Birgit Fischer: Research, development, manufacture, marketing – How a pharmaceutical is created

The journey from researching an active ingredient to producing a marketable drug is a long road full of challenges. For a substance to work as an active ingredient, it needs an extraordinary combination of properties.

 

Medication has improved Germans’ life expectancy and quality of life considerably. Yet new medicines are urgently needed all the time, as there are still no appropriate treatments for many patients. In addi­tion, the status of the population’s health is extremely important for productivity – especially in an ageing society. The export of pharmaceutical products is a crucial economic factor all around the world. Producing effective pharmaceuticals means creating value. In the knowledge society, expertise in pharmaceuticals and patient care is Germany’s raw material in international competition. Developing a new drug is a complex project with no guarantee of success and, even if things run smoothly, one that rarely takes less than 13 years. Contributions are needed from specialists with very different fields of expertise – medicine, chemistry, pharmacy, engineering, information technology, patent law, etc.

Germany remains one of the leading countries when it comes to discovering new drugs, thanks to the research and development institutions of both German and foreign companies. To­­day, however, no drug is developed in a single country. Those that are fully developed are always intended for the world market right away.

There are various questions to be asked before the start of any pharmaceutical project: Which illnesses present an urgent need for new drugs? Have there been any new findings in fundamental research that show where it might be possible to intervene in the course of the disease more effectively than before? Could a drug be found that has fewer side effects than the current ones? Would health insurance provid­ers or patients pay for a drug like this if it were successful?

If the answers are positive, a process with many hundreds of individual steps begins. At the heart of every drug is its active ingredient. This may be a substance that the patient is lacking – such as a clotting factor in haemophilia patients. In most cases, however, pharmaceutical researchers first have to find a point in the incidence of the disease where an active ingredient could intervene. Companies usu­­ally find indications of this in the research literature. In other cases, groups of researchers they cooperate with may report such findings to them. This goes to show the enormous importance of an environment with academic research at a world-class level for com­­panies. Germany has a lot to offer here, too.
Once a useful point of attack has been found, an active ingredient able to have an effect needs to be created. This kind of thing cannot be done on a draw­ing board, but pharmaceutical researchers have other ways to achieve their goal. For example, they can take a large collection of chemical and natural subst­ances and find those that display at least a small effect. Using these as a starting point, the research teams then develop the exact active ingredient they need by repeatedly adding or taking away atoms.

02404HIGH_ANGELA_ROMANELLI2_bearbeitet

In contrast, pharmaceutical researchers usually de­­velop genetic active ingredients by starting with a human protein, which they then modify in a medically appropriate way. For manufacture, a gene is then ultimately implanted into cells that multiply well in large steel tanks, where the active ingredient is man­­ufactured in bulk.

The final active ingredient not only has to intervene at the right point in the course of the illness, it must also have other good properties. As far as possible, it should act only on the desired location in the body and not impact on many other molecules. If it is to be taken as a tablet, it needs to be able to travel from the intestine to the location at which it is meant to work without damage.

If a potential active ingredient looks promising, a pat­­ent application is submitted. Before it can be tested on people, however, it still has to pass through a rigorous programme of tests, focused on inves­­tigating whether the new substance is toxic, carcinogenic or otherwise harmful. This is done using tests in test tubes, with cell cultures and on animals. Only potential active ingredients that prove themselves here can be considered for further test­ing; the others are all discarded.

Testing on humans, known as clinical development, is divided into three stages: trials with a few healthy people (phase I), trials with a few ill people (phase II) and trials with a large number of ill people (phase III). Clinical development is the most complex and expensive part of drug development, sometimes involving tens of thousands of patients in many hundreds of hospitals all over the world. German hospitals play a big role in this: in fact, Germany is the world‘s sec­­ond most active country after the USA when it comes to involvement in industry-initiated clinical studies.

If all studies and trials are successful, the company can apply to the European Medicines Agency (EMA) and other pharmaceutical regulatory bodies around the world for the drug to be licensed.

Once it has been licensed in the EU, the company has the right to launch its new drug on the market in Germany straight away, so that it is available to doctors and patients. However, this is only possible if the high-tech systems required for mass production were completed even while clinical trials were still ongoing, and if the company has established a sophisti­cated logistics network to bring the drug from their production facility to the patients around the world. Germany has been able to assert itself against other coun­­tries in internal company com­­petition as a production location for innovations many times over the last few years; including for genetic drugs and innovative synthetic anticoagulants. However, competition between locations is fierce, espe­­cially from toll manufacturers in emerging economies, who are also improving their technical equipment continuously. Following the market launch, the company and health insurance providers negotiate the amount the health insurance providers reimburse for the drug (based on the results of a benefit assessment for the drug, among other things). Throughout all the years the drug was being development, it has cost more and more. It is only once it has been launched on the market that the company can regain these costs, at least until the patent protection expires and copycat companies are able to bring out their own versions of the drug.

