Dipl.-Ing. Wilfried Klose & Dipl.-Kfm. Matthias Lux: Innovative and efficient in Halle

The Stadtwerke Halle (Halle Municipal Utilities) is not only a reliable and eco­­nomical local utilities supplier and waste disposal company, it has also proven its ability to innovate by using intelligent solutions. The companies in the city utilities group point the way to the future with such projects as the process for needs-based chemical dosing to combat unpleasant odours from a sewer or the continuation of the plantation short rotation project.


Huttenstraße

Intelligent solutions to combat un­­pleas­­ant sewer odours
If a sewer emits unpleasant odours, this can usually be combated by conventio­­n­­al means such as chemicals, which are added to the water, or by bio-filters, which can be applied in the cover.

Both procedures are cost-intensive but Hallesche Wasser und Abwasser GmbH, a subsidiary of Halle City Utilities, re­­lies on the use of chemicals. However, the problem is how these can be mixed economically into the waste water stream as required without harming the environment. The company is working on this question together with water scientists from Halle at ECH Elek­­tro­­ch­e­­mie Halle GmbH and the IFT Institut für Fluid­­tech­­no­­logien Halle GmbH in an attempt to find the optimal chemical dose and thereby solve the problem. The scientists developed a new type of analytical procedure and the corresponding measuring techniques.

Klausbergsammler_Boot
For the first time, hydrogen sulphide is being recorded here as an indicator of sewer odours, both in waste water and the atmosphere. This is the “new” aspect of the “SULPHOX-4 Method” and in fact, the analyser measures already minute traces of hydrogen sulphide.
There had always been unpleasant odours at the transfer point of pressure pipes to the non-pressure sewer, so a ferric salt solution is now being added to the inlet to the building and into the atmosphere. The result will be analysed by a hydrogen sulphide measurement. The data-logger gives a signal via a control programme to a dose-pumping ma­­chine for the reactive chemical, which results in the ferric salt solution being added precisely. Overdoses, which often occurred during rainfalls, can now be avoided. Since the use of intelligent dosing has started, there have been no more un­­pleasant odours, treatments costs can be considerably reduced and damage to the building from biogenous sulphuric acid can be avoided.


Kurzumtrieb_2008

Obtaining renewable energies
with biomass
The Stadtwirtschaft Halle, a subsidiary of the Halle Utilities Company, to­­gether with Hallesche Woh­­nungs­­ge­­sellschaft mbH (Halle’s Housing Com­­pany) and Bau- und Wohnungs­­ge­­nos­­sen­­schaft Hal­­le-­­Merseburg e. G. (con­­struction and housing cooper­­ative) erected what is now the third plantation short rotation project at Silberhöhe, a suburb on the south edge of Halle. This so-called “energy forest” consists of fast-growing trees which are cut down after only a few years and then processed into biomass. In this way, renewable energy or heat can be generated. In addition, the plantations of trees make the living en­­vi­­ro­n­­ment at Silberhöhe greener and do not complete with food production since the tree plantations in Halle are on land that used to be the former site of prefabricated high-rise apartment blocks as opposed to farmland. This pro­­ject is an integral part of the beginnings of core biomass competence in the Halle and Saale County regions.

The fact that fossil fuels such as coal or natural gas are only available in limited quantities is general knowledge, which is why the focus on the production of renewable resources will be a principal task for the next few decades. The Halle Municipal Utilities is confronting this issue in the field of biomass as well as eco-power, solar and water power. The Stadt­­wirt­­schaft Halle is using and conducting research into these energy car­­riers and is continuing the successful “plan­­tation short rotation” work.
Already in 2007 and 2008, the Halle Municipal Utilities established two “en­­ergy forests” in Halle-Neustadt near Lüneburger Bogen and Os­­nabrücker Straße. The first plantation was planted with 18,000 balsam poplar seedlings, which have now reached a height of 1.5 to 3.5 metres and could be harvested in the 2009/2010 winter. The second plantation has been planted with 9,000 balsam poplar seedlings and 1,000 robinia seedlings. The seedlings are currently at knee-height and given their current rate of growth, could be harvested in winter 2011/2012 at the earliest.
With the ex­­perience gained from these projects, the third short rotation forestry plantation will be operated on a 9,000-square-metre-large former housing property with 8,000 seedlings.

Kurzumtrieb1_2009

In future, the Halle Municipal Utilities intends to use biomass in increasing amounts in order to make energy recycling with other materials more effective. For the housing companies, the implementation of energy forests of this nature is of enormous significance in the designing of tracts of land at the edge of a large residential area.

