Dagmar Ossenbrink: Find markets, create forums and facilitate business contacts

Tunisia – the market today.

After years of stable growth followed by a recession in the year of the revolution, Tunisia’s economy is back on a course of growth this year, with estimated eco­­nomic growth of 2.9 per cent (according to Economist Intelligence Unit). Ger­­many is the country’s third largest trade partner, after France and Italy.

The economic advantages of Tunisia are its high level of industrialisation, high value creation per capita in the manufacturing industry and its geographical proximity to Europe. The country also has well-qualified university graduates whose talents and abilities need to be put to the best use. German companies are especially appreciated as fair business partners who are looking to achieve big things in the long term.

KfW_5425-Kopie

The AHK Tunisia.

The German-Tunisian Cham­­­­ber of Industry and Com­­­­­­merce has been established for more than 34 years and, with its bilateral approach and lo­­­cal pre­­­s­ence, has developed an ex­­­cellent, close-­knit network of va­­­rious partners in both Germany and Tuni­­sia. This clearly distinguishes it in many ways from other, non-local in­­­stitutions.

The DEinternational brand, which is used by AHKs all over the world to offer an important part of their services to small and medium-sized companies in their international business, also ser­­ves as an essential and successfully operational part of the service portfolio of the AHK Tunisia.

Consolidated performance quality: the four areas of expertise of DEinter­na­tio­nal.
Energy & environment. Awareness of energy-efficient and environmentally frien­dly ways of living, working and manu­­facturing is increasing significantly in Tunisia. Measures taken locally by both the public and private sectors have created a framework which allows excellent market potential for products and services from German suppliers. These include the Tunisian Solar Plan (PST) and the De­­sertec project, as well as multiple ener­­gy efficiency measures taken by large-scale companies.

Furthermore, our en­­­vi­ron­­­ment field en­­­compasses all activities in the field of water and waste management. This offers a great number of in­­­teresting starting points for German pro­­viders, since these topics, along with renewable energy, are becoming in­­­crea­­­singly important in Tuni­­sia and acute de­­­mand for modern solutions is anticipated.

The following projects are planned in these fields for 2013:
• Organisation and execution of an educational trip to Belgium and Germany with the topic “New market mechanism in the Tuni­sian cement industry” on behalf of the GIZ project CDM-JI

• Information event Energy Effi­ciency in the hotel and industrial sec­­tor in Munich (6 May, 2013)

• Delegation visit Ener­­gy Efficiency with Ger­­­man companies as part of the En­­­ergy Effi­­ciency Export Initiative, No­­­­vem­­­ber 2013

• Delegation of Tunisian compa­­nies visiting Ba­­varia as part of the export pro­­motion pro­­­gramme “Bayern Fit for Partnership” on the topic of water management in October 2013

• Trade mission from Bavaria to Tunisia and Egypt in November 2013 on the topic of exporting environmental technologies

Food industry. Tunisia’s food industry has increasingly evolved into a diversified and powerful economic sector in recent years, and now produces a great number of high-quality products with po­­tential for the European market. In order to be able to sell the products on the Euro­­pean market, strict requirements for mar­­ket entry issued by the EU have to be ful­­filled. Furthermore, German consumers in particular are demanding ever higher quality standards. The result is that Tunisian businesspeople in the food sector are increasingly seeking informa­­tion from the Chamber of Foreign Trade Tunisia (AHK) about services in this field.

For more information about the projects, see the article written by Souad Mami, head of the food field at the Chamber of Foreign Trade Tunisia (AHK), in which she reports on “Best Practice – Organic Farming Leads to Growth and Pros­­perity for Tunisian Producers”.

KfW_5419-Kopie

Industry, healthcare & services.

Not only is Tunisia’s industrial sector enjoying stronger development all the time, but the country is also home to the region’s most developed market for medical tech­­nology and healthcare.

