Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel: Cutting-edge research in northern Germany

Kiel University (CAU) is Germany’s north­ernmost State University and the scientific centre of Schleswig-Holstein. At our institutes, more than 24,000 stu­­dents learn their trade, about 2,000 sci­entists teach and do research. They educate students in 185 degree programmes and approximately 80 different areas ranging from Agricultural Science to Dentistry. CAU sees itself as a modern State University of interconnecting academic cul­­tures. Societal issues can often only be answered through collaboration of various disciplines. These communalities en­­able scientists from all over the world to work together in northern Germany.

The Cluster of Excellence “The Future Ocean” analyses manifold aspects of the marine sciences in a unique and un­­precedented breadth. Another outstanding collaborative project is the Cluster of Excellence “Inflammation at Interfaces”: Here, chronic inflammations triggered by disturbances on the interfaces of organs are being researched. The Graduate School “Human Development in Land­scapes” trains excellent young scien-
­­tists. “Nano Science and Surface Research” is carried out at the highest level by members of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, the Faculty of Engineering, the Faculty of Medicine and the Faculty of Agricultural and Nutritional Sciences. 



  1. Address

    Christian-Albrechts-Platz 4
    24098 Kiel
    Tel +49 431 880-00
    Fax +49 431 880-2072
    mail(at)uni-kiel.de
    www.uni-kiel.de
  2. President

    Prof. Dr. Gerhard Fouquet
  3. Chancellor

    Frank Eisoldt
  4. Year of establishment

    1665
  5. Employees

    3.222
  6. Study guide

    Scientific teaching and research in all disciplines. Particularly renowned focal points in research: Applied life sciences, Marine and geological research, Cultural spaces, nano sciences/Surface research

Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel: Spitzenforschung im Norden Deutschlands

Die Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel (CAU) ist die einzige Volluniversität und das wissenschaftliche Zentrum von Schleswig-Holstein. Hier studieren über 24.000 junge Menschen, hier lehren und forschen rund 2.000 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler. Von den Agrarwissenschaften bis zur Zahnmedizin bildet sie in 185 Studiengängen und zirka 80 Fächern aus und versteht sich als moderne Volluniversität verbundener Wissenschaftskulturen. Gesellschaftliche Fragestellungen können häufig nur durch die Zusammenarbeit verschiedener Disziplinen beantwortet werden. Diese Gemeinsamkeiten bringen Forscherinnen und Forscher aus der ganzen Welt zusammen.

Der Exzellenzcluster „Ozean der Zukunft“ untersucht den Ozean aus mannigfaltigen Perspektiven in weltweit einmaliger Breite. Ein herausragendes Projekt ist auch der Exzellenzcluster „Entzündung an Grenzflächen“: Hier werden chronische Entzündungen, ausgelöst durch Stö­rungen an Grenzflächen der Organe, erforscht. Die Graduiertenschule „Entwicklung menschlicher Gesellschaften in Landschaften“ bildet exzellenten wis­senschaftlichen Nachwuchs aus. „Nano­wissenschaften und Oberflächenfor­schung“ auf höchstem Niveau betreiben die Technische und die Mathematisch-­Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät.



  1. Anschrift

    Christian-Albrechts-Platz 4
    24098 Kiel
    Tel +49 431 880-00
    Fax +49 431 880-2072
    mail(at)uni-kiel.de
    www.uni-kiel.de
  2. Präsident

    Prof. Dr. Gerhard Fouquet
  3. Kanzler

    Frank Eisoldt
  4. Gründungsjahr

    1665
  5. Mitarbeiter

    3.222
  6. Geschäftstätigkeit

    Wissenschaftliche Lehre und Forschung in allen Themenbereichen. Besonders renommierte Forschungsschwerpunkte: Angewandte Lebenswissenschaften, Meeres- und Geoforschung, Kulturelle Räume, Nanowissenschaften/Oberflächenforschung