David Milleker: Macroeconomic leverage – A way out of the financial and monetary crisis

The financial and economic crisis that has now resulted in a euro crisis has undermined truths that were thought to be self-evident. It seems that almost all self-established rules of “proper economic policy” have been broken in the last few years due to an active fiscal economic policy, tremendous bank recapi­­­­talisations, breach of the no-bail-out clause and the enormous expansion of the central banks’ balance sheets.

 

Social psychology calls this phenom­­enon cognitive dissonance: doing things that in fact do not correspond to the standards one has set for oneself. The macroeconomic stabilisation in the financial and monetary crisis is, without question, a case of cognitive diss­­o­­nance. It can be rationalised from a scientific point of view, whereby one clearly must admit that it raises serious questions particularly in terms of distributive fairness.

Economic rationalisation. In analysing the crises, it makes sense to refer to the basis of macroeconomics. The basic concept is double-entry bookkeeping, which represents the basis for national accounts.

Each accounting item has an offsetting entry; in economics the respective sums of production, incomes and utilisation. The logic behind this is that, for example, a company generates only as much revenue as customers spend money on its products. On the other hand, consumers only have as much income as they receive in wages and capital income (interest and dividend payments from government and companies). In brief: the income of one is always the expenditure of another.

Likewise, assets and liabilities corres­­pond to one another. One cannot exist without the other. Even something as ordinary as a banknote is a liability (in concrete terms: of the central bank to­­wards the current banknote holder). The same applies to the deposit in your cheque account (in concrete terms: of the bank towards the account holder) or for a stock (in con­­­­­­­­crete terms: of the issuing limited liability company towards the shareholder).

 

Realistic alternatives are limited. Double-entry bookkeeping is no means of ex­­plaining why someone behaves in a par­­ticular way (the actual meaning of eco­­nomics), but it shows that it is only pos­­­sible to achieve “good results” if different participants behave in a complementary manner to each other. If this balance sheet interaction breaks down, however – because one person wants to save money without lending money to another person, thus forcing this person to save – the economic activity comes to a halt as well. If, on the other hand, a high readiness to spend/lack of readiness to save by all participants simultaneously meets limited resources, this ultimately results in inflation.

In addition, double-entry bookkeeping also makes clear that many desirable alternatives are impossible in the first place, such as cutting expenditures while keeping the level of income or reducing debt without simultaneously reducing assets.

A specific example: if each participant cuts his or her expenditures by ten per cent, in the end everyone simply has exactly ten per cent less income without there being any change to the respective surplus and deficit items.

Stabilisation policy during the financial crisis. The rationality of stabilisation policy results from using the national balance sheet in a compensating way in case of a collapse of the balance sheet interaction in the private sector. If the private sector saves more, the state should increase its deficits. If the private sector saves less, the state should decrease its deficits.

In the course of the financial and monetary crisis, however, large amounts of assets of dubious quality were transferred to the state. This means that the stabil­­isation function went far beyond the traditional role of deficits as an absorption size for changes in the private spending behaviour.

According to the International Monetary Fund (IMF: The state of public finances: A cross-country fiscal monitor, July 30, 2009), public deficits were projected to deteriorate in 2009 relative to the economic performance in industrial countries by 5.5 percentage points compared to the starting year of 2007, two percentage points of which were attributed to economic stimulus packages and 3.5 per­­­centage points to the functioning of automatic stabilisers (lower tax income and higher expenditures due to the eco­­nomic slump). However, the same report shows 3.4 percentage points of the eco­­nomic performance for recapitalisation assistance for the banking sector, 5.3 percentage points for buying up dubious assets, 8.8 percentage points for guar­­an­­tees and 9.3 percentage points of liquid­­ity assistance via central banks. During the early stages of the financial crisis, the assistance measures for the financial sector were therefore significantly larger than classic economic stimulus packages. Public debt also rose far more than the cumulation of deficits suggests (public balance sheet ex­­tension).

Even after settlement (recovery), the Fiscal Monitor (IMF: Taking stock – a progress report on fiscal adjustment, October 2012) shows an increase of public debts for 2011 by an average of 4.9 per cent of gross domestic product through the assistance packages for the financial sector. The total for Germany equalled 10.7 per cent.

The euro crisis – double balance sheet restriction. From an economic point of view, the euro crisis is an aggravated form of balance sheet problem. First, the introduction of the common currency led to a huge movement of capital into those countries that we today call PIIGS or periphery countries. Spain, for ex­­ample, saw an increase of portfolio in­­flows from abroad (non-Spanish countries) of zero to five billion euros per month to more than 20 billion euros per month. This capital inflow initially led to low interest rates within the coun­­try and then to a building boom. Both the private sector and the overall Spanish economy (current account) became highly deficient.

