Christoph Mäder: Meeting the international competition with strong innovation performance

Switzerland’s 150-year-old chemical and pharmaceutical industry is the coun­­try’s largest export sector. This branch of in­­­­dustry employs approximately 70,000 people in Switzerland, who in 2006 pro­­­­duced added value worth 270,000 Swiss francs per capita – 2.5 times higher than the average of the entire Swiss economy.

In 2007, the companies in this branch exported products worth 68.8 billion euros. This is equivalent to 33.4 per cent of total Swiss exports.

As can be seen from the average in­­crease in yearly exports of 26 per cent since 1980, the chemical and pharmaceutical sector is pursuing a dynamic development. While the whole Swiss in­­dustry produced an aver­­age yearly growth of 3.7 per cent bet­ween 1995 and 2007, the chemical and pharma­­ceutical branch by itself kept growing by a considerable 15.3 per cent year after year. The companies in this sector were able to de­­li­v­­er that performance, because they have increas­­ingly specialized over the past 30 years. Originally widely di­­versified, to­­day they concentrate on pharmaceuticals, chem­ical substances, vi­­ta­­mins, aromas and fra­­grances, pesticides, pig­­ments, paints and varnishes. The strategy of specialization is one of the keys to the success of the Swiss industry.
Swiss chemical and pharmaceutical com­­panies have achiev­­ed a world­­wide presence, often even market leadership, with their high-qua­­l­­ity specialized products. Recent years have witnessed a clear structural shift to­­­­wards life sciences. While the pharmaceutical branch represented 40 per cent of the exports by the chemical and phar­­­­maceutical sector in 1980, nowadays its portion reaches 70 per cent.

Roche-pharmakokinetischer-Test-mit-Arzneimittelkandidaten

Staying competitive through innovation
Without the ability to innovate, however, economic growth cannot be made dur­­able. Currently, the chemical and pharma­­ceutical industry is indeed in a state of flux within the global economy. Not only the unexpectedly fast opening of the Eas­­tern European and Far Eas­t­ern markets, but also the continuous technological re­v­o­lu­­tion in biotechnology and genetic en­­gi­neer­­ing as well as information techno­­lo­­gy and telecommunication are creating a whole new global economic environment.

That particular fact is also causing Swiss companies to adapt continuously, to main­­­­tain and secure competitive advantages, and to increase their innovative ability.
In a high-salary country, investments in research and development for innovative products is the way to go.

The pharmaceutical industry, for example, invests a respectable 18 per cent of its turn­­over in research and development. To make this even clearer: One third of world­­wide investments made in research and development by the chem­­ical and phar­­ma­­ceutical branch come from Swiss com­­panies, although they re­­present bare­­ly two per cent of the glob­al market.

The success is obvious: Numerous Swiss companies have gained global market lead­­ership status for individual products, such as Syngenta in agribusiness; Fir­­­men­­ich and Givaudan in the field of scents and aromas; Roche, Novartis and Merck Se­­ro­­no for a number of pharmaceuticals; Lon­­­­za for chemical substances; Cla­­riant, Ci­­ba and Sika in the field of specialized chem­­­­istry. This list is by far not exhaustive.

Examples of scientific and technical areas where Swiss chemical and pharmaceutical companies are successful include the diagnosis and treatment of AIDS through the development of the medication Fuzeon by Roche; the treatment of breast cancer through the de­­ve­lopment of the aromatase inhibitor Fe­­mara by Novartis; or the development of high-performance pigments for optical information storage by Ciba. Novartis-Forschung-am-NIBR

Serious about sustainability
The branch is equally innovative in mat­­ters of sustainability. In the area of en­­­ergy efficiency, energy consumption was lowered significantly. Despite producti­­v­i­­ty increases of 200 per cent between 1993 and 2006, the companies managed to lower their energy consumption by ten per cent. Energy efficiency has, thus, ri­­sen by more than 330 per cent. In the same pe­­riod, CO2 emissions could be reduced by 13.5 per cent. Now­­adays, less than three per cent of the Swiss CO2 emissions come from the chemical and phar­­ma­ceutical industry. By 2010, the branch in­­tends to reduce emissions by 17 per cent of the 1990 val­­ues – and this de­­spite an expected in­­­crease in production of 170 per cent.

Emissions of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) could also be reduced by 70 per cent during that period, which takes them to less than one per cent of the quanti­ty of VOCs utilized. Switzer­land’s che­­mi­­cal and pharmaceutical industry is capable of presenting similar positive figures when it comes to the consumption of cooling water and untreated wa­­ter. The Swiss chemical and pharmaceu­­tical industry is proving it: Environmental protection and conservation of resources are not a noble cause, but rather an important concern of the industry. For the Swiss climate policy to reach the best possible results, the structural conditions are crucial.

location_08

The industry depends on clear and re­­liable structural conditions, which set realistic objectives while leaving the means to achieve those objectives up to the industry. Production increases must remain possible without being sanctioned by the government. SGCI Chemie Pharma Schweiz, Switzerland’s national association of chemical and pharmacological industries, and its 250 members is committed to achieving innovation-friendly structural conditions, the lifting of trade restrictions as well as the acceptance of successes in re­-search and development.