 

Wilfried-KloseThe author has been chairman of the man­­agement team at the Stadtwerke Halle GmbH since 2005. He is general manager of the subsi­­di­­ary Hallesche Was­­ser und Abwasser GmbH and of Abfall­wirtschaft GmbH Halle-Lochau. Klose studied water management at the Dresden Tech­­ni­­cal University and, from 1966 to 1989, work­ed as a graduate engineer in various areas of the former East German VEB WAB Halle.

 

 

Matthias-LuxThe author is general manager of Stadt­­werke Halle GmbH and commercial manager of Stadtwirtschaft GmbH Halle. With a de­­gree in commerce, he was previously group controlling manager and head of division at Stadt­­werke Halle GmbH. After completing his studies at the Uni­­ver­­sity of Göttingen, he was a business field manager at the auditing company Rödl & Partner in Nuremberg.

Dipl.-Ing. Wilfried Klose & Dipl.-Kfm. Matthias Lux: Innovativ und leistungsstark in Halle

Die Stadtwerke Halle sind nicht nur der zuverlässige und günstige Ver- und Ent­­sorger vor Ort, sondern beweisen mit in­­telligenten Lösungen ihre Innovations­fä­higkeit. Ob mit dem Verfahren zur be­­darfsgerechten Chemikalien­dosierung ge­­gen Kanalgeruch oder mit der Fort­­setzung des Projektes „Kurzum­triebs­plantage“ – die Unternehmen des Stadt­­werke-Verbundes weisen mit ihren Pro­­jekten in die Zukunft.


Huttenstraße

Intelligente Lösungen gegen Kanal­­ge­­ruch
Gesetzt den Fall, es stinkt aus dem Ka­­nal, helfen meist herkömmliche Mittel gegen die Geruchsbelästigung: Che­mi­kalien, die dem Abwasser zugesetzt oder Biofilter, die im Kanaldeckel angebracht werden.
Beide Verfahren sind kostenintensiv, trotz­­dem setzt die Hallesche Wasser und Abwasser GmbH, ein Unternehmen der Stadtwerke Halle, insbesondere auf den Einsatz von Chemikalien. Doch wie kön­­nen diese wirklich auch bedarfsgerecht dem Abwasserstrom und damit um­­welt­­schonend weil sparsam beigemischt wer­­den? Zu dieser Frage nach der Opti­­mie­­rung der Dosierung der Chemikalien ar­­­beitete das Unternehmen mit halleschen Wissenschaftlern der ECH Elek­tro­che­mie Halle GmbH und IFT Institut für Flu­­id­­tech­­nologien Halle GmbH zusammen. Die Wissenschaftler entwickelten ein neu­­artiges Analyseverfahren und die entsprechende Messtechnik.

Klausbergsammler_Boot
Schwefelwasserstoff wird hier nun erst­­malig als Indikator für den Kanalgeruch messtechnisch sowohl im Abwasser als auch in der Umgebungsluft erfasst. Da­­rin besteht das tatsächlich Neue des „SULPHOX-4-Verfahrens“. Der Analy­sa­­tor misst bereits geringste Spuren Schwe­­felwasserstoff.
Besonders am Übergabepunkt von Druck­­­leitungen in den Frei-Spiegel-Kanal kam es permanent zu Geruchs­beläs­tigun­gen. Über eine H2S-Messung im Zulauf des Bauwerkes und in der Luft wird nun die Zudosierung einer Eisensalzlösung vor­­genommen. Der Daten-Logger gibt dann über ein Steuerprogramm Signale an die Dosierpumpen für die Reaktions­che­mi­­kalie mit dem Ergebnis, dass die Do­­sierung punktgenau entsprechend des Bedarfs erfolgt. Eine Überdosierung, die beispielsweise häufig im Regenfall eintrat, wird nun vermieden. Seit Einsatz der intelligenten Dosierung ist keine Ge­­ruchsbelästigung mehr zu verzeichnen. Und das Entscheidende: Die Behand­lungs­­kosten werden deutlich reduziert und Bauwerksschäden durch biogene Schwefelsäurekorrosion vermieden.


