Dieter Reiter: Munich as a centre of business: the vibrant heart of Bavaria

Just being beautiful is not enough! The city of Munich proves that it has more potential. As an equal partner, the city makes a huge contribution to the alliance of the Munich Metropolitan Region.

The region’s strength is a sound mix of closely interlinked sectors. It has an ade­­quate proportion of global players, me­­dium-sized businesses and innovative enterprises.
The state capital’s balanced mix of strong, future-oriented industries is a convincing factor in the competition among Ger­­man cities.

1083

A study carried out in October 2009 by the New Social Market Economy Initi­a­tive in cooperation with the magazine “Wirtschaftswoche”, for the sixth time in a row, placed Munich at the top of the ranking list of the economically most successful German cities. The study ex­­amined various socio-economic and structural indicators of the 50 largest German cities, for example income from work, gross domestic product or spending power.

The economic location of Munich offers a wide range of qualified service provid­ers and suppliers for technology-related companies.

Know-how and creativity are resources for the future
Research and development constitute an important pillar of the local high-tech clusters. About 35,000 employees work here. An advanced knowledge and re­­search environment generates innovation and a permanent supply of highly qual­­ified experts and management staff.

Nr.-D-1157-BMW-Welt-1-Foto-B.-Roemmelt

A university ranking published by Alex­ander von Humboldt Foundation in June 2009 placed the two Munich-based elite universities, Ludwig-Maximilians Uni­ver­­sity and Technische Universität (university of technology), among the German universities attracting most foreign stu­­dents in the fields of natural and life sciences.

Furthermore, Munich boasts an extraordinary range of world-renowned non-uni­­versity research institutions. In the BMW Group’s Research and Innovation Center, also known as FIZ, some 7,000 engineers, specialists, scientists and other experts research and develop next-generation vehicles and technologies. In 2004, Gen­­eral Electric opened a research centre in Garching, near Munich.

There, up to 150 scientists conduct re­­search in the areas of medical engineer­ing, new materials and renewable energies as well as automotive and materials research.

695

Among the locally based research institutions of world renown are also Max Planck Society, Fraunhofer Society and the German Aerospace Center (DLR).

The high-tech region of Munich is charac­­terized by world-class research achieve­­ments. Research leads to innovation. And therefore the fact that the state capital is home to the German Patent and Trade Mark Office, the European Patent Office and the German Chamber of Patent At­­torneys is not the only reason why Mu­­nich is often referred to as “city of pat­­ents”. In fact, Munich takes a leading position in Germany in terms of patent activities.

Infrastructure keeps the economy going
The attractiveness of the location is backed by a well-connected transport network. Munich’s international airport provides fast, global connections for bu­­si­­ness and private travellers. Munich Air­­port has consolidated its position as the strongest-growing airport across Euro­pe. With approximately 34.5 million passen­­gers in 2008, Munich achieved an in­­crease of almost two per cent compared to the same period of the previous year. In terms of passenger numbers, Munich Airport ranks seventh among the most important European hubs.

The region of Munich is ideally con­nect­­ed to the German road network through eight motorway junctions. The region­al public transport system also en­­sures ex­­cellent connections within the city and throughout the surrounding region.

1076

In addition, the city’s multi-annual in­­vestment programme proposes to allocate more than three billion euros by 2013 to further expand the urban infra­­structure.

The Munich Trade Fair Centre is an im­­portant pivotal point for the German economy. International trade fairs such as Bauma, Expo Real or Drinktec bring together experts and decision makers from around the world.
More than two million visitors from over 200 countries annually participate in the events in Munich.

Excellent conditions for doing business
The Prognos 2009 study puts Munich in third place among the German cities with the most promising future growth sectors. These include the information and communications technologies (ICT), life sciences, aerospace technology, sat­­ellite navigation, automotive engineering as well as high-quality corporate and re­­search services.
In 2008, Munich once again reinforced its outstanding position in Germany as a retail centre. For instance, the spending power of consumers in Munich, be­­ing 26,301 euros, exceeds the German average by 38 per cent and is by far high­­er than in any other large German city.
In the surrounding region, too, the spend­­ing potential is high. Besides Starnberg county, the counties of Munich, Ebers­­berg and Fürstenfeldbruck are among the German locations with the highest spending power.