Christoph_Maeder_Portrait1The author (born 1959) is president of SGCI Chemie Pharma Schweiz. Previ­ous­ly held posts in­­clude le­­gal consultant at Sandoz In­­ternatio­­n­al AG and chief legal con­­­­sultant at Novartis Inter­na­tio­nal AG. In 1999, he be­­came manager of the legal & public af­­fairs department there. Since November 2000, he is member of the managing board at Syngenta In­ter­­national AG.

Christoph Mäder: Mit hohen Innovationsleistungen im internationalen Wettbewerb

Die grösste Exportbranche der Schweiz ist der hier seit mehr als 150 Jah­ren an­­sässige Sektor der chemisch-phar­­ma­zeu­­tischen In­­dus­­trie. In dieser Bran­­che sind in der Schweiz 70.000 Erwerbs­tä­tige beschäf­­tigt, die im Jahr 2006 mit 270.000 Schweizer Fra­n­­ken pro Kopf eine 2,5-mal so hohe Wert­­schöpfung wie die gesamte schwei­­zeri­sche Wirtschaft er­­ar­­beitet haben.

Die Unternehmen dieser Branche ex­­por­­­­tier­­ten im Jahr 2007 Produkte im Wert von 68,8 Milliarden Euro. Das ent­spricht einem Anteil am schweizerischen Ge­­samt­­­­export von 33,4 Prozent.

Dabei entwickelt sich der Bereich Che­mie und Pharma auch dynamisch, wie sich an der durchschnittlichen Steige­rung des jähr­­lichen Exportes von 26 Pro­­zent seit dem Jahr 1980 ablesen lässt. Wäh­­­­rend die schweizerische Ge­­samt­in­dus­­­trie zwi­­schen 1995 und 2007 ein durchschnittliches jährliches Pro­­duk­­­­­tions­­wachs­­tum von 3,7 Prozent auf­­wei­sen konnte, leg­­­ten Che­mie und Phar­­ma Jahr für Jahr be­­­­acht­liche 15,3 Pro­­zent zu. Eine Leis­­­tung, die von den Un­­­­ter­neh­men er­­bracht wer­den konnte, weil sich die Bran­­che in den letz­­ten 30 Jah­ren zu­­­­neh­mend spe­­zia­li­siert hat. Ur­­sprün­­g­­lich breit auf­­ge­stellt, pro­du­zie­ren die Un­­ter­neh­­­men heu­te Phar­­ma­zeu­­ti­ka, Fein­che­mi­ka­­­lien, Vi­­ta­mi­ne, Aro­men und Duft­­­stof­­fe, Pflan­­­zen­­­schutz­mit­­­tel, Pig­men­­­­te, Far­­­ben und La­­cke.
Die Stra­­tegie der Spezialisierung ist einer der Schlüssel zum Erfolg der schwei­­ze­­ri­­schen In­­dus­trie. Schweizer Che­­mie- und Phar­ma­un­ter­nehmen ha­­ben mit ih­­ren hoch­­wertigen Spe­zia­li­tä­­ten­pro­duk­­ten welt­­weite Prä­­senz und oft sogar die Markt­­füh­rer­schaft errungen. Dabei hat es in den letzten Jah­­ren eine deutliche Struk­tur­veränderung in Rich­tung Life Sciences gegeben. Der Be­­reich Pharma, der in­­ner­halb des Sek­­tors Che­mie und Pharma noch 1980 einen Ex­­portanteil von 40 Prozent ausmachte, realisiert heu­­te einen Anteil von über 70 Prozent.

Roche-pharmakokinetischer-Test-mit-Arzneimittelkandidaten

Innovativ wettbewerbsfähig bleiben
Ohne Innovationsfähigkeit kann wirt­schaft­­­liches Wachstum aber auf Dau­er nicht gesichert werden. So erlebt die che­­misch-pharmazeutische Industrie der­­­zeit etwa einen gewaltigen Um­­bruch in der Welt­wirtschaft. Die unerwartet ra­­­­sche Öffnung der osteuropäischen und fernöstlichen Märkte, aber auch die an­­­haltende techno­­logische Re­­vo­lution in der Biotechno­logie und der Gen­tech­nik, in der Informatik und der Te­­­le­­kom­mu­­­ni­kation schaffen ein völlig neues weltwirtschaftliches Um­­feld. Ein Fak­tum, das auch die Un­­ter­neh­men in der Schweiz zur fortgesetzten An­­­pas­­sung und zur Er­­­­haltung und zur Si­­che­rung von Wett­be­werbs­vorteilen und zum Aus­bau der In­­no­va­­tions­fähigkeit zwingt.

In einem Hochlohnland können dies nur In­­ves­ti­tionen in die Forschung und die Ent­­wick­lung innovativer Produkte sein.

