Dipl.-Ing. Hans-Helmut Münchberg: Between avant-garde artistry and economic innovation

Over the past 17 years a powerful and highly technological medium-sized business sector has developed in the Weimar county for the following indus­tries: mechanical engineering, metal pro­­cessing, plastics and chemical indus­try, wood processing, building materials, foodstuffs industry, optical industry, textile and leather industry as well as logistics.
The general conditions for greenfield development of many organizations in 24 newly available commercial areas have been created by the local authorities with the support and promotion of the county, the Federal Government and the European Union. Simultaneously the so-called hard and soft location factors developed, for example through the construction of the motorway and federal highway network, the improvement of tourism and leisure offerings, the new buildings for health care facil­ities and much more.

 

Kunsthaus

The U.N.O. commercial area constitut­ing 154 hectares is the largest commercial and industrial area in the Weimar county. It was made available by the Ulla, Nohra and Obergrunstedt communities jointly. It is simultaneously one of the largest areas in Thuringia and accommodates more than 40 enterprises.

Of similar importance is the commercial area on the B87 in front of the gate­­way of the Apolda county town with 55.7 hectares net surface area. Due to great demand, this commercial area is to be enlarged by a further 22 hectares.
On the basis of a business development concept, which was completed by 2006 for Weimar and the Weimar county, both local authorities are working closely to­­gether, in particular in the areas of busi­­ness-friendly administration and business development.
Motivated by the CCI (Chamber of Com­­merce and Industry) and the business concept, the resident small and medium-sized enterprises, of which 85 per cent were only founded after 1990, are starting to co-operate with each other in the form of clusters. In 2005 the plastics/chemistry cluster com­bined and in 2006 the foodstuffs clus­ter. The tourism/hospitality cluster is in preparation.

After successful collaboration in the “cul­­tural-city year” project in 1999, the may­­ors of the cities of Erfurt, Weimar and Jena as well as the county administrator of the Weimar county combined to form a co-operative impulse region in 2004. An intensive interdependence exists be­­t­­ween the cities and the connecting ru­­­ral county as regards the economic sys­­­tem, re­­search and devel­opment, educa­tional institutions, culture and last, but not least, tourism.

E

The Weimar county and especially the county town of Apolda became known over the borders and beyond through their centuries-old traditional knitting and knitware industry and the therewith associated “Apolda European Design Award”. The best students of the European design universities mea­s­ure their ability under valuation of a top-class jury.
Personalities like Rudolph Mosham­mer (1999), Wolfgang Joop (2002) and Karl Lagerfeld (2005) honoured the “Apolda European Design Award” with their participation in the award ceremony or through the exhibition of their artistic creations in the Apolda Avantgarde art gallery. The Apolda Avantgarde has furthermore through its regional and international exhibi­tions developed into an important cul­tural and tourism factor.

Tourism is a significant economic factor of our region. The natural land­scape can be explored on more than 100 kilometers of constructed cycle paths and 550 kilometers of hiking trails which are signposted.

The Bad Berka health resort, the Ober­schloss castle in Kranichfeld, the Kloß­museum (dump­ling museum) in Heichel­heim are amongst the most interesting travel destinations. The Avenida-Therme (hot springs), the Thuringia Freilicht-mu­­seum (open-air museum) and the re­­crea­tion area at the Stausee (lake) can all be found in the Hohenfelden region.

The region around Bad Sulza offers a replica of the Goethe garden house, the Toskana hot springs and places of interest in Auerstedt where Napoleon left his mark in 1806.

 

Pressefoto-LandratThe author was born in Apolda in 1948 and did an apprenticeship in carpentry. In 1984 he completed a degree in structural engineering. Since 1990 Hans-Helmut Münchberg has been the county administrator of the Weimar county. He was married in 1976 and is a family-man. In 2006 he was re-elect­ed as county administrator.

Dipl.-Ing. Hans-Helmut Münchberg: Zwischen Kunst der Avantgarde und wirtschaftlicher Innovation

Im Kreis Weimarer Land hat sich in den letzten 17 Jahren ein leistungsstarker, hochtechnisierter Mittelstand in den Branchen Maschinenbau, Metall­verarbeitung, Kunststoff- und chemische Industrie, Holzverarbeitung, Bau­stoffe, Nahrungsmittel­industrie, op­­tische Industrie, Textil- und Leder­waren­industrie sowie Logistik entwickelt.