The number of gainfully employed people in Munich is high: In June 2008, ap­­proximately 1.1 million persons in the region were subject to compulsory so­­cial insurance. In addition, the unemployment rate in Munich was lower than in any other major city in Germany: 4.4 per cent in 2008.

1099

A region with high quality of life
In Mercer’s 2009 Quality of Living rank­­ing, Munich once again took seventh place among 215 international metropolises.

This may be attributed to the fact that the state capital also enjoys internation­­al renown as a centre of art and culture. A rich cultural landscape, numerous lei­­sure time offers catering for all kinds of interests as well as extended natural areas and lakes in the surrounding region invite people to take excursions to the green countryside and enhance the residential and recreational value of Munich.
The mixture of nationalities in Munich is just as diverse. Approximately 23 per cent of the city’s 1.31 million residents are of foreign origin. About 41 per cent of non-German citizens moved here from other EU countries.

High quality of life combined with open-mindedness and tolerance – that’s what awaits you in Munich!

1097

Good prospects for the future
Therefore it is no surprise that Munich takes top positions in a variety of rankings as well.

In 2009, Munich was the first German city that made it to the top of the “Eu­­ropean Regional Economic Growth In­­dex” (E-REGI). LaSalle Investment Man­­agement examined which of the just under 100 agglomerations in 31 Euro­pean countries has the most promising short to medium-term development po­­tential.

Innovative industries, world-class companies and excellent science and re­­search facilities make the state capital of Munich and its surrounding area one of the most dynamic economic centres in Europe – a top position that should be maintained in the future. The region of Munich is on its way to building a successful future – innovative, diverse and competent!

reiter01The graduate in administration held var­­i­ous positions in the finance department of Munich, the most recent being that of city director and deputy city treasurer. In 2009, he moved to the labour and business de­­partment and took responsibility for re­­gional and international economic policy, business development, municipal labour and qualification policy, tourism, “Oktober­fest” as well as investment management.

Dieter Reiter: Wirtschaftsraum München: das pulsierende Herz Bayerns

Nur schön ist nicht genug! Die Stadt Mün­­chen beweist, dass sie mehr kann. In der Europäischen Metropolregion Mün­­chen bringt die Stadt – als gleichberech­­tigter Partner – großes Potenzial in die Allianz ein.

Ein gesunder Mix an gut vernetzten Bran­­chen ist die Stärke der Region. Hier ha­­ben sich Global Player, mittelständische Betriebe und innovative Unternehmen in einem ausgeglichenen Verhältnis an­­gesiedelt.

Die Landeshauptstadt überzeugt im Wett­­bewerb der deutschen Städte und Krei­­se mit ihrem ausgewogenen Mix an star­­ken Zukunftsbranchen.

1083

Laut einer Studie vom Oktober 2009 der Initiative Neue So­­ziale Markt­wirtschaft, die in Koopera­tion mit der Zeitschrift Wirtschaftswoche durchgeführt wurde, liegt München im Ranking der wirt­schaft­­lich erfolgreichs­­ten deutschen Städte be­­reits zum sechsten Mal in Folge an der Spitze. Die 50 größten Städte Deutsch­­lands wurden auf verschiedene sozioöko­nomische und strukturelle Indika­to­ren – zum Beispiel Arbeitsein­kommen, Brut­­toinlands­pro­dukt oder Kaufkraft – un­­ter­­sucht.

Der Wirtschaftsstandort München bietet den Technologie-Unternehmen eine große Bandbreite an qualifizierten Dienst­­leis­tern und Zulieferern.

Wissen und Kreativität – Rohstoff für die Zukunft
Forschung und Entwicklung bilden eine wichtige Säule für die Hightech-Clus­­ter. Rund 35.000 Arbeitnehmer sind hier tä­­tig. Eine ausgeprägte Wissens- und For­­schungslandschaft sorgt für Inno­va­tion und ein ständiges Angebot an hoch­­qua­­lifizierten Fach- und Füh­rungs­kräften.

