Cord Meijering: The right tone for making music

The education imparted by the Academy of Musical Arts delights the students in its college division and the pupils in its city music school. But the educational activity also includes a busy concert schedule for the docents, exchange concerts at home and abroad as well as the academy’s own concert series such as the annual “Days for New Music”, held since 1955 – an abundant musical activity that goes to profit Darmstadt’s cultural life.

III-3-12-03-056

Artistically high-class presentations are offered regularly free of charge. The yearly programme includes something for all tastes, whether that may be a romantic lieder recital, community concerts, final examination concerts, a guitar soiree or piano weeks. Anyone attending those presentations will soon realize that the artists at work here have a devoted love of music.

The high-quality education has a long history: since its foundation as the former Schmitt’sche Academy in 1852, the academy can pride itself on the work of renowned music educators and artists such as Carl A. Mangold, Arnold Mendelssohn, Gösta Andreasson, Rudolf Kolisch, Konrad Lechner, Hans Leygraf and Donald Runnicles. Admission is governed by a strict selection process. The officially recognized academy is located in a modern building, which is conducive to a quality education: in addition to a good number of instruments, a small and a large music hall, 46 classrooms, 23 practice rooms, one chamber music hall, one percussion room, and one sound studio are available.


MusicTag_Orangerie_5-Jun-10_20-1

The college division offers education majors in all instrumental and vocal subjects, artistic studies in opera singing, orchestral music, composition and choral direc­­tor­ship as well as vocal and instrumental postgraduate studies. The city music school offers comprehensive classes for the young and young at heart in singing, instruments, orchestra, ensembles, choir, notation and much more.

CordMeijeringThe Dutch composer Cord Meijering was born in Esens (Germany) in 1955 and now lives in Darmstadt. After studying the guitar and composition at the Academy of Musical Art, he obtained master training from Hans Werner Henze in Cologne and a scholarship at the former East Berlin Academy of Arts with Hans Jürgen Wenzel. He earned various advancement awards. His works were performed, among others, at the Festival de Tardor in Barcelona, the Steirischer Herbst festival in Graz, the Festival d’Evian, the Frankfurt festivals, the Darmstadt International Summer Courses for New Music, the CrossSound Festival in Juneau and Sitka (Alaska), as well as at the Guggenheim Museum in New York. Cord Meijering is director of the Academy of Musical Art in Darmstadt.

Cord Meijering: Der richtige Ton macht die Musik

Die Ausbildung an der Akademie für Tonkunst erfreut nicht nur Studentinnen und Studenten der Studien­abteilung und die Schülerinnen und Schüler der Abteilung Städtische Musikschule. Zum Lehrbetrieb gehören schließlich auch eine rege Konzerttätigkeit der Dozenten, Austauschkonzerte im In- und Ausland sowie eigene Konzertreihen wie die seit 1955 jährlich stattfindenden „Tage für neue Musik“ – und von all diesen musikalischen Aktivitäten profitiert letztendlich das kulturelle Leben in Darmstadt.

III-3-12-03-056

Kostenlose Vorstellungen werden regelmäßig und auf sehr hohem künstlerischem Niveau geboten. Für jeden Geschmack sind über das Jahr verteilt interessante Programmpunkte vertreten, ob romantischer Liederabend, Gemeinschaftskonzerte, Konzerte im Rahmen der künstlerischen Reifeprüfungen, Gitarren-Soirée oder Klavierwochen. Wer die Vorstellungen besucht, wird schnell merken, hier sind Künstler mit viel Herz und Liebe zur Musik am Werke.
Die hohe Qualität der Ausbildung hat ihren Grund: Bereits 1852 als Schmitt’sche Akademie gegründet, kann man heute auf das Wirken berühmter Musikpädagogen und Künstler wie Carl A. Mangold, Arnold Mendelssohn, Gösta Andreasson, Rudolf Kolisch, Konrad Lechner, Hans Leygraf oder Donald Runnicles verweisen. Die Aufnahme erfolgt nach einem strengen Auswahlverfahren. Die staatlich anerkannte Akademie ist zudem in einem modernen Gebäude angesiedelt, das eine gute Ausbildung ermög­licht: Neben der ausreichenden Ausstattung mit Instru­menten stehen ein großer und ein kleinerer Musiksaal, 46 Unterrichts- und 23 Übungsräume, ein Kammermusiksaal und ein Rhythmiksaal sowie ein Tonstudio bereit.


MusicTag_Orangerie_5-Jun-10_20-1

Angeboten werden in der Studienabteilung sowohl päda­­gogische Diplomstudiengänge in allen instrumentalen und vokalen Hauptfächern wie auch künstlerische Studien­­gänge mit der Ausbildung in Operngesang, Orchestermusik, Komposition, Chorleitung sowie dem vokalen und instrumentalen Aufbaustudium. Die Abteilung Städtische Musikschule bietet ein umfangreiches Lehrangebot für Jung und Alt: Gesang, Instrumente, Orchesterspiel, Ensem­­bles, Kurse, Chor und vieles mehr.

CordMeijeringDer niederländische Komponist Cord Meijering wurde 1955 in Esens, Deutschland, geboren und lebt heute in Darmstadt. Nach Studien an der Akademie für Tonkunst in Gitarre und Komposition folgte eine Ausbildung als Meisterschüler bei Hans Werner Henze in Köln und ein Stipendiat an der ehemals Ostberliner Akademie der Künste bei Hans Jürgen Wenzel. Ihm wurden verschiedene Förderpreise zugesprochen. Seine Werke wurden unter anderem aufgeführt beim Festival de Tardor Barcelona, beim Steirischen Herbst in Graz, beim Festival d’Evian, den Frankfurter Festen, den Internationalen Ferien­kursen für Neue Musik in Darmstadt, dem CrossSound Festival in Juneau und Sitka Alaska sowie im Guggenheim Museum New York. Cord Meijering ist Direktor der Akademie für Tonkunst Darmstadt.