The author has been Director General of the Association of Research-Based Phar­ma­ceutical Companies (vfa) since May 2011. She was Minister for Women, Youth, Family and Health for the state of North Rhine-Westphalia from 1998 to 2002, and the state’s Minister for Health, Social Affairs, Women and Family from 2002 to­ 2005. In addition, Birgit Fischer was CEO of Barmer GEK from 2010 to April 2011.

Birgit Fischer: Erforschen, Entwickeln, Herstellen und Vertreiben – Wie ein Arzneimittel entsteht

Von der Erforschung eines Wirkstoffs bis zum marktfähigen Medikament ist es ein langer Weg voller Herausforderungen. Denn damit eine Substanz als Wirk­­stoff taugt, muss sie eine außergewöhnliche Kombination von Eigenschaften mitbringen.

 

Medikamente haben die Lebenserwartung und Le­­bens­qualität der De­­utschen enorm verbessert. Trotz­­dem wer­­den neue Medikamente dringend gebraucht, denn vielen Patientinnen und Patienten kann noch nicht an­­ge­­messen geholfen werden. Der Gesundheitsstatus der Be­­völ­­ke­­rung ist darüber hinaus für die Produktivität – gerade einer älter werdenden Gesellschaft – von großer Be­­deu­­tung. Für die Volkswirtschaft ist der Export von Arznei­­mitteln weltweit ein entscheidender Wirt­­schafts­­faktor. Wirksame Arzneimittel produzieren heißt: Es wer­­­­den Werte geschaffen. Das Wissen über Arzneimittel und Pa­­tientenversorgung ist in der Wissensgesellschaft der Rohstoff für Deutschland im internationalen Wett­­be­­werb. Ein neues Medikament zu entwickeln ist ein kom­­plexes Projekt ohne Erfolgsgarantie, das selbst bei gu­­tem Ver­­­­lauf selten kürzer als 13 Jahre dauert. Fachleute mit un­­ter­­schied­­lichster Exper­­­­tise – Medi­­zin, Chemie, Phar­­ma­­zie, Inge­nieurs­­we­­sen, Informatik, Pa­­tent­­we­­sen und so weiter – müssen dazu bei­­tragen.

Deutschland ist nach wie vor eins der führenden Län­­der für die Erfindung neuer Medikamente, dank For­­schungs- und Entwicklungseinrichtungen von deutschen wie aus­­­­ländischen Unternehmen. Aber kein Medikament entsteht heute noch in einem Land allein. Und was fer­­tig entwickelt ist, ist immer gleich für den Weltmarkt be­­stimmt.

Vor dem Start jedes Arzneimittelprojekts stehen Fra­­gen wie diese: Bei welchen Krankheiten besteht dringender Bedarf für neue Medikamente? Gibt es neue Er­­kennt­­nisse aus der Grundlagenforschung darüber, wo man wirk­­samer als bisher in den Krankheitsverlauf eingreifen könnte? Oder lässt sich ein Medikament finden, das we­­­­­­niger Ne­­benwirkungen hat als die bisherigen? Wür­­den Kran­­ken­­versicherungen oder Patienten für ein solches Medi­­ka­­ment zahlen, wenn es gelingt?

Fallen die Antworten positiv aus, beginnt ein Prozess aus vielen hundert Einzelschritten. Zentraler Be­­stand­­teil je­­des Medikaments ist sein Wirkstoff. Manchmal kann das eine Substanz sein, die dem Patienten fehlt – wie ein Ge­­rin­­nungsfaktor bei Hämophilie-Patienten. In den meisten Fällen müssen Pharmaforscher aber erst einmal eine Stelle im Krankheitsgeschehen finden, an der ein Wirk­­stoff eingreifen könnte. Meist finden Unter­­neh­­men Hin­­­­weise darauf in der Forschungsliteratur. In an­­de­ren Fällen berichten ihnen kooperierende For­­scher­­gruppen davon. Das macht deutlich, wie groß die Be­­deutung eines Um­­felds mit akademischer Forschung auf Weltklas­se­ni­­veau für die Firmen ist. Deutschland hat auch hier viel zu bieten. Ist ein sinnvoller Angriffspunkt gefunden, muss ein Wirk­­­­­­­­stoff geschaffen werden, der imstande ist, darauf ein­­zu­­­­wirken. So etwas gelingt zwar nicht am „Reißbrett“, doch haben Pharmaforscher andere Wege zum Ziel. So kön­­nen sie beispielsweise aus einer großen Sammlung chemischer und aus der Natur gewonnener Substanzen die­­je­­nigen ermitteln, die zumindest eine geringe Wir­­kung zei­­gen. Von diesen ausgehend, erarbeiten die For­­schungs­­­­teams dann den eigentlichen Wirkstoff, indem sie immer wieder Atome ergänzen oder weglassen.

