffentlicher Hand, Kam­­mern, Wirtschaft, Wis­­sen­­schaft und Ge­­­­sellschaft bündeln, um ein Motor für In­­novation und nachhaltige wirtschaftliche Entwicklung zu sein,“ bringt der Mün­­chener Ober­­bür­­ger­­meister und EMM-­Vorstands­­vor­­sit­­z­­ende Christian Ude die Zielvorgabe auf den Punkt. Je vernetzter Politik, Wirtschaft, Wis­­sen­­schaft und For­­schung sowie auch Kunst und Kultur arbeiten, desto größer ist der langfristige, aus Synergie­­effekten generierte Erfolg. In diesem Sinne will die EMM eine der erfolgreichsten Wirt­­schafts­­re­­gionen in Deutsch­­­­land und Europa blei­­ben, den metropolregionalen Gedan­­ken schärfen sowie die Iden­­tifikation der Be­­­­völ­­kerung, Partner und Vereins­­mit­­glie­­der mit der Metro­­pol­­region weiter stärken.

2009_emm_karte-Kopie

Die Metropolregion will sich eindeutig weiter als regionale Einheit präsentieren. Der EMM e.V. gibt dabei dieser Ein­­heit nach außen ein Gesicht und stellt national und international im Außen­­marketing das Profil der Region mit ihren Kompetenzfeldern sowie mit ihren harten und weichen Stand­­ort­­fak­­toren auf Messen, Events sowie in Veröffentlichungen vor. Starke Partner, darunter 24 Landkreise, sechs kreisfreie Städte, weitere kreisangehörige Ge­bietskörperschaften sowie mehr als 100 Unternehmen und Institutionen tra­­gen durch ihre Mitgliedschaft im Verein und durch ihr aktives Bekenntnis zur Metropolregion maßgeblich zu ihrem Erfolg bei.
Der Verein EMM unterstützt und stärkt den Standort durch konkrete Projekte, angefangen bei einem EMM-Pend­­ler­­tick­­et bis hin zu Gemeinschaftsständen auf Messen – etwa im Rahmen der Expo Real in München.

Natur

Die Projektarbeit wird dabei zu einem großen Teil über fünf Arbeitsgruppen und ihre wesentlichen Handlungsfelder definiert, konzipiert und umgesetzt:

• AG Wissen
• AG Wirtschaft
• AG Umwelt
• AG Mobilität und
• AG Kultur

Die AG Wissen verfolgt das Ziel, die Ver­­netzung und den Wissenstransfer zu stärken und die EMM als Wis­­sens­­re­gion nach außen zu kommunizieren. Projek­te wie der regelmäßige Wissens-Event EMMi oder ein Wissensatlas, in dem das mittel- und langfristige Po­­tenzial der Bil­­dungsstrukturen in der EMM heraus­ge­­arbeitet werden, sind Initiativen, die ein­­mal mehr das En­­ga­­ge­ment der Mit­glie­der und ihrer Ak­­teure demonstrieren.

Über die AG Wirtschaft werden Projekte (zum Beispiel Studien zu Schwerpunkt-Branchen am Standort, gemeinsame Messeauftritte) initiiert und gesteuert, die der Steigerung der Wirtschaftskraft zum Beispiel im Bereich der Gesund­heits­­wirtschaft und der Standortattrak­tivi­tät der Me­­tro­­­­polregion München dienen.

AUDI

Der Umgang mit dem Klimawandel, zu­­kunftsweisendes Ressourcen­ma­­na­ge­­ment so­­wie Landschaft als harter und weicher Standortfaktor sind Themen der AG Umwelt.

Regionale Aktivitäten sollen erfasst und gebündelt werden, um Synergien für die Umwelt zu erreichen und die Umwelt­qua­­lität der Metropolregion München noch weiter zu verbessern.

Im Rahmen der AG Mobilität werden Verkehr und Logistik in Bezug auf die EMM als Destination und in Bezug auf die Erreichbarkeit der Ziele innerhalb der EMM analysiert und Perspektiven für den Ausbau entwickelt. Eines der identitätsfördernden Erfolge dieser Ar­­beit: Unter der Federführung des Mün­­ch­­ner Verkehrsverbundes MVV konnte im Rahmen des ÖPNV ab dem 1. Januar 2009 ein EMM-Ticket, die AboPlusCard, für Berufspendler realisiert werden.

Ammersee

Auch die noch junge AG Kultur strebt analog die Stärkung der kulturellen Zu­­sammenarbeit, ihre Vernetzung und die internationale Wahrnehmbarkeit der Re­­gion als Einheit an.
Der EMM e.V. gibt so nachhaltig der Region nach außen ein Gesicht. In den genannten Strukturen werden der Fa­­cet­­tenreichtum und die größeren Zu­­sam­­menhänge sichtbar und wahrnehmbar gemacht. Das Ineinandergreifen von Tech­­nologien, die verlässliche Ver­­net­­zung der Kompetenzträger und die nachhaltige Innovationsbereitschaft und -fähigkeit am Standort sind we­­sent­­liche Grund­­pfeiler der Stand­­ort­­at­­trak­­tivität.

Nach innen dient der EMM e.V. als Platt­­form für den Austausch und den Dialog der Akteure und als Infor­­ma­­tions­­dreh­scheibe für die ganze Metro­­polre­­gion, über die die Stärken aller Akteure integriert und „best practices“ kommuniziert werden. Daraus ergeben sich Win-win-Situationen für alle Beteiligten, durch die in der Folge die Metropolregion als Be­­griff und als Wert bei den Part­­nern und in der Be­­völkerung verankert wird.

awe_Wilde_1Die 1967 geborene Münchnerin hat an der Universität Augs­burg Wirtschafts- und Sozial­wis­sen­schaften studiert. Ei­­nen MBA-Aufbau­studiengang absolvierte sie an der University of Southern Queens­land (AUS). Nach verschiedenen beruflichen Stationen als Presse­refe­ren­tin und Mar­­ketingleiterin ist Anja Wilde seit Mai 2009 Geschäfts­führerin des Euro­pä­i­sche Metropol­re­gion Mün­­ch­­en e.V.