Christian Bau: Perfect performance with high comfort factor

It is a long journey. One is therefore na­­­­­­turally confronted with the question of whether the way towards the furthest corner of Saarland will be worthwhile. Yet, if not just past the “Pel­­linger Tun­­nel” or at latest as soon as one reaches the silhouette of the small Renaissance castle in Perl-Nen­­nig, one can be certain that the jour­­ney to the region where three countries, “SaarLorLux”, meet – direct­­ly on the Luxembourg border be­­­hind numerous hills – is worthwhile. Arrive. Breathe deeply. The first im­­pres­­­­sion is one of a small, romantic castle sur­­rounded by vineyards – com­­pletely idyl­­lic. Attached to this is an inviting Me­­di­ter­­ra­­nean building complex, which all in all makes up Vic­­tor’s Residenz-Hotel Schloss Berg.Those who have reckoned with pre­­ten­­tious glamour are taught other­­wise – pure luxury in style, attributed with five stars.
People who wish to visit Victor’s Gour­­­­met Restaurant Schloss Berg must pass along a path that leads to the castle via a small, plastered courtyard with a well in it. A fabulous atmosphere dominates inside.


Schlosshof-03

The newly created restaurant, which can seat a maximum of 34 guests, is bright and sunny and furnished with modern fittings. Cream-coloured table culture and leather chairs meet dark, wooden floors. Asian porcelain figures decorate the tables. I value a casual and at the same time stylish atmosphere.

My guests should really enjoy themselves – not only through their eyes, but also of course their palates. An authentic product stands thoroughly in the forefront of our creations.
These are cosmopolitan, which means that we use excellent products from around the world and are always on the look-out for new techniques. We gladly combine, for example, rustic elements with noble products.

Ne_GR_BH_07_1

mpressions collected from numerous travels around the globe find their place in our creations – for example traces from a faraway journey of discovery to Tokyo. It is important for me to offer a tasteful surprise rooted within a basic, classical foundation. The excellent cuisine hopes to offer culinary delights that will allow the sensitization of tastes. In this way, we win over people from all over the world, who know how to enjoy food.

Through the demanding interplay of con­­trasts such as sweet/sour/salty, crusty/soft, hot/cold, etcetera, our intention is to achieve a harmonious spectrum of intensity.
Our motto states: away from “one-sided pap”, towards making desire for innovation become perceptible – an experience – and to always try out the new, which we in turn develop further. For us, this means being open to adventure, the breaking of a classical, outmoded scheme and the dependence upon ones own in­­tui­­tion during the creation of new dishes. My work allows me to discover myself and only then, as a second step, my own cuisine. Supplementing our noble dishes are cor­­responding wines from our cellar that houses 600 exquisite items.

The service at Victor’s gourmet restaurant is hearty and professional. Here, we lay immense value on passion, warmth and ambition within the service. In the end, what we would like to offer to our guests is our hospitability and taste­­ful cooking creations, which should be casual and simp­­ly full of fun. 17 individually con­­structed rooms and suites invite to stay overnight.
Just across the door from the castle lays the Mediterranean style villa Victor’s Resi­­­denz-Hotel Schloss Berg and the country guest house “Die Scheune”. These win visitors over through their own unique charm. In “Die Scheune”, which is based on a very down-to-earth gastronomic con­­cept, hearty specialities, above all from the Saarland, can be found on the menu. One can also take a seat in the beer garden and be witness to fantastic views over the vine­yards.


image001

The third restaurant on Victor’s land, “Bacchus”, is situated in the “villa” build­­ing complex and offers Mediterranean dishes, as is already suggested by its name.

In one of 96 rooms and suites, guests of the Mediterranean villa can dream of events that shall occur on the following day – whether these are important meet­­ings or an exciting tour of the area. For meetings, four event rooms offer an ex­­cellent backdrop thanks to their state-of-the-art equipment.