Tunisia’s healthcare system is considered the most efficient in Africa, and is constantly evolving. In order to continue to improve this standard in the future, modern technologies and additional services are required, as well as basic medical supplies.

In the industrial sector, the textile and leather sector is still the most important, although the mechanical engineering and electronics sector has gained in importance in recent years.

©Frank-Ossenbrink-Media-Group_Textilfabrik-Kopie

The following projects have been/will be executed in 2013:

Bavarian trade mission “Medical Technology North Af­­rica” in Morocco and Tunisia in May 2013 with information about export po­­tential for the German Medical Technol­ogy Association and important local contact persons and potential business partners. This trip was organ­­ised as part of the export promotion programme “Bayern Fit for Partnership”, in cooperation with IHK Würzburg and the two Chambers of Foreign Trade.

Support of the transformation partner­­ship in Tunisia: in a special form of co­­operation, the Federal Government sup­­ports the Republic of Tunisia by providing a bilateral transformation partnership which goes beyond the measures of de­­velopment cooperation.

As part of the specific measure decided at federal level in 2012, “Delegation of Transformation Teams to North Africa and the Middle East”, the AHK Tunisia will be coordinating the use of German ex­­perts in Tunisia for the duration of the project – until the end of 2013. It is also responsible for preparation in terms of both content and organisation, as well as for deploying the transformation teams.

In this context, the objective of the trans­­­formation teams is to support Tunisia in undertaking economic and social re­­­forms in order to move towards a social market economy.

AHK assists in personnel recruitment. The right personnel in the right place at the right time – the essential recipe for suc­­cess in modern competition. The AHK Tunisia makes the selection process easier for its members and clients by applying its knowledge of the Tunisian labour and education market.

The Chamber of Foreign Trade Tunisia (AHK), provides professional support to companies in order to tap into previously untapped potential and to in­­­crease the motivation of their em­­ploy­­ees. It organises specialised train­­­ing pro­­­grammes and workshops focusing on management and soft skills, and pro­­vides customised qualifications and per­­­sonalised training programmes as necessary. One of the reasons for the high level of youth unemployment comes down to the mediocre quality of vocational train­­­­ing in Tunisia, as well as the private sector’s lack of commitment in this area. Many projects from the transformation process are therefore targeting these aspects.

The “Employment Pact Tunisia” pro­gramme is funded by the Federal Foreign Office and coordinated by sequa g­­­GmbH with sup­­port from the Chamber of Foreign Trade Tunisia (AHK), which ser­­ves as a local advisor. Its aim is to con­­tri­bute to the economic stabilisation and success­­ful democratisation of Tunisia by promo­­ting employment and improving the quality of vocational training.

As part of the “From Advanced Training to the Workplace and to Modern Human Resources Development” project, which is managed by GIZ and executed by the AHK Tunisia, three different advanced training programmes for graduates of vocational institutes and universities are planned. The goal of these programmes is to supply companies with young people who meet their needs and are available at short notice, thus contributing to the company’s success.

As a competent contact for establishing trade relations with Tunisia, the Cham­­ber of Foreign Trade Tunisia (AHK), sup­­ports German companies on the ground. Not only does it provide direct contacts to distributors, producers and sector as­­sociations, but also presents its assessment of the prevailing local economic situation and answers general ques­­tions about customs tariffs or market conditions.

 

©Frank-Ossenbrink-Media-Group_DO-KopieThe author was born in 1965 and, after completing her degree in Jena, began work at Carl Zeiss Jena. Later, she worked for the Chambers of Foreign Trade (AHK) in Canada and Venezuela. Since 2002, she has been managing director of the AHK Tunisia.

Dagmar Ossenbrink: Märkte finden, Foren schaffen und Geschäftskontakte ermöglichen

Tunesien – Markt aktuell.