Kurzumtrieb_2008

Mit Biomasse erneuerbare Energien gewinnen
Auf der Silberhöhe errichtete die Stadt­­wirtschaft Halle, ein Unternehmen der Stadtwerke, gemeinsam mit der Hal­­le­­schen Wohnungsgesellschaft mbH und der Bau- und Wohnungs­ge­nos­sen­­schaft Halle-Merseburg e. G. auf ehema­­ligen Ab­­rissflächen die nunmehr drit­­­­te Kurz­­um­­triebsplantage. Dieser so ge­­nannte „En­­er­­giewald“ besteht aus schnell wachsenden Bäumen, die innerhalb we­­niger Jahre geerntet und zu Biomasse verarbeitet werden können. So kann Energie oder Wär­­me komplett regenerativ er­­zeugt werden. Zusätzlich begrünen die Plan­­ta­­gen das Wohnumfeld auf der Sil­­ber­­höhe und stehen nicht in Kon­­kur­­renz zur Nah­­rungs­mittel­er­zeu­gung, da die Plan­­ta­­gen in Halle auf ehemaligen Plat­tenbau-Ab­­riss­­flächen ent­­stehen und nicht auf landwirtschaftlich genutztem Boden. Dieses Pro­jekt ist ein Bestand­­teil des Auf­­baus von Bio­­masse-Kern­kom­pe­tenz in der Re­­­gion Halle und Saale­kreis.
Dass uns fossile Brennstoffe wie Kohle oder Erdgas nur begrenzt zur Ver­fü­gung stehen, ist allerorten bekannt. Deshalb ist die Energiegewinnung aus erneuerbaren Quellen eine zentrale Aufgabe der nächsten Jahrzehnte. Die Stadtwerke Halle stellen sich diesem Thema neben Öko-Strom, Solar- und Wasserkraft auch im Bereich Biomasse: Die Stadt­wirt­schaft Halle nutzt und erforscht diesen Energieträger und setzt das Er­folgs­pro­­­jekt „Kurzumtriebsplantagen“ fort.
Bereits 2007 und 2008 errichtete die Stadtwirtschaft zwei „Energiewälder“ in Halle-Neustadt im Bereich Lüneburger Bogen und Osnabrücker Straße. Die er­­s­­te Plantage wurde mit 18.000 kleinen Balsampappelstecklingen bepflanzt, die jetzt eine Höhe von 1,5 bis 3,5 Metern erreichen. Frühestens im Winter 2009/ 2010 könnten sie geerntet werden. Die zweite Plantage wurde mit 9.000 Bal­­sampappelstecklingen und 1.000 Ro­­bin­­i­­enstecklingen bepflanzt. Die Stecklinge erreichen derzeit Kniehöhe und könnten bei jetzigem Aufwuchs frühestens im Winter 2011/2012 genutzt werden. Mit den gewonnenen Erfahrungen wird nun die dritte Kurzumtriebsplantage auf der Silberhöhe entlang der Willi-Bredel-Stra­­ße auf einer 9.000 Quadratmeter großen Abrissfläche mit 8.000 Steck­lin­­gen betrieben.

Kurzumtrieb1_2009

Die Stadtwirtschaft will zukünftig verstärkt Biomasse nutzen, um die energe­­tische Verwertung anderer geeigneter Materialien noch effektiver zu gestalten. Für die Wohnungsunternehmen hat die Errichtung eines solchen Energiewaldes große Bedeutung im Sinne der zukünftigen Gestaltung von Flächen am Ran­de einer Großwohnsiedlung.

 

Wilfried-KloseDer Autor ist seit Juni 2005 Vor­­sit­­zen­der der Geschäftsführung der Stadt­­werke Halle GmbH. Er ist Ge­­schäfts­­führer der Stadt­wer­­ke-Toch­­ter Halle­sche Wasser und Ab­was­­ser GmbH und der Ab­­fall­wirtschaft GmbH Halle-Lochau. Klose studier­­te Was­serwirtschaft an der Technischen Uni­­ver­sität Dresden und ar­­beitete als Di­­plom-In­­­­genieur von 1966 bis 1989 in un­­ter­schied­lichen Bereichen des VEB WAB Halle.

 

 

Matthias-LuxDer Autor ist Ge­­schäfts­­führer der Stadt­werke Halle GmbH und kaufmännischer Ge­schäfts­führer der Stadt­­­­wirt­schaft GmbH Halle. Vorher war der Diplom-Kauf­­­mann Leiter des Konzern­controllings und Re­­fe­r­­ats­leiter Konzern­projekte bei den Stadt­­­werken Halle. Nach seinem Studium an der Universität Göt­tingen war er als Ge­­schäfts­­­feld­leiter bei der Wirtschafts­prü­fungs­­ge­­sell­schaft Rödl & Partner Nürn­­berg tä­­tig.