Charlotte Britz: Unbelievably diverse! – Life and work in Saarbrücken

The state capital of Saarbrücken is the regional centre of Saarland and one of the authoritative centres of the SaarLorLux region. The metropolis, with its near to 180,000 inhabitants, is highly branded by its close proximity to France and the eventful history of a German-French border town. The city of universities, exhibitions and congresses lies amid a broad stretch of forest. It im­­presses through its French charm, which becomes especially noticeable through the alleys at the foot of the castle and the pedestrian area of St. Johanner Markt. Saarbrücken is on the path to development from a centre for coal and steel to a metropolis dedicated to services, science, research and mo­­dern technologies. Large companies and service providers as well as nearly all state authorities have their headquarters here.
Over 200 specialized shops in the mo­­d­­ern pedestrian area and in the picturesque streets and courtyards surrounding St. Johanner Markt, invite inhabitants and visitors to shop around in. A rich cul­­tural programme and numerous festivals and parties attract many thousands of visitors to our city every year. In brief: Saarland’s state capital is simply unbelievably diverse, which of course also counts for the economic lo­­cation of Saar­­­­brück­­en.


ALTSTADT

Saarbrücken – A modern economic location
Saarbrücken is the top economic and scientific location of the region. With over 15,000 commercial enterprises, Saar­­land’s state capital is the economic heart of Saarland and one of the main centres of the SaarLorLux region.

Its companies offer jobs requiring social security for over 100,000 people. Six universities, including Saarland Uni­­­­ver­­­­sity, which account for altogether over 20,000 students, have turned Saar­­brück­­en into a significant location for education and research.
The companies in the city can support their success through well-educated workers. Thus, with its broad spectrum of subjects in a variety of fields, the university has gained international re­­cognition. Some such subjects are bio­­medicine and the material sciences, but above all computing science, twice awarded within the framework of the “Ex­­cellence Ini­­tiative”.

Through systematic settlement surrounding the first-class university institutes and research establishments, new start-ups in the technological branch are growing. The Saar­­brücker location of the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI) is a leading economy-related research institute in Germany in the area of in­­no­­vative software technologies and counts as one of the most im­­portant “Centers of Ex­­cellence” in the world. Also, both of the Max Planck In­­stitutes for Computer Science and Soft­­ware Sys­­tems are of top class. The high technological competence of Saar­­brück­­en university and institutes was just re­­cently confirmed through particularly im­­pressive success.

Together with the university, the world re­­nowned producer of semiconductors, Intel, just opened the Intel Visual Com­­puting In­­stitute (Intel VCI) in the state capital in May 2009.
The European research centre will have its headquarters on the Saar­­brück­­­­er campus. It shall work in tight correspondence with the university, the Max-Planck Institutes as well as the DFKI.

 

IMG0024

Saarbrücken – A European location for commerce
In addition, Saarbrücken is a thoroughly European commercial and economic location: With the Eurozone located just on Forbach’s border, a border-crossing commercial area is being developed. Companies have access to data highways of both states here via glass fibre cables – at an expense on each country level.

The state capital has many attractive commercial areas and buildings on offer, like in the Saarland IT Park or on the Saarterrassen, a former industrial fallow land, which has now be­­come an aspiring lo­­­cation.

 


DFKI

A lively quarter for urban usage with optimal transport connections is also being developed on 100,000 square metres of former railway surface, di­­rectly at Saarbrücken’s European railway station: the “Quartier Euro­­bahn­­hof”. A high-quality commercial and cul­­tural lo­­cation – a multifunctional inner city quarter – is gradually being formed.

Saarbrücken – A city worth living in
Saarbrücken is not only impressive because of its diversity as an econom­­ic location. The state capital is also a multi-facetted city of culture. The re­­nowned Saarland state theatre, with its three stages, offers first-rate opera, drama and ballet.

The pavilions of the Modern Gallery, built in 1965 by Hanns Schönecker, lie directly on the bank of the Saar. Be­­si­­de special exhibitions, it presents ex­­quisite works of the 19th to 21st centuries – Important pieces of German Im­­pres­­s­­i­­o­­n­­ism, Expressionism and the “In­­­­for­­­­mal”, but also outstanding painting and plastics of present-day art.

Saarbrücken is also a popular scene for events. Among its annual attrac­­ti­­o­­ns are the “Max Ophü­­ls Preis”, the most significant film festival for the German-spea­­k­­ing directing youth, as well as the sole German-French festival of performing arts, “per­­spec­­tives”. On the first weekend in August, the Saar stands central stage with the nation’s largest event surrounding the themes of water and water sports, the “Saar Spektakel”.

PERSPECT

Saarbrücken – A city for strolling and feeling good in
Saarbrücken attracts people from around the whole of Saarland, Lorrai­­ne, Luxembourg and close-by Pala­­ti­­na­­­­te each day to the city. The city centre allows people to gloriously stroll through the over 200 shops along its generous shopping mile between the railway station and St. Johanner Markt. In the historic old part of the city, small shops and boutiques invite visitors to shop in picturesque alleys and courtyards. A new shopping centre with around 100 shops on 25,000 square metres of buying area is currently be­­ing built in the city centre. Saar­­brück­­en’s attraction as a shopping city is on the rise.