Nach Jahren stabilen Wachstums und einem Ein­­bruch im Revolutionsjahr ist Tunesiens Wirt­­schaft mit einem geschätzten Wirt­­schaftswachstum von 2,9 Prozent (laut Economist Intelligence Unit) im laufen­­den Jahr wieder auf Wachstumskurs. Deutsch­­land ist nach Frankreich und Ita­lien drittgrößter Handelspartner.

Die wirtschaftlichen Pluspunkte Tunesiens sind der hohe Industrialisierungsgrad, eine im produzierenden Gewerbe hohe Mehr­­­­wertschöpfung pro Kopf und die geo­graphische Nähe zu Europa. Das Land ver­­fügt außerdem über gut ausgebildete Hochschulabsolventen, deren Talente und Begabungen es zu nutzen gilt. Gerade deutsche Unternehmen werden als faire Geschäftspartner, die langfristig etwas erreichen wollen, geschätzt.

KfW_5425-Kopie

Die AHK Tu­­­­ne­­sien.
Die Deu­tsch-­­­Tune­sische In­­­dus­­­trie-und Han­dels­­kam­­­mer ist seit über 34 Jahren in Tu­­nesien etabliert und ver­­­fügt durch die bila­­­terale Aus­rich­­­­tung und ihre Präsenz vor Ort über ein dich­tes und exzellent ausgebautes Netz­­­werk unterschiedlicher Partner so­­­wohl in De­u­­­­­tsch­­­land als auch in Tune­­sien. Dies hebt sie von anderen, nicht vor Ort an­­sässigen Institutionen ent­­schei­­dend ab.

Die Marke DE international, unter der die AHKs weltweit einen wichtigen Teil ihrer Leistungen für den Mittelstand beim Aus­­­­landsgeschäft anbieten, ist auch bei der AHK Tunesien ein wichtiger und erfolgreich operierender Bestandteil des Angebots­portfolios.

Leistungsqualität unter einem Dach: die vier Kompetenzfelder des Bereiches DEinternational.

Energie & Umwelt. Das Bewusstsein für eine energiesparende bzw. umweltscho­nende Lebens-, Arbeits- und Produktions­weise nimmt auch in Tunesien deutlich zu. Maßnahmen staatlicher und privat­wirt­schaftlicher Akteure vor Ort haben einen Rahmen geschaffen, der deutschen An­­­bietern von Produkten und Dienstleis­tun­gen exzellente Absatzpotenziale ermög­licht. Hierzu gehören zum Beispiel der tunesische Solarplan (PST) und das De­­­sertec-Projekt sowie diverse Energie­effi­­zienzmaßnahmen von Groß­unter­nehmen.

Darüber hinaus deckt unser Bereich Um­­­welt sämtliche Aktivitäten im Bereich Wasser- und Entsorgungsmanagement ab. Hier bieten sich für deutsche An­­bie­­ter zahlreiche interessante Ansatz­punk­te, da diese Themengebiete neben den erneu­­er­­baren Energien in Tu­­­nesien zunehmend an Bedeutung gewinnen und hier mittel­­fristig eine akute Nach­­­frage nach modernen Lösungen zu er­­­warten ist.

Folgende Projekte sind in diesen Be­­­reichen für 2013 geplant:
• Organisation und Durchführung einer Studienreise „Neuer Marktmecha­nis­mus in der tunesischen Zement­­­industrie“ im Auftrag des GIZ-Projektes CDM-JI nach Belgien und Deutschland,  Anfang März

• Informationsveranstaltung Energieeffi­­­zienz im Hotel- und Indus­­trie­­sektor in München (6. Mai 2013)

• Delegationsreise Energie­effi­zienz mit deutschen Unternehmen im Rahmen der Exportinitiative Energie­effi­zienz, Ende November 2013

• Delegationsreise tunesischer Unternehmen nach Bayern im Rahmen des Exportförderprogramms „Bayern Fit for Partnership“ zum Thema Wasserwirt­schaft im Oktober 2013

• Unternehmerreise Bayern nach Tu­­­nesien und Ägypten im November 2013 zum Thema Export von Umwelt­­technik


Kompetenzfeld Nahrungsmittel.

