Carola Schaar: The Halle-Dessau CCI region from 1989 to 2009 – A region of dynamic structural change

Spring 2009 – Optimism in spite of “crisis”
Everyone is talking about “crisis”: the property crisis, the banking crisis, the finance crisis, the motor vehicle industry crisis, the economic crisis and the bu­­si­­ness crisis. So it is tempting to think that now is not exactly the best time to canvass for a business location. But the current situation also offers the opportu­­nity to concentrate on our own strengths. And in the Halle-Dessau Chamber of Industry and Commerce (CCI) region as well as in East Germany generally, ex­­perience has shown that crises come and go. In short: The people in our re­­gion are crisis-tested. Bu­­si­­ness­­men especial­ly have demonstrated the characteristics and skills which are so important in difficult times in particular: flexibility, adaptability, the ability to react quickly, the art of improvisation, creativity, de­­cisiveness and toughness. This hands-on attitude generates courage, especially in hard times.

The Halle-Dessau CCI region: Eastern German reconstruction in a regional focus
Concentrating on our own strengths also means being aware of what we have achieved to date. It is too easy to overlook our existing and undisputed successes if we only think in categories of crisis. Economic development in the Halle-Dessau CCI region over the past decades can be seen as “Eastern Ger­man re­­con­­struction in a regional fo­­cus”. From this point of view, quite a few remarkable successes can be seen. Certainly, we had many problems to overcome initially. Only few people who lived through the disappearance of the Iron Curtain will ever for­­get what a break with the past this meant. Cer­tainly, a lot of people suffered losses but many people have also gained much.


ausstellung_designpreis

Businessmen as standard bearers and motors of economic change …
Economic change does not happen by itself; the main standard bearers of this change are businessmen. Change means transformation, leaving the beaten track and entering unknown territory, which is always associated with uncertainty and risk. Of all people, businessmen are very well aware of this as they have to be able to successfully hold their own in the competition every day on pain of failure. While it is a matter of basic principle that competition is always uncomfortable for everybody, businessmen in Eastern Germany – including those in the Halle-Dessau CCI re­­gion – jumped into the deep end after the disappearance of the Berlin Wall in 1989.

In completely unknown territory and in a completely unfamiliar environment, they have both adapted to the new conditions and rebuilt a “new” country, an achievement which is indeed remarkable.

… with the active support of the CCI
The Halle-Dessau CCI has always en­­de­­av­­our­ed – and continues to do so today – to help create and improve basic conditions in the business world, to smooth paths and to offer advice and assistance, and in my view it has done so very successfully.
In autumn 1989, just 3,583 companies belonged to the Chamber of Commerce and Industry in the former East Ger­man district of Halle. Of these, more than 2,000 were retailers and pubs or cafés and restaurants plus another 2,000 or so state-owned companies. Today mem­­bership of the Halle-Dessau CCI has in­­creased to around 53,000 companies in all sectors and in all sizes. Immediately after the disappea­­r­­ance of the Berlin Wall, the remaining member companies were initially concerned with regaining private property and contractual and complete decision-making freedom. In spite of many sluggishly resolved ownership matters, these aims were still achieved quite rap­­idly, generally speaking. This created the groundwork for individual entrepreneu­­rial success, Saxony-An­­halt’s econo­­mic progress generally and the comprehensive modernization of the transport infrastructure in particular.

Umspannwerk

Business in the CCI region today: The conditions for potential success have been created
The most important success is probably the fact that the economic structure in the Halle-Dessau CCI region (as well as in the state of Saxony-Anhalt or Eas­­tern Germany as a whole) is generally on the road to success. Of course, this can only be seen by those who look past the level of growth rates alone; it is also necessa­­ry to look at which markets have grown and in which sectors this has been achieved. What one finds is encouraging: Manufac­turing in particular has been making good progress for years and in the Halle-Dessau CCI region. This includes the food­­stuffs, chemicals, me­­chanical and plant engineering and elec­­trical engineering industries in particu­­lar.
Growth in these sectors is achieved in­­creasingly in national markets whose po­­tential growth is practically unlimited. And the services sector has also developed very satisfactorily.
However, in regional markets things are different. Their (also strongly subsidy-de­­pendent) growth took place to a large extent after the Iron Curtain disappeared, and peaked around the mid-1990s. How­­ever, the potential of these markets – in trade and in the construction industry, for example – was overestimated to a large extent. The rapidly built-up ca­­pacity became redundant were reached after a short period and fewer permanent com­­petitive jobs were created than many people expected.
Since then this pattern has changed ra­­d­­ically. Industry and the services contri­­b­­ute an increasingly large share to add­­ed value. Today, many companies are com­­petitive – even internationally. Em­­ployee productivity is increasing steadily and real GDP per employee in Eastern Ger­­many has almost increased more strongly over the last 15 years than the average for Germany as a whole; Sax­ony-An­halt has been in the group of high achievers for years.
Another positive factor are the many re­­search centres – state as well as private, university-based and external. And the technology and business start-up centres have become firmly established and done successful work.


