Daimler AG / EvoBus GmbH: Over 100 years of tradition – Mercedes-Benz in Mannheim

More than 100 years ago, Carl Benz founded the Mercedes-Benz plant on the Luzenberg in Mannheim.

While it was the primary goal in 1908 of building a functioning automobile, the plant today repre­­sents the complete production process in the worldwide pro­­duc­­tion group for commercial vehicles from crude iron to en­­gine con­­struc­­tion to the com­­plete assembly of city buses. With al­­most 8,000 highly qualified em­­­ployees working in the foundry, engine construction and bus production, the plant in Mann­­heim meets the modern challenges posed on commercial vehicles, diesel engines and urban buses.

Today, the Mercedes-Benz plant in Mannheim places a particular focus on innovative products, economical use of resources and environmental protection.

This trend towards state of the art and environmentally friendly technologies is documented, for example, by the competence centre for zero-emission mobility, in which vehicles with gas as well as hybrid drives are produced.

EvoBus Mannheim’s top priority is the development and production of the Mercedes-Benz Citaro – the world’s most successful city bus – as solo and artic­­ulated vehicles. Articulated vehicles are only produced in Mannheim.

In addition, we focus on the competence centre for alternative drive technologies. The development of hybrid and fuel cell buses as part of the future planning of EvoBus is the main area of interest here.

All of these measures ensure job security for the employees at the Mercedes-Benz plant in Mannheim, which at the same time is deeply rooted in the re­­gion and one of the largest employers and training companies in the Rhine-Neckar district.

As a result, the plant contributes considerably to the development of the business location. The high quality stand­­­ards demanded by the employees in Mannheim are reflected by the satisfaction of Mercedes-Benz customers around the world.


mercedes-benz-logo-AT-1
  1. Address

    Hanns-Martin-Schleyer-Straße 21-57
    D-68305 Mannheim
  2. Werkleiter

    Andreas Moch

    Plant Manager:

    Andreas Moch
    Responsible site manager
    Mercedes-Benz plant Mannheim,
    Head of the foundry
    plant Mannheim and Atlantis Foundries

    Dr. Holger Steindorf
    Head of Production at
    EvoBus GmbH and Daimler Buses
    responsible for the sites in
    Mannheim and Neu-Ulm

  3. Plant area:

    Approximately 899,934 square metres

Daimler AG / EvoBus GmbH: Mercedes-Benz Werk Mannheim – Über 100 Jahre Tradition

Vor über 100 Jahren gründete Carl Benz das Mercedes-Benz Werk auf dem Mann­­heimer Luzenberg.

Während es 1908 primär das Ziel war, ein funktionstüchtiges Automobil zu bauen, bildet das Werk heute im weltweiten Produktionsverbund für Nutz­­fahrzeuge den kompletten Produk­tions­­­prozess vom Roheisen über den Mo­­torenbau bis zur kompletten Montage des Stadtbusses ab. Mit rund 8.000 hoch qualifizierten Mitarbeitern in Gie­­­­ße­­rei, Motorenbau und Buspro­­duk­tion stellt sich das Werk Mannheim den modernen Herausforderungen an Nutz­­­­fahrzeug-Dieselmotoren und Stadt­­bus­­sen.

Innovative Produkte, der wirtschaft­­liche Umgang mit Ressourcen und der Umweltschutz stehen heute besonders im Fokus des Mercedes-Benz-Werks Mannheim.

Dieser Trend zu neuesten umweltfreund­­lichen Technologien zeigt sich beispiels­­weise im Kompetenzzentrum für emis­­sionsfreie Mobilität, in dem sowohl Fahr­­zeuge mit Gas- als auch Hybridantrieb gefertigt werden.

Ein Schwerpunkt bei der EvoBus Mann­­heim liegt auf der Entwicklung und Pro­­duktion des Mercedes-Benz Citaro – des weltweit erfolgreichsten Stadtbusses – als Solo- und Gelenkfahrzeug. Die Ge­­lenkfahrzeuge werden dabei nur in Mannheim gefertigt.

Darüber hinaus haben wir einen Fo­-kus auf das Kompetenzzentrum für alternative Antriebe gelegt. Hier steht die Entwicklung von Hybrid- und Brennstoffzellenbussen im Rahmen der Zukunfts­­planung der EvoBus im Vordergrund.

Mit all diesen Maß­­nahmen sichert das Mercedes-Benz Werk Mann­­heim die Be­­schäf­­tigung für seine Mit­­arbeiter und ist gleichzeitig einer der größten Arbeit­­geber und Aus­bil­dungs­betriebe im Rhein-Neckar-Kreis und tief in der Region verwurzelt.

So trägt das Werk maßgeblich zur Ent­­wicklung des Wirtschafts­stand­ortes bei. Der hohe Qualitätsanspruch der Mannheimer Mitarbeiter spiegelt sich im Vertrauen und der Zufriedenheit der Mercedes-Benz-Kunden in der ganzen Welt wider.


mercedes-benz-logo-AT-1
  1. Anschrift

    Hanns-Martin-Schleyer-Straße 21-57
    D-68305 Mannheim
  2. Werkleiter

    Andreas Moch
    Standortverantwortlicher
    Mercedes-Benz Werk Mannheim,
    Leiter Gießerei Werk Mannheim und
    Atlantis Foundries

    Dr. Holger Steindorf
    Geschäftsführer Produktion
    EvoBus GmbH und Daimler Buses
    Verantwortlich für die
    Standorte Mannheim und Neu-Ulm

  3. Werksgeländefläche

    Circa 899.934 Quadratmeter