Something that will also always belong to life in Saarbrücken is the famous “saarvoir vivre”, the lightness of being in Saarland, which, when the small­­est sunbeam shines over its fully oc­­cupied street cafes, is what lends the city on the Saar its mediterranean atmosphere. Many visitors regard this as “a little French”. And, of course, gastronomy plays its part in confirming this impression. Restaurants with French cuisine, small bistros with a big choice of French wines are all an im­­portant piece of the Saarland lifestyle.

 

Charlotte-BritzCharlotte Britz has been mayor of the state capital, Saarbrücken, since the year 2004. She was born in Ottweiler in 1958 and entered the SPD (social democratic party of Germany) at the age of 16. Charlotte Britz is a state-recognized educator and studied social work. In 1996, the former city councillor was voted as social department head of the state capital. 2004 followed with the election to mayor.

Charlotte Britz: Unglaublich vielfältig! – Leben und Arbeiten in Saarbrücken

Die Landeshauptstadt Saarbrücken ist das Oberzentrum des Saar­­lan­­des und eines der maßgeblichen Zentren in der SaarLorLux-Region. Die knapp 180.000­ Einwohner zählende Metropole in der Region ist stark geprägt von der Nähe zu Frankreich und der wechselvollen Geschichte einer deutsch-fran­­zö­­si­­sch­­­­en Grenzstadt. Die Universitäts-, Messe- und Kongress-Stadt liegt inmitten aus­­ge­­dehn­­ter Wälder. Sie besticht durch ihr fran­­zö­­si­­­­sches Flair, das besonders in den Gas­­sen am Fuße des Schlosses und in der Fuß­­gängerzone am St. Jo­­han­­ner Markt zu spüren ist. Saarbrücken ist dabei, sich vom Montanzentrum zur Me­­tro­­pole für Dienstleistung, Wissen­­schaft, For­­schung und moderne Tech­­no­­logien zu entwick­­eln. Große Unter­­neh­­men und Dienst­­leis­­ter, aber auch nahezu alle Lan­­des­­be­­hör­­den haben hier ihren Sitz.
Über 200 Fachgeschäfte in der modernen Fußgängerzone und in den malerischen Gassen und Innenhöfen rund um den St. Johanner Markt laden ein zum Shoppen. Ein reichhaltiges Kultur­­pro­gramm und eine Vielzahl von Festen und Festivals locken alljährlich viele Tausend Besucherinnen und Besucher in unsere Stadt. Kurz und knapp: Die saarländische Landeshauptstadt ist ein­­fach unglaublich vielfältig – das gilt na­­türlich auch für den Wirtschaftsstandort Saarbrücken.


ALTSTADT

Saarbrücken – Ein moderner Wirt­­schaftsstandort
Saarbrücken ist der Wirtschafts- und Wis­­senschaftsstandort der Region. Die saarländische Landeshauptstadt ist mit ihren mehr als 15.000 Gewerbebetrie­­ben das wirtschaftliche Herz des Saar­­landes und eines der Zentren der SaarLorLux-Region.

Die Unternehmen bieten mehr als 100.000 Menschen sozialversicherungs­­pflich­­ti­­ge Jobs. Sechs Hochschulen – unter anderem die Universität des Saarlandes – mit über 20.000 Studierenden machen Saar­­­­brück­­en zu einem bedeutenden Hoch­­schul- und Forschungsstandort.
Die Unter­­neh­­men in der Stadt können ihren Erfolg auf gut ausgebildete Arbeit­­nehmer stützen. So hat sich die Uni­­ver­­sität mit einem breiten Fächerspektrum in einigen Feldern internationale Aner­­kennung erworben. Etwa die Biomedizin und die Material­­wis­­senschaften, aber vor allem auch die im Rahmen der Ex­­­­­zel­­lenz­­­­initiative gleich doppelt ausgezeich­­nete Informatik.

Durch konsequente Ansiedlung wachsen im Umfeld der erstklassigen Hoch­­schul­­institute und Forschungseinrichtungen der Stadt neue Start-ups der Techno­­lo­­gie-­­Branche. Der Saarbrücker Standort des Deutschen Forschungszentrums für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI) ist auf dem Gebiet innovativer Software­­tech­­no­­lo­­gien eine der führenden wirtschaftsnahen For­­schungseinrichtungen in Deutschland und zählt zu den weltweit wichtigsten „Centers of Excellence“. Spitzenklasse sind auch die beiden Max-Planck-In­­sti­­tu­­te für Informatik und Softwaresysteme. Die hohe technologische Kompetenz der Saarbrücker Uni und Institute wurde kürzlich durch einen großen Erfolg eindrucksvoll belegt.

IMG0024

Der weltweit führende Hal­­bleiter­­her­­steller Intel hat erst im Mai 2009 in der Landes­­haupt­­stadt gemeinsam mit der Uni das Intel Visual Computing Institute Intel VCI eröffnet.
Das europäische For­­schungs­­zen­­trum wird seinen Sitz auf dem Campus Saarbrücken haben. Es wird sehr eng mit der Uni, den Max-Planck-Institu­­ten sowie dem DFKI zusammenarbeiten.