IHK

Two relativizations: the decrease in the population and the smaller number and size of companies
At least two important relativizations must be considered. Firstly, the population in the Halle-Dessau CCI re­­­gion – as also in Saxony-Anhalt overall – is shrinking. Since 1990, Saxony-An­­halt has lost 17 per cent of its population. Secondly, the still-existing smaller number and size of companies compared to West Germany is shrinking only very slowly. This means that more stability in existing companies and dynamism is required for business start-ups. Neither of these just happens.
Winning the future through more investment in children, education and infrastructure
We must do everything to make Sax­­ony-Anhalt an even more attractive state to live and work in. In this context, one thing is important: investment. First­­ly: investment in children. We need a more posi­­tive attitude towards children in terms of tax and pensions le­­g­­islation, and more can certainly be done in the area of “fa­­mily friend­li­ness at the workplace”. Se­­condly, we need more investment in edu­­cation, that is at primary, secondary and tertiary le­­v­­el, and in research and de­­velop­ment, so that these children have the opportunity to gain the necessary job qua­­l­ifications and training. Thirdly, we need investment in the infrastructure, specifically the transport infra­struc­­ture (roads, bridges, railway routes and in­­land waterways) along with the tech­­nical infrastructure, in order to build our path to the future.

As an independent advocate for markets and competition, a customer-ori­ent­­ed service provider for the private sec­­tor and, not least, as a constructive and cri­­tical partner at government lev­­el, the Halle-Dessau CCI, too, will play its part in ensuring that the future can be won in the ways mentioned here.

 

BildThe author was born 1951 and studied business management and education. In 1995 and 1997, she founded the compa­­nies ABASYS GmbH and TUKAN Multi­me­­dia GmbH and in 2000, the Combit Ltd. in Rio de Janeiro. In 2000 she became vice pre­­sident of the Halle-Dessau Chamber of In­­dustry and Commerce, whose president she has been since 2008. Carola Schaar is also chairwoman of the executive board of the Ausbil­dungs­­ring Halle-Dessau e.V.

Carola Schaar: IHK-Bezirk Halle-Dessau 1989 bis 2009 – Region dynamischen Strukturwandels

Frühjahr 2009 – Optimismus trotz „Krise“
Das Wort „Krise“ ist in al­­­ler Munde: Im­­­­mo­bilienkrise, Ban­ken­­­krise, Finanz­kri­­se, Automobilkrise, Kon­­­­junk­tur­­kri­­se, Wirt­­­schaftskrise. Nicht ge­­­­rade die bes­ten Zei­­­­ten also, um für ei­­nen Wirt­­schafts­stand­­ort zu werben, sollte man meinen. Al­­ler­­dings bietet die Situation auch die Chan­­ce, sich auf die eigenen Stärken zu kon­zentrie­­ren. Und zu die­sen zählt – im IHK-Be­­zirk wie in Ost­deutsch­land ins­­gesamt – die Erfah­rung der Men­­schen, dass Kri­­sen kom­­men und ge­­hen. Kurz: Die Men­schen in unserer Re­­gion sind kri­­sen­er­probt. Ins­be­son­dere die Un­­ter­­neh­­mer ha­­ben seit der Wende Eigen­­schaf­­ten und Fä­­higkeiten unter Be­­­­weis ge­­stellt, auf die es gerade in schwie­­rigen Zeiten an­­kommt: Flexibilität und An­­­­pas­sungs­­fähigkeit, Re­aktions­schnel­­­­ligkeit und Im­­provi­sa­tions­kunst sowie Kre­­a­tiv­i­tät, Ent­­schlossenheit und Zä­­hig­­keit. Diese zu­­packende Art macht Mut, ge­­rade auch in schwierigen Zei­ten.