Nr.-D-1157-BMW-Welt-1-Foto-B.-Roemmelt

Im Rahmen eines Hochschulrankings der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung im Juni 2009 zählten die beiden Elite-Uni­­ver­si­täten Ludwig-Maximilians-Uni­­ver­­si­­tät und Technische Universität Mün­chen im Be­­reich der Natur- und Lebenswis­sen­schaf­­ten zu den attraktivsten deutschen Uni­­versi­täten für ausländische Studenten.

Im außeruniversitären Bereich verfügt München ebenfalls über ein heraus­ra­gen­­des Angebot an weltweit bekannten For­­schungseinrichtungen. Im BMW Group Forschungs- und Innovations­zen­trum, kurz FIZ, forschen und entwickeln rund 7.000 Ingenieure, Fachleute, Wissen­schaft­­ler so­­wie andere Experten neue Fahrzeuge und Technologien für die Zu­­kunft. General Electric eröffnete im Jahr 2004 ein For­­schungszentrum in Gar­ching bei Mün­chen.
Bis zu 150 Wissenschaftler forschen dort in den Bereichen Medizintechnik, neue Werkstoffe und erneuerbare En­­ergien, Automotive und Material­for­schung.

695

Zu den weltweit renommierten For­schungs­­einrichtungen zählen außerdem die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, die Fraunhofer-Ge­­sell­­schaft sowie die Deut­­sche For­schungs­­anstalt für Luft- und Raumfahrt DLR.

Forschungsleistungen der Spitzen­klas­­se stehen für den Hightech-Raum Mün­chen. Auf Forschung folgt Innovation. Und so ist die Bezeichnung „Patentstadt München“ nicht allein auf die Tatsache zurückzuführen, dass in der Landes­haupt­­stadt das Deutsche Patent- und Mar­ken­­amt, das Europäische Patent­amt sowie die Deutsche Patentanwalts­kam­­mer sess­­haft sind. Vielmehr nimmt Mün­­chen im deutschen Vergleich bei den Pa­­tent­ak­ti­vitäten eine Spitzenposition ein.

Infrastruktur hält die Wirtschaft am Laufen
Die Attraktivität des Standortes wird durch eine gut vernetzte Verkehrs­land­­schaft unterstützt. Der internationale Flughafen München ermöglicht schnelle und weltweite Verbindungen für Ge­­schäfts- und Privatleute. Der Flughafen München hat seine Position als wachstumsstärkster Flughafen unter den eu­­ropäischen Flughäfen bestätigt. Mit rund 34,5 Millionen Passagieren erreichte München im Jahr 2008 eine Steigerung um knapp zwei Prozent gegenüber dem Vergleichszeitraum des Vorjahres. Der Flughafen München befindet sich auf Platz sieben unter den passagierstärks­­ten Hubs in Europa.
Die Region München ist über acht Au­­to­­bahnverbindungen optimal an das deut­­sche Straßennetz angebunden. Auch der öffent­li­che Personennahverkehr sorgt in der Stadt sowie im Umland für eine hervorragende An­­bin­­dung.
Das Mehrjahresinvestitionsprogramm der Stadt sieht darüber hinaus vor, bis zum Jahr 2013 die städtische Infra­struk­­tur mit mehr als drei Milliarden Euro weiter auszubauen.
Die Messe München ist ein bedeutender Dreh- und Angelpunkt für die deutsche Wirtschaft. Internationale Messen wie die Bauma, die Expo Real oder die Drinktec bringen Experten und Ent­schei­­der aus aller Welt zusammen. Mehr als zwei Millionen Besucher aus über 200 Ländern nehmen jährlich an den Ver­an­­staltungen in München teil.

1076

Hervorragende Rahmenbedingungen für die Wirtschaft
In der Studie Pro­­gnos 2009 liegt Mün­chen auf dem drit­­ten Platz der Städte mit den zu­­kunfts­träch­­tigs­ten Wachs­tums­­branchen. Dazu ge­­hö­­ren die In­­for­ma­tions- und Kommunikations­tech­­nolo­gien (IKT), Life Sciences, Luft- und Raum­fahrt, Satellitennavigation, Auto­­mo­biltechnik sowie die hochwertigen Unternehmens- und Forschungsdienst­leistungen.

