Dietmar Meister: Life insurance as an indispensable element of old-age provisions

Unbenannt-1
There is one thing politicians and ex­­perts agree on: private old-age provisions are becoming ever more important – for with­­out appropriate precautions, a broad section of the population will soon no longer be able to maintain their standard of living after retirement. Demographic changes and decreasing efficiency of the social security systems indicate an uncertain future. The current low interest level and a media land­scape, which is not exactly in favour of provisions, cause further irritation among the citizens. Comprehensive information and awareness-raising initiatives are needed as urgently as the establishment of a stable regulatory framework. One thing is certain: the concept of life in­­surance as a key element of private old-age provisions, which has been tried and tested over generations, provides the highest level of security when it comes to long-term investments.
A stable lifelong income. The conception of private old-age provisions has changed among the population in light of the low-interest period and the na­­tional debt crisis. For three out of four German citizens (74 per cent), security is more important in their old-age provisions than rate of return (Allensbach survey conducted in 2011). Life insurance is the only instrument for private old-age provisions which provides security and, at the same time, meets the specific and individual needs regarding old-age provisions. Benefits guaranteed beforehand are a unique selling proposition. They are available at a spec­­ified time, for example when reaching retirement age, and provide the necessary lifelong income. The insured person benefits from the effect of compound in­­terest. During the period of capital ac­­cumulation, life in­­surance additionally pro­­vides financial security for surviving part­ners as well as an insurance against in­­capacity for work.
The biometric risk, meaning the rather pleasant situation of reaching a higher age than the average population, is not taken into consideration in various alter­native investment products. From this point of view, life insurance is the only investment product which is resistant to demographic developments. It offers a lifetime guarantee and ensures that the insured person receives at least the guaranteed benefit, regardless of the actual duration and lifetime. This is the essential element of old-age provisions that are worthy of their name. More than 94 million life insurance contracts in Germany document that the consumers share the same view and that life in­­surance represents the recognised form of private provision. Day after day, Ger­­man life insurers distribute around EUR 230 million in form of capital payments or pensions – this amounts to about a third of the benefits of the statutory pension insurance (German Insurance Association (GDV) – Source: Die deut­sche Lebensversicherung in Zahlen, 2012). Private old-age provisions play a decisive role in the overall old-age provisions.

Unbenannt-2
Regulated, secured and transparent. The life insurance market is highly regulated and committed to the highest security standards. Mechanisms such as guaranteed actuarial interest rate, capital cover regulations since Solvency I, the rescue company Protektor or regulations of the German Financial Ser­­vices Regulator (Bundesanstalt für Fi­­nanz­­di­­en­­st­­leistungsaufsicht, BaFin), provide a unique security on the financial market, which has been tried and proven over dec­­ades. There are few other products on the financial market that are capable of offering a comparable default guar­­antee. In contrast to how they are commonly perceived, life insurance products may be highly complex, yet they are be­­coming increasingly more transparent. This fact is reflected, for example, in the required participation rates of the policyholders in the results, the continuous improvement of the standard policy conditions and consumer in­­formation as well as in detailed specifications of the acquisition and administration costs in the product information sheets.
If securing the biometric risk and the guarantee are taken into account, life in­­surance proves to be strongly competitive – even in terms of return perspectives. Thus, the actual benefits paid by the life insurers, including profit partic­ipation, are always clearly above the guar­­anteed figures. Long-term comparisons have shown that the return on investment even surpasses the return of most equity funds, which fluctuate much more no­­ticeably in terms of performance. From an economic and social perspective, this is a decisive argument in favour of life in­­surance. A long-term equalisation of re­­sults due to the investment product life insurance results in the problem that the individual time of retirement – boom or downturn – will not determine whether you have a large or only a small amount of money at your disposal.
Reduced willingness to make private pro­­visions. The individual budget available for old-age provisions tends to be tight and is rivalled by the individual propensi­ty to consume. The high level of consum­er spending illustrates that low interest rates have a negative influence on the pro­­pensity to save. The savings ratio in Ger­­many remains high by European stand­­ards, but it has been declining for years and currently amounts to approximately eleven per cent. Most consumers are surely aware of the fact that they need to make private old-age provisions if they want to maintain their standard of living after retirement. But as mentioned before, people are currently un­­settled by the media and the national debt crisis and, therefore, are unwilling to enter into long-term financial commit­ments. The resulting fatalism concerning provisions contradicts the actual need of making private old-age provisions. However, the urgency of making additional provisions remains unchanged. The issue of old-age provisions is only postponed.