Saarbrücken – Ein europäischer Gewerbestandort
Saarbrücken ist zudem ein durch und durch europäischer Gewerbe- und Wirt­­­­schaftsstandort: Auf der Grenze zu For­­­­bach wird mit der Eurozone ein grenzüberschreitendes Gewerbe­ge­biet ent­­wick­­elt. Firmen haben hier per Glas­­faser­­kabel Anschluss an die Daten­auto­­bahnen der beiden Län­­der – und das zu In­­lands­­kos­­ten.

Die Landeshauptstadt bietet viele at­­trak­­tive Gewerbeflächen und Gebäude wie zum Beispiel im IT-Park Saarland oder auf den Saarterrassen, einer ehe­­maligen Industriebrache, die zu einem auf­­stre­­ben­­den Standort geworden ist.


DFKI

Und auf 100.000 Quadratmetern ehe­­maliger Bahnflächen direkt am Euro­­bah­­nhof Saarbrücken wird derzeit ein lebendiges Quartier für urbane Nut­­zun­­gen mit optimaler Ver­­kehrs­­anbindung entwickelt: das Quartier Eurobahnhof. Es entsteht ein hochwertiger Gewerbe- und Kul­­turstandort, ein multifunktionales Innenstadt­quartier.

Saarbrücken – Eine lebenswerte Stadt
Saarbrücken besticht aber nicht nur als Wirtschaftsstandort durch seine Viel­­falt. Die Landeshauptstadt ist auch eine fa­­cetten­­­­reiche Kulturstadt. Das renommierte Saarländische Staatstheater mit seinen drei Spielstätten bietet Opern, Schau­­spiel und Ballett der Spitzenklasse.

Direkt am Saarufer liegen die 1965 von Hanns Schönecker erbauten Pavillons der Modernen Galerie. Sie präsentiert neben Sonderausstellungen einige herausragende Werke des 19. bis 21. Jahr­­hun­­derts – wichtige Arbeiten des deutschen Impressionismus, Ex­­pressi­o­­nis­­mus und des „Informel“, aber auch herausra­­gen­de Malerei und Plastik der Gegen­­warts­­kunst.

PERSPECT

Saarbrücken ist zudem ein bekannter Schauplatz für Events. Jährliche Anzie­­hungs­­­­punkte sind das bedeutendste Film-Festival für den deutschsprachigen Regienachwuchs, der „Max Ophüls Preis“, sowie das einzige deutsch-französische Festival für Bühnenkunst, die „perspectives“. Am ersten Wochenende im August steht die Saar beim Saar­­-Spek­­takel, der bundesweit größten Veranstaltung rund um die Themen Wasser und Wasser­­sport, im Mittelpunkt des Geschehens.

Saarbrücken – Eine Stadt zum Bummeln und Wohlfühlen
Saarbrücken lockt als Einkaufsstadt Tag für Tag Menschen aus dem ganzen Saar­­land, Lothringen, Luxemburg und der nahen Pfalz in die City. In der In­­nen­­­­stadt mit der großzügigen Shop­­ping­­meile zwischen Bahnhof und St. Jo­­hanner Markt lässt sich in über 200 Ge­­schäften herrlich bummeln. In der historischen Altstadt laden kleine Ge­­schäfte und Boutiquen in malerischen Gassen und Höfen zum Shoppen ein. Ein neues Ein­­kaufscenter mit rund 100 Geschäften auf 25.000 Quadrat­­me­­tern Verkaufs­­fläche entsteht derzeit in der Innenstadt. Es wird die Attrak­­ti­­vität Saar­­brückens als Ein­­kaufs­­stadt noch weiter steigern.

Zum Leben in Saarbrücken gehört immer auch das berühmte „saarvoir vivre“, die saarländische Leichtigkeit des Seins, die der Stadt an der Saar beim kleinsten Sonnenstrahl mit vollbesetzten Straßen­­cafés eine geradezu mediterrane Atmos­­phäre schenkt. Das empfinden viele Be­­sucher als „ein bisschen französisch“. Und natürlich tut die Gastronomie ein Übriges, um diesen Eindruck zu bestäti­gen. Restaurants mit französischer Küche, kleine Bistros mit einer großen Auswahl französischer Weine sind ein wichtiger Bestandteil der saarländisch­­en Lebensart.

Charlotte-BritzCharlotte Britz ist seit dem Jahr 2004 Oberbürgermeisterin der Landes­haupt­­­stadt Saarbrücken. Sie wurde 1958 in Ottweiler geboren und trat mit 16 Jahren der SPD bei. Charlotte Britz ist staatlich anerkannte Erzieherin und hat Sozialarbeit studiert. 1996 wurde die damalige Stadträtin zur Sozial­dezer­nen­tin der Landes­haupt­stadt ge­­wählt. 2004 folgte die Wahl zur Ober­­bür­ger­­meisterin.