Die tune­­sische Lebensmittelindustrie hat sich in den letzten Jahren immer stärker zu einem diversifizierten und leistungs­star­­ken Wirtschaftszweig entwickelt, der mitt­­lerweile zahlreiche hochqualitative Pro­­­dukte mit Potenzial für den europäi­schen Markt hervorbringt. Um diese Pro­­­dukte auf dem europäischen Markt ab­­­setzen zu können, müssen jedoch strenge EU-Markteintrittsbestimmungen befolgt werden. Hinzu kommt, dass vor allem deutsche Konsumenten immer höhere Qualitätsansprüche entwickeln. Dies führt dazu, dass tunesische Unternehmer der Nahrungsmittelbranche bei der Aus­landshandelskammer Tunesien (AHK) ver­­mehrt nach Dienstleis­tungen in diesem Be­­­reich fragen.

Näheres zu den Projekten können Sie in dem Beitrag von Souad Mami, Leiterin des Kompetenzfeldes Nahrungsmittel der Auslandhandelkammer Tunesien (AHK), auf Seite 108, nachlesen, wo sie über „Best Practice – Bio-Land­bau bringt Pro­du­zenten in Tunesien Wachs­­tum und Wohl­­stand“ berichtet.

KfW_5419-Kopie

Kompetenzfeld Industrie, Healthcare & Services.

Tunesien verfügt nicht nur über einen sich immer stärker entwickelnden Industriesektor, sondern bietet auch den regional am weitesten entwickelten Markt für Medizintechnik und Gesundheits­die­nst­­­leistungen.

Das Gesundheitssystem in Tunesien gilt als das leistungsfähigste in Afrika und ent­­wickelt sich ständig weiter. Um diesen Standard auch künftig auszubauen, werden moderne Technik und weiterführende Dienst­­leistungen, aber auch medizinisches Basismaterial benötigt.

Im Industriebereich ist der wichtigste Industriezweig noch immer die Textil- und Lederbranche, doch auch der Maschinen­­­­bau- und Elektrotechniksektor hat in den letzten Jahren stark an Bedeutung ge­­­wonnen.

©Frank-Ossenbrink-Media-Group_Textilfabrik-Kopie

Folgende Projekte sind hier für 2013 geplant: Bayerische Unternehmerreise „Medizintechnik Nordafrika“ nach Marok­­ko und Tunesien: Die Delegation wird sich vom 8. bis 10. Mai 2013 in Tunesien

über die Exportpotenziale für deutsche Medizintechnik informieren und vor Ort wich­­t­­ige Ansprechpartner der Bran­­­che sowie potenzielle Ge­­­schäfts­­partner per­­­sönlich treffen. Diese Reise wird im Rah­­men des Ex­­­por­­t­­­­f­ör­­­­­derungsprogramms „Bayern Fit for Partnership“ in Zusam­men­­ar­­­beit mit der IHK Würzburg und den Aus­­lands­­handelskammern in Tu­­­ne­­­­­­­sien und Marokko organisiert.

Unterstützung der Transformations­par­t­ner­­schaft in Tunesien: Als eine besondere Form der Zusammenarbeit unterstützt die Bundesregierung die Tune­­si­­sche Republik über die Maßnahmen der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit hinaus durch eine bilaterale Transformations­part­nerschaft.

Im Rahmen der im Februar 2012 auf Bun­­desebene beschlossenen, konkreten Maßnahme „Entsendung von Transfor­­ma­­­­­­tions­­teams nach Nordafrika und in den Nahen Osten“ wird die AHK Tunesien während der Projektlaufzeit bis Ende 2013 den Einsatz von deutschen Experten in Tunesien koordinieren. Auch obliegt ihr die inhaltliche sowie organisatorische Vor­­­­be­­rei­­tung und Durchführung des Ein­­­satzes der Transformationsteams. Ziel der Trans­­­­­­­f­­or­­­mationsteams ist es in diesem Zu­­­sam­­­men­­hang, Tunesien bei seinen wirtschaft­­­­lichen und sozialen Reformen hin zu einer so­­­zialen Marktwirtschaft zu unterstützten.