Unbenannt-3
According to the Generali old-age survey, which we published in coop­­eration with the Institut für Demoskopie Allensbach in 2012, senior citizens are doing better than ever before. But this situation will not last – unless future pen­­sioners start making private provisions to a larger extent than before. The prod­­uct variants of life insurance provide some of the best opportunities within the frame­work of government-sponsored products such as Riester and basic pension or corporate pensions, enabling consumers to optimise their own financial ex­­pens­­es and the resulting income.
Alternative financial investments and re­­turns. Only few private savers are likely to permanently achieve the return on in­­vestment of institutional investors. Life insurers, however, were continuously able to generate a return on investment above the money market interest rate. Thanks to the size of their portfolios, they can broaden and diversify their financial in­­vestments. In addition, life in­­surers have years of capital market experience and operate an established risk management system, which equally takes the opportunities and risks of financial investments into account. The current trend of de­­clin­­ing returns on life insurances is the re­­sult of low long-term interest rates. Pro­­fessional investors will not be able to es­­cape this trend in the long run. Especially not if they fac­­tor in the money market interest rate as a reference for the necessary fi­­nancial security of their investment. In contrast, life insurers have dem­­on­strat­­ed their ability to limit losses and to react to cri­­ses in the capital markets due to their spe­­cific risk-averse investment strategies. At the peak of the fi­­nan­­cial crisis, not all institutional in­­ves­­tors have succeeded in this regard. The cur­­rent low-in­­terest period, which is, above all, po­­lit­­ically motivated, makes life very difficult for all investors – in­­cluding the life in­­surers. This requires political action and the establishment of adequate conditions to raise the at­­tractiveness of long-term financial in­­vestments in the future.

Meister_1_2012_hoch-KopieThe author was born in 1951 and studied Mathematics and Business Administra­tion in Hanover. Dietmar Meister started his profes­sional career at Volks­fürsorge Deut­sche Lebensversicherung AG in 1980. In 1993, he joined Aachen­­er und Mün­­chener Beteiligungs-AG, which op­­erates under name Generali Deutsch­land Holding AG since 2009. As of 2002, he is a member of the board of directors and chairman of the board since 2007..

Dietmar Meister: Die Lebensversicherung als unverzichtbarer Bestandteil der Altersvorsorge

