Education Through Science – The Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

20081217-Genetik-002-(Schumann)-kopieren

The Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (HU) includes all fundamental scientific disciplines and offers about 185 courses of study for more than 30,000 students. The university produces top performanc­­es when compared nationally and inter­nationally. The HU is among the ten most successful universities in a Germany-­wide funding ranking conduct­­ed by the German Research Foundation (DFG). This result, as well as suc­­cess in the Excellence Initiative sponsored by the federal and state governments, is due to the ongoing expansion of third-party fundraising and internal research promotion.

The HU also strengthens its research focuses through its Integrative Research Institutes (IRI). These are creative platforms for interdisciplinary cooperation. For example, the IRI connect various university and non-university re­­search sectors and develop future-ori­ented topics. The “IRI for the Life Sciences” focuses its research on system biology, neurological sciences and immunology. The “Integrative Research Institute for the Sciences” on the Adlershof campus focusses on mathematical physics and material sciences on a nanometre level. The “IRI Transformation of Human-Environment Systems”, IRI THESys for short, is dedicated to transformation and sustain­­ability research. In this, the Humboldt-­Universität places considerable empha­sis on further strengthening cooperation within the Berlin region, be it with non-­university research institutions or with other universities in the city.

However, it is not only medicine and natural sciences that are top of the heap at HU: the humanities are there too. The university is home to two of Germany’s six funded excellence clusters in the humanities. Image Knowledge Gestaltung. This interdisciplinary laboratory conducts research into the Gestaltung processes of all scientific disciplines, while TOPOI investigates the formation and transformation of space and knowledge in ancient civilisations.

The Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin is a fountain of innovation with its outstand­ing teaching and research. The transfer of scientific findings and inventions to industry and society is one of the university’s key roles, and one that is gaining in importance. The Humboldt-Universität is pursuing the objective of strengthening the region’s competitiveness and opening an additional career path for its students and researchers.

 

husiegel_bw

  1. Address

    Unter den Linden 6
    10099 Berlin
    Tel +49 30 2093 70333
    compass@hu-berlin.de
    www.hu-berlin.de
  2. President

    Prof. Dr. Jan-Hendrik Olbertz
  3. Year of establishment

    1810
  4. Staff

    3.500

Bildung durch Wissenschaft – Die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

20081217-Genetik-002-(Schumann)-kopieren

Die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (HU) umfasst alle grundlegenden Wissenschaftsdisziplinen und bietet rund 185 Studiengänge für mehr als 30.000 Studierende an. Sie erbringt in vielen Berei­chen im nationalen und internationalen Vergleich Spitzenleistungen. Bundesweit rangiert die HU unter den zehn erfolgreichsten Universitäten im Förderranking der Deutschen Forschungsge­mein­schaft. Diese Bilanz und auch der Erfolg in der Exzellenzinitiative von Bund und Ländern kommen durch einen kontinuierlichen Ausbau der Drittmitteleinwerbung und der internen Forschungsförderung zustande.

Die HU stärkt ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte auch durch die Integrativen Forschungsinstitute (IRI). Sie sind kreative Plattformen der interdisziplinären Kooperation. So vernetzen die IRI verschie­dene universitäre und außer­universitäre Forschungs­bereiche und entwickeln Zu­­kunfts­themen. Das „IRI für Lebens­wis­sen­schaften“ forscht auf dem Gebiet der Systembiologie, der Neurowissenschaften und der Immunologie. Das „Integrative Research Institute for the Sciences“ am Cam­­­pus Adlershof hat seinen Schwer­­­­­punkt auf der mathematischen Phy­­sik und den Materialwissen­schaf­­­­­ten auf Na­­no­­meter­ebe­­ne. Das IRI „Transformation of Human­-­Environment Systems“, kurz IRI THESys, widmet sich der Transformations- und Nachhaltigkeitsforschung. Dabei legt die Humboldt-Universität besonderen Wert auf die weitere Stärkung der Kooperation im Berliner Raum, sei es mit den außeruniversitären Forschungsinstituten oder mit den anderen Berliner Hochschulen.

Aber nicht nur die Medizin und die Naturwissenschaften, auch die Geisteswis­senschaften spielen in der ersten HU- Liga mit: Zwei von bundesweit sechs geförderten Exzellenzclustern in den Geis­­tes­wissenschaften sind an der HU angesiedelt. Bild Wissen Gestaltung. Ein Interdisziplinäres Labor erforscht Ge­­stal­­­tungsprozesse aller Wissenschafts­dis­zi­plinen; TOPOI die Transformation von Raum und Wissen in den antiken Kulturen.

Mit ihrer herausragenden Lehre und For­­schung ist die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin eine Quelle für Innovationen. Der Transfer wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse und neuer Erfindungen in die Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft ist eine wichtige und an Bedeutung gewinnende Aufgabe der Universität. Die Humboldt-Universität hat das Ziel, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Region zu stärken und einen weiteren Karriereweg für die Studierenden und Forschenden zu eröffnen.

husiegel_bw

  1. Anschrift

    Unter den Linden 6
    10099 Berlin
    Tel +49 30 2093 70333
    compass@hu-berlin.de
    www.hu-berlin.de
  2. Rektor

    Prof. Dr. Jan-Hendrik Olbertz
  3. Gründungsjahr

    1810
  4. Mitarbeiter

    3.500