München behauptete auch im Jahr 2008 seine herausragende Stellung als Einzel­­handelsstandort in Deutschland. So liegt die Kaufkraft der Münchner Konsumen­ten mit 26.301 Euro um 38 Prozent über dem deutschen Durchschnitt und auch mit großem Abstand über dem Wert al­­ler anderen deutschen Großstädte.
Auch das Umland verfügt über ein hohes Kaufkraftpotenzial. Neben dem Land­kreis Starnberg befinden sich die Landkreise München, Ebersberg sowie Fürstenfeld­bruck unter den kaufkräftigsten Stand­orten in Deutschland.
Die Anzahl der Beschäftigten in Mün­chen ist hoch: Im Juni 2008 waren in der Re­­gion München rund 1,1 Millionen Men­schen sozialversicherungspflichtig be­­schäftigt. Zudem wies München im Ver­­gleich aller deutschen Großstädte die geringste Arbeitslosenquote auf: 4,4 Pro­­zent im Jahr 2008.

1099

Hohe Lebensqualität am Standort
Im Mercer-Ranking zur Lebensqualität 2009 erreichte München im internatio­na­­len Vergleich von 215 Metropolen erneut den siebten Rang.
Vielleicht kommt hier zum Tragen, dass die Landeshauptstadt als Kunst- und Kulturstadt auch international eine wich­­tige Rolle spielt. Eine ausgeprägte Kul­turlandschaft, zahlreiche Freizeitan­ge­bote für verschiedenste Interessen so­­wie weitläufige Naturgebiete und Seen in der Umgebung, die zu Ausflü­gen „ins Grüne“ einladen, steigern den Lebens- und Freizeitwert in München.
Die Nationalitäten in München sind eben­­so vielfältig. In der Stadt leben rund 1,31 Millionen Menschen, von denen etwa 23 Prozent aus dem Ausland stammen. Rund 41 Prozent der ausländischen Bür­­ger sind aus der Europäischen Union zugezogen.
Hohe Lebensqualität kombiniert mit Of­­fenheit und Toleranz – das finden Sie in München!

1097

Gute Perspektiven für die Zukunft
Es ist daher nicht verwunderlich, dass München auch in verschiedenen wei­­teren Rankings Spitzenpositionen be­­legt.

Im „European Regional Economic Growth Index“ (E-REGI) 2009 konnte sich Mün­­chen erstmalig als deutsche Stadt an die Spitze setzen. LaSalle Investment Ma­­nage­­ment untersuchte, welcher der knapp 100 Ballungsräume in 31 europäischen Ländern das größte kurz- bis mittelfris­ti­ge Entwicklungspotenzial bietet.
Innovative Branchen, Top-Unterneh­­men sowie exzellente Wissenschaft und For­schung machen die Landeshauptstadt München und ihr Umland zu einer der dynamischsten Wirtschaftsregionen Eu­­ropas – eine Spitzenstellung, die auch zukünftig gehalten werden soll. Die Re­­gion München befindet sich auf dem besten Weg in eine erfolgreiche Zukunft – innovativ, vielseitig und kompetent!

reiter01Der Diplom-Verwaltungs­­wirt (FH) war in wechselnden Funktio­nen in der Stadt­käm­­merei München tätig, zu­­letzt als Stadt­di­rek­­tor und stellvertreten­­der Stadt­käm­­me­rer. Seit 2009 ist er als Refe­rent für Ar­­beit und Wirtschaft der Stadt Mün­chen für re­­gionale und interna­­tionale Wirt­schafts­po­­li­­tik, Wirt­schafts­­förderung, kom­­munale Be­­schäftigungs- und Qualifi­zie­rungs­po­li­­tik, Tourismus, Oktoberfest sowie Be­­tei­­li­gungs­­manage­ment verantwortlich.