Unbenannt-1
In einem Punkt sind sich Politiker und Experten einig: Die private Altersvor­sor­ge wird immer wichtiger – denn ohne ent­­sprechende Vorsorge können breite Be­­völkerungsschichten ihren gewohnten Lebensstandard im Alter schon bald nicht mehr beibehalten. Die demografischen Veränderungen und die abnehmende Leis­­tungsfähigkeit der sozialen Sicherungs­sys­teme deuten auf eine unsichere Zukunft hin. Das aktuelle Niedrigzinsumfeld und ein vorsorgeunfreundliches Medienum­feld verunsichern die Bürger zusätzlich. Umfassende Aufklärung und Bewusst­seins­bildung sind daher ebenso dringend erforderlich wie die Schaffung stabiler Rahmenbedingungen durch die Politik. Denn fest steht: Die über Generationen er­­probte Lebensversicherung bietet als zen­­traler Baustein der privaten Altersvorsorge höchste Sicherheit bei der langfristigen Geldanlage.
Zeitlebens ein gesichertes Einkommen. Der Blick auf die private Altersvorsorge hat sich vor dem Hintergrund von Nie­­drigzinsphase und Staatsschuldenkrise in der Bevölkerung verändert: Sicherheit geht für drei von vier Deutschen (74 Pro­­zent) bei ihrer Altersvorsorge vor Ren­­dite (Allensbach-Umfrage aus dem Jahr 2011). Die Lebensversicherung ist das einzige private Altersvorsorge-Instrument, das diese Sicherheit bietet und gleichzeitig die spezifischen und originären Anforderungen an eine Altersvorsorge erfüllt. Zentrales Alleinstellungsmerkmal ist eine vorab ga­­rantierte Leistung, die zu einem festgelegten Zeitpunkt – zum Beispiel mit Ein­­tritt ins Rentenalter – zur Verfügung steht und zeitlebens das nötige Einkommen sichert. Dabei profitiert der Lebensver­sicher­te vom Zinseszinseffekt. Darüber hi­naus sichert die Lebensversicherung bei Bedarf in der Ansparphase auch Hinter­­bliebene sowie die eigene Arbeitskraft fi­­nan­­ziell ab.
Das biometrische Risiko, also die für sich genommen erfreuliche Situation, älter als der Bevölkerungsdurchschnitt zu werden, findet bei vielen alternativen Anlage­for­­men keine Berücksichtigung. Die Lebens­­versicherung ist so betrachtet die einzige demografieresistente Anlageform. Sie bietet eine lebenslange Garantie und stellt sicher, dass unabhängig von der tatsäch­­lichen Bezugs- und Lebensdauer immer mindestens die garantierte Leistung er­­folgt. Dies ist der Kern einer Altersvor­­sor­­­ge, die diesen Namen verdient. Über 94 Millionen Lebensversicherungsverträge in Deutschland zeigen, dass dies auch der Verbraucher so sieht und die Lebens­­versicherung die anerkannte private Vor­­sor­­geform ist. Täglich schütten die deutschen Lebensversicherer rund 230 Millionen Euro als Kapitalleistung oder Renten aus – etwa ein Drittel der Leistung der ge­­setz­­lichen Rentenversicherung (GDV: Die deutsche Lebensversicherung in Zahlen, 2012). Damit trägt die private Alters­vor­­sorge entscheidend zur gesamten Alters­­vorsorge bei.

Unbenannt-2
d
dddReguliert, abgesichert und transparent. Der Markt der Lebensversicherungen ist stark reguliert und unterzieht sich selbst höchsten Sicherheitsanforderungen. Mech­­a­­nismen wie der garantierte Rech­nungszins, Kapitalbe­deckungs­vor­schrif­ten bereits seit Solvency I, die Auffang­­ge­sellschaft Protektor oder auch die Kon­­trolle durch die Bundesanstalt für Fi­­­nanz­­dienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin) sorgen für eine im Finanzmarkt einzigartige Sicher­heit, die seit Jahrzehnten erprobt ist. Kaum ein anderes Produkt am Finanzmarkt kann eine vergleichbare Ausfallgarantie bieten. Anders als oft dargestellt, sind Lebens­­ver­­sicherungsprodukte obgleich hoch kom­­plex, dennoch zunehmend transparenter. Dies zeigen beispielsweise die vorgeschrie­­benen Beteiligungsquoten der Versiche­­rungsnehmer an den Ergebnissen, laufende Verbesserungen bei den Allgemeinen Versicherungsbedingungen, Verbraucher­­infor­­mationen sowie detaillierte Angaben zu Abschluss- und Verwaltungskosten in den Produktinformationsblättern.
Wird die Absicherung des biometrischen Risikos und der Garantie berücksichtigt, zeigt sich die Lebensversicherung sogar unter Renditeaspekten absolut wettbewerbsfähig. So lagen die tatsächlichen Leistungen der Lebensversicherer inklusive der Überschussbeteiligungen stets deutlich über den garantierten Werten. Im Langfristvergleich liegt die Rendite sogar über den Erträgen der meisten Aktienfonds, die in ihrer Wertent­wick­lung viel stärker schwanken. Dies ist auch volks­­wirtschaftlich und gesellschaftlich ein ent­­scheidendes Argument für die Lebens­ver­sicherung. Denn die langfristige Glättung der Ergebnisse durch die Anlageform Lebensversicherung sorgt dafür, dass nicht der individuelle Zeitpunkt des Ren­­teneintritts – Boom- oder Abschwung­phase – darüber entscheidet, ob man über viel oder wenig Geld verfügen kann.
Sinkende Bereitschaft zur Vorsorge. Das für die Altersvorsorge individuell verfüg­bare Budget ist in der Regel knapp und konkurriert mit der Konsumneigung des Einzelnen. Die aktuell hohen Konsumaus­­gaben verdeutlichen, dass die Neigung zum Sparen durch niedrige Zinsen ne­­ga­­tiv beeinflusst wird. Noch ist die Spar­quote in Deutschland im europäischen Vergleich hoch; sie sinkt jedoch seit eini­gen Jahren und liegt derzeit bei etwa 11 Prozent. Zwar wissen die meisten Ver­braucher, dass sie privat vorsorgen müssen, wenn sie ihren Lebensstandard im Alter bei­­­behalten wollen. Aber die Men­schen sind gegenwärtig – wie eingangs erwähnt – durch Medien und Staats­­schul­­denkrise ver­­un­­­sichert und scheuen lang­­fristige finanzielle Bindungen. Der sich hieraus entwi­­ck­­el­­n­de Vorsorge­fatalis­mus konterkariert den tatsächlichen Bedarf, privat fürs Alter vor­­zusorgen. An der Dring­­lichkeit der zu­­sätzlichen Absicherung än­­dert er nichts. Das Vorsorgeproblem wird nur vertagt.