IHK-Bezirk Halle-Dessau: Aufbau Ost im regionalen Brennglas
Sich auf die eigenen Stärken konzentrieren bedeutet auch, sich bisher Er­­­­reichtes bewusst zu machen. Der Blick auf vorhandene und unbestreitbare Er­­­­folge kommt leicht zu kurz, wenn man nur noch in Krisenkategorien denkt. Die Wirtschaftsentwicklung in unserem IHK-Bezirk während der letzten beiden Jahr­­­­zehnte lässt sich verstehen als „Auf­­­­bau Ost im regionalen Brennglas“. Ich den­­ke, dass bei diesem Blick durchaus eini­­ges an bemerkenswerten Erfolgen zu­­sam­menkommt. Gewiss, gerade zu Be­­­ginn war manche Schwierigkeit zu über­­ste­hen. Die wenigsten, die die Wen­­­­de be­­wusst erlebt haben, werden je ver­­ges­­sen, welche Zäsur dies bedeutet hat. Ge­­wiss, manche haben etwas ver­­loren, aber sehr viele haben sehr viel gewonnen.


ausstellung_designpreis

Unternehmer als Träger und Motoren wirtschaftlichen Wandels …
Wirtschaftlicher Wandel geschieht nicht von selbst, maßgebliche Träger dieses Wan­­dels sind Unternehmer. Wandel be­­­­deu­­tet Veränderung, Ver­lassen der Rou­­­­tine, Be­­treten von Neu­­land. Und das ist immer mit Un­­ge­­wissheit und Risiko ver­­bunden. Dies wissen gerade Un­­ter­­neh­­mer sehr ge­­nau, müssen sie sich doch – bei Stra­fe ihres wirtschaftlichen Un­­tergangs – tagtäglich im Wettbewerb bewähren. Zwar gilt grundsätzlich und für jeden, dass Wettbewerb stets un­­be­­quem ist. Die Unternehmer im Os­­ten Deutschlands aber, also auch jene im IHK-Bezirk Halle-Dessau, sind nach der Wende 1989 in eiskaltes Wasser ge­­sprungen.
Auf völlig fremdem Terrain und in völlig ungewohnter Umgebung haben sie so­­wohl Anpassungs- als auch Aufbau­leis­­tungen vollbracht, die in der Tat bemerkenswert sind.

… mit tatkräftiger Unterstützung der IHK
Die IHK Halle-Dessau war und ist stets bemüht, dabei zu helfen, Rahmen­be­­din­­gungen zu schaffen und zu verbessern, Wege zu ebnen und mit Rat und Tat zur Seite zu stehen. Ich finde, durchaus mit Erfolg: Im Herbst 1989 gehörten der damaligen Handels- und Ge­­wer­­be­­kam­­mer des DDR-Bezirkes Halle ge­­rade noch 3.583 Betriebe an, davon allein mehr als 2.000 Einzelhändler und Gast­stätten (plus noch circa 2.000 Staats­­­­betriebe). Heute ist die Mitglied­schaft der IHK Halle-Dessau auf rund 53.000 Unternehmen aller Branchen und Be­­triebsgrößen angewachsen. Un­­mit­tel­bar nach der Wende ging es für die in der Kammer verbliebenen Be­­trie­­be zu­nächst vor allem darum, Pri­vat­eigentum sowie Vertrags- und völlige unternehmerische Entscheidungs­frei­heit zurückzugewinnen. Trotz mancher nur schleppend ge­­löster Eigentums­fra­­gen erreichte man diese Ziele jedoch insgesamt recht zü­­gig. Damit sowie insbesondere auch mit der umfassenden Erneuerung der Verkehrs­infra­struk­­tur waren wichtige Vor­­aussetzungen für individuellen unterneh­­merischen Er­­folg und das wirtschaftliche Fortkommen Sach­­sen-Anhalts insgesamt geschaffen.

Umspannwerk

Wirtschaft im IHK-Bezirk heute: Er­­folgsgeneigtes Strukturmuster ist erreicht
Der wichtigste Erfolg ist wohl, dass das wirtschaftliche Strukturmuster des IHK-Bezirks (wie auch des Landes Sach­­sen-Anhalt oder der neuen Bun­des­län­­­­der ins­­­­gesamt) heute insgesamt er­­folgs­ge­­neigt ist. Dies freilich erkennt nur, wer nicht ausschließlich auf die Höhe der Wachs­­tumsraten schaut. Not­­­­wendig ist auch und insbesondere der Blick darauf, auf welchen Märkten und in welchen Bran­­chen das Wachstum erzielt wird. Und dieser Blick macht durchaus Mut: Ins­­besondere die In­­dus­­trie kommt seit Jah­­­ren gut voran; im IHK-Bezirk vor al­­lem die Nahrungsmittel- und die Che­­mie­­­­­industrie, aber auch Ma­­schi­­nen- und An­­­­lagenbau sowie Elektro­tech­­nik.
De­­ren Wachstum wird zunehmend auf überre­­gionalen Märkten erzielt, deren po­­tenzielles Wachstum praktisch keine Gren­­ze kennt. Auch das Dienstleistungs­ge­­werbe hat sich erfreulich entwickelt.

