Daiichi Sankyo Europe GmbH: Approaching the one billion mark in sales with new drugs

DAIICHI SANKYO – never heard about it? A Japanese pharmaceutical group with strong roots in the Bavarian state capital?
In fact, DAIICHI SANKYO is still in the process of building a reputation among residents. Nevertheless it might be a good idea to have a look at the company already now. Its turnover of 5.9 billion euros and its global workforce of nearly 29,000 place it among the major pharmaceutical players worldwide. The international headquarters of the Japanese drug manufacturer are in Tokyo, while German and European headquarters are based in Munich-Ober­­­­sendling. From here, Reinhard Bauer, head of Eu­­ro­­pean operations, manages the company’s activities in twelve countries together with 314 employees.
Obersendling is also the place where Japanese activities in Bavaria origina­­ted. Here, at the far end of Ziel­­statt­­straße street, the painkilling Mobilat cream used to be produced by Luitpoldwerke. In 1990, Sankyo took over the long-es­­tab­lished German company, including a plant in Pfaffenhofen, 60 kilometres north of Munich. This pharmaceutical plant has by now become one of the most im­­por­­tant locations worldwide of the group that was formed in 2005 through a merg­­er of Daiichi and Sankyo. Its al­­most 400 employees produce round about two billion tablets annual­­ly for over 50 national markets, meeting high stand­­ards in cleanli­­ness. Over the next few years, production capacity is to be dou­­bled to four billion tablets annually.

Hauptgebäude2_Logo

Just as the formerly independent companies of the group, today’s DAIICHI SANKYO dedicates itself to the development of highly innovative medicines. People who suffer from high blood pressure or osteoporosis or had a heart attack often rely on drugs from the Ja­­p­­anese company, which have an excellent reputation among doctors. DAIICHI ­­­SANKYO re­­searchers strive to develop medicines that are either considered the best in their re­­spec­­tive class or even constitute a new class of active agents. For instance, Sankyo employees discovered adrenaline and the class of statins. Precision and a passion for medicines is what the Japanese company is committed to in Bavaria as well.

Consequently, the Munich-­­­­based and Eu­­ropean affiliates are of crucial impor­­tan­ce in the context of DAIICHI SANKYO’s global business activities. While Euro­­pean sales in the 2008/2009 fiscal year (as of 31 March) increased by over 23 per cent to 490 million euros, the man­­agement intents to double the revenue to one billion euros by 2011.

Germany, France, Spain, Italy and Great Britain are some of the company’s larg­­est European markets. The fastest-grow­­ing market, however, is Turkey, where DAIICHI SANKYO established a subsid­i­ary in 2008. The expansion is also re­­flect­­ed in the growing number of staff. In Europe, for example, the workforce in­­creased by 37 per cent to 2,436 lately, and the com­­pany continues to grow.
At a global level, too, DAIICHI SANKYO has set itself am­­bitious targets, outlined in the “Vision 2015”. It states that by the middle of the coming decade, sales are to be in­­creased to about ten billion eu­­ros. More than 60 per cent of sales are planned to be made outside Japan, with Europe playing an im­­portant part. Just to give you a comparison: Currently some 60 per cent of sales still come from the do­­mestic Jap­­anese mar­­ket.

 

In-Prozess-Kontrolle

These growth targets are based on the confidence that not only existing pro­­­d­­ucts, such as the antihypertensive OLMETEC®, will continue to convince doctors and patients. With annual sales of nearly 1.5 billion euros, OLMETEC® is a real blockbuster. DAIICHI SANKYO also has high hopes in new medicines like EFIENT®. In clinical tests on 13,600 patients, the thrombosis inhibitor, which is marketed jointly with the US company Eli Lilly, has clearly proved its superiority over the standard therapy applied so far. At present, EFIENT® is successively launched in Europe.
Another firmly established newcomer is SEVIKAR®, a combination therapy for the treatment of high blood pressure. With SEVIKAR®, DAIICHI SANKYO has achieved a market share of 20 per cent in Germany alone within a short period of time.
The Japanese company does not rest on its laurels, though. The research pipeline is filled to the brim and in 2009 was awarded the title of “Best Cardiovascular Pipeline” by the re­­nowned US magazine “R&D Directions”. In the past financial year alone, the group invested 1.28 billion eu­­ros, the equivalent of almost 22 per cent of sales, in the search and development  of new agents – more than most compe­­t­i­­tors worldwide.

Tablettenpresse

European operations CEO Bauer has high expectations, particularly for the factor Xa inhibitor Edoxaban, which is presently undergoing final phase III clin­­ical trials. In the future, Edoxaban may turn out to be a highly effective life saving drug for 4.5 million Europeans suffering from atrial fibrillation.
In addition, DAIICHI SANKYO decided to en­­ter the field of oncology. These ac­­­­tiv­i­ties are based on the biotech company U3 Pharma, which was taken over in 2008 and which is currently running clin­­ical trials on several promising ac­­tive agents. CEO Bauer shows optimism: “We are certainly not the first in cancer ther­­apy. However, as with all our medicines, we aim to be among the best providers of an extensive portfolio of oncology products.”