Der HR Service der AHK Tunesien. Das richtige Personal zur rechten Zeit am rich­­tigen Platz – dies ist die zentrale Erfolgs­­formel im modernen Wettbewerb. Die AHK Tunesien erleichtert ihren Mit­glie­dern und Kunden den Auswahlprozess und greift hierbei auf ihre Kenntnis des tunesischen Arbeits- und Bildungs­mark­tes zurück.

Die Auslandshandelskammer Tunesien (AHK) unterstützt Unter­neh­­­­men professionell dabei, ungenutzte Po­­­­tenziale zu erschließen und die Moti­­vation ihrer Mit­­arbeiter zu steigern. Sie orga­nisiert fach­­­spezifische Fort­­­­­bil­­dun­­g­­­­en und Seminare im Bereich Ma­­­nage­ment und Soft-Skills und bietet außerdem Quali­­­­fi­kation nach Maß und er­­stellt bei Be­­­darf einen individuellen Schul­ungs­plan.

Einer der Gründe für die hohe Jungend­arbeitslosigkeit lässt sich in der mäßigen Qualität der Berufsbildung in Tunesien begründen und in der Tatsache, dass der Privatsektor sich in diesem Bereich zu wenig engagiert. Viele Projekte aus dem Transformationsprozess zielen daher auf diese Aspekte ab.

Das Programm „Beschäftigungspakt Tune­­­­­­sien“ wird durch das Auswärtige Amt finan­­­ziert und von sequa gGmbH mit Un­­­ter­stüt­­zung der Auslandshandels­­kam­­mer Tunesien (AHK), die als lokaler Be­­­rater fungiert, koordiniert. Ziel ist es, durch Beschäftigungsförderung und eine höhere Qualität der beruflichen Bildung einen Bei­­trag zur ökonomischen Stabi­­li­sierung und erfolgreichen Demo­kra­ti­sie­rung Tu­­nesiens zu leisten.

Im Rahmen des Projektes „Über Fort­bil­dung zum Arbeitsplatz und zu einer mo­­dernen Personalentwicklung“, geleitet von der GIZ und durchgeführt von der AHK Tunesien, sind drei verschiedene Fort­­­bil­­dungs­­programme für Berufsschul­ab­sol­venten und Hochschulabsolventen geplant. Ziel dieser Fortbildungen ist, den Unter­­nehmen auf ihre Bedürfnisse zu­­ge­­­­schnit­tene und in kurzer Zeit einsatzbe­­reite junge Menschen vorzustellen, die zum Unternehmenserfolg beitragen können.

Als kompetenter Ansprechpartner für den Aufbau von Handelsbeziehungen mit Tu­­nesien unterstützt die Auslandshandels­kammer Tunesien deutsche Unternehmen vor Ort. Sie ver­­mittelt dabei nicht nur di­­­rekte Kontakte zu Distributoren, Pro­­du­­zenten oder Bra­­­­­nchen­­­verbänden, son­­dern gibt auch Ein­­schät­zung­en zur ak­tu­ellen Wirtschafts­lage vor Ort und beantwortet allgemeine Fragen zu Zoll­ta­rifen oder Markt­­rahmen­be­ding­ungen.

 

©Frank-Ossenbrink-Media-Group_DO-KopieDie 1965 geborene Autorin hat nach dem Studium in Jena zunächst bei Carl Zeiss Jena gearbeitet. Später war sie unter anderem für die Auslandshandels­kam­mern (AHK) in Kanada und Venezuela tätig. Seit 2002 ist sie Geschäftsführerin der AHK Tunesien.