At first, the course of the financial crisis showed a similar pattern: deficits moved from the private sector to the state. The second step, however, makes the situation extremely complicated; foreign coun­­tries start to withdraw capital, peaking at 20 billion euros per month.

Now the problem is that when the euro was introduced, a wide range of balan­­cing mechanisms (such as own interest rates, the exchange rate and the use of the central bank balance sheet) were abol­­ished, but no alternatives – for ex­­ample the fiscal transfer mechanism demanded by the theory of ideal currency areas – were established. In fact, it is even pro­­hib­­ited by the EU treaty via the no-bail-out clause (Article 125 of the TFEU treaty).

The basic dilemma of the euro crisis is as follows: on the debtors’ side, all na­­tional economies are deficient. This means that the state and private sector (have to) save money simultaneously. Closing the balance sheet gaps cannot be done in one’s own right due to suspended adap­­tation mechanisms. On the creditors’ side, banks try to secure their claims by early withdrawal. This, however, would directly lead to an involuntary claim waiver (default) and require renewed bank recapitalisation.

In fact, the approaches focused on providing new balance sheet instruments to give debtor nations room for an orderly adjustment and to avoid that creditors waive their claims. Bilateral credits (first Greek rescue package) were the first instrument implemented, then the EFSF and ESM were created by the governments and the central bank established the SMP and OMT.

The Target2 balances also provide an excellent illustration of the shifting of balance sheets: the early stage of the euro is marked by a considerable in­­crease in claims vis-à-vis periphery coun­­tries. The commercial banks start to withdraw in 2008. While the overall Ger­­man claims basically remain the same, Target2 claims expand at a rate of 1:1 corresponding to the withdrawal of com­­mercial banks. Claims do not disappear per se, it is the environment that changes. A private claim becomes a claim of the economy as a whole, represented by the Bundesbank (German Central Bank).

Pending questions of the market economy’s responsibility and distributive fairness. While macroeconomic stabilisa­­tion by means of various transfer operations from the private sector to public balance sheets can be justified in terms of the lesser of two evils compared to a collapse of the system, serious questions remain open. In the end, this is about the socialisation of private losses. However, the question of whether and how these can or should be transferred back to those who caused them, looms unanswered.

Milleker_IMG_3022_grossThe author studied economics in Heidel­­berg and has been chief economist at Union Investment in Frankfurt since No­­vem­­ber 2006. Before this, he worked as a research fellow at the Kronberger Kreis of liberal economists and at Allianz Dresd­­ner Economic Research, where until re­­cently he was the head of the industrial countries analysis department.

David Milleker: Makroökonomische Hebel als Ausweg aus der Finanz- und Währungskrise

Die Finanz- und Wirtschaftskrise, die nun in eine Euro-Krise gemündet ist, hat sicher geglaubte Wahrheiten ausgehebelt. Eigentlich alle selbstgesetzten Regeln einer „ordnungsgemäßen Wirtschaftspolitik“ scheinen mit aktiver fiskalischer Konjunkturpolitik, enormen Bankenrekapitalisierungen, Bruch der No-Bailout-Klausel und der enormen Ausweitung von Zentralbankbilanzen in den letzten Jahren gebrochen worden zu sein.

 

In der Sozialpsychologie spricht man von kognitiver Dissonanz, wenn Dinge getan werden, die eigentlich nicht den selbst gesetzten Maßstäben entsprechen. Die makroökonomische Stabilisierung in der Finanz- und Währungskrise ist ohne Frage ein solcher Fall kognitiver Dissonanz. Wissenschaftlich ist sie rationalisierbar, wobei man allerdings klar bekennen muss, dass sie insbesondere verteilungspolitisch gravierende Fragen aufwirft.

Ökonomische Rationalisierung. Bei der Analyse von Krisen macht es Sinn, sich auf die Basis von Makroökonomie zu beziehen. Das Grundkonzept ist die doppelte Buchführung, auf der die volkswirtschaftliche Gesamtrechnung beruht.

Jeder Buchungsposten hat seinen Gegenbuchungsposten, in der Volkswirtschaft entsprechen sich jeweils die Summe der Produktion, der Einkommen und der Verwendungen. Dahinter steht die Logik, dass etwa ein Unternehmen nur genau ebenso viele Einnahmen hat, wie Kunden Geld für seine Produkte ausgeben. Umgekehrt haben die Verbraucher nur so viel Einkommen, wie sie an Löhnen und Kapitaleinkommen (Zins- und Dividendenzahlung von Staat und Unternehmen) erhalten. Kurz: Die Einnahmen des einen sind immer die Ausgaben eines anderen.