Vorlage_Logos

 

  1. Address

    Zielstattstraße 48
    D-81379 München
    Telefon +49 (0) 89 7808-0
    Telefax +49 (0) 89 7808-267
    service@daiichi-sankyo.eu
    www.daiichi-sankyo.eu

  2. Year of foundation

    Sankyo: 1899
    Daiichi: 1915
  3. Employees

    Group: 28.900
    in Europe: 2.436
  4. Business activity

    Pharmaceuticals
    Key indications: cardiovascular diseases, haematology, diabetes, infections, cancer

Daiichi Sankyo Europe GmbH: Mit neuen Medikamenten Richtung Umsatzmilliarde

DAIICHI SANKYO – nie gehört? Ein japanischer Pharma­­konzern mit starker Verwurzelung in der bayerischen Landeshauptstadt?
Zugegeben, DAIICHI SANKYO ist erst noch dabei, sich in der Bevölkerung ei­­nen Namen zu machen. Dabei spricht vieles dafür, bereits jetzt einen Blick auf das Unternehmen zu werfen. Mit einem Umsatz von 5,9 Milliarden Euro und weltweit fast 29.000 Mitar­bei­tern zählt das Unternehmen zu den interna­­tional größten Pharma­kon­zer­­­­nen. Tokio ist der Hauptsitz des ja­­pa­­­nischen Medikamen­ten­her­stel­lers, Mün­­chen-Obersendling ist der Stand­­ort der Deutschland- und Europa­zen­tra­­le. Von hier aus steuert Euro­pa-Chef Reinhard Bauer gemeinsam mit 314 Mitarbeitern die Geschäfte in zwölf Ländern.
Ober­­­­sendling ist auch der Ur­­sprung der japanischen Aktivitäten auf bayerischem Boden. Hier, am Ende der Ziel­­statt­stra­­ße, produzier­­ten einst die Luit­­pold­wer­­ke die schmerz­­­­stillende Ge­­lenk­­salbe Mobilat. 1990 über­­nahm Sankyo das Traditions­un­­­­ter­neh­­men und damit auch einen Stand­­­­­­ort in Pfaffenhofen, 60 Kilo­­meter nördlich von München. Heute ge­­hört dieses Me­­dikamentenwerk zu den weltweit wich­­­­tigsten des 2005 aus Daiichi und Sankyo fusionierten Konzerns. Mit knapp 400 Beschäftigten stellt das Un­­ternehmen dort unter Einhaltung hoher Rein­heits­­standards jährlich fast zwei Mil­­liarden Tabletten für über 50 Länder her. In den kommenden Jahren soll die Pro­­duktionskapazität auf jährlich vier Mil­liarden Tabletten verdoppelt werden.

Hauptgebäude2_Logo

So wie die ehemals selbstständigen Kon­­zerngesellschaften hat sich auch die heu­­tige DAIICHI SANKYO der Entwicklung hochinnovativer Arz­neimittel verschrie­­ben. Wer unter Bluthochdruck leidet, einen Herzinfarkt hatte oder von Os­­teo­­porose betroffen ist, greift vielfach zu den bei Ärzten bestens eingeführten Medikamenten der Japaner. Dabei ha­­ben sich die DAIICHI SANKYO-Forscher zum Ziel gesetzt, Arz­­nei­­en zu ent­­­­­wi­­ckeln, die entweder als beste in ih­­rer Klas­­se gelten oder gar eine neue Wirk­­stoff­klas­­­se begründen.
So ent­­­­deck­­­­ten Sankyo-Mit­­arbeiter das Adrenalin und die Klas­­se der Statine. Leidenschaft und Prä­­zi­­sion für Me­­di­­kamente, dafür stehen die Japaner heute auch in Bayern.­
Im globalen Ge­­schäft spielen die Mün­­­­che­ner und europäischen Aktivitäten für DAIICHI SANKYO denn auch eine zentrale Rolle. Nachdem das Unter­nehmen im Ge­­schäfts­jahr 2008/2009 (zum 31. März) den Umsatz in Euro­pa bereits um mehr als 23 Pro­zent auf 490 Millionen Euro gesteigert hat, will das Management die Erlöse bis 2011 nun auf eine Mil­liar­­de Euro ver­doppeln.
Dabei zählen Deutsch­­land, Frank­reich, Spanien, Italien und Großbritannien zu den größten europäischen Märk­­ten. Am schnellsten wachsen die Ge­­schäf­­te hin­­gegen in der Türkei, wo DAIICHI SANKYO seit 2008 eine Landes­ge­­sell­­schaft be­­treibt. Die Expansion spie­­gelt sich auch im Zuwachs der Be­­legschaft wider. So stieg die Zahl der Mitarbeiter in Europa zuletzt um 37 Pro­zent auf 2.436. Ten­denz: Weiter steigend.