Anders hingegen die regionalen Märkte: Deren (zudem stark transferabhängiges) Wachstum fand vor allem in den ersten Jahren nach der Wende statt. Der Hö­­he­­­­punkt wurde etwa gegen Mitte der neun­­ziger Jahre erreicht. Das Potenzial die­­ser Märkte freilich wurde – so etwa im Han­del und in der Bauwirtschaft – deut­­lich überschätzt: Die rasch aufgebauten Ka­­pazitäten konnten schon recht bald nicht mehr ausgelastet werden; dauerhaft wett­­bewerbsfähige Arbeits­plät­ze waren weit weniger entstanden als vielfach erhofft.

Dieses Strukturmuster hat sich grund­le­­gend gewandelt: Industrie und Dienst­­­­­leis­­tungswirtschaft steuern einen im­­mer größeren Teil zur Wertschöpfung bei. Vie­­le Unternehmen sind heute – auch in­­ternational – wettbewerbsfähig. Die Pro­­­­­­­duk­­ti­­vität der arbeitenden Men­­­schen wächst stetig: Das reale Brutto­in­­lands­produkt je Erwerbstätigen in den sogenannten neu­en Ländern nahm wäh­­­­­­rend der letzten rund 15 Jahre beinahe durch­­­­weg stärker zu als im gesamtdeut­­schen Durchschnitt. Sachsen-An­halt liegt hier seit Jahren in der Spit­zen­­gruppe. Posi­tiv zu erwähnen sind zu­­dem die vie­­len Forschungs­ein­rich­tun­­gen – staat­­liche wie private, innerhalb und außer­­halb von Hochschulen; hin­­zu kommen Tech­no­­logie- und Grün­­­­der­zen­tren, von denen sich einige dau­­er­­haft eta­­bliert und er­­folgreiche Ar­­beit geleistet haben.


IHK

Zwei Relativierungen: Bevölkerungs­rückgang und Unternehmenslücke
Zumindest zwei wichtige Rela­tivie­run­­gen müssen bedacht werden. Erstens, die Be­­völkerung im IHK-Bezirk – wie auch in Sachsen-Anhalt insgesamt – schrumpft. Seit 1990 hat Sachsen-An­­halt rund 17 Prozent seiner Einwohner verloren. Zwei­­­­tens, die im Vergleich zu west­deutschen Ländern noch immer be­­ste­­hende Un­­ter­­nehmenslücke schrumpft nur sehr lang­­sam. Nötig sind also mehr Stabilität bei bestehenden und noch mehr Grün­dungs­­dynamik bei neuen Un­­ternehmen. Bei­­des freilich fällt nicht vom Himmel.
Zukunft gewinnen durch mehr Investitionen in Kinder, Bildung, Infrastruktur
Wir müssen alles unternehmen, um Sach­­sen-Anhalt zu einem noch attraktiveren Land zu machen, in dem es sich zu le­­ben und zu arbeiten lohnt. Dabei geht es vor allem um eines: um In­­ves­­ti­tio­nen – und zwar auf drei Ebenen. Ers­­tens: Investitionen in Kinder. Wir brauchen mehr Kinderfreundlichkeit im Steu­­er- und Rentenrecht; auch im Be­­reich „Familienfreundlichkeit im Be­­ruf“ kann gewiss noch mehr getan wer­­den. Zwei­­tens: Investitionen in Bil­dung – also Schule, Hochschule so­­wie Forschung und Entwicklung –, da­­mit diese Kinder auch eine wirkliche Chance auf die entsprechende Aus­bil­dung und Qualifikation bekommen. Und drittens brauchen wir Investitionen in die Infrastruktur, um Wege in die Zukunft zu bauen. Dabei geht es um die Verkehrsinfrastruktur (Stra­ßen, Brücken, Schienen, Wasser­stra­ßen) ebenso wie um die technische Infra­struktur.

Die IHK wird auch zukünftig als unabhängiger Anwalt für Markt und Wett­be­­werb, als kundenorientierter Dienst­­­leis­­ter für alle Gewerbetreibenden so­­­­wie nicht zuletzt als konstruktiv-kritischer Partner der Politik ihren Teil da­­­­zu beitra­­gen, dass die Zukunft auf dem be­­schrie­­benen Wege gewonnen werden kann.

BildDie Autorin wurde 1951 ge­­boren und stu­­dierte Betriebs­wirt­schaft und Päda­­go­gik. 1995 und 1997 gründe­­te sie die Fir­­men ABASYS GmbH, TUKAN Multi­­me­­dia GmbH sowie 2000 die Combit Ltd. in Rio de Janeiro. 2000 wurde sie Vize­prä­­sidentin der IHK Halle-Dessau, deren Präsidentin sie seit 2008 ist. Carola Schaar ist zudem Vor­­sitzende des Vorstandes des Ausbil­dungs­­ringes Halle-Dessau e.V.