Ebenso gilt, dass Vermögen und Schulden einander entsprechen. Das eine ist ohne das andere nicht denkbar. Selbst etwas so Alltägliches wie ein Geldschein ist eine Verbindlichkeit (konkret der Zentralbank gegenüber dem aktuellen Halter des Geldscheins). Gleiches gilt für die Einlage auf dem Girokonto (konkret der Bank gegenüber dem Kontoinhaber) oder eine Aktie (konkret der begebenden Kapitalgesellschaft gegenüber dem Aktionär).

 

Begrenztheit realistischer Alternativen. Die doppelte Buchführung kann nicht erklären, warum sich jemand in spezifischer Weise verhält (Ökonomie im eigentlichen Sinne). Sie macht aber klar, dass „gute Ergebnisse“ nur dann zustande kommen, wenn das Verhalten unterschiedlicher Akteure komplementär zueinander ist. Bricht die Bilanzinteraktion dagegen zusammen, weil der eine sparen will, ohne jemand anderem Geld zu leihen, und diesen so zum Sparen zwingt, kommt damit auch die wirtschaftliche Aktivität zum Stillstand. Trifft umgekehrt eine hohe Ausgabenbereitschaft/mangelnde Sparbereitschaft aller Akteure gleichzeitig auf eine begrenzte Ressourcenausstattung, kommt es zwingend zu Inflation.

Zudem macht die doppelte Buchführung klar, dass viele wünschenswerte Alternativen von vornherein unmöglich sind: zum Beispiel die Kürzung von Ausgaben bei gleichem Einkommensniveau oder die Reduktion von Schulden ohne simultane Reduktion von Vermögen.

Ein konkretes Beispiel: Wenn jeder Akteur seine Ausgaben um 10 Prozent kürzt, haben zum Schluss einfach alle auch genau um 10 Prozent reduzierte Einkommen, ohne dass sich dadurch an den jeweiligen Überschuss- und Defizitpositionen überhaupt etwas geändert hätte.

Stabilisierungspolitik in der Finanzkrise.
Die Rationalität von Stabilisierungspolitik ergibt sich daraus, dass man die staatliche Bilanz kompensierend bei einem Zusammenbruch der Bilanzinteraktion im Privatsektor einsetzt. Spart der Privatsektor mehr, sollte der Staat mehr Defizite aufnehmen. Spart der Privatsektor weniger, sollte der Staat seine Defizite verringern.

Im Zuge der Finanz- und Währungskrise wurde die Stabilisierungsfunktion allerdings weit über die traditionelle Rolle von Defiziten als Absorptionsgröße von Änderungen im privaten Ausgabenverhalten hinaus wahrgenommen, indem in hohem Umfang Vermögenswerte von fragwürdiger Qualität auf den Staat übertragen wurden.

So weist etwa der Fiscal Monitor des Internationalen Währungsfonds (IWF: The state of public finances: A cross-country fiscal monitor, July 30, 2009) für 2009 im Vergleich zum Ausgangsjahr 2007 eine Verschlechterung der öffentlichen Defizite relativ zur Wirtschaftsleistung in den Industrieländern um 5,5 Prozentpunkte aus, von denen wiederum 2 Prozentpunkte auf Konjunkturpakete und 3,5 Prozentpunkte auf das Wirken automatischer Stabilisatoren (niedrigerer Steuereinnahmen und höherer Ausgaben aufgrund des Konjunktureinbruchs) zurückzuführen waren. Dem stehen allerdings im gleichen Bericht 3,4 Prozentpunkte der Wirtschaftsleistung an Rekapitalisierungshilfen für den Bankensektor, 5,3 Prozentpunkte für den Aufkauf fragwürdiger Assets, 8,8 Prozentpunkte für Garantien sowie 9,3 Prozentpunkte an Liquiditätshilfen über die Zentralbanken gegenüber. Die Hilfsleistungen für den Finanzsektor waren mithin in der Anfangsphase wesentlich größer als klassische Konjunkturhilfen. Auch stiegen die öffentlichen Schulden weit stärker als die Kumulation der Defizite nahelegt (öffentliche Bilanzverlängerung).

Für 2011 weist der Fiscal Monitor (IWF: Taking stock – a progress report on fiscal adjustment, October 2012) auch nach Bereinigung durch Abwicklung (Recovery) immer noch einen Anstieg der öffentlichen Schuldenstände von durchschnittlich 4,9 Prozent der Wirtschaftsleistung durch die Hilfen für den Finanzsektor aus. Für Deutschland sind es 10,7 Prozent.