Auch auf glo­­baler Ebene hat sich DAIICHI SANKYO ehrgeizige Ziele ge­­setzt, niedergeschrieben in der „Vi­­sion 2015“. Da­­nach soll der Umsatz bis zur Mit­­te des nächsten Jahrzehnts auf rund zehn Mil­­liarden Euro steigen. Über 60 Prozent des Er­­löses sol­­len dann au­­ßer­halb von Ja­­pan er­­wirt­schaf­­tet werden, wobei Eu­­ro­pa eine tra­­gende Rolle spie­­­­­­len wird. Zum Ver­­gleich: Der­­­­zeit stammen noch rund 60 Prozent der Umsätze aus dem japanischen Hei­­­­mat­markt.

In-Prozess-Kontrolle

Hinter diesen Wachstums­zielen steckt die Zuversicht, dass nicht nur be­­ste­hen­­de Produkte wie der Blut­druck­sen­­ker OLMETEC® Ärzte und Patienten wei­­ter­­hin überzeugen. Mit einem jähr­­lichen Umsatz von fast 1,5 Milliarden Euro ist OLMETEC® ein echter Ren­­ner. Auch in neue Me­­­dikamente wie EFIENT® setzt DAIICHI SANKYO gro­­ße Hoff­nun­­gen. Der Throm­­­­bose­hem­­mer, der mit dem US-Kon­­­­zern Eli Lilly vermarktet wird, hat in klinischen Tests an 13.600 Pa­­tien­ten eine klare Über­le­genheit ge­­genüber der bisherigen Stand­­­­ard­the­­rapie ge­­­­­­zeigt. Derzeit wird EFIENT® sukzessive in Euro­­pa eingeführt.

Erfolgreich durchgesetzt hat sich zu­­dem das Kombi­nations­prä­pa­rat SEVI­KAR® gegen Blut­­hoch­­druck. DAIICHI SANKYO hat mit SEVI­­KAR® allein in Deutsch­land innerhalb kurzer Zeit einen Markt­anteil von 20 Prozent erreicht.

Doch auf diesen Erfolgen ruhen sich die Japaner nicht aus. Die Forschungs-Pipe­­­­line ist prall gefüllt und wurde 2009 vom angesehenen US-Ma­­ga­­­­zin „R&D Direc­tions“ mit dem Titel „Bes­­­te kar­­dio­vas­ku­­läre Pipeline“ ausge­zeich­­­­­net. Allein im ver­­gangenen Ge­­schäfts­­­jahr in­­vestierte der Konzern mit 1,28 Mil­­liar­­den Euro fast 22 Pro­­zent des Umsatzes in die Suche und der Entwicklung neuer Wirkstoffen – das ist weltweit Spitze.

Tablettenpresse

Europa-Chef Bauer setzt insbesonde­­re in den Fak­­tor-Xa-Hem­­­mer Edo­xa­­ban gro­­­­ße Erwar­tun­gen. Die­­ser befindet sich der­­­­zeit in der letzten von drei kli­­nischen Testphasen. Edoxaban könnte sich künf­­tig als hoch wirksamer Le­­bens­­retter für 4,5 Millionen Euro­pä­­er mit Vor­­­hof­flim­mern erweisen.

Darüber hinaus strebt DAIICHI SANKYO in die Onkologie. Basis dafür ist die 2008 übernommene Biotechfirma U3 Pharma aus Martinsried, wo mehrere aussichtsreiche Wirkstoffe klinische Stu­­dien durchlaufen. Europa-Chef Bauer gibt sich optimistisch: „Wir sind in der Krebstherapie zwar nicht die ersten. Unser Ziel ist aber, mit unserem breit angelegten Onkologie-Port­­folio künftig zu den Besten zu gehören – wie mit all unseren Medi­ka­men­­ten.“

Vorlage_Logos

 

  1. Anschrift

    Zielstattstraße 48
    D-81379 München
    Telefon +49 (0) 89 7808-0
    Telefax +49 (0) 89 7808-267
    service@daiichi-sankyo.eu
    www.daiichi-sankyo.eu

  2. Gründungsjahr

    Sankyo: 1899
    Daiichi: 1915
  3. Mitarbeiter

    Konzern: 28.900
    in Europa: 2.436
  4. Geschäftstätigkeit

    Pharmazie
    Kernindikationen: Herz-Kreislauf, Hämatologie, Diabetes, Antiinfektiva, Krebs