Dipl.-Ing. Andreas Huhn: Here the mixture is right – Ideal conditions for metal and electrics

The Saxon state capital of Dresden, with the adjoining cities of Meißen, Ra­­debeul, Freital and Pirna, counts among the leading economic regions in the Free State of Saxony. The area between the Elbe Sandstone Mountains and the porcelain city of Meißen is able to look back upon a magnificent industrial history. For instance, the first passenger steamship was built in 1837 for the upper Elbe river in the Übigau city quarter, which at that time still lay outside the Dresden city limit. Two years later, the first German steam locomotive, the legendary “Saxonia”, was also built there. In 1900, Emil Nacke introduced the first Saxon motor car in Coswig, and in 1905 he also took up the production of motor trucks.

Unbenannt-2

In the city of Freital, established in 1921, a steel mill was already located since the middle of the 19th century, whereas in Dresden for instance the centre of the camera and cinema equipment industry was situated in the 20th century. Here, in the 1930s the first monocular reflex camera was built, and also the first television by Manfred von Ardenne. The name of the small town of Glashütte, in the eastern Erz Mountains in front of Dresden’s gates, is known for wrist watches with an international reputation for quality. The cornerstone for the Dresden microelectronics location was laid at the beginning of the 1960s through the establishment of the Micro­­elec­­tro­­nic Center Dresden (ZMD) and the Robotron enterprise (VEB Kombinat Ro­­botron).

Based on this varied success story, the Dresden region could live up to its tradition after the fall of the Berlin Wall and simultaneously develop new industrial sectors. Of the 1,500 enterprises operating in the Saxon metal and electrical industry today, around 200 firms are based in the state capital, employing more than 20,000 people. In addition, numerous service providers and suppliers participate there.

In Dresden the mixture is right. Tra­ditional economic sectors take up a steady position alongside the new settlements of the high-tech industry. Not only do important growth and development impulses spring from microelectronics, where more than twelve billion euros have been invested since the 1990s, but also from a highly innovative me­­chan­ical and plant engineering industry and a competitive aircraft industry. The solar industry has also established itself firmly in the Dresden region and it ensures the exportation of modern technologies for energy generation from here to the whole world.


EADS-Dresden

Currently more than 80 organizations in the mechanical and plant engineering sector operate in Dresden alone. They employ more than 5,100 people and have an export ratio of over 40 per cent. The focal point lies in special and specialized machinery such as for the packaging industry, however also in drive and test engineering.

When a woman laid the cornerstone for aviation with a balloon flight in Dresden in 1811, it was not yet to be anticipated that, almost 200 years later, an important specialist supplier of the aircraft industry would be settled here. The Elbe Flugzeugwerke (aircraft works), with its conversion of passenger aircraft to freighter, is an eloquent ex­­ample of the many organizations which, utilizing their traditions, turn Dresden into an innovative, dynamically growing economic region.
For the Dresden metal and electrical industry, the close proximity, and therewith the direct contact, with research is an important location advantage. In addition to the University of Technol­­ogy, a variety of research institutions in the Saxon state capital – such as the Fraunhofer Institutes, the Max Planck Society or the Leibniz Association – have settled in the region and with their in­­novations live up to the inventive talent of the region.

Unbenannt-1

Dresden and its surroundings are however also a magnet for qualified personnel from near and far. A high quality of education, interesting career opportunities and a liveable environment with a versatile range of offers of cultural, sport and leisure time activities, make Dresden a centre of attraction.

It is without a doubt the mixture be­­tween culture and science, between high-tech and tradition, quality of life and salesmanship that characterizes Dresden’s success. The Saxon state capital was again voted as the most dynamic city in Germany in a city comparison in 2008 by the Initiative Neue Soziale Marktwirtschaft (New Social Market Economy Initiative) and the Wirt­­schaftswoche (business magazine). This is because the economic conditions have developed here very well in the last five years.

The Saxon metal and electrical industry has a significant centre in Dresden, which makes a considerable contri­­bution to the growth of this sector throughout Saxony.

 

Andreas-Huhn-KopieThe author studied mechanical engineering at the Dresden University of Tech­­no­­logy. Since 2003, he has been the head of the largest Saxon industrial association, Sachsenmetall. Already in 1994, Mr Huhn was one of the founders of the Allgemeiner Arbeit­ge­berver­band Sach­­sen, which today is under the umbrella of Sachsenmetall. He is the managing partner of Omeras GmbH, which specializes in enamelled panels, in Lauter near Aue.

Dipl.-Ing. Andreas Huhn: Hier stimmt die Mischung – Ideale Verhältnisse für Metall und Elektro

Die sächsische Landeshauptstadt Dres­­­den zählt mit den angrenzenden Städten Meißen, Radebeul, Freital und Pirna zu den wirtschaftlich führenden Regionen im Freistaat Sachsen. Das Gebiet zwischen dem Elbsandsteinge­birge und der Porzellanstadt Meißen kann dabei auf eine großartige Industrie­geschichte zurückblicken. Beispielsweise wurde im damals noch vor den Grenzen Dres­­dens liegenden Stadtteil Übigau 1837 das erste Personendampfschiff für die Oberelbe gebaut, zwei Jahre später dann die erste deutsche Dampf­loko­­mo­­tive, die legendäre „Saxonia“. Im Jahr 1900 stellte Emil Nacke in Cos­wig das erste sächsische Automobil vor, 1905 nahm er auch die Fertigung von Lkw auf.