Die Euro-Krise: Eine doppelte Bilanzrestriktion. Die Euro-Krise stellt ökonomisch eine verschärfte Form eines Bilanzproblems dar. Zunächst löste die Einführung der gemeinsamen Währung eine enorme Kapitalbewegung in die Länder aus, die wir heute als PIIGS oder Peripheriestaaten bezeichnen. Für Spanien stiegen etwa die Portfolio-Zuflüsse aus dem (nicht-spanischen) Ausland von 0 bis 5 Milliarden Euro pro Monat auf über 20 Milliarden Euro pro Monat an. Innerhalb Spaniens löste dieser Kapitalzustrom erst Niedrigstzinsen und dann einen Bauboom aus. Sowohl der Privatsektor als auch die spanische Wirtschaft insgesamt (Leistungsbilanz) wurden hochdefizitär.

Die Finanzkrise verläuft zunächst nach einem ähnlichen Muster: Die Defizite wandern vom Privatsektor zum Staat. Mit dem zweiten Schritt wird allerdings die Lage extrem kompliziert: Das Ausland beginnt, Kapital abzuziehen – in der Spitze 20 Milliarden Euro pro Monat.

Das Problem besteht nun darin, dass mit der Einführung des Euro eine ganze Reihe von Bilanzausgleichsmechanismen abgeschafft wurden (etwa eigene Zinsen, der Wechselkurs und die Nutzung der Zentralbankbilanz), allerdings keine Alternativen eingeführt wurden – etwa der von der Theorie optimaler Währungsräume geforderte fiskalische Transfermechanismus. Der EU-Vertrag verbietet dies vielmehr über die No-Bailout-Klausel (Art. 125 AEU-Vertrag).

Das Grunddilemma in der Euro-Krise ist folgendes: Auf der Schuldnerseite sind die gesamten Volkswirtschaften defizitär, so dass Staat und Privatsektor gleichzeitig sparen (müssen). Das Schließen der Bilanzlücken ist durch außer Kraft gesetzte Anpassungsmechanismen aus eigener Kraft nicht möglich. Auf der Gläubigerseite versuchen die Banken, ihre Forderungen durch frühzeitigen Abzug zu sichern, was aber geradewegs in den unfreiwilligen Forderungsverzicht (Default) führen würde, der eine neuerliche Bankenrekapitalisierung notwendig macht.

Faktisch richteten sich die Ansätze darauf, den Schuldnerstaaten durch neue Bilanzinstrumente Luft zur geordneten Anpassung zu verschaffen und einen Forderungsverzicht der Gläubiger zu verhindern: zunächst über bilaterale Kredite (erstes Griechenlandpaket), dann über die Schaffung von EFSF und ESM auf Regierungsseite sowie SMP und OMT auf Zentralbankseite.

Eine gute Illustration für die Bilanzumschichtungen geben auch die Target2-Salden: Die Frühphase des Euro zeichnet sich durch einen deutlichen Aufbau an Forderungen gegenüber den Peripheriestaaten aus. Ab 2008 ziehen sich die Geschäftsbanken zurück. Bei einem grundsätzlich gleichen Forderungsbestand der Bundesrepublik insgesamt weiten sich die Target2-Forderungen im Verhältnis 1:1 zum Rückzug der Geschäftsbanken aus. Nicht die Forderungen per se verschwinden, sondern ihre Natur ändert sich. Aus einer privatwirtschaftlichen Forderung wird eine der Gesamtwirtschaft, vertreten durch die Bundesbank.

Offene Fragen nach marktwirtschaftlicher Verantwortung und Verteilungsgerechtigkeit.
Während sich die makroökonomische Stabilisierung durch diverse Umbuchungsoperationen vom Privatsektor auf öffentliche Bilanzen im Sinne der Wahl des kleineren Übels gegenüber dem Systemzusammenbruch gut rechtfertigen lässt, bleiben dennoch gravierende Fragen offen. So handelt es sich hier letztlich um die Sozialisierung privater Verluste. Die Frage, ob und wie diese wieder verursachergerecht zurückgebucht werden können/sollen, steht dagegen noch unbeantwortet im Raum.

Milleker_IMG_3022_grossDer Autor hat in Heidelberg Volkswirtschaftslehre studiert und ist seit November 2006 Chefvolkswirt der Union Investment in Frankfurt. Zuvor hat er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter beim Kronberger Kreis liberaler Ökonomen und bei der Allianz Dresdner Economic Research gearbeitet. Dort wirkte er zuletzt leitend im Bereich Industrieländeranalyse.