So investiert beispielsweise die phar­ma­­­­zeutische Industrie immerhin 18 Pro­­­zent des Umsatzes in Forschung und Ent­­­wick­­lung. Um es noch deutlicher zum Aus­­druck zu bringen: Ein Drit­tel aller In­­ves­­titionen der weltweiten Che­mie- und Phar­­ma­bran­­che in For­schung und Ent­wick­­lung werden von Schwei­zer Unter­neh­men getätigt, ob­­wohl der Anteil Schwei­zer Un­­ter­neh­men an den Welt­märkten gerade einmal zwei Pro­zent be­­trägt.

Mit Erfolg: Zahlreiche schweizerische Un­­­­­ternehmen haben mit einzelnen Pro­duk­­­ten Weltmarktführerschaft erlangt – so etwa Syngenta im Bereich Agri­busi­­ness, Firmenich und Givaudan für Aro­­men und Riechstoffe, Roche, No­­­var­tis und Merck Serono für zahl­rei­che Phar­ma-Pro­duk­te, Lonza für Feinchemikalien so­­wie im Be­­reich der Spe­zialitä­ten­che­mie die Un­­­­ter­neh­men Cla­riant, Ciba und Sika. Die Liste ist keines­wegs ab­­schlie­­ssend.
Gebiete des wissenschaftlich-techni­schen Erfolgs von Schweizer Chemie- und Phar­­­ma-Un­­ter­nehmen liegen bei­­spiels­wei­se auf dem Ge­­biet der Dia­g­nose und Be­­hand­lung von AIDS durch die Ent­wick­­­lung des Me­­di­kaments Fuzeons (Ro­­che), der Brust­­krebs-Therapie mit der Ent­­wick­­lung des Aroma­tasehem­mers Fe­­­ma­ra (No­var­tis) oder auch der Ent­wick­lung von Hoch­leis­­­tungs­­­­farb­stoffen zur op­­ti­schen In­­for­ma­tions­speicherung durch Ciba.

Novartis-Forschung-am-NIBR

Nachhaltigkeit ernst gemeint
Innovativ ist die Branche auch in Sa­­­chen Nachhaltigkeit. Im Bereich der En­­ergie­ef­­fizienz wurden deutliche Ergeb­nisse bei der Reduktion des Energie­ver­­­brauchs erzielt. Trotz der Produktions­stei­ge­run­gen von 200 Prozent zwischen 1993 und 2006 haben die Unternehmen den En­­er­gieverbrauch um zehn Prozent sen­ken können. Die Energieeffizienz hat damit um über 330 Prozent zugenom­men. In der gleichen Zeit konnte der CO2-Aus­stoss um 13,5 Prozent gesenkt werden. Weniger als drei Prozent der schweizerischen CO2-Emissionen stam­­men heu­te von der chemisch-pharmazeutischen Industrie. Bis 2010 will die Branche die Emissionen gegenüber den Werten des Jahres 1990 um 17 Prozent verringern – und dies bei ei­nem zu er­­wartendem Pro­duk­tions­wachstum von 170 Pro­zent.
Und auch der Emissions-Anteil flüchtiger organischer Substanzen (VOC) kon­n­­te in dem ge­­nannten Zeitraum um über 70 Pro­zent reduziert wer­den und be­­trägt damit weniger als ein Prozent der eingesetzten VOC-Men­ge. Ähnlich güns­­­­tige Kenn­­zah­len kann die chemisch-phar­­mazeutische Industrie der Schweiz beim Verbrauch von Kühl­was­ser und Brauch­­wasser vorweisen. Che­mie und Phar­ma in der Schweiz stellen damit un­­ter Be­­weis: Umweltschutz und Res­sour­cen­scho­­nung ist kein hehres Ziel, sondern der Industrie ein wichtiges An­­lie­gen, das um­­gesetzt wird. Um best­­mög­liche Er­­geb­­nisse für die schweizerische Kli­ma­­po­li­tik erzielen zu können, kommt es je­­doch auch auf die Rahmen­bedin­gun­gen an.

location_08

Die Industrie ist auf klare und ver­läs­s­li­che Rahmenbedingungen angewiesen, wel­­che realistische Ziele vorgeben, aber die Mittel zur Zielerreichung der In­­dus­­­trie überlassen. Produktions­stei­­­ge­run­­­gen müssen weiterhin möglich bleiben, ohne dass dies staatlich sank­­tioniert wird. Die gesamtschweizerische Bran­chen­organisation, die SGCI Che­­mie Phar­­­ma Schweiz, setzt sich mit ihren 250 Mit­­gliedsfirmen dafür ein, innovations­­freundliche Rahmen­be­­­din­­gungen, die Auf­hebung von Han­dels­­be­schrän­kun­gen sowie die Akzeptanz von For­schungs- und Entwick­lungs­er­­­fol­gen durchzusetzen.

Christoph_Maeder_Portrait1Christoph Mäder (Jahrgang 1959) ist Präsident der SGCI Chemie Phar­ma Schweiz. Er war un­ter anderem als Rechts­­konsulent bei der Sandoz International AG und als leitender Rechtskonsulent bei der Novartis International AG tätig. Dort übernahm er 1999 als Leiter den Be­­reich Recht & Public Affairs. Seit No­­vember 2000 ist er Mitglied der Kon­­zern­leitung der Syngenta International AG.