The attractions in the surrounding areas do not immediately hit the eye, yet are there when one looks carefully; file your own handicap on the nearby golf course, visit sights like the “Villa Borg” or take part in hik­ing and bike tours along the Mosel or Saar­ loop as well as city tours to Luxem­­bourg, Trier and Metz. Those who wish can enjoy their time at a wine-tasting session directly at the wine growers’, a carriage ride through the vineyards or boat ride along the Mosel – all fully following the motto: here, you shall be spoilt for choice. One can also, of course, easily switch off for a while in the wellness area of Vic­tor’s Residenz-Hotel, either through a quick dip in the pool, relaxation in the whirlpool or a hot sweat in the sauna. Ex­­clu­sive treatment programmes provide re­­­juvenation at Victor’s Vital Resorts.

VicSchloBergVilla–ret_15_2g

So, the comfort factor lies well in the fore­­f­­ront here, where even dedicated townspeople can discover their love of country life.

ne_portr_bau_bh_26Christian Bau was born in Offenburg, in 1971. The three-star chef complet­­ed his training at Hotel Götz Son­­ne Eintracht in Achern. After various po­­sitions in gastronomy, the married Bau has been the Head Chef of Victor’s Gourmet Restaurant Schloss Berg in Perl-Nennig since 1998 and in the same year received his first Michelin Star, his third in November 2005.

Christian Bau: Perfekte Performance mit hohem Wohlfühlfaktor

Die Anfahrt ist lang – die Frage, ob sich der weite Weg in den letzten Winkel des Saarlandes lohnt, stellt sich deshalb zwangsläufig. Doch bereits nach dem „Pellinger Tunnel“, aber allerspätes­­tens wenn die Silhouette des Renais­­sance-Schlösschens in Perl-Nennig auf­­ragt, ist man sich gewiss, dass die Rei­­se ins „Drei­­ländereck SaarLorLux“, di­­rekt an der luxemburgischen Grenze hin­­ter den vielen Bergen, lohnt. Ankommen. Durchatmen. Der erste Ein­­druck: ein romantisches kleines Schloss, von Weinbergen um­­ge­­ben. Wirklich idyl­­lisch. Daran anschließend ein einladen­­der, mediterraner Ge­­bäudekomplex – alles zu­­sammen Victor’s Residenz-Ho­tel Schloss Berg. Wer hier mit prätentiö­­sem Glamour gerechnet hat, wird ei­­nes Besseren be­­lehrt. Luxus auf sehr stilvol­­le Weise. Mit fünf Ster­­nen klassifiziert.
Möchte man das Victor’s Gourmet-Res­­­­tau­­rant Schloss Berg besuchen, führt der Weg ins Schloss über einen kleinen gepflasterten Innenhof mit Brünn­­chen. Im Innern herrscht eine herzliche At­­mosphäre.


Schlosshof-03

Das neu gestaltete Restaurant mit ma­­ximal 34 Sitzplätzen ist hell, lichtdurch­­flutet und modern eingerichtet. Creme­farbene Tischkultur und Lederstühle tref­­fen dunklen Holzboden. Asiatische Por­­zellanfiguren zieren die Tische. Ich le­­ge Wert auf ein lockeres und zugleich stilvolles Ambiente – meine Gäste sollen richtig Spaß haben.

Gefallen muss es nicht nur dem Auge, sondern natürlich auch dem Gaumen. Bei meinen Kreatio­nen steht das authentische Produkt ab­­solut im Vordergrund.
Sie sind weltoffen: Das heißt, wir verwenden exzellente Produkte aus aller Welt und sind immer offen für neue Tech­­niken. Gerne kombinieren wir beispielsweise rustikale Elemente mit Edel­­­pro­­dukten.

Ne_GR_BH_07_1

Von zahlreichen Reisen rund um den Globus gesammelte Eindrücke finden Eingang in unsere Kreationen – etwa Spuren einer Entdeckungsreise nach Tokio. Wichtig ist für mich dabei die geschmackliche Überraschung, ausgehend von ei­­ner klassisch-bodenständigen Linie. Die exzellente Küche möchte ein Genuss-Erlebnis bie­­ten, um ge­­schmack­­­­liche Sensi­bili­sie­­­rung zu er­­mög­­lichen. Da­­mit überzeugen wir seit Jahren Genießer aus aller Welt.