Unbenannt-2

Während in der 1921 gegründeten Stadt Freital schon seit Mitte des 19. Jahr­hunderts ein Stahlwerk ansässig ist, befand sich in Dresden im 20. Jahr­hun­dert zum Beispiel das Zentrum der Fotoapparate- und Kinogeräteindustrie. Hier wurden in den 1930er Jahren die ersten einäugigen Spiegelreflex­kameras gebaut, aber auch der erste Fernseher von Manfred von Ardenne. Der Name der kleinen Stadt Glashütte im Osterz­gebirge vor den Toren Dresdens steht für Armbanduhren mit Qualität von Welt­ruf. Anfang der 1960er Jahre wurde dann mit der Gründung des Zentrums Mikroelektronik Dresden (ZMD) und des Kombinats Robotron der Grund­stein für den Mikroelektronikstandort Dresden gelegt.

Aufbauend auf dieser vielseitigen Erfolgs­geschichte konnte die Region Dresden nach dem Mauerfall an ihre Tradition anknüpfen und gleichzeitig neue Indus­triebereiche erschließen. Von den heute 1.500 Betrieben der sächsischen Metall- und Elektroindustrie haben in der Lan­­deshaupt­stadt rund 200 Firmen ihren Sitz, die über 20.000 Mitarbeiter be­­schäf­tigen. Daran partizipieren zu­­sätz­lich zahlreiche Dienstleister und Zulie­ferer.

In Dresden stimmt die Mischung. Tra­di­tionelle Wirtschaftsbereiche nehmen einen festen Platz ein neben den Neuan­­siedlungen der Hightech-Indus­trie. Wich­tige Wachstums- und Entwick­lungs­im­pulse gehen dabei nicht nur von der Mikroelektronik aus, in die seit den 1990er Jahren mehr als zwölf Milliarden Euro investiert wurden, sondern auch von einem hochinnovativen Maschinen- und Anlagenbau und einer wettbewerbsfäh­­i­­gen Luftfahrtindustrie. Auch die Solar­­in­dustrie hat sich in der Dresdner Region fest etabliert und sorgt dafür, dass mo­­derne Technologien zur Energie­ge­­win­­nung von hier aus in die ganze Welt ex­­portiert werden.
Aktuell sind allein in Dresden über 80 Unternehmen im Maschinen- und Anla­gen­bau tätig. Sie beschäftigen mehr als 5.100 Mitarbeiter und haben einen Exportanteil von über 40 Prozent. Dabei liegt der Schwerpunkt auf Spezial- und Sondermaschinen, zum Beispiel für die Verpackungsindustrie, aber auch auf der Antriebs- und Prüftechnik.


EADS-Dresden

Als 1811 in Dresden eine Frau mit einem Ballonflug den Grundstein der Luftfahrt legte, war noch nicht zu er­­ahnen, dass hier fast 200 Jahre später ein wichtiger Spezial­­anbieter der Flug­­zeugindustrie angesiedelt sein würde. Die Elbe Flugzeugwerke sind heute mit ihrer Umrüstung von Passagier­ma­­schi­­nen zu Frachtern ein beredtes Beispiel für die vielen Unternehmen, die, ihre Tradition nutzend, aus Dres­den einen innovativen, dynamisch wachsenden Wirt­­schaftsstandort machen.

Für die Dresdner Metall- und Elektro­indus­trie ist die Nähe und damit der direkte Kontakt zur Forschung ein wich­tiger Standortvorteil. Neben der Technischen Universität haben sich in der sächsischen Landeshauptstadt ver­­­schie­dene Forschungseinrichtungen wie Fraunhofer-Institute, die Max-Planck-Ge­sell­schaft oder Institute der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft angesiedelt und knüpfen mit ihren Innovationen an den Erfinder­geist der Region an.

Unbenannt-1

Aber Dresden und sein Umfeld sind auch ein Magnet für Fachkräfte aus nah und fern. Eine hohe Bildungsqualität, interessante Berufschancen und ein lebenswertes Umfeld mit vielfältigen Angeboten aus Kultur, Sport und Freizeit machen Dres­­den zu einem Anziehungspunkt.

Es ist ohne Zweifel die Mischung aus Kultur und Wissenschaft, aus Hightech und Tradition, Lebensqualität und Ge­­schäfts­­­tüchtigkeit, die den Erfolg Dres­dens ausmacht. 2008 wurde die sächsische Landeshauptstadt im Städte­ver­gleich der Initiative Neue Soziale Marktwirtschaft und der Wirtschafts­Woche erneut zur dynamischsten Stadt Deutschlands gewählt, weil sich hier die wirtschaftlichen Bedingungen in den letzten fünf Jahren am besten entwickelt haben.

Die sächsische Metall- und Elektroin­dus­trie hat in Dresden ein bedeutendes Zentrum, das einen wesentlichen Bei­trag zum Wachstum dieses Sektors in ganz Sachsen leistet.

Andreas-Huhn-KopieDer Autor hat an der TU Dresden Maschi­nenbau studiert. Seit 2003 steht er an der Spitze des größten sächs­ischen In­­dus­­­trieverbandes Sachsenmetall. Be­­reits 1994 zählte Huhn zu den Grün­dern des All­­ge­­meinen Arbeit­ge­berver­bandes Sach­­sen, heute un­­­­ter dem Dach von Sach­­sen­­metall. Huhn ist ge­­schäfts­führender Gesell­­­schaf­­ter der auf emaillierte Paneele spezialisierten Omeras GmbH in Lauter bei Aue.