Unbenannt-3
Laut Generali Altersstudie, die wir zu­­­sammen mit dem Institut für Demos­ko­pie Allensbach im Jahr 2012 veröffentlicht haben, geht es den heutigen Ren­­t­­nern so gut wie nie. Dabei wird es jedoch nicht bleiben – es sei denn, die zukünftigen Rentner sorgen selber deutlich mehr als bisher privat vor. Die Produkt­var­ian­ten der Lebensversicherung bieten nicht zuletzt im Rahmen der staatlich geförder­ten Produkte, wie Riester- und Basis­ren­te oder betriebliche Altersvorsorge, sehr gute Möglichkeiten, den eigenen finanziellen Aufwand und den hieraus entstehenden Ertrag zu optimieren.
Alternative Geldanlagen und Renditen. Nur wenige Privatsparer dürften dauer­haft die Renditen institutioneller Anleger erreichen. Lebensversicherer konnten hin­­gegen stets eine Rendite über dem Geld­­marktzins erzielen. Aufgrund der Größe ihrer Portfolien können sie bei der Kapital­­anlage breit streuen und diversifizieren. Zudem verfügen Lebensversicherer über langjährige Kapitalmarktexpertise sowie ein etabliertes Risikomanage­mentsystem, das die Chancen und Risiken der Kapital­­­anlage gleichermaßen berücksichtigt.Die aktuell zu beobachtenden sinkenden Renditen von Lebensversicherungen sind Folge der niedrigen langfristigen Zinsen. Kein professioneller Anleger kann sich diesem Trend auf Dauer vollkommen ent­­ziehen. Schon gar nicht, wenn er über die notwendige Sicherheit der Anlage den Geldmarktzins als Referenz berücksichtigt. Lebensversicherer haben aber be­­­wiesen, dass sie aufgrund des explizit risikoaversen Anlageverhaltens in der Lage sind, Verluste zu begrenzen und so Kapitalmarktkrisen abzufangen. Zur Hochphase der Finanzkrise ist das nicht allen institutionellen Anlegern gelungen. Unter der aktuellen Niedrigzinsphase, die vor allem politisch motiviert ist, leiden alle Investoren – auch die Lebensver­sich­­erer. Die Politik ist hier gefragt, ange­messene Rahmenbedingungen zu schaffen, um langfristige Geldanlagen in Zu­­kunft auch wieder attraktiv zu gestalten.

Meister_1_2012_hoch-KopieDer 1951 geborene Autor hat Mathe­­ma­tik und BWL in Hannover studiert. Diet­­mar Meister begann seine berufliche Lauf­­bahn 1980 bei der Volksfür­sorge Deut­sche Le­­­bens­­versicherung AG. 1993 stieg er bei der Aachener und Münchener Be­­teiligungs-­AG ein, die seit 2009 als Gene­rali Deutsch­land Holding AG firmiert. Seit 2002 ist er Mitglied des Vor­­­stands und seit 2007 Vorsitzender des Vorstands.