Durch das diffizile Spiel mit Kon­­­­trasten wie süß/sauer/salzig, kross/weich, heiß /kalt et cetera wollen wir ei­­nen har­­mo­nischen Span­nungs­bogen erreichen.
Die Devise heißt: weg vom „Einheitsbrei“ und Innova­tions­lust spürbar, erlebbar machen und immer wieder Neu­es aus­­probieren und weiter­entwickeln. Of­­fen für Neues, das heißt für uns, klassische, ver­­altete Sche­mata durchbrechen und ma­­chen, was man selbst spürt. Mit meiner Arbeit ergründe ich mich zu­­­nächst selbst und erst im zweiten Schritt meine eigene Küche. Zu unseren edlen Gerichten korrespondieren Weine aus unserem mit 600 Positionen erlesen bestückten Keller.


image001

Der Service im Victor’s Gourmet-Res­tau­rant ist herzlich und professionell. Auch hier legen wir großen Wert auf Leiden­schaft, Wärme und Ehrgeiz in der Dienstleistung. Letztlich möchten wir Gast­­freundschaft und geschmackvolle Küchenkunst of­­ferie­­ren, die lässig ist und schlicht Spaß macht. 17 ganz individuell ge­­staltete Zimmer und Suiten laden zur Übernachtung ein.
Quasi Tür an Tür mit dem Schloss liegen die me­diterrane Villa von Victor’s Re­­si­­denz-Hotel Schloss Berg und das Land­­­gast­haus „Die Scheune“. Sie über­­zeugen mit ihrem ganz eigenen Charme. In der „Scheu­­ne“, einem ganz bodenständigen Gas­­t­­ro-Konzept, stehen def­­ti­­ge, vor al­­lem saar­­ländische Spezialitäten auf der Karte. Wer mag, kann hier auch im Bier­­garten mit Blick auf die Wein­berge Platz nehmen.

Das dritte Restaurant des Victor’s Are­­als, das Restaurant „Bacchus“, be­­findet sich im Gebäude-Komplex „Villa“ und of­­fe­­riert seinen Gästen, wie der Name schon vermuten lässt, mediterrane Speisen.

VicSchloBergVilla–ret_15_2g

In einem von 96 Zimmern und Suiten träumt der Gast der mediterranen Villa von den Ereignissen des darauf folgenden Tages – ob weichenstellendes Meet­­ing oder spannende Besichti­gungs­­­­tour. Für Ersteres bieten vier Veran­stal­­­tungs­räume dank modernstem Equip­ment den passenden Rahmen.
Die Attraktivitäten in der näheren Um­­ge­­bung fallen nicht gleich ins Auge, liegen aber auf der Hand: Feilen am eigenen Handicap auf dem na­­he gelegenen Golf­­platz, Sehens­wür­­dig­keiten wie die nahe „Villa Borg“, Wan­­de­­rungen und Rad­tou­ren entlang der Mosel oder Saar­­schleife sowie eine Städtetour nach Luxemburg, Trier und Metz. Wer möch­­te, kann es sich bei einer Wein­­pro­­be direkt beim Winzer, einer Kutschfahrt durch die Weinberge oder einer Schiff­­fahrt auf der Mosel gut gehen lassen. Ganz nach dem Motto: Wer die Wahl hat, hat die Qual. Und: Im Wellness-Bereich des Victor’s Re­­sidenz-Hotels fällt Abschalten natürlich besonders leicht. Kurz mal im Schwimm­­­­­­bad abtauchen, im Whirlpool entspannen oder in der Sauna ins Schwit­­zen kommen. Für den Frische-Kick sorgen die ex­­klu­si­­­­ven Verwöhnpro­gramme des Victor’s Vi­­tal Resorts.

Also: Hier steht der Wohlfühlfaktor im Vor­­der­­grund und so können selbst über­­zeugte Städter ihre Liebe zum Land­le­ben entdecken.

ne_portr_bau_bh_26Christian Bau, 1971 in Offenburg geboren, hat im Hotel Götz Sonne Eintracht zu Achern seine Ausbildung absolviert. Nach verschiedenen Stationen ist der verheirate­­te Dreisterne-Koch seit 1998 Küchenchef in Victor’s Gourmet-Res­­tau­­rant Schloss Berg in Perl-Nennig und erhielt noch im gleichen Jahr seinen ersten Miche­lin-Stern sowie im November 2005 seinen dritten Michelin-Stern.