Gentechnische Wirkstoffe entwickeln Pharmaforscher hin­­­­gegen meist, indem sie von einem menschlichen Pro­­­­tein ausgehen, das sie dann in medizinisch geeigneter Weise abwandeln. Schließlich wird dann ein Gen zu seiner Her­­stellung in Zellen eingeschleust, die sich in großen Stahl­­tanks gut vermehren lassen; dort stellen sie den Wirk­­stoff dann in großen Mengen her.

Der endgültige Wirkstoff muss nicht nur an der richtigen Stelle in den Krankheitsvorgang eingreifen, er muss auch andere gute Eigenschaften haben: Er sollte im Körper möglichst nur an der gewünschten Stelle wir­­­­ken und nicht auch viele an­­dere Moleküle beeinflussen. Er muss – wenn er als Tablette eingenom­­men werden soll – den Weg aus dem Darm bis zu der Stelle, an der er wirken soll, unbeschadet zu­­rück­­legen können.

Sieht ein Wirkstoffkandidat aussichts­­reich aus, wird er zum Patent angemeldet. Ehe er am Menschen erprobt werden kann, muss er noch ein rigoroses Test­­pro­­gramm absolvieren, bei dem insbesondere überprüft wird, dass die neue Sub­­stanz nicht giftig, krebs­erregend oder in an­­derer Weise schädlich ist. Dazu dienen Tests im Rea­­genz­­glas, mit Zellkulturen und mit Tieren. Nur Wirk­­stoff­­­­­­kan­­didaten, die sich hier bewähren, kommen für eine wei­­­­­­tere Erprobung in Betracht, alle anderen werden aus­­­­ge­­mus­­tert.

Die Erprobung mit Menschen, die klinische Entwicklung, gliedert sich in drei Phasen: Erprobung mit wenigen Ge­­sunden (Phase I), Erprobung mit wenigen Kran­­ken (Phase II) und Erprobung mit vielen Kranken (Phase III). Die klini­­sche Entwicklung ist der aufwändigste und kosten­­in­­ten­­sivste Teil der Medika­menten­ent­wick­lung: Bis zu mehre­­re zehntausend Patienten in vielen hun­­dert Klini­­ken in der ganzen Welt sind daran beteiligt. Deut­­sche Kliniken spielen dabei eine große Rolle; tatsächlich ist Deutschland sogar weltweit das zweit­­aktivste Land – nach den USA – wenn es um die Be­­tei­­li­­gung an Indus­­trie-ini­ti­ier­ten klinischen Studien geht.

Waren alle Stu­­dien und Tests erfolgreich, kann das Unter­­nehmen bei der Arznei­mittelagentur der EU, der EMA, und weiteren Arz­nei­mittelbehörden weltweit die Zu­­las­­sung für das Medi­ka­ment beantragen.

Nach der EU-Zulassung hat das Unternehmen das Recht, sein neues Medikament in Deutschland unverzüglich auf den Markt zu bringen, so dass es Ärzten und Patienten zur Verfügung steht. Das allerdings kann es nur, wenn es während die klinische Er­­probung noch lief, auch die Hightech-Anlage für die Massenproduktion fertigge­­stellt hat. Und wenn es eine ausgeklügelte Logistik au­f­­­­gebaut hat, die das Medi­ka­­ment von dort zu den Pa­­tientinnen und Patienten weltweit bringt. Deutschland konnte sich in den letzten Jahren mehrfach firmenintern gegen andere Län­­der als Pro­­duktionsstandort für Inno­­vationen durch­­­­setzen; etwa für gentechnische Medi­­ka­­mente oder neu­­artige synthe­­tische Gerinnungshemmer. Doch ist der Standort­­wett­­bewerb äußerst scharf, gerade auch durch Lohnfertiger in Schwellenländern, die sich ebenfalls ständig technisch verbessern. Firma und Krankenkassen verhandeln nach der Markt­­ein­­führung über den Betrag, den die Kassen für das Mittel erstatten (wofür sie sich unter anderem auf die Er­­geb­­nisse einer Nutzenbewertung für das Medikament stützen). In all den Jahren der Entwicklung eines Medi­­ka­­­­ments haben sich nur Kosten aufsummiert. Erst nach der Markteinführung kann das Unter­nehmen diese Kos­­ten so lange wieder einspielen, bis der Patentschutz erlischt und Nachahmerfirmen eigene Versionen des Medikaments herausbringen können.

Die Autorin ist seit Mai 2011 Hauptgeschäftsführerin im Verband Forschender Arzneimittelhersteller (vfa). Von 1998 bis 2002 war sie Ministerin für Frauen, Jugend, Familie und Gesundheit und von 2002 bis 2005 Ministerin für Ge­­sund­­heit, Soziales, Frauen und Familie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen. Darüber hinaus war Birgit Fischer von 2010 bis April 2011 Vorstandsvorsitzende der Barmer GEK.