Die Rahmenbedingungen für die Neuan­sied­lung vieler Unternehmen in 24 neu erschlossenen Gewerbegebieten haben die Kommunen des Kreises mit Unter­stützung und Förderung des Landes, des Bundes und der EU geschaffen. Gleichzeitig entwickelten sich die so­­genannten harten und weichen Stand­ort­faktoren, zum Beispiel durch den Aus­bau des Autobahnen- und Bundes­straßen­netzes, die Verbesserung der Tourismus- und Freizeitangebote, die Neubauten von medizinischen Versor­gungs­­­einrich­tungen und vieles mehr.

Kunsthaus

Das größte Gewerbe- und Industriegebiet im Weimarer Land mit 154 Hektar ist das von den Gemeinden Ulla, Nohra und Obergrunstedt gemeinsam erschlossene Gewerbegebiet U.N.O. Es ist gleichzeitig auch eines der größten Gebiete in Thü­ringen und beherbergt über 40 Firmen.

Gleichfalls bedeutend ist das Gewerbe­gebiet an der B87 vor den Toren der Kreisstadt Apolda mit 55,7 Hektar Nettofläche, welches aufgrund der großen Nachfrage um weitere 22 Hektar erweitert werden soll.

Auf der Grundlage eines Wirtschafts­entwicklungskonzeptes für die kreisfreie Stadt Weimar und das Weimarer Land, welches 2006 fertig gestellt wurde, ar­­beiten beide Gebiets­körperschaften ganz be­­sonders auf den Gebieten der wirtschaftsfreundlichen Verwaltung und der Wirtschafts­för­de­­rung eng zusammen.

Angeregt von der IHK und dem Wirt­schaftskonzept beginnen die ansässigen klein- und mittelständischen Be­trie­be, die zu 85 Prozent erst nach 1990 ge­grün­det wurden, jetzt in Form von Clustern miteinander zu kooperieren. Zusammen­ge­schlossen haben sich im Jahre 2005 der Kunststoff/Chemie-Cluster und 2006 der Cluster Ernährungsgewerbe. Der Cluster Tourismus/Gastgewerbe ist in Vorbereitung.

Die Oberbürgermeister der Städte Erfurt, Weimar und Jena sowie der Landrat des Kreises Weimarer Land haben sich nach erfolgreicher Zusam­menarbeit zum Kulturstadtjahr 1999 im Jahr 2004 zu einem Kooperations­raum der ImPuls-Region zusammengeschlossen. Zwischen den Städten und dem verbindenden Landkreis bestehen intensive Wechsel­beziehungen in der Wirtschaft, der Forschung und Entwick­lung, den Bildungs­einrichtungen, der Kul­­tur und nicht zuletzt im Tourismus.

Über die Grenzen hinaus bekannt wurde das Weimarer Land und besonders die Kreisstadt Apolda durch die jahrhundertealte Tradition der Strick- und Wirkwarenindustrie und den damit verbundenen „Apolda European Design Award“. Die besten Studenten europäischer Designhochschulen messen ihr Können unter der Wertung einer hochkarätigen Jury.

E

Persönlichkeiten wie Rudolph Mosham­mer (1999), Wolfgang Joop (2002) und Karl Lagerfeld (2005) ehrten den Apolda European Design Award mit ihrer Teil­nahme an der Preisverleihung beziehungsweise durch Ausstellungen ihres künstlerischen Schaffens im Kunst­haus Apolda Avantgarde, das sich da­rüber hinaus durch seine regionalen und in­­ternationalen Ausstellungen zu einem wichtigen Kultur- und Tourismus­faktor entwickelt hat.

Ein bedeutender Wirtschaftsfaktor unserer Region ist der Tourismus. Auf über 100 Kilometer ausgebauten Radwander­wegen und 550 Kilometer ausgeschilderten Wanderwegen kann man die Kultur- und Naturlandschaft erkunden.

Interessante Reiseziele sind unter anderem die Kurstadt Bad Berka, das Oberschloss in Kranichfeld, das Kloß­museum in Heichelheim. In der Region um Hohen­felden finden Sie die Ave­nida-Therme, das Thüringer Freilicht­museum und das Erholungsgebiet am Stausee.

Die Region um Bad Sulza bietet eine Kopie des Goethe-Gartenhauses, die Tos­kana-Therme und Sehenswürdig­keiten in Auerstedt, wo Napoleon 1806 seine Spuren hinterließ.

Weitere Informationen/
Further information:

Internet
www.weimarer-land.de

E-Mail
wiku@lraap.thueringen.de

Pressefoto-LandratDer 1948 in Apolda geborene Autor hat eine Ausbildung zum Tischler und 1984 ein Studium zum Hochbau-Inge­nieur absolviert. Seit 1990 ist Hans-­Helmut Münchberg Landrat des Kreises Weimarer Land. Der seit 1976 ver­hei­ratete Familienvater wurde zuletzt im Jahr 2006 wiedergewählt.