Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina: Science in the service of society

The German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina is the oldest continuously ex­­isting academy of sciences and medicine in the world with a tradition going back over 355 years. It has more than 1,300 members worldwide.

The Leo­­poldina has been Germany’s national academy of sciences since July 2008. Its task is to conduct scientific research on issues relevant to the fu­­ture of society, to inform the public and government of the results and to promote these issues within Germany and internationally.

Other major tasks of the Leopoldina include promoting science and interdisciplinary debate and disseminating the results of scientific research. For this purpose, the Academy re­­gu­­larly or­­ganises events in Germany and abroad.

The Leopoldina elects outstanding scientists from all over the world to be­­come members of the Academy. In the past these have included 166 Nobel Prize winners; currently there are 32. The Leo­­pol­­dina was founded in Schwein­­­­furt in 1652 and has had its headquarters in Halle since 1878.

 

Vorlage_Logos

  1. Address

    Emil-Abderhalden-Straße 37
    D-06108 Halle (Saale)

    Berliner Büro
    Reinhardtstraße 14
    D-10117 Berlin

    Telefon +49 (0) 345 47239-0
    Telefax +49 (0) 345 47239-19
    leopoldina@leopoldina-halle.de
    www.leopoldina-halle.de

  2. Year of foundation

    1652
  3. Members

    1.300
  4. Business activity

    • Provides advice to government and the wider public through position papers and detailed reports on socially relevant issues of science
    • Represents German scientists in international academic committees
    • Disseminates the results of scientific research through events in Germany and abroad and through publications
    • Promotes science and research
    • Acts as a platform for interdisciplinary exchange

Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina: Wissenschaft im Dienst der Gesellschaft

Die Deutsche Akademie der Natur­­for­­scher Leopoldina ist die älteste ununterbrochen existierende naturwissenschaftlich-medizinische Aka­­de­­mie der Welt mit einer über 355-jährigen Tra­­dition und mehr als 1.300 Mit­­glie­­dern weltweit.

Seit Juli 2008 ist die Leo­­poldina Deutschlands natio­nale Akademie der Wis­­sen­­­­schaf­­ten und beauftragt, in völ­­l­­iger Un­­abhängigkeit wichtige ge­­sell­­schaftliche Zukunftsthemen zu be­­ar­­beiten, die Er­­gebnisse der Politik und der Öffent­­lich­­keit zu vermitteln und diese Themen na­­tional wie international zu ver­­treten.

Daneben zählen auch die Förderung der Wissenschaft, die interdisziplinäre Diskussion und die Verbreitung wissen­­schaftlicher Erkenntnisse zu den wichtigsten Aufgaben der Leopoldina. Zu diesem Zweck führt die Akademie re­­gelmäßig Veranstaltungen im In- und im Ausland durch.

Die Leopoldina wählt hervorragende Wis­­­­senschaftler aus aller Welt zu ihren Mit­­­­gliedern, zu denen in der Ver­­gan­­gen­­­­heit 166 Nobelpreisträger gehör­­­­­­­­­­­­ten; zur­­zeit sind es 32. Die Leo­­pol­­dina wur­­de im Jahr 1652 in Schwein­­furt ge­­grün­­det und hat seit 1878 ihren Sitz in Halle.

Vorlage_Logos

  1. Anschrift

    Emil-Abderhalden-Straße 37
    D-06108 Halle (Saale)

    Berliner Büro
    Reinhardtstraße 14
    D-10117 Berlin

    Telefon +49 (0) 345 47239-0
    Telefax +49 (0) 345 47239-19
    leopoldina@leopoldina-halle.de
    www.leopoldina-halle.de

  2. Gründungsjahr

    1652
  3. Mitarbeiter

    1.300
  4. Geschäftstätigkeit

    • Wissenschaftsbasierte Beratung von Politik und Öffentlichkeit durch Stellungnahmen und Empfehlungen zu gesellschaftlich relevanten Themen
    • Vertretung der deutschen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in internationalen Akademiegremien
    • Verbreitung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse über Veranstaltungen im In- und Ausland sowie die Publikation von Schriften
    • Förderung der Wissenschaft und Forschung
    • Plattform für den interdisziplinärer Austausch